Cedi crashes against major foreign currencies

Read Comments Comments (44)

• OSEI 8 years ago

THE CEDI HAS THE DEAD GOAT SYNDROME: FROM GHS 0.98 = $1.00. IT IS USED TO FALLING BELOW MAJOR CURRENCIES. NDC USED THEIR FIRST 4 YEARS TO BASH KUFFUOR INSTEAD OF DOING THEIR WORK. NOW SCHOOL FEEDING, NATIONAL HEALTH INSURANCE ...

• why 8 years ago

Gh is finished, if u can find a better life outside gh go for it. This has shown theres no hope. If 20 mill daily cpuldnt save the cedi, its over, what we wait for now is a crash

• Mahama 8 years ago

U are right me Mahama would finish Ghana and bash my wife anus bcos she has a big one.if anybody is interested just come its free

• Anonymous Coward 8 years ago

Economy stupid. We don't have the men to lead the country. Ghana is on her knees begging for mercy.

• Abeku Quansah Ativorgbe. 8 years ago

The ship is sinking before our eyes, yet many are ready to put their lives on the line to keep the same captain in control. We deserve all the shame, pain and suffering because we simply can't use our God given brains to make ...

• Agya Koo 8 years ago

Your comments have captured my total view on Ghana's economic and political future. If we cannot come together and agree that things are not going in the right direction right now, and continue to vote along tribal lines, the ...

• Pusiga Naaba 8 years ago

You see. The NDC and its political machinery backed by the supreme court,bought and paid for corrupt judge Atuguba stole an election that they never deserved. It is what we are all payiny for now. A country governed by a "dea ...

In the real world where people are not drunk by NPP propaganda crap they are all facing hardship.You can broaden your knowledge with this bit.

South Africa rand hits all-time low against the dollar
    1 hour ago

The ra ...

• kk 8 years ago

so what is ur point?? Can u hear urself speak?? smh...

• dead goat 8 years ago

dead goat is helping the cedi

• For u. 8 years ago

Ghanaians are d problem.. Contantly talking down d economy... Scaring investors,importing from brasilian hair to iphones... What do u expect....

• KOSEK 84 8 years ago

Mate any serious investor does not listen to rumors . In case you dont know the health of the economy is on the internet so away with this thrash about talking down the economy or the currency. Its just not working and only t ...

• special one 8 years ago

And the president is making merry outside the country with his family

• special one 8 years ago

And people are willing to die for this nonsense to continue simply because they are benefiting from our suffering's.GOD SAVE GHANA

• CORNEY 8 years ago

My friend,just get lost with your ignorance,even if God is in incharge of Ghana the cedi will continue to depreciate,stop blaming government for everything,government cannot continue to make the cedi strong true artificial me ...

• sanderxphilips 8 years ago

Yea democracy is booming under NDC of Mahama and his viper mouth Mosquito

• Asem sebe 8 years ago

I told you this cedi appreciastion would not last!!! the Bank of Ghana and the government are playing voodoo or kalabule economics!!! the 20 million us Dollars they were pumping into daily into the economy to 'save' the cedi ...

• CHORKOR SCHOOL BOY 8 years ago

WHERE IS DUNCAN WILLIAMS ? THE CEDI NEEDS HIS PRAYERS AGAIN.

• CANTONA 8 years ago

wo y3 asem oooh. This NDC people have weak economic policies.They have nothing good to offer Ghanaians.How could you be pumping 20 million dollars a day to sustain the economy.When the source of that 20 million dollars is no ...

• Mozay 8 years ago

US $1 = Ghc 4.31.
    Massa, is this ship (Ghana) a replica of the Titanic? The ship is sinking o, captain do something fast!!!
    O sorry, I forget say he's already a dead goat; struggling to resurrect.
    How possible. Just throw ...

• DD 8 years ago

Until we sort out the economy we are in trouble. Oil and gold prices are going to be low for a long time.The country needs a plan B.

