No country can uproot corruption – Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (93)

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

Nana Binaddo Buhari isn't a problem to only the Ashanti/ Akyem tribal Npp party, but for Ghana as whole. When President Mahama busily fixing our economy and putting plans to put an end to our power crisis, Nana Binaddo roamin ...

• ELINAM 8 years ago

The big one or the minimal under current one?
    IF THE LAWS ARE HASH IT'LL GO AWAY.

Naming and shaming will let it go.

• Nii Adjetey 8 years ago

Just few weeks ago, Nana Akufo Addo said he will banish corruption. Is he now making a U-turn? This Politricktians will kill us with their lies.

• Kofi Adomako.Koforidua 8 years ago

You are right,this Akyem bugger don't know what to do now,he is totally confused he has forgotten he has said that.

• OB. 8 years ago

Since when did Nana Addo know that corruption cannot be uprooted but rather minmisesd? Was he not among the ZERO TORELANCE TO CORRUPTION preachers when they were in power? Hmmmm...

• champion 8 years ago

Does it mean nana is supporting corruption? you are struggling to come to power and you started endorsing corruption? we are dead if this man should come to power. thank God it will never happen, otherwise the little gain mad ...

• Kwabena Ohemeng,london 8 years ago

Nana is never endorsing corruption but speaking the truth.Which government in this world has been able to uproot corruption?No nation in this world is corruption-free.Corruption can only be minimised and this can be done by ...

• Joel MacCutchen 8 years ago

Just go to Singapore

• KWAA 8 years ago

Is only lazy people like the NDC appointees like to steal from a Country like Ghana.Most of them are following the footsteps of their founder.When Rawlings was sitting at the barracks going hungry,he took up the gun to overt ...

• Mr.Oman ba pa Kofi Toronto 8 years ago

So you can't stop this your stupid comment you written all the time?If you are NDC supporter it doesn't mean you should be ignorant about the hardship Ghanaians are going through. What economic is Mahama fixing?

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

Agree that you can't totally uproot corruption but with strong institutions you can minimize it and deter many would be corrupt persons. Even in the civilized societies there are still levels of corruption -- though when caug ...

• HONESTY 8 years ago

You have been exposed as dishonest in every turn and even the gullible fans are finding it hard to defend and sing your praise.

You went to court telling everyone you believed in the legal system and now we all know the tr ...

• the lone Prophet of Jehovah 8 years ago

Nana just listen to what the HOLY BOOK says,Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth,but that which is good to the use of edifying that it may minister grace unto hearers,(Ephesians 4;28-29) Ghanaians to bring d ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE ( OFIE P33 ) 8 years ago

LOOKING AT THE DESTRUCTION NDC HAS CAUSED TO THIS GREAT COUNTRY IN THE PAST 6 YEARS, ANY TALK ABOUT THIS INCOMPETENT AND CORRUPT ADMINISTRATION WINNING THE 2016 GENERAL ELECTIONS, WOULD BE DEEMED AS A BIG INSULT ON THE INTELL ...

• Kofi Adomako.Koforidua 8 years ago

I know useless people like you will will write useless comments.

• Kwaku Owusu 8 years ago

Some people think selfishly about their welfare and display ignorance and sycophancy of the inert govt, rather than having sympathy on the majority of people, who are facing extreme poverty. Everything in this country is in d ...

• Kofi, USA 8 years ago

HAHA HAHA HAHA, AKUFO COCAINE DRUG ADDICT IS REALLY DESPERATE AND SO TALKING LIKE A FOOL. WHY? AFTER ALL, GHANAIANS REALLY KNOW NPP GANG OF NATION WERECKERS VERY WELL. HOTEL WAWAWAA WAAAA THIEFES AGAIN? NO WAY. GHANAIANS ...

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 8 years ago

BBC NEWS!!! I have said it before and I will say it again. Ghanaians are being destroyed by tribal hatred. Tribal hatred is worse than racism. We hate each tribally so much that we will continue to wallow in this despicabl ...

• Bawku boy 8 years ago

How say you about your people who call others pepeni...hypocrate!!!!

