Halt depreciation of Cedi – Kufuor

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Azumah Nelson 8 years ago

Just listen to this crook.The problem with the Cedi started with his Government.

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

Kufuor Was expected to give Ghana a Clean Break from Corruption,Inspire Creativity to help Stabilize the Cedi.Instead corruption door was opened under his Nose and today Mahama and NDC can Loot Night and Day.!

• Straight Shooter 8 years ago

If even the cedi's depreciated started during his rule, does is give the current govt. to watch things getting worse without doing nothing..
    You guys seem to be teenagers who don't know anything.
    Grasp the sense in what ex- ...

• Mr.Africa. 8 years ago

Then who over threw N R C government,it was the same people who are now parading themselves as the best government Kwame Nkrumah Ghana has ever had.As for depreciation of the cedi what did Mr.Kufuor do?he added ¢10,000&¢20, ...

• Humanity 8 years ago

That is the problem in Ghana, MAJORITY of citizens are "BLOCKHEADS/BRAIN DEAD". Sorry fellow countrymen, we won't be were we are if people USED THIER BRAINS!

• Esi 8 years ago

GHANA'S LEADERS TALK LIKE FOOLS!

WHEN KUFUOR WAS DIVESTING NKRUMAH'S STRATEGIC STATE INSTITUTIONS NATURAL RESERVES TO FOREIGNERS LIKE TULLOW AND VODAFONE, AND ARTFICIALLY INCREASING THE INTRINSIC VALUE OF THE OLD CEDI TO N ...

• SAY IT AS IT 8 years ago

Dose he read at all , and if he reads dose he make some sense out of what he reads?
    If one is on top of events in this country one needs not to be told what is going on with the currency at the moment.
    It seems some people ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

you guys just jump on any comment without accessing situation; first of all,EX-PRESIDENT with due respecting politicizing Ghana economic situation given the fact;you knew Ghana appitite for import is driving the cedi down;why ...

• SAMO JEWELLERY 8 years ago

If u need yellow n white gold rings for your wedding n engagement...then call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 for latest pictures to choose from.....we have offices in HO,KUMASI, KASOA AND ACCRA SPINTEX ROAD,SANTA MARIA.....u ca ...

• the Don 8 years ago

You guys are pathetic.So your saviour Mahama can do know wrong in your eyes right??I now understand how these stinking idiots came from various countries and practically started owning us.You guys are like zombies.One lead th ...

• the Don 8 years ago

You guys are pathetic.So your saviour Mahama can do no wrong in your eyes right??I can now understand how these stinking idiots came from various countries and practically started owning us.You guys are like zombies.One lead ...

• ELINAM 8 years ago

Between 75-90,000 BPD and we're here shouting with a MEGA phone?
    Our mouth. mouth and exaggerating and embellishing our worth and capability is just so legendary.

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

What makes K4 think dividing the cedi by 10,000 gave it value? Ghana cedi lost value when that happened. All these govt embark on changes without any study, then turn around n make noise.

• Future President¹²³ 8 years ago

Really? I'm shocked you can even write and read English. Every Ghanaian even in the remotest village remembers the nation-wide advertisement during the re-denomination of the currency which was always tagged with "The value i ...

• Be wise 8 years ago

You're a wise man... That is Ghana for u... But there's a positive side of it: should the cedi continue depreciating for the next 2 years (although will trigger hardship in the country)it will reduce certain unnecessary impor ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 8 years ago

What did Kufuor do to halt the depreciating cedi? Re-denomination of the old currency did not mean halting of depreciating cedi, did it?

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 8 years ago

correction. Re-denomination of Cedi does not mean halting depreciation as this Pathetic ex-president is claiming. It shows he does not even know what depreciation of a currency is all about.

Eight good years and all this t ...

It's unfortunate that past n present govt make big changes without any impact study. I was in Ghana when the re-domination occurred, it was about $1 to 0.80 ghc. I recall a lot of news on the airwaves about embezzlement n rob ...

• saa 8 years ago

Shame, Azuma Nelson Kuffour did his best Ghana was attractive in all sectors during his tenure in office,Mahama is a complete waste.

• PRINZY@BONN-Germany 8 years ago

President Kuffour was exceptional leader ghana ever had. He was Ambitous, intellegent, a generational thinker, further more has book & home sense which the current Ndc govm't luck. But its not too late for Ghana, kuffour's so ...

• LARYEAH 8 years ago

YOU ARE NO DIFFERENT FROM THE DEAD GOAT!

• kese 8 years ago

fuck u u idiot muderfucker..u kiss ur mama ass n tell her shes crook...fuck u

• Bad,bad,bad 8 years ago

Mr president you are wrong.I do not think Ghana will buy things with a bag of Cedis

• The Stallion 8 years ago

The former prez is not referring to the literal meaning. Why are you guys so stupid?

