Power supply to worsen; VRA reduces Akosombo operation

Read Comments Comments (68)

• VOLTA LAKE NEEDS HELP 8 years ago

Let them divert the floods to the Akosombo Dam instead of wasting time on the Dumsor Must Go Vigil.

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

The so called prophet of NPP GANG, will forever face judgment. For misleading Ghanaians. This is where the nation Ghana need them if only they are truly God's prophets. Why up to now these so called prophet cannot pray for t ...

• Ako Adjei 8 years ago

You guys who keep adding USA, UK to your names makes me sick every time i see comments from you. You guys always proves me right that the embassy's always gives VISA's to 95% block headed guys like you.
    What is your contribu ...

• Constructivist 8 years ago

You are right. Tell them!

• Kwesi Baidoo 8 years ago

They are nowhere near USA nor UK they are bunch of idiot hiding under cover somewhere in ghetto Nima

• mensa 8 years ago

GOD SHOULD HELP US WITH THIS LOSER AND HIS NDC GOVT OF FOOLS THAT ARE NOTHING BUT LAZY FALKS

• JENNY 8 years ago

Brand new Electric Start Champion Power Generators for sale. Made in the US. 9HP / 7500 - 9350 Watts.

• Another Thief of Baghdad 8 years ago

VRA engineers, please tell me. Can't we recycle the spent water back into the dam? I don't think we need any special engineering thinking to do this.Please say something to me because I am personally tired of this 'drop in wa ...

• Kwesi Baidoo 8 years ago

Kofi- USA or whatever you called your self ,you're stupid and desperate.

• National Agenda 8 years ago

Inferiority Complex....they want to portray themselves as different Ghanaians by adding UK and USA....'complex' guys ... Do know when and how long people have stayed outside Ghana? Inferiority Complex guys like these ones can ...

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

He said the power situation was going to be solved in three moons. Mahama's head begun to swell. Now listen. It's going from worse to worst. Useless goat of a rootten yam of a president.

• Adanko 8 years ago

The water level will continue falling until mahama and his NDC thieves cum murderer s leave office. NDC have sent ghana into the grave through rituals for power and have milked ghana to zero. Until they leave office, ghana ...

• KING BRIGHT 8 years ago

What was the last time ndc and Mahama told Ghanaians the truth? They certainly don't have a clue so they should find a way to lie to cover their shame. And he has the disrespect to seek a second term.

• SAM, ACCRA 8 years ago

the gargantuan amount of money ndc has stolen from state coffers thru their 'create loot & share' woyomegates, cpgates, sadagates, gyeedagates, watervillegates, isofotongates, merbankgates, subagates, ndcnationalhqgates(20,00 ...

Sam; I your 'gates'.... Keep up posting.... Mahama/NDC will always bring calamities to Ghana if we don't send them away...

• Angelo 8 years ago

Where is that VRA engineer who said the dam would not be shut down. I suppose he wants to destroy the dam and collect his End of Service Benefits and leave us to stew in Ghana. The dam is being flogged. It needs to be sht dow ...

• Chawchaw 8 years ago

What has happened to all the huge volumes of run-offs from the torrential rains we have recorded in recent months? How can we see such a sharp drop in the water level when the rain continues to fall?
    There is something wrong ...

• Koko 8 years ago

Geography boss: If the rains fall in the south, the runoffs mostly end in the sea as they won't feed into the lake or rivers feeding the lake, upstream of the Akosombo dam. So the recent floods in southern ghana (from Takorad ...

• TIJANI 8 years ago

you are right, the water sources to the Volta is from the north. the VRA engineers should have done something to improve the water flow from the north to the Volta lake, but they don't know anything and kept lying to Ghanaian ...

• asante 8 years ago

This is a natural phenomenon. What does Mahama got to do with this?

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

We are on course ... this is what senseless coups and wishful thinking do.

