Judicial scandal: 21 judges sacked

Read Comments Comments (132)

• Busia 8 years ago

So they should left off the hook to enjoy the goat soup and wakyi. Walahi! Persecute and jail them too.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

maybe if you had your way these scapegoats of the corrupt mahama regime would be put before a firing squad but Ibrahim Mahama will be proclaimed a hero

• NANA ADO JUNIOR 8 years ago

For merely showing remorse they will get moneys? you can as well pay armed robbers who show remorse. Stop blaming Mahama for every single thing and deal with corruption. This corruption is not started today, even Kuffour had ...

• Avogadro 8 years ago

Well folk, this is a start. We will take whatever we can get. At least thieves are being held to some extent accountable.

A few year ago, when Customs employees were robbing the country blind, what did Atta Mills do? He ...

• BlindMan 8 years ago

There are far too many GOOD men and WOMEN waiting to be called uponto serve, and some of these corrupt judicial servants are going to have second chances! People lives were in danger in the period of the exchanged 'hand shake ...

• MISPLACED PRIORITIES 8 years ago

Diversionary tactics, tweaaah

• sam 8 years ago

NO PANISHMENT FOR CORUPPT JUDGES?

• kwami 8 years ago

WE MUST GIVE THEM THE SAME MERCY THEY SHOWED FOLKS IN FRONT OF THEM WHILE THEY WERE JUDGES IN COURT

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 8 years ago

The rational sense to have democratic state is the rule of law, that thrifty principle makes it a common factor. Democratic processes needs education for everyone to understand and follow the system. This enlightens the peopl ...

• Juno 8 years ago

Nonsense, this tribalistic attitude helps no one. You really believe that tribe has anything to do with the corruption that is so ingrained in our society.
    Tribalism is as dangerous as racism

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 8 years ago

To be denial of the facts is equally dangerious just like to sleep with a zombie. However, what comes out from the mouth defines upon the gedgement and you heard me right that, pepeni's corruptions and lawlessness are incredi ...

• Gbolosor Agbelengor 8 years ago

I pray that we don't hear from the 21 sackees (lawyers) and others that they have started committing suicide, because, how are they going to survive with such a shame in our teasing Ghanaian societies? Eeeh, if I were them I ...

• xx 8 years ago

Ghana's chimps are too ughly to rule!!! Nana, the mighet, kufuor, the crocodile-eyed, osafo marfo, the hipo, sir john, the grasscutter...

• Abdallah 8 years ago

We have to start from somewhere and tear apart this culture of impunity the NDC government has crystallized in our nation.

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

well that would be true if Atuguba and the Ewe judges were also caught but every time it starts and ends with the persecution of Akans

• DR TRUTH 8 years ago

Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London-bloomberg

There was near pandemonium and confusion at the Annual Global African Investment Forum held in Westminster, Central London after a heated e ...

• d'SigNstyle 8 years ago

stupidity:they same people that said Jesu,our Savious,the same people that called his crucifixion;The corruption of the country has sto start from somewhere;we are sick and tired of connecting every each crime and punishment ...

• SLABI 8 years ago

Now that quasi-justice has been handed down, the news becomes public information. How does the public get the names of these Judges? Do I smell double standards here? Just honestly trying to know. Thanks

• Agya 8 years ago

You out it soo lightly

• Agbodaze (USA) 8 years ago

We are talking about the corrupt judges, not Prez. Mahama. The Chief Justice should have jail them, not only loosing their jobs. Hope the CJ would do well to take appropriate action against them. Bcos, innocent ones are suffe ...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 8 years ago

So what is the punishment for magistrates and judges who sold injustice to victims and the state if they will be rewarded with severance packages for merely showing remorse? Some workers were sacked and prosecuted for corrupt ...

• SIMON PETER 8 years ago

Whether to prosecute or not, is the decision of the Attorney General and not that of the Chief Justice.The Attorney General should therefore assemble all the evidence involving these corrupt judges and put them before the law ...

• Africanus 8 years ago

My brother the attorney general and police do nothing unless they are told to do so by the government in power. They are a bunch of zombies waiting to say Yes Sir Master. If Mahama wants to prosecute they will be prosecuted, ...

