Ghana has no reason to be poor – World Bank

Read Comments Comments (123)

• KOGYAM58 8 years ago

THANK YOU FOR SAYING IT ALL

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33 ) 8 years ago

GHANA HAS REASON TO BE POOR!!!!!!!!!!!
    INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT NDC HAS RULED GHANA MORE THAN ANY GOVERNMENT IN OUR POST- INDEPENDENT HISTORY. NDC HAS SIMPLY MADE GHANA POOR. YOU TALKING ABOUT 26 YEARS OF TOTAL DESTRUCTION. T ...

• Dessie 8 years ago

My friend;this is not political pundering;lack of intelligency my people perish;we always connect every issue in the country as political..entrepreneurship is not political..how many individual own million dollack mark;statis ...

• fidelity 8 years ago

Dessie do you expect the people to be faithful when the Government is corrupt.

• Saint Ghfuo: CHALLENGE YOURSELF!!! 8 years ago

The national leaders must be blamed. They are corruot, steal national monies and mismanage budgets and resources. Rather than bail them with imf and wbank. Jail them

• BAMBA 8 years ago

CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE THROUGH SADA. EXPERIENCE AND VISIONARY MAN HAS SAID IT ALL

• GOD SAVE GHANA 8 years ago

GHANA IS POOR BECAUSE OF JJ RAWLINGS AFRC-P/NDC'S HATE,ENVY,GREEDY AND INCOMPETENCE.DUMSOROOOO!YAA MAHAMA OOOO NA ACHRIEE,ANIMGUASE ENE NKOMFEM NKOAA.THE VISIONLESS NDC CAN NEVER DEVELOP GHANA WITH PROPAGANDA AND LIES.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

The World Bank Country Director is absolutely right that Ghana and Ghanaians should never be poor. Unfortunately, due to poor leadership, bad governance, indiscipline and near lawlessness, Ghana and Ghanaians are poor.

Th ...

• Kofi Adomako.Koforidua 8 years ago

You always talk rubbish without thinking,if ndc has ruled for 24 years without doing nothing,what at all did you do in your time of 8 continuous years you can point any completed project you finished so stop that blind politi ...

• GHANA 8 years ago

AFTER LOOTING AND SHARING FOR 8YEARS; THE STILL GOT THE NERVES TO COME AND INSULT OTHER PARTIES:

• duked 8 years ago

YOUR BETTER GHANA AGENDA HAS TURNED SOCIALISTS LIKE WOYOME, AFRIYIE ANKRAH AND ASIEDU NKETIA, INTO THE RICHEST IN THE COUNTRY. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PPL OF SADA, SUBAH. YOUR JOB WAS TO DO WHAT NPP FAILED TO DO; TAKE PPL OUT OF ...

• eva 8 years ago

ur a fool than ur fada. kwasea can u measure ndcs 26yrs regime with corruption and thievery headed by mahama with npps 8yrs with major social interventions policies. aboa ba. kwasea. u pple will see soon. show up again. ashaw ...

• Ninja 8 years ago

You rather talk rubbish my bro, how can you compare 24yrs to 8years? 8years was better than that of your 24yrs . Now you have collapsed all the good initiative of Mr kuffour and you still have power to tell people they tal ...

• SANDY 8 years ago

You are a fool, plain and simple. Stop using Koforidua since there are no fools in that town that's why we vote npp. You Togolese living in anlo town should stop talking for the ndc in that region since they have no say in To ...

• SANDY 8 years ago

You are a fool, plain and simple. Stop using Koforidua since there are no fools in that town that's why we vote npp. You Togolese living in anlo town should stop talking for the ndc in that region since they have no say in To ...

• Michael 8 years ago

Prince, you are part of the problems, always looking for who to blame

• james 8 years ago

Ghana will become a successful nation when they stop going to church and start inventing things... religion only makes pastors rich but keep everyone else poor. Science made Europe ans the US successful nations, not god...

• Loway 8 years ago

You're a slave .third world thinkers

• Adams/Accra 8 years ago

We shall always be poor due to the fact that the foolish ones are more that the intelligent ones and those running most of the offices are square pegs in round holes. In the abundance of water, the fool is thirsty

• cojoe 8 years ago

Decrease interest rates and give loans to poor farmers and you will see wonders.

No country grows without looking inward first.

Instead of issuing treasury bills at 22-25% interest and bank rates at 25% interest, direct ...

• tundele 8 years ago

Israel does it for her farmers, we do it for our politicians.

• Rastafara"I" 8 years ago

the "so-called" leaders do not care...they are in it for themselves....

after Kwame Nkrumah, nothing has happened...and now IMF is again in charge even though Ghana is drilling oil....

salaries and conditions of servic ...

