New EC Boss appointment lacks transparency – Prof. Asare

Read Comments Comments (70)

• USMAN 10 years ago

Go and see how Prez Mahama of Ghana has transformed Gonjaland with Ghana money just within the two and half years that he has been in power. Every town, village and hamlet in Gonjaland has received a facelift with new facilit ...

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

Don't deviate from the topic because the topic is not about development project in Ghana. If Mahama has developed Gonjaland, we are happy he didn't waste the resources. If every president had done that, we would give him a th ...

We all know the Israeli computer experts will try again to massage the results after placing a series of strategically placed scandals in the local and international media but we are vigilant and are ready with the antidote. ...

• MAB 10 years ago

Is that all what you can say? Hypocrite of first class. Tell us which part of the country hasn't gotten facelift under JDM.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

Azar, where in Article 70(2) is the requirement for transparency and verification of the appointment stated? Where is the Council of State required to publicly state or confirm that they were either consulted or not by a pres ...

• Mahmoud 10 years ago

Mahama should've waited for the Supreme Court's verdict on the matter before appointing the new EC boss. He should not have panicked because he felt the SC might decide against his appointment of the EC boss, which is a possi ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 10 years ago

How can Mahama be allowed to appoint an ec head? NO rule of law, no respect for.due process

• NEW LIGHT 10 years ago

THE PRESIDENT DID NOT ERR WHEN HE APPONTED THE NEW MISS GHANA AS EC BOSS. IN FACT I WOULD APPOINT MY OWN BROTHER AS EC BOSS IF I WERE THE PRESIDENT, THE CONSTITUTION DOES NOT OPPOSE IT. WHO WILL APPOINT HIS ENEMY INTO OFFICE? ...

• william 10 years ago

Can we focus and applaud the appointment of a competent lady, lawyer Asare!!!Please give us a break!

• Ekow 10 years ago

Usman you're from the north like the president, what do you want him to do. Passive citizen!

• Ghana 4 Ghanaians 10 years ago

I thought this idiot of a bitch calling himself USMAN will be enlightened after stowing away to US where he has found very civilized to have adopted as his name, but what do you see? oh indeed a decorated donkey still being a ...

• Nii Nortey (New York) 10 years ago

Usman, which school did u attend? Please make your comment based on the article.

• Neutral Zone 10 years ago

Last I looked Gonjaland is still in Ghana.

• NEW LIGHT 10 years ago

THE VOLTA REGION HAS NO PROBLEM WITH DEVELOPMENT....THERE IS NO DUMSOR OR WATER SHORTAGE IN ANY OF THE CITIES, BE IT HO OR TOTIME. ALL IS GOING WELL. EVEN IF THERE IS DUMSOR IT'S RATHER ..DUM.......SORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR....D ...

• GONJAMAN FROM BOLE. 10 years ago

This new EC boss face look like someone whose pussy would be juicy and sweet. Look at her lips and how she gazed. The husband should keep his eye on her before JM capitalize on her appointment. Because, the womanizer JM would ...

• kwam 10 years ago

Prof did the council of state members informed you that they not advised the President on the new EC's boss appointment?

• CORNEY 10 years ago

That Asare guy I wonder why some in the Ghanian media keeps calling him renowned constitutional lawyer,where is he known to be a constitutional lawyer.

Some of us for difference reasons may not agree with the appointment ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

They are so amazing it defies belief in capital letters.

• PHILIP 10 years ago

Check his resume, Sir! You stupid idiot!

• KO 10 years ago

MAHAMA HAS BRIBES ALL THE CHIEVES WITH CARS AND OTHER THINGS SO othey are all ndc ass lickes ; he has them in his pocket: this woman is an ndc and knows not god:::::they will try to cheat again but this tiome

• prophyte 10 years ago

Shame on you KO for such stupid and unguarded comment.Such stupidity should stop.

• Neutral Zone 10 years ago

Asare guy is just book long.

• issah 10 years ago

he behaves like those serial callers on radio. why wouldn't he rather tackle issues like our endemic corruption, child labor, etc etc. attention seeking constitutional lawyer my black ass!!

