TV licence fee upped; takes effect August 21

Read Comments Comments (52)

• Akosua Obinim 8 years ago

Stupidity!!! 24 years ago, there was electricity in Ghana to watch TV. Where is the electricity to watch TV now? Well you can up the TV license for all I care. I am not paying. Stop showing Idiots like Obinim, Kumchacha, TB J ...

• Ahaji 8 years ago

NDC WANNA TAKE EVERYTHING FROM GHANAIANS... SHAME ON YOU!

• SAMMY 8 years ago

Pls, are they going to share the booty amongst all the TV stations, or it is only for GBC?

• Nii from Takoradi 8 years ago

Akosua the lesbian, remember it would be backed by LAW . Why not mension any other programs but those that would deliver you from the satan. You hate God but he love you so much.

• squadï 8 years ago

u are a disgrace to christianity.its is people lyk u who r making others shun Christ. look at hw u started by calling someone a lesbian. a christian u are i suppose. a christian indeed . as for gtv n co, hmm wat are showing ...

• asante 8 years ago

How are these fees collected? I have 3TV sets and never paid a fee all these years

• Kofi Ameyaw,London. 8 years ago

I have sky but I still pay tv licence, so you ghanaians want everything free.

• Kwesi Baidoo 8 years ago

So what?

• Uzzah 8 years ago

Massa shut up & serve the queen. U always have electricity to watch ur TV but we don't.

• Chief Whip 8 years ago

Why do we keep comparing Ghana to other countries. If that is the case then we should pass same sex marriage law. Minimum wage in Ghana is not the same as UK, USA, South Africa e.t.c. Un employed Ghanaians do not get unemplo ...

• Isha 8 years ago

Stfu....if you lived here you will know how it feels...you think you are in a white mans country so you are better off

• Desire 8 years ago

Why do tv repairer have to pay tv licence?
    Because he repair for people and they take their tv away from the shop.

• obi 8 years ago

mr man these country's you named takes the money and make good us of it to there nation

• Sir Joh 8 years ago

A USELESS TV LICENCE EXAMPLES
    It is a shame to say that what Ghanaians pay is wee comparing to other countries. Do you know the minimum wage in these countries? It is a shame to do this comparism.

• Nii Moi 8 years ago

I have five tv sets at home but I've never paid the license fees before. Not once!

• National Disastrous Criminals, NDC 8 years ago

Hahahaaa!! TV licence my foot! Come and collect toilet licence. When we don't have any national tv station. U r very sick in ur heads ok?

• Joe,london 8 years ago

You do not pay TV licences and you want to watch good TV programmes.Having a TV set and not paying the licence is a crime .When will ghanaians learn to be responsible?And they are always blaming the government for their failu ...

• Uzzah 8 years ago

Joe u have no clue so shut up & serve the queen. How many times have u experienced light out in the UK? We sleep in darkness ok!

• yaya 8 years ago

Abolish this tv licence fee. this is cheating. Those revenue collected from tv commercials should be used toward that.

• Kweku Sakyi 8 years ago

The article fails to mention that in the country with the most TV sets there is NO licence fee. TV owners in the US have NEVER paid a fee to own a TV. Also, most Ghanaians simply don't pay. This tax is a joke.

• nartey 4rn Sampa 8 years ago

4rm fuel to water ,to light bill & know t.v licence.even no solution to #DUMSO.God help mother Ghana.

• Nii from Takoradi 8 years ago

Wrong timing and they (me inclusive) won't pay for the collectors to use it for lotto and girls because am also interested in the lotto and girls. I won't Also watch ANY tv but my own DVDs , CD.... Democracy like people chos ...

• PKQ 8 years ago

In most countries you pay this if you buy your TV from a licensed dealer. Read the article carefully. You just do not see it because it is in the price. Look closely at your receipt. It ma not say TV license, but maybe govern ...

• mohammed nuru 8 years ago

Compete like Multimedia, DSTV and co and stop this stupidity

• agnes 8 years ago

yesu mogya nka wanim ,animals noe 1 wil pay dat bill .kwasiafo)

• USELESS 8 years ago

WHO TELLS YOU THAT WE ARE INTERESTED IN WATCHING THE SKEWED POLITICAL PROGRAMMES AIRED BY GBC. THEN ALL THE PRIVATE TV STATIONS SHOULD ALSO CHARGE TV LICENCES. WHAT OF THE SUBSCRIPTIONS THAT WE PAY FOR DECODERS? THIS IS THE ...

• SSS Boy 8 years ago

If this law was always on the books, why not just enforce the existing instead of piling on more fees which you may not be able to collect.

Also how do you justify paying more when you have Dumsor and are providing half th ...