• Gye Nyame 8 years ago

I guess if you go cry then you get your severance package, Gee! what a country. The people have committed crimes yet getting off the hook because they showed remorse, wow! what a wonderful country.
    I hope the AG prosecutes ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

The CJ showed compassion by not defenestrating all 21 of the corrupt judges.
    In my opinion, the CJ showed courage in prosecuting the wayward judges.

They should be shamed by publishing their names & photos on billboards, ...

• Ka na Wu 8 years ago

We need JJ to give the firing squad

• Raila Odinga 8 years ago

Sacking them is not enough. Prosecute them all and send the guilty to prison. Our eyes are still not open in Ghana. What the hell is going on in our country ?

• Yaw Columbus Ohio USA 8 years ago

Hey you forget that JJ Rawlings is the 9th richest person in Ghana today?He was crediting Yoko ke gari in 79 .He killed our past leaders for corruption including an army officer who borrowed 50,000Ghc for business.Look at th ...

• Yenge Simon 8 years ago

foolish moron is it mahama who ask them to collet e bribe

• Agya 8 years ago

You are in the dark. Hopefully you are not voting ..not too smart with abstract reasoning

• Come again 8 years ago

remember there are so many ways of killing a cat?

• JJ ,Volta 8 years ago

If Ghanians are not cowards they should be demonstrating like it is happening now in Kenya. The only way to put these thieves in prison is for the masses to demand that

• Bobby, Denmark 8 years ago

Mahama the thief!

• Sappey-Agboh, Tsiame-Lagbohkope 8 years ago

and muppet, what has this decision got to do with the President? Moron, what do you know about separation of powers? If you have any balls, attack the NPP Chief Justice

• jeopardy 8 years ago

Thanks bro! He is a big stupid n doesn't know about separation of powers.

• Africanus 8 years ago

What separation-of-powers? Does Ghana know what Separation of powers is? This is a country in which police do nothing until they are told to do so by their political masters. Separation-of-powers indeed.

• Kwaku 8 years ago

And what about Kufuor that thief

• Sappey-Agboh, Tsiame-Lagbohkope 8 years ago

If a prima facie case had been established against these corrupt elements, dismissal alone won't assuage the anger of Ghanaians. They have to be prosecuted for committing a crime. Every single one of them who sentenced common ...

• kwaku 8 years ago

She should first sack herself before sacking other judge's for imprecating herself buying state land, n return it later so the judge's too can return the so called bribery money's

• Milton 8 years ago

We are too lenient with such criminals. The incoming judges will still carry on with the tradition of corruption. After all when caught they will only be sacked and not properly dealt with. A 5 year jail term would have been ...

• THOMAS DUKORMEVI 8 years ago

mAHAMA should have gone with them

• omanhene 8 years ago

Sack Mahama too

• voice of the voiceless 8 years ago

step in d right direction.Conversely, Ghanaians' need to see more of dis especially the big fishes in the water.Hope d judge who sat on Woyome case is next? We are watching closely.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

INVESTIGATIONS OF CORRUPT JUDGES SHOULD BE DONE IN EVERY REGION OF GHANA.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

You want me fired? Hahahahaha.What about my district? You know what/ You are not P willy

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

How many goats and akonfem{Guinea fowl]did you receive?
    i hope they are not on transit from Burkina Fasso.

• Ibn ,@ CanadasheabutterGhWR 8 years ago

Bold unanimous & victory for Ghana. ???? .

Time for constitutional amendments for judges to be compensated with better amenities to fully uphold the spirit of the law. Live longer Br Amereyaw @ tigerlens.

They should ...

• NANA AKUFO ADDO 8 years ago

BAWUMIA IS A CRIMINAL. BAWUMIA IS A CHILD RAPIST. BAWUMIA MURDERED THE GCB BANK EMPLOYEE WHO BLEW THE WHISTLE ON THE MONIES THAT BAWUMIA STOLE FROM BOG. BAWUMIA IS HARAM. BAWUMIA IS ALWAYS SEEN AT THE ASHAWO LINE AT CIRCLE AR ...

• Chai 8 years ago

How do you know Bawumiah went to circle for prostitutes? I guess your mum told you because she works there, or MR ATOPAHENE. Aka JOHN INCOMPETENT MAHAMA Told you so because he's a regular customer there with the male clients

• koffi Montreal 8 years ago

Be serious don't call names to people this way

• JAMES NARU 8 years ago

Crazy decision. Sacked and given severance pay. NO WONDER GHANAIANS ARE CONSIDERED STUPID

• Concerned 8 years ago

There's no rule of law in this country. This decision is unconstitutional. Clearly we have laws which requires such serious offenders to be prosecuted. This is a thousand times more serious than smoking weed or stealing a chi ...