• awl 10 years ago

bath with soap regularly n it will change to white - Idiot

• issah 10 years ago

kwasia like you. my black ass looks better than your monkey ass face. kwasia

• Okando 10 years ago

Ghanaians and their pull him down attitudes I am not surprise that Prof. Stephen Asare for challenging the appointment of Madam Charlotte Osei as the New EC boss, well I don't know if he want the Council of State should appoi ...

• Odikr@. 10 years ago

Where was the Prof,when the constitution was being drafted?
    I believe the Prof only requested for a copy of the constitution in the year 2001;when the NPP was sworn into power.
    The Prof; is a "number crunched" by profession ...

• Prof.Allotey Martins 10 years ago

My mate was right if he could prove to us that the Council of State never advised the president, this I doubt.
    Hi Mate, come again please .

• ABLEZA RESIDENT 10 years ago

Remember his contention was based upon transparency. An important contentious appointment like this must, per prudence, be channelled through a process devoid of suspicion, partisanship, favouritism and free from criticism. H ...

• Honestman 10 years ago

Chanel your energy and wisdom in solving critical problems not joining the wagon to politik for money, i will not be surprise he is seeking attention for appointment or a favor when NPP comes to power

• Chawchaw 10 years ago

Political sycophants. including that other funny character, Amoako Baah, have been up to, tripping over each other to catch the attention of their 'patron' and his circle of advisers. What a bunch of losers!

• Dadi 10 years ago

Unformed Prof. People like you are the problems of this country. Just shut up your big mouth. Shame on you.

• Emeka 10 years ago

De problem in Ghana is we have soo many professor on paper with no brains. All dey know is to be going abt calling themselves professors.

• Ekow 10 years ago

Emeka a lot of people in your country address themselves as engineer so so and so, are they truly qualified or educated illiterates?

• Jonny 10 years ago

Do you expect the counicl of state to report to you the details of advice they offer the president of Ghana? Are you disappointed that you were not appointed in place of this lady?

• Kwame Addo 10 years ago

Those were the days when Professors were prominent intellectuals. But these days Professor titles are just labels with no meaning. If Prof. Asare could come out and say these, I'm sadden by our intellectual pursuits. Pro. Asa ...

• Osei 10 years ago

Azar as he popularly known has become irrelevant even to his forum members in SIL.He raised this same question but no one agreed with him.he has become an attention seeker.

• Bonsu 10 years ago

Even the ugly beach Nana Akufo Ado has supporters

• YAKUBU 10 years ago

With the appointment of the EC now a subject matter of legal interpretation by the Courts, it would make perfect sense, the role of the Council of State in this purported appointment of the Chariperson of the EC and it's lega ...

• Nicholas Osei Kyeretwie-Chicago 10 years ago

How on earth can a renowned constitutional lawyer,whatever that means,talk like that.I think people just want to be heard.Who told this lawyer that the council of state was not consulted in this appointment.Stop making noise, ...

• Iwan 10 years ago

Perhaps this prof wanted a referendum. where was he when a few or do I say one person took us to HIPC. Was there any transparency or He had not got the professorship yet?

• insp we.i 10 years ago

Zip it, clown

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

Is Professor Asare a renowned constitutional lawyer in Ghana because he helped shepherded the lousy and childish constitution through passage or because he has studied the current constitution that could have been written by ...

• sy 10 years ago

Mr. book prof. or whatever you are called. Did the constitution say after the president make an appointment of a public officer, members of the council state must come out to clarify their role before such an appointment can ...

• Potash 10 years ago

Prof. Asare is a renowned constititional lawyer and so what? What different thing ( production) does he do differently from what a diploma holder does? He should keep quiet and stop that useless criticism. The gov't cannot co ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

This is a case of damned if you do, damned if you don't. NPP lawyers & politicians must be careful in their criticism of this new E C boss.

• old soldier 10 years ago

oh no

• Francis usa 10 years ago

Madam congratulations in ur new appointment. But be careful with the npp, they have started again. Wish u Good luck.