• Concerned citizen 8 years ago

Now is not the time to implement the archaic TV license "tax".

As a country we need to priorities our scarce resources towards priority areas.

we are still significantly underfunded in electricity provision, water and ...

• Help me 8 years ago

This foolish approach by always comparing what pertains in other countries as a basis for setting fees, to me is nonsense . This so called ambassador until recently was an ordinary journalist , he should compare the types of ...

• Uzzah 8 years ago

Look at this day light robbers always comparing revenues to countries that utilizes these revenues by investing them appropriately, whiles on their part they use such funds to build big houses, drinking expensive wines, chasi ...

• kwame 8 years ago

l think we as a people of this country hav a big problem, why should our leaders keep on compering us with developed countries . The countries sighted in this report cost of leaving are far better than Ghana, they hav 24/7 ...

• Alex, London 8 years ago

I do not understand why people in authority keep comparing prices in Ghana with other counties including UK. In the UK the inflation rate is 2%and 17% in Ghana, Minimum wage is £8 per hour equivalent to 55.04 Ghs. How many ...

• Paapa 8 years ago

Stop giving wrong information.When did UK minimum wage rise to £8 an hour? I"ve been here for 30 years.

• NEric Kobbina 8 years ago

Boycott TV lib end until electricity stabilise

• NEric Kobbina 8 years ago

Fools

• Really? Tv license 8 years ago

Tv license to watch TALKING POINT

• EUROPEAN RULERS 8 years ago

Sorry my people but your government have sold you and your children children's out for peanuts IMF loan and now IMF is on their tail and they are scrapping on you the poor Ghanaians to pay back the loans
    Don't you guys see,o ...

• TOTO AGBO. 8 years ago

They are very stupid including the so called Mahama.

• BAFFOUR 8 years ago

PLEASE DON'T ALWAYS COMPARE LEVIES BUT INCLUDE EARNINGS OR SALARIES AS WELL. IF U DO SO U WILL REALIZE HOW INSIGNIFICANT GHANAIAN SALARIES ARE. BESIDES COUNTRIES MENTIONED SHOW MORE INTERESTING PROGRAMMES THAN WHAT WE IN GH ...

• Moti 8 years ago

In Ghana, the only comparison our leaders think is healthy is on money issues like this TV license fee. But they will never compare competence in which the western are enjoying. Shallow minds!

• Ashambo 8 years ago

Authorities like to compare poor Ghana to western world but forgot we are not even close. Tv license for what? What do u show on our tv? Tweaa we are not paying any pesewa.

• kk 8 years ago

can someone explain to me why Northerners should pay the same as those in Accra?
    In the 3 NRs only 2 of the whole lot of stations are working. As a result people from these regions buy multi tv decoders in order to view TV p ...

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 8 years ago

THE POOR GHANAIANS CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY FOR ANY TELEVISION FEES AND GHANA CANNOT BE COMPARED TO THOOSE COUNTRIES YOU LISTED:

• kay 8 years ago

nkwasiasem

• kay 8 years ago

country full of shit, only a lazy ass entity like gtv would embark on such a fruitless endeavour

• AA 8 years ago

Really? Desperate times call for desperate measures hahahaaa. Very soon we will begin paying licence on microwaves, stoves beds etc lol!!

• Abingah - London 8 years ago

Why oh why do our politicians like comparing Ghana to other countries when they know very well that the odds are against such comparison. I pay £145.50 a year or Colorado TV licence in UK. There are thousands of programmes ( ...

• Minta 8 years ago

Stop comparing tv license to other countries. What do we have to offer our viewers.

AD3N, YOU WANT US TO WATCH TV WITH KEROSINE? APART FROM THE 7pm news, what else is interesting?? Talking point. I would rather watch Adom ...

• Desire 8 years ago

Plz is this Means That the digital box That we have almost lot of stations free on it, we are going to pay tv licence?
    If yes what we be the additional tv/radio stations

• Isha 8 years ago

This is the most stupid thing I have ever heard in my life...isn't this stupid government tired of taking tax payers money for personal use?? You put off our lights 24/7 yet you want us to pay for tv licence??? Wtf is this co ...

• Isha 8 years ago

Stupidity is the adjective that addresses the NDC government..... you don't even produce electricity yet you want to take tv licence fee....if anyone of that sought shows up in front of my room....urine will be his welcome pa ...

• James 8 years ago

Fuck tv licence, fuck corrupt Ghanaian leaders and Fuck GBC leaders. fuck U all.Tv licence my Ass, u will small my pussy.
    Ghanaina's Leaders wear corruption cloths and shoes.stupid law, come and take ur fuckin shit licence w ...