• RULE OF LAW 8 years ago

YOU WANNA BET?
    YOU CAN ELIMINATE IT IF YOU PUBLICLY EXECUTE THE CULPRITS BY FIRING SQUAD AND FORCE THEIR FAMILIES TO ATTEND THE EXECUTION AND PAY FOR THE BULLETS.

IF THEY DON'T HAVE THE MONEY, JAIL THEM FOR 50 YEARS EACH ...

• Foster 8 years ago

In fact bbc will kill me I can't stop laughing

• Agor 8 years ago

JDM is on track. Would you also use Ana's?

• Bright 8 years ago

Nana, you have no idea what your own people are doing, how corrupted they are maybe you're pretending

• Justice 8 years ago

Soon, and very soon, we will get the long awaited accounts for campaign funds and from Chairman you-know-who who in one of the branches who claimed that he was unable to provide annual accounts because his IPad was not worki ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 8 years ago

Listen to this corrupt man. Ghana will uproot corruption to your watchful eye short man. The World doesn't need ugly rulers

• Jay 8 years ago

You see he saying it is as old as adam and it will continue even in his regime. Corrupt flagbearer

• Mr.Oman ba pa Kofi Toronto 8 years ago

Be reasonable and read Nana whole article before you write your stupid comment

• ASEM WO MANO 8 years ago

Akuffo Addo is sick and lack a leadership qualities. Free what will do what? Isnt he whp said he will banish poverty? How can ypu abolish it , MISTER NII PATAPAA
    No wonder that only semi educated people are his followers

• CORNEY 8 years ago

My friend,it was just a cheap talk,nobody can banish poverty,even America with all the money and resources has not been able to banish poverty,the same applies to corruption,he is right you can only minimize it but a place li ...

• KingTampo 8 years ago

Such a belief and attitude is not worthy of a politician. Let alone one that aspires to lead a nation.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8 years ago

He spoke the truth. No matter how you will do it, since all of us are not saints and angels. there will be some who will still indulge in corruption. However, with strong institutions, they will be caught and others who be af ...

• Nana Yaw Ariyie, Kumasi. 8 years ago

That is why your party sold our drillship and sent the money to Kufour and not the finance minister, bring the money before you would be considered.

That is not what he meant. You guys are misunderstanding him or you are intentional ought quoting what he said. Remember you can't be more wiser than him. He spoke the truth. No matter how you will do it, since all of us are ...

• KT 8 years ago

Then why he said he will banish corruption if he's elected or you don't understand corruption free government he's preaching to us?

• Hamza 8 years ago

He has admitted that it's difficult to deal with corruption because it has engulfed his party. What difference will you. After npp institute corruption 2001 to 2008. Jdm is dealing with corruption ur party instituted.

• Yaw - London 8 years ago

If that's what you think then forget my vote. You are starting on a negative approach. Please come again.

• OSEI 8 years ago

THERE IS A BAD MAN IN ANY COUNTRY. THE LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES LIKE THE BNI JUST DON'T ALLOW BAD MEN TO DESTROY THE NATION. WE DON'T HAVE TO WAIT FOR ANAS AREMEYAW TO DO THE WORK OF THE POLICE, BNI, CID ETC. THERE ARE CRIMIN ...

• TUOZZAFI 8 years ago

Nana, you have just lost my vote with this statement......so sad.

• Woman 8 years ago

His reasons for saying that are clear. We need to make sure our law enforcement officers are ready to work to scare corrupt officials from stealing.

• Che Andrew 8 years ago

Dear friend how can some Ghanaians allow the law enforcement officers to work without calling them names and even provoking them.
    1. One man called on his party members to kill all Gas and Ewes and when the BNI invited for q ...

• Oti 8 years ago

You have made my day Andrew......That's why opposition fit them. Now we are used to their noise,but the violent aspect we are preparing for them,they will soon recoil into their shelves. We will let them know soonest,the air ...

• KT 8 years ago

Such attitude and belief is not worth of a leader. As a leader your intention should clear that you don't and will not endorse corruption on any form. The question was how is he going to deal with corruption so he shouldn't h ...

