UTAG goes on strike

Read Comments Comments (73)

• vigour 8 years ago

Ghana is not serious. If the country continue on the same part we are not going to progress. the research and book allowances are not used for the intended purpose. Things have to change that means the old way of doing things ...

• #RESCUE TEAM# 8 years ago

IF YOU DONT DEMAND YOUR MONEY NOW, MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPT TEAM WILL CHOP ALL THE MONEY BEFORE 2016 ELECTION. BECAUSE THEY KNOW THEY WILL LOSE THE ELECTIONS.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

If UTAG should not be paid the money, why should the government promise them? We know many lecturers do no do any research or write books but why should a promise be made to them? If a promise is made, then pay it.

• aa 8 years ago

Nawaoooo. If government can't find money to pay lecturers' salaries for July as of today August 6th, when will they pay this allowance? I predict a long strike if UTAG doesn't give in at a point

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

You see how money is wasted in Ghana ?

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 8 years ago

Mismanagement and nepotism are what mahama is using to oppress us. Let the thieves say the striking teachers are opposition members too.

• Kofi Konadu. ksi. 8 years ago

Look,if you guys think strikes will give you garantee to win 2016 election then you must be joking. Thin of your campaign message and stop instigating that will not help you.

• Kelvina 8 years ago

Villager. Do you think all those teachers, doctors, nurses belong to NPP. The people are fighting for their right n you are here talking of politics. Nonsense!

IF UTAG AND THOSE GOVT WORKERS FAIL TO DEMAND THEIR ENTITLEMENTS NOW, THEY WILL NOT GET IT IN 2016

• concerned citizen 8 years ago

Are u uneducated?People are demanding that their condition of services which by the way is supported by the constitution be met and you are accusing another group for instigating? U should not be allowed to vote.

• Soomui 8 years ago

Will the last person who leaves the country, please put off the lights ..... well that is, if there is any power left.

NDC MOTHER FUCKERS ARE DESTROYER GHANA FOR YOU.

• quansy 8 years ago

Hahahha. Best comment ever. Thank u

• Ka Na Wu 8 years ago

How do you know?

NDC MOTHER FUCKERS ARE DESTROYING GHANA

• Ka Na Wu 8 years ago

Cost of Incompetence. Everybody is on strike except corrupt Mahama and his corrupt officials

• yensiamoa 8 years ago

Why do Ghanaians still entertain this bogus government? This government understands strikes only. Mahama's government is like Liman's government. The money is being used to pay the footsoldiers of NDC and phone-in callers. ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

The government is trying hard to make things better for Ghanaiand but brainless people like you are the problem.
    You call it a bogus government but you are asking the government to throw money away to every idiot who goes on ...

• kkkk 8 years ago

Did i hear you say trying hard? Where is the money to be retrieved from Woyome? Trying hard my foot

• Ibrahim 8 years ago

Dont mind this stupid person called corney, just comment here without thinking, am not u wrk, u seat at home and get paid by this useless party ndc, so all u do is to post useless things, foolish animal... Avu

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Gbemela, who called himself Ibrahim,I don't blame you,now you have Internet on your phone in the country to visit Ghanaweb to write trash without using your brain to analyse what people write before writing trash,thanks to ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Corney, my problem is why should goverment promise them all those allowances when there is no money to pay them? The government should be honest with them.
    Also, teachers, nurses, Doctors and other workers also see how polit ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

Frank,this is not about salaries it is about conditions of service which far outweighed the salaries they are taking,if somebody works and not get paid that I support them to go on strike up until they get paid,no normal pers ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 8 years ago

for your yellow n white gold rings...wedding n engagement rings ...call or watsapp us on 0244717600 for more latest pictures to choose from...also search samojewellery on Facebook n on instagram....branches in Ho,kumasi, spin ...

• Kofi Konadu. ksi. 8 years ago

Oh hooh!!! Ghanaians are tired of strike strike.strike here strike there why ?what at all do you want Mahama to do? It's a big shame to this country.

