Ghanaian engineer with Baker Hughes dying in S/A

Read Comments Comments (130)

• ZICO 10 years ago

Ghanaians LOVE america more than they love themselves! Meanwhile even african-americans are treated like shit amd killed everyday without getting justice. The No.1 racist country in the world!! Poor Boateng will learn the har ...

• SANTO 10 years ago

Where are GHANA'S minister of foreign affairs Hanna Tetteh, and GHANA'S high commissioner to South Africa?

Typical of GHANA'S leaders, one wouldn't be surprised to know that they are well aware of this man's predicament bu ...

• Bibisaku 10 years ago

Has he forgotten his family members' phone numbers and addresses ..???

The story doesn't gel at all

• Adepa 10 years ago

the story says thr guy went into coma and when he came out he can't talk. so how can he give the phone numbers of his family members out?

• HONESTY 10 years ago

Has any of his lawyers spoken to the US embassy in South Africa.

God help our people especially the ignorant ones who will sell their birth right for bread and butter.

• Concerned Citizen 10 years ago

My brother, so do you mean nobody knows him in south africa? Does he not have any ghanaian friends in SA who can contact his family? Won't his family ask questions when they dont hear from him again? We don't know the full st ...

• judgment day 10 years ago

My friend, u are misinformed. the accident happened in gabon which also toke the life of a 7 months old pregnent baker staff. his brother was going to SA initially until baker started saying its too expensive. the funny thing ...

• maame 10 years ago

So why can't he be brought back home then or there are no hospitals in Ghana. Our stupidity and the way we luck ass is the reason for the influx of these foreign companies who treat Ghanaians like we back to slavery. Demand y ...

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

The guy was on rotational duty in one country when he got into a life threatening accident, was flown into another country while he was in coma and abandoned in a nursing home without any visitation from a family member or co ...

• ISSAKA 10 years ago

@Maame et al, it seems most of you don't get what is going on. This Andy guy was a ROTATIONAL WORKER of that Oil & Gas company. He was in GABON on a rotational duty (not a permanent resident). He was involved in a serious ...

• Joe 10 years ago

The fact as it stands now is this: He was injured in Gabon, air lifted to SA with one family member to be with him, and he was later moved from the first hospital to a place those whom have seen call it an aged home. About hi ...

• maame 10 years ago

So his family is laid back and for a year or more you haven't heard from him and they don't make intensive efforts? That speak volumes unless the dude cut off his family I've seen that too if not the family is dumb

• They Say They Say 10 years ago

Some of you just come here to embarrass yourselves by commenting anyhow or it's just that your reasoning is simply shot. This dude's welfare is directly the responsibility of the company that sent him on that errand, plain an ...

• Sigma, London 10 years ago

....he wrote the phone numbers

• DB 10 years ago

Which part of the story don't you get Bibisaku? Read the story well. He was in coma so yes it is possible he cannot recollect or remember much. He cannot even talk.

• HONESTY 10 years ago

Everyone should stop criticizing whoever and spread the story on all social platforms till anyone who can help takes notice.

The guy needs help and that is what you guys have to offer in any small way.

• Kinkonte 10 years ago

Read the article well moron don't just comment from ur ass can happen to anyone fool

• obaa yaa 10 years ago

He can't talk. Read it well

• Obialeke 10 years ago

Stupid question. If read the story very well you will know that the person is disable, can't eat and can't even talk. How do you expect a person in such condition to remember phone number?

• Brian Williams 10 years ago

Chances are, some well placed Ghanaian bureaucrat has been paid off to turn a blind eye to this young man's problem.

• Palmwine Tapper 10 years ago

Oh Mine! Another retarded twerp!

• TARANTULA 10 years ago

As for Zeta Okaikwei she is probably out there somewhere still trying to "kill two stones with one bird".

And by the way, do you seriously expect her to live up to expectations? Some of you people paaaa!

• Emefa 10 years ago

Zita is in Yugoslavia. She is Gh ' s high commision error n you won't want to know what she is up to. Big parties and flying around. Hahaaaa. Check her out and you would be sorry to know how she and her family are spending o ...

• Ahamponi, DENU 10 years ago

he is an Ashanti so we wont do any thing for him.

• Naa 10 years ago

Did you do history in sch?
    Are you ignorant or you didn't do history in school? For you anyone with an Akan name is Ashanti? My God

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
    Zita isn't in South Africa, One of the Ahwois is.
    But this is the harsh reality of the lack of Employment Rights;
    Insurance etc.
    Ing Boateng may have been over the moon when he accepted his p ...