• Paapidi 8 years ago

Obviously, you are a JSS graduate and, therefore, cannot comprehend what Nana is saying. Yes, no nation is free from corruption but some have reduced it to a minimal level - all through strict law enforcement.

• ####### 8 years ago

SO NOW YOU KNOW AND YOU WERE DISTURBING OUR EARS WITH HOW YOU ARE NOT CORRUPT.

• Mustapha Kamal 8 years ago

Corruption can be uprooted if you the president is not corrupt. Slash down ministerial salaries and benefits and long prison sentences to any corrupt official being it your father, mother , wife or child.
    Make politics not ...

• Paapidi 8 years ago

Tell me which country on earth has completely removed corruption. You are simply stupid!

• sufyan 8 years ago

Kindom of saudi has tottal eradicated coruption

• Mustapha Kamal 8 years ago

NPP flag bearer is ligalizing corruption.

• Chief rebel 8 years ago

I am not voting for you if this is your stand. If this is what you think then Mahama is on track.

• kk 8 years ago

IT SARTED IN ADAM'S TIME

• Anokye 8 years ago

Zero Tolerance

• Photosy 8 years ago

Install the legal regime ? What does that mean ? Special Prosecutor ? Independent of the Attorney General ? We have all seen the Anas video of how corrupt both the bar and the bench are. Creating a Special Prosecutor as we ha ...

• Stoway 8 years ago

Please bear with him, he is a fake lawyer.

• Whatever 8 years ago

Already giving a cover for the chop chop in opposition

• JH. New York 8 years ago

What!.
    Kuffour expressed his opinion that, Corruption had been in the world since Adam,at a time he had long left Public Office.His comments is taken out of content to labeled him a theif.to lambast him at the least opportun ...

• Isaac 8 years ago

He has admitted he can not dealt with corruption look at what is going on in their party

• Agonaba 8 years ago

"Even our very culture and customs have "corruption" in it".

• TULA 8 years ago

The makings of another thief ; what is this man talking about of course you can uproot corruption bny using the law effectively because even in China whereseriuos corruption means the death penalty people have not stopped but ...

Go and ask JJ. What didn't jj do to uproot corruption? How many people did we kill because of corruption? What are we seeing today? Now, answer me, can you fully uproot corruption? If corruption could be totally uprooted, we ...

• GOD 8 years ago

HAVE U EVER CREATED HUMAN BEFORE PLS CHOOSE UR WORDS WISELY.GOD IS WATCHING US ALL

• Michael 8 years ago

Ghanaians will prefer Asiedu general mosquito to be a president done Nana Addo ok

• Stoway 8 years ago

Just recently Mahama granted interview to Radio France and everything he said about corruption is what Nana is using as answers. Nana, you see why Mahama is a first class material?

• schoolboy 8 years ago

Evil dwarf, akuffo adddo you are a walking contradiction because in one breath you claim that you will banish, poverty something the Jesus Christ could not do but in another breath you are saying that you cannot eradicate pov ...

• Abeeku Mensah 8 years ago

I do not believe Nana Akufo-Addo in all his glory and baggage said there is no end to corruption anywhere. But if he did then why is he and the NPP accusing the Mahama administration of corruption? What amount of corruption i ...

• indianpowers black magic rituals 8 years ago

Black magic spritualist from indian in ghana call 0244908520

• Awhile 8 years ago

Don't trust

• Yes 8 years ago

NANA ADDO IS A FOOL AND HE WILL NEVER BECOME PRESIDENT

• MUSA ABDALLAH-AZORKA BOY 8 years ago

Look at this short man too.Even in opposition your party leadership are chopping left,right,center the little money under their care.U r unable to manage corruption in your stupid party,how then can u manage let alone contro ...

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

WITH SUCH SUCH KIND OF STATEMENT COMING FROM SOMEONE WHO WANTS TO BE ELECTED AS A LEADER OF GHANA, CLEARLY INDICATES THAT, THIS MAN HAS NOTHING BETTER FOR THE NATION IF, HE IS EVER '''ELECTED'''.