• Aussie 8 years ago

pls put them before courit

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP THIEVES 8 years ago

The # 1 corrupt judge is Henrietta Abban Kakamotobi. Fire burn her so well.

• Naayale Woyome 8 years ago

Idiots and brain dead people. What happened to jail terms? Are the judges above the law? Yet you wonder why groups like Boko Haram are on the rise. Stupid Ghanaians. If you dont have a transparent system to punish people who ...

• Susuka 8 years ago

Way to go Gina. Thats my girl! Dont allow Mahama the thief to take credit from you as they are likely to do. This is a rare historic accomplishment that will be etched in gold in the history books of Africa and the world.

• Paa Joe 8 years ago

GOD BLESS GHANA.

CRIMINALS, THIEVES, ROGUES AND CROOKS SHOULD CONTINUE TO BE EXPOSED OTHERWISE, THE NATION GHANA WILL HAVE NO FUTURE FOR THE PRESENT AND THE NEXT GENERATIONS.

WITHOUT STRICT LAW ENFORCEMENT AND VOGOROUS ...

• tkn 8 years ago

Judicial shit in Gh. They are corrupt that is why they can't jail their pairs. This foolish woman knew about it before the news broke out.

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

So

• Jojo 8 years ago

THEIR DISMISSALS SHOULD ALSO LEAD TO REVOKE OF THEIR LAW LICENCES.

NEVER SHOULD THEY BE ALLOWED TO RUN ANY LAW CHAMBERS IN THE COUNTRY.

• Crackadoodledooooo 8 years ago

What !!! After dismissing them for corruption they get a severance package. What is wrong with this country. Then why not also give them a vehicle as a parting gift for corruption well done.

• koffi Montreal 8 years ago

Well done Madam Chief Justice Ayekoo,you're a really a good mother God will guide you for your bold and courage shake up.open your eyes

• gloria u sa 8 years ago

Just fired they hve to go to jail so they can learn a lesson

• Ghanian 8 years ago

Why should you pay a thief for stealing?
    Is that justice to the tax payer?
    Why should they be rewarded or paid?
    Ghana we have a serious problem.

• pete manu -HOLLAND 8 years ago

MY PROBLEM HERE IS WHAT ABOUT THOSE INNOCENT PEOPLE WHO ARE IN GHANA PRISONS? ARE THEY GOING TO BE RETRIAL? HMMMM!!!

• TWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEAAAKAI 8 years ago

THEY NEED TO JAILED AND NOT SACKED. GO FOR WOYOME

• customs officer 8 years ago

Oh no they should also be prosecuted.like the customs etc as in anas expose

• TWWWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEEEEEAAAKAI 8 years ago

ARE THOSE WHO WERE FALSELY JAILED GOING TO BE RELEASED?

WAITING FOR THE NEXT ACTION

• customs officer 8 years ago

Oh no cj ! Anas exposed some and they were prosecuted why not these judges

• popular 8 years ago

good this will be a lesson to the rest

• ...... 8 years ago

so they are just being suspended,they should be jailed too

• tsatsu 8 years ago

She was put there by Kuffour to protect his thieves, what about those serving 15 years for stealing a goat, Can Wayome keep his loot if he shows remorse, I see why corruption is rife in Ghana.

• Ka na Wu 8 years ago

We must make sure they do not get pension!

• Kwabena 8 years ago

This is incredible! If you steal and you just say you are sorry, you not only escape prison but you also get your retirement benefits??? No wonder corruption is so profitable in Ghana!!! The corrupt person will never lose w ...

• citizen observer 8 years ago

Patience guys Judges are protected by lots of clauses since they are to serve as a check and balance on the executive hence they must first be sacked thus stripped of their immunity then i believe any well meaning citizen wit ...

• Nash 8 years ago

Madam AG please be strict with de rules. for showing remorse k3k3 dey will get money, are we serious at all Eeeeiiii. my question is will an armed robber be compansated for showing remorse? God is watching us all.

• Asoreba 8 years ago

The law should be applied equally. Somebody showing remorse for their evil deeds should not grant them reward.