• Real African 8 years ago

Right on bro ! You are very right, well spoken , right on !!

• Sankofa 8 years ago

Spot on, Kerali.

THis is the best comment I have ever heard from the World Bank about Ghana.

Would the WB walk the talk by promoting policies which would help Ghana exploit her abundant natural resources by herself and ...

• read i 2 dye 8 years ago

dumb maama came to power...he doesn't understand commerce....he thinks money falls from trees....maama knew from his first day in office that he was going to borrow from IMF....he says to himself what the heck iam going to sp ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33 ) 8 years ago

INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT NDC HAS RULED GHANA MORE THAN ANY GOVERNMENT IN OUR POST- INDEPENDENT HISTORY. NDC HAS SIMPLY MADE GHANA POOR. YOU TALKING ABOUT 26 YEARS OF TOTAL DESTRUCTION. THIS IS NEVER THE GHANA NDC RECENTLY ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

Ghana's region for being corrupt is due to poor leadership and official thievery. Nepotism is killing Ghana so we are going to be por forever. Yes, the Ghanaian is incurably corrupt.

• David Ansah 8 years ago

Read your comments again and do your corrections my son.

• SOCIAL WHIP 8 years ago

The only mistake Kakari made was typing region instead of reason. He made sense with his comment. He is not drunk if you want an answer for your caption Mr. Ansah

• Rastafara 8 years ago

and he Ansah did not make any contribution besides the insult..tat is why Ghana is poor..misplaced arrogance..not my coequal mentality

• Aj 8 years ago

Dude kudos,it's really wonderful the way we have centralize our argument on the devil so called colonial master's English. we doesn't want to look else where for ideas then all you hear is he/she doesn't speak English hell no ...

• Kwabena 8 years ago

This is just restating a truism. It is absolutely embarrassing for a country like Ghana to continue to wallow in poverty. What sort of intellectual laziness is this? Unbelievable???

• Mr. Smith 8 years ago

Kwabena, much as I may agree with you, what is he here for? To make sure we remain poor by pushing through loans we cannot repay!!

We went for loans. They need to make sure we pay back. If we had learnt to use our resources wisely and not gone for their loans, we wouldn't be here. The problem is us not them!

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Yes, Ghana has no reason to be poor but we are because we are being led by thieves, idiots, swine etc. Also, most of our educated elite have "herd mentality" and has contributed to our abysmal performance.

We are a smal ...

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

Spot on!

• Agonaba 8 years ago

The truth

• Vicky 8 years ago

All we've had are wicked idiotic leaders with no clue to lead a Country but to profit themselves. They have no ideas to move the Country forward. Now we have a Meat Head who is promoting Batakari day.

• Says Who 8 years ago

We know that and we know that you know that too. So why did you give Mahama all that money. What was the reason for doing so.

Well thanks for letting us know.

• I say 8 years ago

SPOT ON!!! Well said. That idiot has sat down all these years and helped WB to mess up many so many countries and now has the gall to stand up and issue undeserving statements like this. Now that there is trouble, he is tryin ...

• GIVE ME MY BALLOT PAPER 8 years ago

A primary one school pupil knows there is no reason, absolutely none, for Ghana to be poor but for the dangerous thievery, incompetence and unfathomable ineptitude of the leadership with the worst being the John Dramani Maham ...

• Abul 8 years ago

Everyone in Ghana should have prospered if Kuffour and Rawlings were to work with the ordinary people. Rawlings started well but lost the plot. He did precisely what he killed people for sending his own children to be educate ...

• Mr. Smith 8 years ago

Abdul, I share your pain, but note that there is a system in place to keep poverty afloat. Satan's agents are scattered all over to make sure that is achieved. Mr. World Bank and his bosses are fully aware. That's why they ar ...

• CHRISTOS CHRISTOFF 8 years ago

The real pronlem is the very imcompetent NDC-a reckless gabg of idiots that metamorphosised from the PNDC

• Togbe Fiti v 8 years ago

Certainly, but not with projects like tree planting in the dry season, phantom akomfem rearing, as well as the insistence that major projects to turn things around in the north must necessarily be led by a northerner. One Amp ...

• Abul 8 years ago

Indeed Ghana has no excuse to cry wolf when it is rich in all the mineral resources. Thsi is why the foreigners rushed to Africa in the first place to do business in our minerals unless they decided to take our hard workign p ...

• Sarah 8 years ago

Our problem is our politicians are not interested in getting the ordinary man out of poverty. They want their family and friends to get rich and the rest of us can go to hell. How on earth can a company with no experience be ...