• Osei kuffour 10 years ago

Zico it's unfortunate that an individual company had come out to treat a person like the . Maybe me and you don't know the full story , don't jump into conclusions and brand America as the number one racist country in the wor ...

• EFO KOKU 10 years ago

People like Zico has never been to America but say ill about that great country. Maybe Zico doesn't understand the word racism. Zico go to Eastern Europe or the Arab countries and then come tell me America is a racist country ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

You can not tell these white man ass kissers that these people do not care for you.
    But Ghanaians are HUGELY ATTRACTED to European hate.
    Because we're educated to think upside DOWN, WE TAKE OYIMBO HATE for LOVE.
    We're the ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Dankote the biggest Nigeria investor and the most super technical minded black man way more than all Ghanaian so-called rich men COMBINED, had said "NEVER in a history of any nation that FOREIGNERS had developed a nation th ...

• mena 10 years ago

Fool how's that working for Nigeria you bitch stop insulting your country because a stupid Nigeria guy is fucking you. Stupid fool

• ELINAM 10 years ago

It is.

• Naa 10 years ago

Did you read the article well?
    Did u read the article well or you didn't understand what it's written? The guy was working with American company in Africa not in America. Secondly if African American obey instruction nobody ...

• WISEMAN 10 years ago

WHAT YOU NEED IS A GOOD LAWYER WITH INTERATIOAL EXPOSURE TO FIGHT FOR HIM

• Neutral Zone 10 years ago

Did he not have health insurance, how about long term disability insurance?

• HONESTY 10 years ago

You recently took an albino boy from Tanzania to the USA for new prosthetic after being attack for ritual motives.

This crime is committed by your own, please please show your sense of responsibility before it is too late ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

With his position, the type of company he worked for, Insurance should have been incorporated into his Contract.

• MR TRULY TRULY 10 years ago

Companies force contracts on human resources in need of jobs. Job seekers are offered dubious contracts as they are bullied to terminate their jobs. Policies in Ghana is weak as wicked as our leaders will compromise with thos ...

• Mawriz 10 years ago

I am so sad to hear this about you Andy. God will see you through. Why's no family by his side?

• Kwesi Guyman 10 years ago

Why is the Ghana High Commission in South Africa not taking this matter up?. Why is the guy's family not interested in his welfare?. Did he turn his back on his own family that seems not to care?. Does this guy believe in ...

• CAPO 10 years ago

mtchewwww we need better advise for our leaders n u r here doing politics..... concert

• Bimbila 10 years ago

This is so sad. I'm a Ghanaian in the U.S working for Baker Hughes.They're able to get away with this because it's Africa. Would never happen here. My prayers goes to the young man.

• Shasa 10 years ago

You think they like you , and you're safe cause you're in USA .think these can happen to you too.

• too many fools in Ghana 10 years ago

It can never happen to him you fools don't know we get it they don't like blacks but here we have health insurance and if this happens the media will expose t the company. They know the blacks in africa are more stupid they b ...

• bofre 10 years ago

Its all because of poverty,so when we are paid peanuts to flex around we think we are on top of the world.

• Yaa 10 years ago

Baker Hughes company, how could you do this to your own employee who injured himself whilst on duty? Please you could have given Mr Boateng good services. And care for him in the home very well till the end or you could have ...

• JOSEPH 10 years ago

COMPANIES DON'T CARE WE ARE NUMBERS THANK GOD THIS MAN DID SURVIVE. IF HE DID DIED THE COMPANY WILL REPLACE HIM. WE ARE JUST NUMBERS PLEASE DO YOURSELF A GREAT FAVOR REGARDLESS YOU AS INDIVIDUAL RENDERING YOUR SERVICES TO LOO ...

• ghanaman 10 years ago

The patient's recovery is of utmost concern here. Govt must do everything to contact both Baker Hughes company and also patient's family without delay. Meanwhile, best wishes for speedy recovery.

• Insp We.i 10 years ago

Government did not send him there, he should fall back on his own insurance or resources. Period.

Thank you. These fools want government to do every darn thing for them. Muthafuckers you all part of the government. You sit on your dirty community and call on government to clean fools fools fools

[A]. Note: if this GH engineer was hired by Baker Hughes USA, then all he needs to do is google for Attys. in Houston, TX for Workers Disabilities rights and workman's compensations for overseas employment contractors. Ther ...