• Ekow Samuel. 8 years ago

That corruption judges must be sack to free the peace of the devolopment ghana today which some of it has luck in the devolopment,even them the future they will like when ghana becomes clean in homes and they must be sack hon ...

• abass yusif 8 years ago

Aw! it's sometimes boring and sad reading comments from some of u guys. some of u guys leave sour taste in our mouths after reading ur useless, subjective, illogic, baseless, directionless and unfair commentaries all along. D ...

• ISIL Leader.. 8 years ago

justice derry must go either by hanging or firing squard or thrown into the deep sea.His safe if his able to swim across.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

Who made the SUPID DECISION, was the REMORES expressed in WRITING was it just VERBAL .......?????????????

ALL PARTNERS IN CRIME.

What kind of Severance Package....??

THEY WERE CAUGHT STEALING, THEY ARE NOW BEING REW ...

• Asap! 8 years ago

Ahh Ghana deaa! They have shown remorse so they are not going to be punished? I guess the robbers they let go also showed remorse. What is the difference? They must be dealt with the law. Aba!!

• Ismael 8 years ago

These judges should have been sentenced to jail as well

Look at the expression on her face.. NONE

What about all the VICTIMS OF THEIR DISHONESTY....???????????

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

How many criminals who have shown remorse the the courts have been rewarded? I guess educated criminals are above the law. They should be tried for their offences and lose any benefits. They have taken enough bribes, goats ...

• Yaa 8 years ago

This is just the beginning. The cleaning after 2016 will be much, MUCH bigger and deeper.

They are all partners in crime

• Dr. William Acquah 8 years ago

Severance package? What sort of nonsense is this?Jail them all!

There will NO LAWYERS, NO ILLITRATE JOURNALISTS, NO SELF ANNOINTED PASTORS, PROPHETS, NO NDC, NO OPPOSITION PARTY, ...................

What the judicial council is saying is that they are sad the judges were caught. They will get their entitilment?

• Papa Yaw 8 years ago

How

• Nii Akwei 8 years ago

Severance package indeed.

• Iwan 8 years ago

For each of these judges who cannot find food to eat after this sack almighty God punish this anas.

• koohia 8 years ago

And what about all the innocent lives destroyed by this judges? Idiot

• Gad 8 years ago

Arrest - charged then convicted jail? Plus assets seized plus review of their cases .
    Or go quietly please with your ill gotten gains ?

• Narkuor Tekpenor 8 years ago

They must serve the sentences for which they chewed all the aponkyenam. Enumd3 nti nipa ni ahoto. Think of all the unfairness that people had to go through. God forgive you. In fact judges must swear together with the people ...

• inercycl 8 years ago

How about justice, the justice they denied others? So there is enough evidence to sack them.At what point do criminal investigations begin.Or when would criminal investigations begin? The story is not over yet...or should not ...

• KOOBOY 8 years ago

ARE YOU TELLING ME THEY ARE ALL GOING TO WALK WITH NO PRISON TERMS. NO WONDER CORRUPTION IS SO RAMPANT

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

That's GH ... they won't be the first or the last to be let off the hook ... Woyome is still out there enjoying his booty ... wouldn't happen here ...

• Abeiku SW2 London 8 years ago

Then again they are getting the sack ... hopefully

• Dr. SAS, Attorney at Law 8 years ago

Unless and until all of us here could swear a terrible oath that we have never sinned, I am prone to support the mild punishment given to the remorseful judges.

They have suffered serious public calumny and psychological t ...

• Potag member 8 years ago

PLEASE THESE JUDGES HAVE RUINED PEOPLES LIVES WITH THEIR BRIBERY JUDGEMENT AND AS SUCH SACKING THEM ONLY IS NOT ENOUGH. THEY MUST FACE THE LAW!!!!!!!!

• ZAmoloh 8 years ago

Anas succeeded in spoiling the work of his fathers and grandfathers. God will judge him too one day. All the sins is committing will be exposed soom.

• Nyorkopio 8 years ago

You don't mean it! Packages will be awarded to individuals found to have abused power and public trust; individuals who let criminals walk free and denied innocents and victims justice? Are Ghanaians sure our Chief justice is ...

• Eddie 8 years ago

Please madam you didn't list any names so how can we Believe it.

• Nana 8 years ago

This is one of the best news that ever came out of Ghana. Well done to the government.