Change will surely come, but not with the incompetent and clueless leadership we have now.

• ALEENO 8 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU FOR TELLING THE TRUTH.IF YOU LISTEN PEOPLE IN THE RURAL AREAS TELLING THEIR STORIES YOU ASK YOUR SELF WHY WHY GHANA WITH ALL OUR RESOURCES.SO WHEN?

• Kofi (USA) 8 years ago

Plesse we need data of the resources in each region ,(town by town , district by district then the region ). The total gives the nation. Then we begin to harness for local comsumption or export. Corruption and polictics is K ...

• jj 8 years ago

ple

• jj 8 years ago

please stop this batakati' s nonsense. people are going to the moon, the sun and you are talking about batakati.please

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 8 years ago

You can't have a govt entirely made up of near brain dead incompetent buffoons and goons, crooks, thieves, boneheads and dopeheads as is in the case of this P/NDC govt and somehow manage not to be a poor country in spite of ...

• Kid 8 years ago

U ve said it all in a nice way, well done.

• Yaw 8 years ago

Man, you are the one who has the right perspective of things. Ghana has reason to be poor, and the reason is that we have people without intelligence, good planning, and love for their country in government. We have people wh ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 8 years ago

THE WORLD BANK OFFICIAL HAS HIT RIGHT ON THE NAIL.GHANA HAS NO EXCUSE TO BE POOR.WE ARE ABOUND WITH ABUNDANT NATURAL & HUMAN RESOURCES IN ALL SECTORS OF THE ECONOMY.
    WE HAVE EXCELLENT CLIMATE & VEGETATION;GOOD RAINFALL,SUNLI ...

• MISTY 8 years ago

Oyiwa president BROSAMBA mahama ena dahono, president yebe deee keke. is this man also ghanaian or NPPIAN may almighty god punish all those who even sympathized a party called ndc ABROSAMFUO PARTY

• AJASCO BOY 8 years ago

For 27 years, Ghana has been cursed with these group of thieves who have styled or branded themselves differently each time
    They came as "saviours" or revolutionaries in 1979/80 and revealed themselves as thieves selling sta ...

• duked 8 years ago

Twenty Richest People In Ghana For 2013

1. Ibrahim Mahama -$1.9 billion /Businessman , Brother of the current President of Ghana. Only Ghanaian to own a private jet.

2. Alfred Mahama -$1.3 billion./ Businessman, brother ...

• Joe 8 years ago

There is the reason to be poor if you have an incompetent leader like Mahama and NDC ruling this nation that is what we get. But time will tell.

• kwaku 8 years ago

Thank you sir, I think the people of Ghana needs to wake up and hold their leaders accountable, arrest, kill and jail them for corruptions and stealings

• ALI MUMUNI LONDON 8 years ago

UNTIL NDC GET OUT OF POWER FOR 100 YRS GHANA CAN'T ACHIEVED THAT NDC ARE THE WICKED GOV'T.

• LULA 8 years ago

SUV CARS IS KILLING US

• LULA 8 years ago

DONT BE KIDDING, WE THE POEPLE MUST STAND UP AGAINST CURRUPTION

• Ghana Biya 8 years ago

Talking is cheap. How much does a smock cost? How many people can afford it?

Education and farming are the solutions to poverty in the north. Provide the needed support for these 2 areas and wait for 10 years to see rea ...

• King 8 years ago

The truth hurts!Corruption is the order of the day

• Meshack 8 years ago

Are the idiots in the NDC listening? Common sense is now an endangered species in this country...stupidity has taken over our beloved nation and unfortunately, there is no cure...corruption is the national religion. After 58 ...

• Antoa 8 years ago

ALL THAT GJAMA LEADERS KNOW ARE PARTY POLITICS, AND CREATA LOOT AND SHARE WHEN IN POWER ,PERIOD.

THEY ARE ALL LAZY DADABA CHILDREN OF LAZY DOWNRIGHT CORRUPT USELESS EX POLITICIANS SO THESE HAPPY GO LUCKY ATTRIBUTES ARE HA ...

• OH AFRICA MY MOTHERLAND 8 years ago

Mismanagement, Nepotism, Corruption, Cronyism, and Lack of VISION!

What a sad story is ours? We have the resources, we have the brains and yet still be seem not to be getting anywhere. Why?

Besides Osagyefo Kwame Nk ...

• Kid 8 years ago

Lol

• Joe Turkey 8 years ago

Mahama is building a 5-star hotel in Dubai, owns 4 houses in Beverly Hills, California with two siblings. Semi-literate politicians have become the richest in the country. So, its not like Ghana is poor; the money is in the h ...