• KA NA WU 8 years ago

The Cedi will continue to depreciate against foreign currencies like U.S dollar, and British Pound Sterling where Ghana mostly trade with them until Ghana improves its production base to reduce demand for foreign commodities. ...

• Ganyo 8 years ago

When will these illiterate journalists learn the language of their trade.

• tolegba 8 years ago

there is nothing called ghanaian economy. it doesn't exist.

• fear woman 8 years ago

I told u guys when u people voted for mills that Ghana we will crawl before we eat

• Adele P 8 years ago

Where are the NDC supporters on this article? They have vanished into the thin air. This article supports removing the party from governance next year period.

• Dr Che Che Coolay 8 years ago

most currencies around the would have lost value this year. there will soon be a global currency war.the bank of Ghana cannot save the cedi

• SHALOM 8 years ago

Govt needs to put down measures to stop illegal forex trnsactions involving foreigners (especially Nigerians) who buy much of the dollars and repatriate to their country for business.
    With this bad business going on behind t ...

• Choose Knowledge 8 years ago

Excellent strategy to stem the shortage of Dollars from also affecting the cedi's depreciation. Unfortunately these backdoor loopholes will always be in existence within the economy. However, before such an exercise can comme ...

• SHALOM 8 years ago

Hope BoG officials will read an take note because it reality on the ground.
    Other than that the million dollars being injected into the economy weekly will find their ways to other countries which are starving seriously for ...

THE MAN IS STILL TRAVELLING MAKING MORE EXPENCES.

• Lisa 8 years ago

The Cedi will continue to fall until the government cuts government spending and half of its staff. Ghana have too many people on the payroll who do nothing for Ghana. Ghana must diversify it's economy. Its too reliant on oil

• SAD SOLSIER 8 years ago

The whole world's economy is up in flame, from China to the stock market. Please stop demeaning your country for the chance to gain power. It saddens me to hear all these lies perpetrated against Ghana. When do you guys educa ...

There is a global market sell off. The global economy is officially in the bear market. This week's Cedi depreciation has nothing to do with the President. Equities and commodities markets are plunging as a result of the arti ...

• Dogg 8 years ago

Petrol should be very cheap in Ghana today, but that has not happened.

This very well may be due to the fact that the suppliers of oil to Ghana have a centralized monopoly over the industry. The country's main supplier of oil is Nigeria, and they are currently experiencing a decline in crude oil ...

• Martin/PA 8 years ago

Look at the World major currencies. Except for the USA currency most countries are experiencing this same fate like Ghana. Let's rather build a solid intra African trader to limit the pressure foreign Economies have on Afri ...

• k. k. A 8 years ago

If my memory serves my right then I recalled when the visionless so called BOG governor indicated that he has found an antidote to curb the falling value of the cedi which he called cedi magic. A word to the fool- Economic is ...

That "magic you are referring to is called quantitative easing. It works. Unfortunately Ghana does not posses the currency reserves needed to engage in this form of monetary easing. For the process to be viable, you need exce ...

• L.D.Green 8 years ago

Ghana has made the mistake of basing their currency on foreign worthless paper. Ghana should base it's currency on the value of the nations resources.

For Ghanaians to base their currency's value on its nation's resources, there needs to be an agreed upon consensus by other national governments that we trade with. If they choose not to adhere to this change, this proposal c ...

• Budu Yaw Asamoa 8 years ago

This NDC govt is nothing but bunch of failures

• KB 8 years ago

am not down playing wat u said but just want to ask a question. had the taste of Ghanaians for foreign goods changed wen the cedi stood almost 1:1 with the $ for about 8yrs?
    i agree we shud change our taste for foreign goods ...

• KB 8 years ago

***correction***
    govt has
    placed bann on importation
    of foreign cars as a means
    to protect a locally manufactured
    car industry, will i get access
    to my desired car?
    NO. i will be forced to buy
    d3 locally manufactured