• Ekow 10 years ago

He is rather elated that an ashanti is incharge... an Akan sympathetic to busia Danquah dobo faction.

• Jim wise 10 years ago

Is the prof saying the president should have arranged the council of state members at say the independence square and perhaps on the tv in full glare of Ghanians hold the the hand of mrs osei and consult them one by one? the ...

• kodjo 10 years ago

Hey Prof, F--K -FF!!!

• emma 10 years ago

iF IT IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL, U ARE A LAWYER. GO TO COURT AND STOP THE UGLY NOISES. PEOPLE ARE SO LOUD IN THIS COUNTRY.THEY ARE SIMPLY EMPTY BARRELS

• True Ghanaba 10 years ago

This has being the most sensible analysis of the imposition of a an Electoral commissioner on us Ghanaians Cry my beloved country, Ghana.

• yoni 10 years ago

proff asare and co are the products of exam ieakages

• PHILIP 10 years ago

Mrs. Osei, a lawyer with considerable experience in public service management, institutional reform also has expertise in corporate law, banking, insurance, project financing and public-private partnerships

• kutsii 10 years ago

The transparency is that, the tongue of the woman is pink and she shits pink and uses pink toilet rolls. So after 2016 elections Prof Asare shd carry her pink toilet rolls to the Supremo court.. Nonsense

• Naaba kugri 10 years ago

Did kuffour show any transparency when he appointed some deputies of EC ? Stupidity at its best as some of this so called professors are nothing but bafoons

• NII AYITEY 10 years ago

LISEN TO THE FAKE AND SELF-IMPOSED PROFESSOR! WHEN WOULD OUR SO CALLED INTELLECTUALS SAY SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE AND PRACTICAL. THEY ARE ALWAYS DOWNLOADING AND RECYCLING STUPID AND UNINTELLIGENT THINGS IN OUR COMMUNITIES IN GH ...

• Michael K. Tettevi 10 years ago

If such an appointment can be made without the president consulting the council of state, then what is the duty of the council of state ? If there are more learned citizens to be chosen from, why should they be left out then ...

• Ray Parker 10 years ago

Some Ghanaian Profs make the title too cheap. If the president is seeking advice from the council of state is it done at the Independence Square. Please Prof let Ghanaians know that the title is won on merit by your utterance ...

• K k 10 years ago

These NDC party treat others as their enemies,for they will never accept what will bring peace to this nation.

• Weah 10 years ago

Prof or what do u call urself, my candor advice: GO TO COURT. PERIOD.

• NEW LIGHT 10 years ago

THIS WOMAN IS CLEARLY NOT 42 YEARS, SHE MUST BE 52 INSTEAD.

• Marcus Chris Lawson 10 years ago

There is too much uneccessary talkie talkie about this singular appointment. The impression l am getting is that even if Mahama appoints Jesus Christ as the E C boss those Ghanaians who know everything and the only wise ones ...

• Chawchaw 10 years ago

Level-headed Dan Botwe would not pass their litmus test; and in fact, be branded a 'turn-coat', who would take a bribe to work against his own party!

• Efo Paapa 10 years ago

I think the President should have announced the appointment of the EC chair at Makola after 4 months of public announcements on all radio stations in the country and finally appoint Sir John to the position.

• YA - USA 10 years ago

Did you want the job? Stop this hate

• KWAME KWAME 10 years ago

Madam, Congratulations to you for the well deserved appointment. I see a lot of professionalism coming into the elections process of Ghana during your tenure.

• Ekow Samuel-NOISIEL-France. 10 years ago

So faras the president adopt this anocement of E.c ,thanks be to God that we have get one and it is finished well done Mr, President and all elders in Oman Ghana thanks gose to you all, Long live Ghana.

• a concern citizen 10 years ago

We have to ask ourselves this questions? What was her task at ncce? Did she achieve it explicitly? Then we can go ahead to other indicators. Has she got the capacity to institute major reforms? That is why we have to grilled ...