MPs want Parliament to sanction EC appointment

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Joe Moore 8 years ago

The Destruction of Black Civilization is a powerful book, and should be featured in Black schools around the world. The author basically reveals a history that has largely been covered up. When I was in school, the only thing ...

• Another Thief of Baghdad 8 years ago

When the greedy thief appointed the Chief Justice, Georgina Wood, did you raise any such foolish objections or made such ugly noises? Y3 abr3 wu

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Author:
    Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK
    Date:
    2015-06-28 12:41:59
    Comment to:
    Perfunctory Powers of the President
    Mahmoud, stop following blindly and think for yourself instead of cutting and pasting what others have written an ...

• Sam 8 years ago

When I posted on Facebook over a year ago the impending retirement of Dr Afari Gyan what did the MPS do. The constitution has been in place since 1992, what have they been doing all these years. Do they even think of Ghana at ...

• GHANAMAN WAHALA 8 years ago

NPP and their surrogates are trying very hard to put the acid bath behind them. The last time Nana Addo checked out to do some fund raising outside, he had to cut it short to come back and burry one NPP Regional Chairman. Thi ...

• Ako Adjei 8 years ago

Read this article well the members are not all from NPP. This proposal is laudable and will help in the future to deepen the process we have now. This is 2015 and not 1992 guys. The constitution should be amended to reflect c ...

• yoni 8 years ago

i think you this dog who still thinks you can manipulate us ..what was your npp mp,s doing when the constitutional team was collecting views to amend the constitution

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

The public may be deeply involved because we may have adverse findings against such a fellow. If in the end we blindly appoint such an individual and people begin to dig out his/her dirty background, then that's a serious iss ...

• Joe Moore 8 years ago

The 80/20 principle will always exist whether you want it to or not. Economists have already proven that 20 percent or less of the population will "always" control 80 percent of the wealth. Less than 20 percent of athletes wi ...

• Patriotic Ghanaian . USA. 8 years ago

Please there are more at stake for Rapid Electoral Reforms than to allow few Hardened Honourable MP's who can't get over the. Fact that a highly qualified Lady with impeccable credentials has been Appointed as EC . Honourable ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Right,there are more at stake but they are right,it is not what you think,whether she is highly qualified in your opinion or not they have the right to say we need amendment to the constitution,check in your USA,the person in ...

I hope you Remember the Bush and Vice President Al Gore election debacle in Florida and what the then Female Republican Secretary of State did in the Vote count. What happened after wards ? The final decision came from the Su ...

• Dr. Ogologo Man 8 years ago

The President has the right as at now to appoint the EC boss without seriously consulting any person. The constitution- we the people of Ghana- has given him that right. Nowhere in the constitution is it stated that, at the t ...

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

Are you proud of that? This is not how civilized people rule themselves.

It really beats my understanding that some MP's and Lawyers who should know the interpretation of the Constitution better are being ignorant and playing Politics with such a seriou issue.

• STEVE 8 years ago

I wonder why the NPP are the opinion that they must have a say in anything before it happens in Ghana. The MATEMIHUS are the main reason why our motherland is marking time. My God, they have to change their attitude. Ghanaian ...

• Charles London 8 years ago

Asemoooo now a Nigerian is now our EC boss.

Ignorant and false statement from one who should know better.

• Kwaku 8 years ago

How do u know she is a Nigerian?

• YF-Heidelberg 8 years ago

I think you should rather use your God.given brains a bit. NPP represent true Ghanaians and represent our interest. NDC is a criminal organization and does not care about the welfare of Ghanaians

• NANA AKWESI ADDO 8 years ago

NPP JUST BEAR IN MIND THAT ELECTIONS ARE WON AT THE POLING STATION AND NOT FROM THE EC. PERIOD

• Photosy 8 years ago

The whole constitution stinks. But unfortunately amendments have never been done. There are lots of amendments to be done and not just the EC appointment. Today , where was Nitiwul in 2004 elections ? If not a member of parli ...

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

I think there is no need for the parliament to approve bcoz is still going to be d same as the majority will decide. Which means Npp or Ndc will stil decide base on their interest coz d majority will always be one of dem.

• Yin 8 years ago

who vetted Georgia Wood, the chief justice? You People always ve problems when u re not in government. U think u re e only ones with brains huh. Go to hell

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Justices of the Supreme Court were all vetted but the problem is that they only rubber stamp the nominees after wasting all that time,they don't have a way to block any nominee,even if a dog goes there for vetting they will j ...

I will not underestimate the Acumen and Intergrity of the Honourable Members of the Supreme Court if I were you. Some members within the higher enchelons of the Judiciary are highly esteemed people I once studied with and I k ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

Give us the names of all MPs who are not happy with the new EC.Thank you.

• Akans Prophecies 8 years ago

The whole constituition is Majestious and Decay.IT HAS SERVED THE AMBITION OF OUTRAGES AND ASSASSINATORS.It is bloodstained and that calls for a Brave New One. It has brought no peace among Ghanaians besides fear and prejudic ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

ALL THESE HULLABALOO ABOUT THE APPOINTMENT OF THE LADY TO HE EC CHAIR IS TO ENABLE SOME PEOPLE TO RIG THE ELECTIONS! AS THEY THINK THE NDC WILL BE ABLE TO RIG THE ELECTIONS WITH THIS APPOINTMENT. THE WOMAN CAN ONLY ANNOUNCE ...

Mind you !She will work with Duly appointed Commissioners and a very large Pool of Honest and Hardworking Civill Servants with different Political Background . Folks ! I hate to say that a number of the Critics and Opponents ...

• WISE 8 years ago

IT IS NOT CALL FOR MY HON. MPS THINK OVER IT AGAIN. GENDER EQUALITY M,Y MOTHERS, AUNTS, SISTERS ETC, LISTEN TO THEM OOO, THEY DON'T WANT YOU TO HOLD HIGH POSITIONS IN GHANA

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

Why do some want to monkey around with the constitution that is barely 20 years old? If we’ve reached a point in our daily lives in Ghana where our new born constitution has to be amended then why not throw the damn thing o ...

• Akora 8 years ago

What difference will that make as NDC has the majority in parliament and if the president is an NPP, he will still have majority NPP MPs in parliament.

• LKL 8 years ago

NOW NPP CAN DO ANYTHING THEY WANT IT WILL NOT AFFECT THE CURRENT EC BOSS. THE CASE IN COURT DID NOT SAYS GOVERNMENT SHOULD STOP THE PERSON WANTED TO KNOW WHETHER IT IS RIGHT FOR THE GOVERNMENT TO DO IT OR NOT BUT HE DID NOT ...

• Dennis Avoy 8 years ago

This article is a rubbish and is not worth reading. I stopped reading it mid way

• Ekow Samuel-NOISIEL-France. 8 years ago

She has appointed and it is finished, mine of this, it is finish about and i and we hope the that the suppreme has seal it after the President gives surch of good order and again the good comments of this appointment,we hope ...

• Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 8 years ago

Ye enemies of progress can go to court. We know your doings. And you know we know.