It is very frustrating discussing important issues of national interest with such confused folks.

• Nii Akwei 8 years ago

I agree with like minded people as you. Ghana has infinite number of confused folks.

• Kwaku 8 years ago

Because you are stupid too. He looted enough so he can now advice

• CORNEY 8 years ago

My friend,nobody is stupid,what Kufour said is rather stupid,you don't need to be Economist to know that the cedi cannot be stabilize the way some of you think since we import almost everything.
    Mr Kufour is either confused ...

Don't worry. When Nana comes to power we'll do it again. That is divide the cedi by 10,000. Then confuse Ghanaians as to the value of money stolen as happened during the K4 regime.

• Kwasi Kakap3 8 years ago

Just a saying, stupid idio3 fool

• Ataa 8 years ago

when in Ghana did we put money in a wheel barrow to buy bread! I wonder why a former president should be talking like this. Why do we keep on talking down our country? Is kufuor not part of this problem when he did that polit ...

• The Stallion 8 years ago

Please go back to school, if you have been is school at all. You have not even heard of metaphor, simile, personification and so on. When he says "money in a wheel barrow", he is speaking metaphorically.
    You guys are semi-li ...

Oh really. As if it's not happened around the world before. That why K4 divided the old cedi by 10,000 without any impact study. We know what's he's talking about. We can't b fooled.

• Kwasi Kakap3 8 years ago

Eeiiii!!!!enipa yibi 3y3 3nnnnam can't u understand this simple statement he made?l wonder hw u ppl pass exams

• Brobbsnet 8 years ago

Kufuor,Because of your BAD Leadership,Woyome Stole $51 Million and Mahama NDC stole $1.25 Billion From OIL and NO Adult in Ghana is Willing to Stop this Bastards Because You Kufuor is Corrupt.Ghana is Falling Deep into a bott ...

You need your brain to be checked cos there is no sense in your posting.

• Somebody 8 years ago

So nobody can even have an opinion in this county anymore. Things are getting bad. The government needs to get up and start working hard to fix things and stop blaming previous administration.

I thought just like you guys ...

• Freeman for Peace. 8 years ago

It's not that bad in GHANA,s economy. There are potentially multiply viable small scale enterprises in rural communities ready to be developed into profitable ventures. The villages own land needed for enterprise. Invest in y ...

• Mutual Respect 8 years ago

Folks take a deep breadth, y'all got good points but you can make your case without insulting each other. Civility is healthy, and healthy debate and mutual respect is peaceful and less stressful. However, there is only one g ...

• JONES 8 years ago

IT WILL NOT BE TOO LONG UNLESS GHANA ELECTORTE PREVENT CHINA MEDELLING IN GHANA POLITICS BY HELPING TO STEAL EECTIONS NEXT TIME AROUND

• Takoradi 8 years ago

These is not about school but is about home education because if you did not have a good training at home you not understand what K 4 said.

• Syman 8 years ago

Am very certain Ex- Prez made similar statements during his tenure.
    Just as the present Leader is doing, dead goat syndrome, Ghanaians shouldn't build houses like vultures, during the unfortunate flooding and disastrous fire ...

• ekow nyame 8 years ago

The only almighty problem which is hammering the cedi down is the energy crisis. The fact is what is the back bone of the cedi, one may ask. The country's production capacity has been reduced to about zero. Until the energy ...

• Abeku Quansah Ativorgbe. 8 years ago

You guys are connected, so compare your contributions on this forum to that of the youth in some other countries around the world. We are looking for answers or solutions to our common problem, so what do you have to offer?

• Obiba Broke 8 years ago

I came to ghana during Kuffour,s era and things were much better , i came back to Canada and put a Ghanaian flag on my car the next day, i was then a proud ghanaian canadian, now i am ashame to be part of corrupt and use ...

• Nayalle Woyome 8 years ago

The shit is beginning to hit the fan. We are all going to smell the pepper. Ghana currency will turn into a toillet paper and the struggle for survival will begin. There will be more armed robberies, desperation will set in, ...

• Etweba 8 years ago

Ali Baba Kuffuor, don't you know that when you removed the zeros from the cedis and stole it without backing it up with production , it was bound to be in this mess.
    All of a sudden the cedis artificially became strong ...

• Obiba Broke 8 years ago

Changimg the old cedi to the new has nothing to do with the current depreciation. Bad management of the nation,s resources is the problem, this ndc administration does not know how to use our resources wisely

• NANA MARFO (CHICAGO), PRO, ACONA 8 years ago

I respect the ex president for his contribution towards the development of our dear country, Ghana, However, I totally disagree with his exaggeration of carrying cedis in wheel barrows to buy bread. I have never seen or heard ...

