Gov't can’t borrow its way out of economic crises - Anthony Karbo

Read Comments Comments (43)

• J0eY LOnD0N 8 years ago

Boss Fresh intampi just arrived !How many packets you want?

• Foster Zortorglo 8 years ago

Ghana debt is Ghc89billion which translates into US$25.4billion. US$25billion can build a modern city. What is wrong with us. The debt rose from Ghc9billion when NDC took over and has gone over Ghc89billion

• GEORGE 8 years ago

You NPP can also not borrow your way out of violence and dis-unity, that is why you will lose. You are a divided party with Nana Ado faction, Agyapong and Afoko faction as well as Kyeremanteng and Athur Kenedy factions. Like ...

• Kwaku Yeboah 8 years ago

The Akans have a proverb which states, that 'OSONO T) F3M A' ABOA BIAA B) NO BI''. otherwise how could this unintelligent thug be talking about economics, OMG, this rowdy and brawl oriented attention seeker will under normal ...

• An angry Ashanti NPP man 8 years ago

when he went to a hair dresser's saloon in the UK to borrow money? Shut up

• Ali 8 years ago

At least the government id not borrowing from a barber's shop

• Bribehene WeeAddo 8 years ago

Sometimes I wonder. Its like all the NPP guys have become desperate that when even the country chalk success as in our cedi having appreciated 25% against the dollar its a problem. Is that how you build a country. Kwasia boy, ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

You have no point. What is your point? How can a country keep on borrow without no pro forma. What have this gov't invested in with all this borrow that have ROI (Return of Investment) No wonder Chinese rejected our request f ...

What do you mean by proforma? So the government just goes to borrow without any outline as to what the money is going to be used and those banks give it to them. My friend at least if you don't respect NDC respect those banks ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

My friend I don't care about your party politics, If the banks injected more money into the market it does mean the economy is doing well. For the cedi to appreciated 25% against the dollar
    in such a short time tells me th ...

Hahaha, you are not NPP and you could pickpoint PNDC era only leaving the economic woes of the country in other regimes. Perhaps you don't know various regimes in the country and the problems they faced in the economy. In cas ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Your ignorance is showing. The appreciation in the cedi is due to BOG intervention in the forex markets with our reserves & loans. It's not due to an improvement in the economy, which continues to struggle

This is very stupid. Why do you even put USA on your name. You are too stupid that you don't understand common eocnomics. If Bank of Ghana improve the reserves of the country with that amount of money and could led to import ...

• Rico 8 years ago

The sad thing for me most timesybis to log on to my PC to hear this foolish and useless Dagarti dog talk nonsense. Is this the thing that wants to represent the good people of that area? They should think twice. This criminal ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Upon all the borrowing, the cedi could have depreciated. So why can't these NPP guys b happy for once.

• Naaba kugri 8 years ago

It's better to borrow to pay off loans than to sell off Ghana telecom to pay workers, we are not fools and we were in this nation some few year back

• AKT New York 8 years ago

I agreed with you even the great nation America goes to China for loan ,we were in Ghana when then president JA Kuffuor sold the Gulf Streem Jet the the Chinese,wht he and his criminals do with that money nobody knows,NPP mov ...

• Ghabay,NY 8 years ago

The word should be "Fiscal Discipline" and not "Physical Discipline ",in that context .Thank you.

• abapa 8 years ago

Ghanaians need a person who has good economic knowledge like Dr. Bawumia...and AKUFFU Addo. But not Mahama who doesn't know anything about governance. All Mahama knows to do is borrowing and do begging for money that they wil ...

• BOY KOFI 8 years ago

After NPP lost the Talensi election and the drill ship saga,they have forgotten how to dance azonto with "incompetent and corruption music".Thank you.

• SAY IT AS IT IS 8 years ago

Pity just another fool on the block, trying to impress but in reality talks a lot of shit.
    Dose he know that the countrys loans were all contracted by this NDC GOVERNMENT BUT BY ALL THE PAST GOVERNMENTS INCLUDING THE NPP.

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

The country had some debt that before npp came to power but we're serviced by them during their time in government
    . At the time they left the national debt was GHC 9 billion. The national debt is now GHC 89 billion. If you ...

What was the country debt before NPP took over from Jerry John Rawlings? After that you try to deflate the real value of the money using a different base year to see the difference. How much of the debt NPP left was serviced ...

• Marcus korale 8 years ago

See dis useless disappointed northerner talking

• Ezonor 8 years ago

Is that his appreciation to the gain the cedi has made recently? Left to the NPP alone, the cedi must decline to the point of no return so that Ghanaians will suffer. They will then use it as av campaign message. They have no ...

• NTRA SAKYI 8 years ago

Cedi appreciation at what cost? Throwing $20 million a day to appreciate the cedi whilst borrowing $914 million from the IMF. How stupid are Ghanaians?

• shoeshine boys 8 years ago

All NPP were brainless

• Kofi Ameyaw,London. 8 years ago

I always feel ashamed to read something from these npp people they think to bring down the govt. Can win them votes to come to power 2016, they always forget that most ghanaians knows what this government has done and still d ...

• mensa 8 years ago

DOES HE NOT KNOW THAT THE UNITED STATE OF AMERICA BORROWED BILLIONS OF DOLLARS TO HELP THEMSELFS COME OUT OF BAD ECONOMY? MANY COUNTRYS RE-STRUCTURE THEIR DEBT BY USING LEVRAGE[ THAT IS BORROWING} THE PROBLEM IS NOT THE B ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 8 years ago

there is no sensible person amongst the npp

• Douglas. Bristol-UK' 8 years ago

There's no sensible person amongst the ndc.Mahama is worse amongst them

• lee 8 years ago

God will punish you ?

• OKOFO 8 years ago

Karbo please talk to Dr Bawumia for education in this simple economics. My question to big filthy mouth Karbo is if one has a loan from a bank at an interest of 10% and later another bank offer him/her a loan at 7% is it not ...

• Lone voice 8 years ago

NPP always wishes Ghana bad. I wonder whether they think that would bring them to power. If that is the thinking it is childish. No one wishing bad things for Ghana would ever rule.

• ISAAC A.K.A MARCUS GARVEY- ASIA 8 years ago

S3yeka Nkwasiafuo bi wo 3ha nawo 3di Asantefuo,Akanfuo At3m, Emoafunu s3mo Ate.this usless Aponkyefunu president must Resign now,Aponkyefunu Amanmuo.

• NO MESSING ABOUT 8 years ago

Massa; how can these NDC goons make sense that these development edifices by Jon Mahama is progress ; the question is at what price ; how can you borrow your way out of trouble just to prove a political point of progress.

• Musah 8 years ago

Folks, enough of these ignorance even among the so called economists. President Obama increased US government debt significantly to invest in infrastructure and growth. The Republicans, NPPs allies cried maa maa and what do w ...

• Aves 8 years ago

Please writer take note. I think the guy is talking about fiscal discipline not physical discipline.

• abba 8 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE IT GAVE BIRTH TO MAHAMA LED NDC TO LOOT THE NATION'S COFFERS. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF GEN.I.K.ACHAMPONG AND THE OTHER VICTIMS ARE INNOCENT.

• abba 8 years ago

THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS. EVEN GOING TO 'IMF' TESTIFIES.

• serwaa 8 years ago

u ar a big fool.it is ur father who is brainless

• Class One 8 years ago

Ei Ghana journalists, we beg oooh, watch your blefo. It's FISCAL not PHYSCICAL!

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 8 years ago

BRAZIL BORROWED ITS WAY OUT OF POVERTY BEFORE SO COULD GHANA!!