• pat 10 years ago

Thanks
    Hope a relative gets this information to help Him since he is incapacitated now. Hope he gets the needed support to pull through

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

Why is this not a surprise in the world of free market property seeking society? In a world where the only incentive or driver is the bottom line employees become tools and no tool is indispensable; tools come a dime a dozen. ...

Ofui! Do you even have a brain? Who the heck are you tell him what his decisions were to work overseas to gain very useful experience for his life time profession. You ought to be ashamed of your self. Read a fucking book onc ...

• Adomakoh Froboo 10 years ago

Ghana Web spurns lies. Am a Ghanaian lecturer here,andyes,i have met the guy with several Ghanaians and locals,and can tell u the story of Ghana Web doesn't add up

• Khalit ,Bolga 10 years ago

Mr Adomako let us know the truth in this whole story if really he is in that condition then is really bad, I read this same story from modern Ghana

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

The so - called Adomako is part of management of Baker Hughes and supports the crime of management. The pictures of young Andrew Boateng is there for us to see how he has turned into a vegetable and you are saying the story ...

The accident turned him into a vegetable you fool what has mr adomako said wrong you fool

• Ken Mensah 10 years ago

His close friend in one of the mining companies has confirmed the story that Andrew Boateng has been abandoned in a home in Johannesburg after having an accident in the vehicle of Baker Hughes when on official duty in Gabo ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

I believe this information has been selective to disparage the company. The guy might have initially accepted a settlement for his injury without a lawyer's advice and his injury has gotten worse than initially envisaged.

• ABENA 10 years ago

Such a thing can never happen in the US. Baker Hughes would have been in trouble. I think the company has different contract for employees outside the US. Every employee is entitled to at least the ff:
    Health Insurance
    Dis ...

• aaa 10 years ago

Hannah Tetteh should step in here. This is your fundamental care of duty.

• aaa 10 years ago

When it comes to health and welfare issues Anmerican companies are very ruthless and tactless and stopping frideg benefits ASAP. This is an area most people need to look into when chosing a company. trace their track record o ...

• Insp We.i 10 years ago

The leaves are not greener elsewhere after all. When will Ghanaians learn this simple fact?

• Odeneho 10 years ago

I am in South Africa for a different purpose and will make time to visit Andy. Civil Society organization in Ghana must rise up and act. Where are the human rights groups? Injustice to anyone anywhere is a treat to justice ev ...

• Yvettebelle 10 years ago

Whoever first put out this story has done a great service to both Andrew's Company and his relatives! He was airlifted to Milpark Hospital, one of the best where Mandela had been hospitalized a few times. Andrew suffered se ...

• Susuka 10 years ago

So who are too? And how did you come about with your side of the story?

Let Baker go ahead and sue. then u realise that baker is not made of gods.we pray for Andy. do u pray? when last did his bother visit him in SA since u have soooooo much infor if not just few days ago because of the agitation ...

Keep the insults coming; great pity! I'm a full bloodied Ghanaian so that is why I decided to find out what exactly was going on with Mr Boateng's condition. I happen to be in the healthcare industry; suffice tharpt. Insul ...

great pity indeed. patients right to privacy provided it gives baker the upper hand. which next of kin are u talking about? u think baker cares about this cheep publicity u doing for them.

Little man you sound very immature cocoasini krachi and have brain of a 2-yr. old than an adult. Seek some education for your pathetic self. Ofui, do you want your medical records to be put out on ghanaweb? Also, any reason w ...

• poor Ghana 10 years ago

These fools think it's nice to put out all his medical records no respect for human dignity. Patient privacy and protection

u and palmwinetapper are jokers. no one is asking for his medical report to be placed in the public. becos of jokers like u two families are being detroyed by this oil companies. stop wasting ur time on the net. All becos u w ...

I think there's some truth to what you're saying than what we've been made to believe by ghanaweb. Like I stated before in my post; something doesn't JIVE in the whole story put out by Ghanaweb with gross fraud claims that th ...

• poor Ghana 10 years ago

Thank you. Ghanaians want a baker rep to be visiting him daily but they have work to do to be able to take care of all employees. Ghanaians waste time don't care about time. People go on 3hr breaks and face book at work so th ...

The funny thing is not one baker management person visited him ever in SA. only friends.