• DESSIE 8 years ago

propaganda machines:UsA AMBASSADOR JUST CONFIRM THAT US AND GHANA COLLABOLATION WORKING ON OUR POWER ISSUE AND THE POWER ISSUE WILL END SOON..THIS IS JUST PROPAGANDA

• OSAFO 8 years ago

THE WATER LEVEL AT 238FT. IS RATHER ENOURAGING BECAUSE THIS WILL CONTINUE TO RISE TILL ABOUT OCTOBER THIS WHEN THE DAM WILL OVERFLOW. So for now the glass is half full, Thank God.

• DESSIE 8 years ago

THE PICTURE SHOWING DONT REPRESENT AKOSOMBO DAM

• Slim Shady 8 years ago

I never knew the Akosombo dam depended on rains from North to power the turbines.I have being in Tamale for a month now and i haven't witnessed any serious rainfall.We are really doomed cause it seems the rains aren't just co ...

• My Opinon 8 years ago

Maybe VRA must compensate the Northern gods to command the RAIN to fall. VRA can't and must not discriminate against some of the Ghanaian gods.Please be fair to all our gods.Thanks.

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Isn't it strange,folks? That in the midst of such monumental failure the grossly incompetent and useless president is seeking a second term?To what purpose?To build more schools and interchanges?But any Joe Blog can do that

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 8 years ago

Can you honestly blame the president for the low level of the Akosombo Lake?

God is punishing us for our ingratitude. We never thank God for his blessings. Politics have blinded us to the extent we are competing to complai ...

• NAK 8 years ago

JOE,YOU RIGHT OUR LEADERS SHOULD DO SOMETHING ABOUT THE DAM.

• Dankwah 8 years ago

Majority Leader Alban Bagbin must resign his post as majority leader in Parliament for instigating illegal settlements in Agbogloshie, the ecological capital of Accra. Ghanaians deplore the sentiments expressed by Mr. Bagbin ...

• Dankwah 8 years ago

Why didn't NPP do that? Will the coming of my uncle Nana Kankabi bring the rain? and you call yourself voice of reason? In fact, you should call yourself voice of confusion. Please tell me how much power did we add to the gri ...

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 8 years ago

IDIOT CHAMBER-POT DANKWAH,YOU CAN ASK YOUR GRAND-FATHER THE IRON-PIPE MAN THAT HOW MUCH POWER DID HE AND HIS GENERATION ADD TO THE GRID.MAHAMAH IS A FAILURE AND MUST GO PERIOD.VOTE NDC AND IT'S BRIGANDS OUT IN 2016.BECAUSE TH ...

• Kate 8 years ago

Am really sick of these unsubstantiated and empty reportage ....... All designed to mislead and create panic ......... Where I live in Madina the power situation has improved greatly from this time last year ......and I think ...

• Kate 8 years ago

TV3 has gathered.......,,

According to reports .....,..

TV3 has been informed........

VRA is therefore planning.......

Hahahaha very cheap to be a Reporter in GH .

• VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

I have said it and will repeat that Mahama has a brain the size of a pea and is definitely unfit for the presidency.The presidency is not all abt erecting structures here and there.Any fool can do that.Already he has collapse ...

• AMB 8 years ago

Has the Reservoir Management Board been inaugurated and what are they doing to manage the use of the reservoir. The situation we are facing is partly our fault. How can we fail to operationalise such a critical board. Pls in ...

• Obiba Broke 8 years ago

Stop crying you are used to black out already

• trokosi 8 years ago

Ghanaians are very stupid to follow NDC. Something seriously has gone wrong. Check the Killing of Atta Mills. That's the cause of our woes. Vote out NDC in 2016

• joe 8 years ago

Why do we always have to depend on rainfall to fill the dam? Can't we recycle the water flowing out back into the dam? We have rivers in abundance and yet we dont have water to fill our dam. Its a shame with our leaders

• Kunado 8 years ago

Let's thank God for ndc

• successfullman 8 years ago

Make extra income online by just investing $18. Call or whatsapp Ben on 0266434975 for more details. Check out www.fourcornersalliancegroup.com/?a=successfullman

Mahama/NDC have always used propaganda to provide solution to the energy crisis. For almost four years, they keep assigning different reasons to the crisis and give fake assurances and promises. Now the popular slogan is "I w ...