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

Nana Akufo-Addo has been vindicated! He has been saying that as a country with abundant resources and talented people, we don't have to be poor and has promised to let Ghana work again when elected as president.

The IMF co ...

• duked 8 years ago

THIS IS ALL THEY DO WITH OUR RESOURCES - STEAL THEM

Twenty Richest People In Ghana For 2013

1. Ibrahim Mahama -$1.9 billion /Businessman , Brother of the current President of Ghana. Only Ghanaian to own a private jet.

• Rose 8 years ago

Hello everyone i was browsing the internet and
    i saw a lot of wrong
    quote concerning the ILLUMINATI SOCIETY, i
    felt bad about it, i want
    to let you know few things about the
    ILLUMINATI SOCIETY. First. I am miss Rose Gben ...

• KWAKU ANANSE 8 years ago

YOU ARE IN SATAN'S BOSOM IN HELL.

• Pelicles 8 years ago

Those in that group do not expose themselves like you have done and that alone is a sign of lying. Trust me, you are a liar.

• JATO KWASHIVI RAWLINGS 8 years ago

THE 27(SOON 28) YEAR RULE OF THE THIEVING NDC PARTY HAS MADE GHANA. TWICE IN GHANA'S HISTORY THE NATION IS IN HIPC STATUS BECAUSE OF NDC CORRUPTION AND STEALING AND LOOTING OF THE NATION'S RESOURCES. VOTE THESE THIEVES OUT BE ...

With such incompetent people at the helm of affairs, with such ruthless liars running the country and with all these people stealing with both hands, Ghana has every reason to be poor.

• Omanba 8 years ago

The man has said it all, our leaders have failed us most especially this particular government. God can never be blamed. He has blessed us with everything as the man said. Corruption is our food we eat and lack of thinking I ...

• Esor 8 years ago

Dubai Mahama should punctuate the corruption,liaise wit the foreign banks n bring back our stolen cash,Woyome,Gyeda etc have excessively milk the cow for far too long.

• bobo 8 years ago

please tell the stupid Mahama and NDC es, nkatia

• SAMITU ROSE 8 years ago

we have deliberate criminals in power who used sada, gyeeda, subah, etc to rape ghana....why are some people really buffoons like that?.....we sat down for ndc to quickly pay out dubious jdgt debts of almost one billion dolla ...

• Mohammed 8 years ago

Ghana has. It is the s*t*u*i*d NDC government

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

ANIMALS AND NKWASEAFOR WHO WERE BORN UNDER TREES ON FARM LAND.THESE HUMAN ANIMALS WERE FED WITH COW DUNG MIXED WITH CONTAMINATED MILK WHILE BEEN WASH ED WITH COW PEE. WHY NOT SUNK AT BOTTOM LESS PIT.NKWASEAFOR.

• my name 8 years ago

Ghana need a hard person to rule the nation. But this greedy people in politics don't think of no one. DO WE WANT A MILITARY RULE?

• ABDUL RAHIM ABUBAKAR 8 years ago

Mr. Henry, thanks very much your concrete idea! I am wondering why Ghana is still condition! Look at Morocco and its economy, it's bases on fishing!!! Our major problem is lack of thinking about our country....! May God guide ...

• Yaa 8 years ago

The leaders in Ghana are stupids idiots and they have no vision. They have sold the country to Chinese, armed robbers from Nigeria. Where will these stupid leaders get the wisdom from to get our natural resources to build Gh ...

• Andy k 8 years ago

Na who causa it is the ruling NDC party since is the sole party which has ruled Ghana for more years after independence. God will soon give us Moses if we will open our eyes and give the the chance to him because when God spe ...

• eva 8 years ago

mahama must go. prez banza

• kofi 8 years ago

The comments here explain why Ghana is poor ....

• M Berger 8 years ago

we can assist in getting a LEGAL Visa to work and live in Europe. Contact by email mkberger@yandex.com for more information.

• Ghana must know. 8 years ago

Oh my brother it's a shame. Until the citizens rise up against these greedy politicians, Ghana will continue to be poor. God has bless us with all what it takes to be okay but due to corruption at the highest level we are su ...

I don't think Batakari production will eradicate poverty in northern Ghana. How many Batakaris can we export in a year and to where? Let use the arable land to produce all the rice we need to save the over $500 million we spe ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

I couldn't agree more with you. The batakari thing is the product of small minds - people who have nothing constructive to offer like Mahama. It just leads to mediocrity in all aspects of governance.

• ABDULMUMIN 8 years ago

Incompetency and corruption under JM_ndc administration is obviously the cause of our wooes

• Brofo 8 years ago

We have NDC, thats why we are poor

• KOO 8 years ago

This platform has become open to all and what many write tell a lot as to why we cannot solve our problems as a nation.Many do not understand issues and are easily swayed by convincing words.Many do not know how and why the n ...