Thank you some Ghanaians fool too much why

• Abena London 10 years ago

My dear take it easy we all care,lets pray that miracles will happen,thank you for saying you will visit him and God bless you.

• hmmm 10 years ago

Very sad news. The Ghana high commission in SA should be advised asap.

• Lebene 10 years ago

Hmmm. Its only God that can be african's lawyer and judge. We depend on him everytime.

• The Ghanaian 10 years ago

stupid, he can not eat nor talk. Didn't read?

• baah 10 years ago

i did not even finish reading.. when making his money does he remember ghana? bombowol..

• Alba 10 years ago

@Baah how can you be so heartless? What do you mean did he remember Ghana? I bet he did through remittance to relatives and friends. Ghana benefits from taxing companies and foreign exchange which also contribute to infrastru ...

sooo sorry for u baah. u talking about remembering Ghana. do u know how much tax we pay. Pls. keep ur selfish mind to urself. whlist most govenment workers dont pay tax on most allawances, this companies pay tax on every coin ...

• Abena London 10 years ago

Where is captain smart in adom FM pls take this matter and fight for boateng,i know you can help by leting the right authorities or people in ghana to know about this,pleeessssssss.

• Okonkobaba 10 years ago

I visit Ghanaweb often because I am interested in Ghana. The comments to articles posted on the site are counter productive.
    Some of the comments bear the hallmarks of ignorance, hate, division amongst the human race, ?ack o ...

• Kofi G 10 years ago

Mo ni kasa

• Naa 10 years ago

We have to sue Baker Hughes, something has to be done very quick about this story of Boateng

• Petra 10 years ago

I believe the family members of Boateng have heard it and must take action now

• Angie 10 years ago

Bibisaku, did you bother to read the article or you're simply dumb & ignorant? How do you expect a guy who clearly has brain injuries to remember his phone number? The article said he can't eat, walk or talk.

Story not true! Andrew Boateng suffered severe brain trauma. Airlifted to one of the best hospitals (Mandela admitted there a few time). Prognosis not good therefore moved to a Nursing Home. Both the Company and the Nursin ...

• Mike 10 years ago

Hello everyone trying to contribute to this terrible news. Accident is unpredictable and w are all wish our beloved Andy a speedy recovery... We should all support him in our prayers.
    Andy God care for you...be strong

my friend Yvettebelle. i will not be suprised if u are the HR of baker pretending to be someone. Andy has been neglected by the company to the extent that, we former classmates and workers contribute money and send down to a ...

It's unfortunate that you resort to insults in this trying moments for Andrew Boateng! Have you ever heard of brain trauma?? Google and find out for yourself the prognosis for it. Andrew's relatives visit him daily! Would ...

.... nothing less than $500 PER DAY for a bed only.... Accident is exactly that; an accident which was not intended! We are all not immune + life is not finite!! Get over your denial and stop throwing stones at me which wi ...

My own close medical specialist was flown from a certain African country for medical attention. Nothing prepared him for the bad news he received after biopsy results. 4th stage cancer -- metasis all over; cancer had spread ...

My point is u are not telling the truth. his family has not always been visiting him. the person currently visiting Andy is not a family. the person stays in SA and only agreed to this because a former class mate asked the pe ...

Now let me ask you a direct question... are you a neurologist??? There are certain conditions that cannot be readily treated. Ever heard of brain dead, comatose?? Of course they look pitiful!! Allow the experts/the Lord to ...

Am not neurologist and am not kin. but be real. u say u know more about his condition meaning u are a baker staff trying hard to defend their careless acts. how many times did baker respond to his brothers call to sort out ma ...

You're blind to "The TRUTH" as being told to dispute ghanaweb fraud claims of bogus, exaggerated story. You're very shallow minded if you ask me!

Improving, according to your expert opinion as a neurologist/physician/cardio thoracic surgeon etc. I'm really wasting my precious time with you. Thought I could calm waters. It's obvious you are not the next of kin!

This ur first time hearing of baker in ghana but u have so much detailed information on the matter. its strange u expecting the next of kin to be following ur propaganda.Tell baker they will not win no matter which law court ...

Yvettebelle has more brains than you as man. What's wrong with you though for someone who may know more than you or I to tell us the TRUTH as she knows them to be yet; you keep changing the argument each time she tries her ve ...