• Uncle Pee 8 years ago

Even in abundance of rains, the Akosombo dam doesn't have enough water. Nothing is working under this government. Is it Mill's ghost following them or what?

• KING MARCUS 8 years ago

Hmm 3nko si da ben?

• Mishel 8 years ago

..... " Africans have a problem"....
    what has Mahama got to do with Akosombo dam water level fallen...
    Now politics have been an ear canker eating up our brain so every fucking little shit is attributed to the party...
    sho ...

• Loway 8 years ago

You Don't even know how to collect rain

• sista clary 8 years ago

Dumsor will get worse. Use solar. We have affordable and portable solar Generators, Solar Lanterns, Solar fans and rechargeable magic bulbs. 0502565130,

• Get 8 years ago

The police bribe video that works and the excuse of the police add www in front
    .manassehazure.com/2015/06/police-investigates-bribed-dispatch-rider-in-disgusting-video/

• Gabriel agah 8 years ago

I expected a goodnews after all these rains but so sad I can't believe this. this energy problem can send NDC to home I pray the will of God to be done

• godsway 8 years ago

Relax, these are the doomsayers. They don't know they rain pattern of the north neither do they know that we have gone below this level before. I know God has the power to cause a days rain to fill the dam. AS WE PRAY LETS AL ...

• HMMM 8 years ago

Most Ghanaians are aware of this situation. Let us bring our heads together to find solution.

My idea is that the gov't should subsidy solar energy production.

• Nicole S. 8 years ago

Human feces can be converted into electricity, the engineers must start considering that.l

• Xray 8 years ago

Tired of you koraaa! If you like put the whole country into darkness... Same excuses everyday.

• NYAME 8 years ago

this is the clue.Rain water can also be diverted to the dam.Think positive and be very creative.There are solutions to all the problems .

• godsway 8 years ago

Akosombo dam discharges more than 30,000cfs of water a day. What pump will you use to pump that volume. The power consumption is such that it will not be economical.

• old soldier 8 years ago

oh no

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

TV3 cannot become the mouth piece of VRA so let the VRA speak for themselves.Thank you.

• macavity 8 years ago

Sias3m kwa!!!!

• pee 8 years ago

When we hve problem like dis stop talking about politics and bring constrative ideas dat u think can solve de it done insult

• johnson 8 years ago

Ghanaian need not worry. Prayer works. We are praying on 1 July 2015 at Action Chapel. God gives rain, ask Elijah of bible days. God will do it again. Prayer works. Jesus is Lord and He is still on the throne. Lets thank God ...

• kutsii 8 years ago

What is the generating capacity of Akosombo dam now ? You mentioned the maximum operating capacity, but not the current. Nonsense

• daladam 8 years ago

all the problems started when mahama took over

• for kofi 8 years ago

Because the leadership is demonic. Why should we be subjected to so many hardships since ndc govt came to power starting with the death of mills , petrol shortages,floods,fires, massive corruption and embezzlement, rapes ,los ...

• David Smith 8 years ago

The rains will come, but until then Point Innovate Ghana Ltd. is here to help, Ghana Energy Solution, we have seen the devastating results of no ECG on businesses and the lives of Ghanians.

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Why do you reporters publish this recurrent VRA announcements as if it is something new when this is usually the case in the dry seasons and probably exacerbated in recent times by the increase water use/dam built in Burkina ...

• Janet 8 years ago

My question is: Why can't Ghana go for Solar power instead of depending on only hydroelectric power. This time even the heat goes on increasing. The Government can open chances for the private sector inside and outside the co ...

• nii nii niiiii 8 years ago

Daa daa.Just an excuse to reduce electricity.Oh God,please help mother Ghana.All those who helped to reduce our standard of living should be struck down and never to live longer.

• King Flemzy USA 8 years ago

In fact we are tired of you guys and your statistics. God is there watching.