• Man made 8 years ago

When evil men are at post, when your leaders are selfish, and care for themselves alone....., what do you expect?

• BOYE 8 years ago

STUPID LEADERS WITH FOOLISH SUPPORTERS

• Taniba 8 years ago

Mahama is misfit for Ghanaians

• Adepa 8 years ago

we are in this state because of stupid, foolish and corrupt leaders we have in our country
    This is the time Ghana needs a house cleaning; from AFRC to today. and I know with that Ghana will stand on it feet and that will al ...

• Eric 8 years ago

The land is good but the people are useless

• ****((((((****** 8 years ago

The problem is the animals and useless people who vote for brainless foolish,leaders in the the country

• Pastor Josiah 8 years ago

Ghana is poor because our leaders thinks that construction of roads and schools is why they are elected into office. They stop thinking the moment they win election. They start feeding on what the past govt left behind, until ...

• Awudu 8 years ago

Things fall apart.Until Ghana learn from it mistakes and corruptions it will not acheive it aims.We have all the resources on the planet but due corruptions going on ,the nation is poor.Thank you world Bank Director.Amen

• omanhene 8 years ago

Ghana will continue to be poor with these blockade leaders

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

The NDC is the reason why Ghana is poor. From AFRC, Rawlings collected 50cedi notes from the citizens. That was the beginning. They collapsed many businesses. PNDC came and sold Nsawam Cannery to Mrs. Rawlings & catering gues ...

• HARDER@-'89 8 years ago

The choice of the batari is more appropriate for the sole reason that its also the only if not one of the very indeginous industry that completely captures an integrates the entire value chain concept, from growing the crop ...

• yamo 8 years ago

As an old bank auditor and accountant, I can say, the World Bank is absolutely correct. It is nothing but the corruption of the politics in Ghana that brings all this misery upon the good people of Ghana. They want you to be ...

• kwam 8 years ago

So why are we poor? The answer is that our leaders lack vision, they are myopic , selfish and greedy . That is the only reason we are poor and at where we are today

• David Mensah 8 years ago

Who will buy batakari the people who have the money to buy batakari in Ghana are the Akans or Npp but they have promot Ashanti Kente so tell N d c and the Northerners to promote batakari

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

Besides having greedy bastard corrupt politicians and other Ghanaians alike, many Ghanaians especially the younger generations are lazy. They all want to come to the cities to find employment mean while there are so many land ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

FOOD FOR THOUGHT.

WE ARE STILL UNPRODUCTIVE BECAUSE THE MANY EDUCATED INCLUDING THE MANY PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES AND RESEARCH INSTITUTIONS HAVE STILL REMAINED UNCONVINCED OF THE IMPORTANCE OF TECHNOLOGY, SCIENCE, SCIENTIFIC IN ...

• Gideon 8 years ago

Guys,stop insulting each other for it's of no use ;the issue is what is yours suggestion in this problem at hand

• Nkwantabisa, Italy. 8 years ago

Well said sir. This government consists of about 80%of people from the savanna zone, what they do is to create loot and share. Ofosu - Kwakye should hear this. Incompetent fools. (STEALERS)

• odeneho 8 years ago

incompetency is killing us

• Lucky Brain 8 years ago

Those insulting the president don't know their left and right, this is not an issue of politics.

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

Thank you and we! may God bless you all and oman Ghana.

• Sinje 8 years ago

All is about selfish and greedy leaders...
    They loot and hoard everythings living the poor to still be poorer..

• Hosny Gyedu Salia 8 years ago

Indeed, Ghana has no reason to be poor. Aside the gold, diamond, magnesium, silver, timber, cocoa, cotten among others we have, why must we still suffer? Because of some corruptible leaders our better standard of living has ...

• well said 8 years ago

president john dead goat mahama and all of you n.d.c suporters is this man from n.p.p memeber? ghanians we are soo blind to vote for n.d.c. with all our resource we are still facing dumsor and yet n.d.c comunicators will voic ...

• VICTOR DOH DZOMEKU 8 years ago

I am surprised at the sweeping comments on this World Bank guy.Ghana has no reason to be POOR ? I beg to differ.The reason why Ghana is poor is simple. The prices of our much touted natural resources is determined by the Wh ...

• GHANA FIRST 8 years ago

Who is this man saying what he does not know? Where is he coming from? Has he ensured his own country is rich before telling Ghanaians that we are poor? Is it his problem if Ghana is poor? He should our country alone and leav ...