FYI: you're the one being an AssHole! Get real? How stupid can you be though at this day and age? Go back to sleep. Will ya? Whew some people!

u joker, u talk about patient confidentiallity but did u know that ur employer Baker went behind doors to get the medical records of another employee who has back injury and needs surgery? just to satisfy their own selfish ne ...

Are you that STUPID? She (Yvettebelle) is NOT than telling you the TRUTH you typical GH FOOL. Get this stupidity nonsense over your weed head. Whew, poor you! You're displaying a clear evidence of imbecilic stupidity. You're ...

• flamboyant 10 years ago

Very sad how our leaders can watch for us to be cheated. the labour commission, petroleum commission,ministries of labour and energy, the leaders of these institutions will cry someday for the mess you are driving Ghanaians ...

• Adu Benjamin 10 years ago

Baker Hughes must be sued. I wonder why we cater for refugees from other countries whiles our own is left to die in another country.

• JOSEPH 10 years ago

GLOBALLY COMPANIES DON'T CARE IS ALL ABOUT THE BOTTOMLINE AND YOU, YOUR FAMILY COMES LAST PLEASE DO YOURSELF A GREAT FAVOR BARGAIN WELL WHEN HIRING TO THE BENEFIT OF YOUR FAMILY AND YOURSELF. BECAUSE COMPANIES THINKS ABOUT NU ...

• Yaw Gabon 10 years ago

What a sad new. May God help this guy

• KOFI DUAH 10 years ago

I trust the man for this kind of bullshit.they will take him to to the best hospital in SA.and pay him all his due sharp sharp.

• adwoa 10 years ago

Africans are fools period and these American companies will always use them. Does the company provide health insurance? America is not Ghana where everything is based on we beg you and forgive if they are not the ones to prov ...

• W'Liata 10 years ago

This guys needs a lawyer, and I mean a good lawyer. A lawyer who is vested in worker's compensation to fight on his behalf. Corporations don't give out money for free they need to be forced to pay compensation. His people sh ...

• W'Liata 10 years ago

This guy looks like somebody who had suffered oxygen deprivation, probably from his time of unconsciousness and during the transport to the Hospital. Lack of oxygen to the brain or serious head injury. He needs lawyer

• Romeo 10 years ago

It's unfortunate but what the family can do is to sue the company. Please find a criminal lawyer for him. The lawyer will take 30% I wish a family member can contact me to find him a good lawyer.

• Romeo 10 years ago

Please who ever reported the case should try and report it to FBI.

• Edward, Maryland 10 years ago

What're you talking about? The guy was in a coma. How is he going to call his Ghabaian relatives?

• Hakuna Matata 10 years ago

Zita is not Ghana's Ambassador to South Africa so leave her out of this.

• kutsii. 10 years ago

Don't complain. Africans are so stupid that they think the white man is their solution when it is the other way round. A very stupid country like Ghana worship white people who cheat them in the oil and gas, mining, fishing, ...

• Aseye Dogbe 10 years ago

Baker Hughes if you don't want your contract teminated in Ghana you better fly the young man to 37 military Hopital and fully conpensate him. You people are in human and unscrupulous. You better do the right thing before we i ...

• Aseye Dogbe 10 years ago

The Baker Hughes company are unscrupulous people. They should do the right thing before we involve the Ghana government .

• FLASH 10 years ago

22 year old seeks $3.5M from Baker Hughes after oil drilling accident
    Thomas Kallies
    Feb. 11, 2014, 10:31am
    0 0 0 9
    Ty Book is suing Baker Hughes Inc. in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Texas Beaum ...

• Abrewa 10 years ago

Please send him home. He will be alright. He should be sent to TB Joshua healing. He will walk right away looking well and good.

• Naa 10 years ago

Did u read the article well or you didn't understand what it's written?
    The guy was working with American company in Africa not in America.
    Secondly if African American obey instruction nobody will shoot them.

• Naa 10 years ago

Are you ignorant or you didn't do history in school? For you anyone with an Akan name is Ashanti? My God

• Osikuku 10 years ago

Well get him the hell out of there! what is he doing in a old folks home.
    Hire an Attorney and get legal and proper medical help!
    Send him to San Antonio, Texas.
    Baker Hughes will help him there.

• Asante 10 years ago

Ghana government sue that co or private lawyer. Huge money!,,

• Citizen 10 years ago

If Gadhafi were the heads of state nothing of such thing would have happened

• MAKA 10 years ago

SAD CASE!

• michele 10 years ago

Why is eveybody arguing snd not helping him now.