• Nii Gbante 8 years ago

Rot! you had the luxury of declaring bankrupt.
    Global benevolence is in short supply.

• George 8 years ago

The dollar have affected every country not only ghana due to China's devaluation of yen

• Nana Adu 8 years ago

On his last day in office the greedy and corrupt Kuffuor violated the constitution and ordered the payment of $2.6 million to the British family,made sure that payment was made on the same day,and took his share of $1 million ...

• CT boy 8 years ago

Why all these noise, there is no problem in Ghana. The economy is boosting on to the highest level. Ghana has 24/7 electricity power in all cities and villages. The cedi is more stronger than any other currency. Good roads, g ...

• TRUTH 8 years ago

Just go for a common currency!

• BRO DAN -TRC 8 years ago

BLESSED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA; -"JOHN" HELP "JOHN" THE CONCLUSION OF THE WHOLE MATTER. YEA; A TIME TO THINK; "ONE GHANA". "IT IS FINISHED", THEREFORE; -"OCCUPY ...

• Muhammad 8 years ago

Some of you are naive to understand what the Ex-President has said and therefore, you are making S*t*u*p*i*d comments. Re-denomination of the cedis has nothing to do with the current depreciation of the cedis. The depreciatio ...

• JOHNj 8 years ago

WHO AT ALL APPOINTED ATO FORSON AS A DEPUTY FINANCE MINISTER. OH MAHAMA

• JOHNj 8 years ago

• Mubarak 8 years ago

Some of you need proper free education from NPP government but not the Propaganda free education being banded by the Dead Goat government.

• JOHNj 8 years ago

HOW CAN ATO FORSON BE A DEPUTY FINANCE MANAGER? ITS SO SAD. OH GHANA

• JOHNj 8 years ago

• Lt Col Eduaneyede 8 years ago

Kuffuor is a disgraceful ex president.
    He should face the law for abusing the office of the president for authorizing the payment of $2.6 million to a British man on his last day in office. Shame . Infact he must be be ...

• Essum 8 years ago

The Cedi is falling at a faster rate more than ever because the government is fiscally impotent. The people in government steal from the state and exchange the local currency stolen into hard currencies and deposit them in fo ...

• asonaba kofi 8 years ago

it doesn`t matter what he did or didn`t do in the past we dont have to insult our ex president.the advise he is giving is a good one. even if you smoke, you can still advise your children not to smoke because it`s not good fo ...

• pee 8 years ago

So what is the need of the redomination of the cedi you did?

• Ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

Murdurer

• AMB 8 years ago

Defenses galore! The decline of the cedi even started right under K4. There.were no economic fundamentals for the redenomination. Over night the Cedi became stronger than the $ and other major currencies such as the euro, cf ...

• Esi 8 years ago

GHANA'S LEADERS TALK LIKE FOOLS!

WHEN KUFUOR WAS DIVESTING NKRUMAH'S STRATEGIC STATE INSTITUTIONS AND NATURAL RESERVES TO FOREIGNERS LIKE TULLOW AND VODAFONE, AND ARTFICIALLY INCREASING THE INTRINSIC VALUE OF THE OLD CEDI ...

• METUSALA 8 years ago

Kufuor had all the chance in the world to prevent what is happening to the cedi today but did nothing.
    Ghana has an over-supply of doctors and professors but suffers from an acute shortage of brain users.

A president does ...

• JOE 8 years ago

B'COS OF HAJ. SIMPLE

• TULA 8 years ago

Massa; This man Kuffour is intllectually bankrupt ; there is nothing anybody can do about the depreciation the cedi because the fundamentals of the economy are wrong;an element of the economy that is the macro -economic varia ...

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah Atlanta GA:: 8 years ago

Yes.You know it all and you've said it all. Metaphor, personification,simile etc, etc .I am, however,shocked that you could miss a classic example of hyperbole in H E Kuffour's comments with your depth of knowledge in English ...

• Salim 8 years ago

During Kufours presidency it was one dollar for seven thousand cedes. To fix this he only cancelled the zeros. Voodoo economics

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

HOW DID THIS MAN EVER GET THE MANADATE TO RULE GHANA.

HE HAS TO BE JUDGED AS THE WORST PRESIDENT EVER TO HAVE BEEN ELECTED TO THE HIGH OFFICE IN GHANA.

CAN YOU JUST IMAGINE, THIS WAS PRESIDENNT IN WHOSE OFFICE,STOLE THE ...

• Koby 8 years ago

Was in Tudu today and none of the forex dealers were taking Foreign Currency they say they have made huge losses. I changed Euro at 4.6 on Wednesday and today the only Place I could change it in faraway Madina was quoting 4.0 ...