• Kofi - USA 8 years ago

I am sure the NDC fools will also say NPP is behind this strike and that they are NPP members. NDC should find solutions instead of blaming others. They need to stop the insults and fix the nations problems

• Minta 8 years ago

NDC doesn't have to say it. Your own conscience is making you say it. If NPP had the chance, they would detonate an atom bomb just so they would be in government. And then there would be no country to govern.

• CITIZEN 8 years ago

I think I now justify Rawlings and the revolutions. Because some of this nonsense wouldn't be possible. We are indeed making nonsense of our democrach and for that I suppose there will soon be a revolution. Every body has bec ...

• Akwah 8 years ago

People sit there and they assume that Ghana has money. hmmmm! the President is not chopping anybody's money. We are our own enemy. Book and research allowance? I am beginning to think that lecturers should be forced to publis ...

• kab 8 years ago

I love that. As if they do any research.let's stop de selfish game and help de government out.

• Ali, Toronto 8 years ago

If their case is genuine, they should stop research only, but continue to teach. Their salary as lecturers is not at issue; if they stop teaching they should not get paid.
    Nation wreckers... they forget that they also live i ...

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

Are you telling lecturers to stop research because the stupid NDC government broke an agreement to pay them this allowance? No wonder nothing good comes out of Africa since we rely on other countries to lead in everything whi ...

• Ali, Toronto 8 years ago

That indeed is the problem... you have a mind diseased by politics! You are comparing the teachers with politicians, and a comparison cannot be made with elsewhere on sensible and fair NO WORK NO PAY. Yep, you are not a jerk.

• Liars! 8 years ago

Are you suggesting that lecturers should stop doing research because your incompetent government is refusing to fulfil its part of a legitimate bargain? Stop exposing your ignorance on ghanaweb! No wonder you belong to the ND ...

• TWWEEAAA 8 years ago

Useless gov't. Completely and utterly useless.

• Ghana must know 8 years ago

It's about time Ghanaians WAKE UP and let the GREEDY politicians knows that Ghana don't belong to them . They were given the mandate to serve the people and not to create,loot and share. Even NDC DOGS are in "V8s". That is w ...

• MYSTICAL 8 years ago

So, if I may ask, would the striking doctor's bring back to life the lives that are lost as a results of their strike?. Oh God have mercy.
    Does these so call doctor's have a professional code of ethics at all? Someone s ...

• Gyataba 8 years ago

As much as I do not support the doctors' strike action, have you taken the time to ask why did the govt wait till the docs go on strike first after he, the govt, was given eight month notice!

What does the govt do? The do ...

• tkur j 8 years ago

Gov't waited and it's too late now so your Ghanaians should die. You shouldn't forget that Mahama and his family, and the corrupt politicians will not die because of this strike.

• Gyataba 8 years ago

I respect your point. Hence we have to blame the sides for "killing" Ghanaians but not single the doctors out and blame them for the impasse.

• nathan 8 years ago

please resolve this problem before school reopen we beg the minister of education
    otherwise we would never move forward in this because it too much to as a parent

• Nezer 8 years ago

Enk)si dab3n??

• Gyataba 8 years ago

Lectures should present their semesters reading list to their departments well ahead before the semesters begins so that the schools and departments will order the books, periodicals and journals. These would be kept at the d ...

• kyei baffour 8 years ago

chase those crazy baldheads out of the yard. for how long should we continue to entertain government refusal to settle UTAG book and research allowance?.. I don't want to believed that government budget for every year do not ...

• Atta Glorious 8 years ago

I am ashamed that the people who are the elite of the country, doctors and University teachers are not setting a good example. After all the book and research allowances we have been paying how many Universities in Ghana are ...

• Ghanaba Babs in the Diaspora 8 years ago

They don't deserve even a dime. Elevated Secondary School Teachers. Hahaha.

Recyclers. Research allowance indeed ?

• ck 8 years ago

Foolish graduant,snails,goat,rapist Satan punish all people who declare strike in this country.

• OWURA GOOD 8 years ago

PLEASE THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD LISTEN TO OUR LECTURERE.UNICERSITY STRIKES DOES DOES NOT HELP THE COUNTRY IN SOOO MANY WAYS.GRADUATES ARE TO COME OUT AND WORK TOWARDS THE SKILLS AND KNOWLEDGE THEY HAVE AQUIRE.IF EVRYDAY STRIKE ...