THIS MEANS HE WILL NOT BE ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 8 years ago

Is this a caution of what NOT to expect if Mr. Akufo-Addo happens to win? Don't expect a lot because a lot is impossible, right??

• sufyan 8 years ago

Saudi arabia has vanished coruption tottaly

• AMOAKO 8 years ago

Here we are again for the NPP flag bearer presidential candidate defending that no country has been able to uproot corruption in their country. How many countries has he head that the judiciary of that country who plays as G ...

• koffi Montreal 8 years ago

Nana please don't say that,yes but it needs to be fair and less not this way we all as Ghanaians are guilty but as leader of the voiceless please don't enriched only you're family and loved ones ,NANA come out tell the world ...

• you 8 years ago

the old man is totally confuse now.anglopause has set in

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

What u hav said is the truth bt it is not always good to say the truth especially in Ghana politics. rada say u will uproot it and when u are voted u say u cant

• Kwaku 8 years ago

A stupid ass hole nana

• ALHAJI 8 years ago

MAHAMA IS CORRUPT,BIG THIEF IN GHANA HISTORY,USELESS,ASSHOLE MAN,MAHAMA IS DEAD GOAT

• DENTERN 8 years ago

BULLSHIT. THIS IS WHY YOU ARE GOING TO LOSE COME 2016 ELECTIONS. WE CAN ELIMINATE IT IF WE TRY. BUT IF WE SAY ITS IMPOSSIBLE, THEN WE WONT EVEN TRY TO GET RID OF IT

• NOBODY 8 years ago

"He also added that if corruption is dealt with properly funding for the free Senior High School (SHS) should not be a problem" Akufo-Addo

What does corruption have to do with funding for free SHS education? Let Akufo-Addo ...

• Osei kuffour 8 years ago

Oyi wa!!

• Hamidu Asiedu 8 years ago

OOh silly, silly, uneducated Ghanaians. I believe people should speak in the various Ghanaian languages rather than English. Most of the comments made attest to this assertion:
    He only said, human beings being human beings; ...

• JOHN 8 years ago

NPP SUPPORTERS ARE COMPLAINING THAT EVERYBODY IS SUFFERING SO NANA MUST BE PRESIDENT. FINE. NANA MUST TELL US HOW HE IS GOING TO MAKE THINGS LOOK GOOD

• Emma 8 years ago

some people have to watch Nana Akufo addo COMMENT well plz lol

• Palmwine Tapper 8 years ago

Yeb! Th corrupt cocaine Midget has spoken like a TRUE CORRUPT Drug Kingpin. He couldn't have said it better.

• Astrid 8 years ago

Go to Sweden, Norway and Denmark fool

• tsalekpor 8 years ago

Nana you don't minimize corruption. You punish corrupt people. That's the way to making it less profitable. When corruption is a punishable offense then we would not have the " Beyiemang Cold Storage" episode. Mr Justice Akuf ...

• ADDOH DANKWAH 8 years ago

When J.J. came to power you were behind him and now that's what you have for us. You are already a failure.

• Ataa OT---USA 8 years ago

Nana Addo--"I am too old to steal" but what he doesnt say is that he got able and willing Ali Baba thieves to do the stealing for him. This is a sad in Ghana when an aspiring candidate for President in Ghana will stand on roo ...

• kofi 8 years ago

this massage is from n,d,c rented press . shame to n,d,c

• DR. BAAH SAFO 8 years ago

trying to create room for himself to steal as always.

• Aljazeera News.................... 8 years ago

Stupid npp

• Chuks, Tudu 8 years ago

A few schools indeed. How many did you promise to build before your I'll-fated Fred SHS was aborted with the heavy defeat at election 2012. You were going to start a non-starter without building a single school and now you're ...

• G. K. Berko 8 years ago

We should let the record speak for itself. What did Akufo-Addo to curb corruption in Ghana on his tenure as the Attorney-General?

Wasn't it under his watch that the Kosmos-EO forged signatures prevailed to close the Oil ...