• naayale woyome 8 years ago

Stupid Ghana

• Nima Boy 8 years ago

What about the Mps and Ministers who are involved

• Observer 8 years ago

These judges need to be prosecuted and need to serve jail time like the rest of the people in Ghana who run afoul of the law. It is a deplorable message to Ghanaians to simply send them home.

• Nana III 8 years ago

SHAME to Georgina Wood. Corruption will worsen in Ghana bcos the corrupt judges got away. SHAME!!! Our leaders always fail us

• George 8 years ago

Georgina Wood should be praised. This is the administrative part of the process that has been executed and the criminal aspect needs to executed by the Attorney General.

• Agya 8 years ago

No jail time, but severance packages ..stone ages ..loss cause

• Great 8 years ago

This is a real JOKE, judges who always put people in jail, people who knows the laws of the nation more than any body in the country, went against the law and the only thing that was done to them was to sack them and go scott ...

• Ebibiman 8 years ago

Just let these judges be oooo.
    Bring Anas and Georgina Woode herself to Antwa to swear never have taking any form of bribe b4.

• inercycl 8 years ago

The teeming number of armed robbers in the nation's prisons including Atta Ayi have so much remorse they are asking for "a second chance at life". Should they be pardoned and let go and be given severance pay? I don't think s ...

• suky savy 8 years ago

Remorse??????????????? ? Another sign of corruption or genuinely confused people? I catch my watchman bolting with my suitcase, then he says: Masah, am sorry. Because of that I go in and bring him another suitcase, add it to ...

• PROFESSOR ==THOMAS KUBI 8 years ago

WE MUST TRY TO HELP JUDICIARY
    ====================================
    IT IS A DISGRACE IN GHANA
    ==================================
    PROFESSOR THOMAS KUBI (FOUNDER )GHANA MARKETING=COUNCIL= GHANA INSTITUTE OF M ...

• Damango 8 years ago

WTF...this bitch needs to be fired herself. I can't believe it. SACKED! These judges needs to go to jail. PERIOD!

• Fofie 8 years ago

Others have embezzled millions of state funds and they walk around freely. Government sees this crime as nothing. Afterall, corruption rules in Ghana politics under NDC. What a SHOCK?

• Ato 8 years ago

All of them should be tried and sent prison if found guilty. No severance payment for the cuprits.

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah. Atanta GA 8 years ago

Oh Justice ! When did you lose your Merit ? I used to be a member of the erstwhile Basel Church . We had a hymn."WIASE YI NYA SHEW A laterally , AT THE END OF TIME".All men will appear before the supreme judge.The son of man ...

• Me 8 years ago

I just love this woman. true woman of substance

• Me. 8 years ago

This is really bad. I mean these judges have destroyed the lives of people. Torn their families apart and they get off with nothing but a slap on the wrist????? They ought to be jailed!! Can we not as citizens of this country ...

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 8 years ago

Madame chief Justice if you really love Ghana like so many of us do,i will say that 'the slate'should be wiped clean.The damage that these criminal judges have done to the image of our nation is worst than when Osagyefo was s ...

• EMMANUEL AGBESI 8 years ago

Hand over those idiots to Soldier Rawlings to finish them now.

• Mohammed Farid 8 years ago

sacking alone is not enough. Because Anas did this to Name, Shame and Jail. Now that he has Name them and they are ashamed the jailing must follow to complete the work.

• Fred 8 years ago

PLEASE Mme Chief Justice, I personally think that the punishment meted out to them is too lenient, They should be imprisoned as it will be done in the developed countries since they have imprisoned innocent poor people for th ...

• CONCERN PEOPLE OF GHANA 8 years ago

ATTENTION TO THE PEOPLE OF GHANA.concern citizens of ghana all over the world to embark on one month(1 month) continues strike and demonstration against john mahama bad governance, electricity company of ghana senseless el ...

• AKAJATAME 8 years ago

Mrs Wood thank you but you have not finished don't suspend ANY of them sacked all of them.

• osbon Gershon 8 years ago

sacking them does not mean nothing,they must be jail since corruption is against the law.if that is all for them then am totally disappointed in the chief justice.

• kofi Ayim 8 years ago

The chief justice has done well,she should make sure that cases above ten years in the court should be rule,and all the adjuments should come to an end.

• atubga Sylvanus 8 years ago

Dat is wat mahama want you dont have better people for your better ghana hmmmmm