• Lexis 8 years ago

Will this strike action affect we the level 100 students who are to report to school on 8th August?

• Drake 8 years ago

I definitely knew teachers will be on strike for similar conditions UTAG has done so and i believe if not for vacation GNAT and NAGRAT and then POTAG. Its unfortunate that some keep supporting this government, if u were in ta ...

• Goldenboy King 8 years ago

Oo wat a strange Ghana dat we are leaving. Wat is wrong with so kol create , loot nd share NDC government. Are they serious? Infact Prez Mahama has to resign nd stop dose comments dat mk ghanaians anger. We nd our lecturers g ...

• KOFI 8 years ago

FOR RENT- TWO & ONE BEDROOM APARTMENT WITH A/C.,SATELLITE/CABLE
    TV LINKS ETC. IN TANTRA HILLS.

PLEASE CALL: 026 471 6238

• eva 8 years ago

this govt is the worst in history. corrupt govt.thieves. goats ndc supp.

• Togbe 8 years ago

Why this crave for money. Mr prez dont mind these unpatrotic & greed possess beings. If they like let them also resign. The problem of ghana is Ghana is dat there is no geniue openion and religious leaders. They all put their ...

• Frank Sam 8 years ago

Yet they don't teach anything, I wonders why some call themselves university teachers. the way they are fucking these university girls and giving marks er. their scripts are marks by TAs i.e, national service persons. the uni ...

• serwaah 8 years ago

yes
    dnt go
    nobody will be there to receive u

• komfo 8 years ago

What is happening in this country?Strikes all over the place.Mahama will still win come 2016.The votes are in the rural areas and not with the elite few in the cities.

• NONSSA 8 years ago

The Non-Serious Students Association wishes to thank the entire membership of UTAG for their late but timely strike action. So long have we waited for this year's strike action, and truly it has become a reality. It is our pr ...

• ghanaman 8 years ago

all these labour agitations are a direct consequence of the leakage of GMA's negotiation proposals

• coste 8 years ago

ghana for u,
    de govt onli want de citizen to suffer
    Anytin dat reduces de economic hardship of any Ghanaian, de govt will abort, talk of DKM INVESTMENT, GOD IS LOVE FUN CLUB, CHUNK of pple moni aa bn freeze in de B.O.G, MA ...

• sir lon£ly 8 years ago

what do they use this book and research allowance For? on student ladies they always give research works to students to do.

• BLESS BEE 8 years ago

oyiwa! !! indeed the bible says if the wicked rules, the people suffer. THIS ndc government has led us to destruction. But on the more serious note, let us all accept that there are difficulties in the country caused by the ...

• obeng 8 years ago

what research* lazy ghanaian lecturers

• Douglas. Bristol-UK`° 8 years ago

they can go to hell

• Amega 8 years ago

But what at aaallll is wrong in this country called Ghana? Soon the country will be wiped off the globe. Govt must sit up.

• Maame 8 years ago

Lecturers claim to have research and the like ! Meanwhile , we are always using the same handouts as our predecessors. And even exams questions are the same ! No difference ! I wonder the kind of research they are talking abo ...

• cold water 8 years ago

are they not picking apor from the internet for the students.

• Fo Koku - Tanyinbge 8 years ago

Ha ha haa!

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

This people are truely educated n doctors are idiots

• kofi poku 8 years ago

they just need the money for thier stomachs ...if they really need the money for research they can always apply from the fund the government has created for them ..

• emma 8 years ago

the selfish game is too much.we want this, we want that.lets forget about those things and lets be content with what ever we have. After the earth will be destroyed in no time

• Odame 8 years ago

I am even confused now. Is it our government that is irresponsible or our lecturers are becoming too selfish? What a country we have!!!

• MzD 8 years ago

the opening of circil runover is not what we need ooooo.....tom.lives er being lost due to delay payment of Doctors now teachers followed e trend.The youth in GH er asking can we develop er mother land in dz mud made by e cor ...