Ghanaians to pay more for electricity consumption at night

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Rans 8 years ago

So its going to be cheaper when I'm at work and don't need it but expensive when I'm home and need it. Does the NDC government think about our welfare at all? In the UK, it's cheaper in the evenings and weekends when the majo ...

• OLD SOLDIER 8 years ago

Author:-Kasapa...
    My friend, picture no lie. Or the picture too has been fabricated? This government is the most hopeless one in the annals of this country. How can you boast about your popularity and still be resorting to ...

• Henry 8 years ago

Why is everything in the opposite in Ghana? Everywhere electricity is cheaper at night but in Ghana it is supposed to be otherwise...lneptitude at its highest point.

• Birry Wade 8 years ago

Dr. Kwabena Donkor is stupid. Why didn't he name the countries practicing that kind of regime? Why is he and the others who enjoy free electricity being so insensitive to the plight of Ghanaians? And they keep comparing Ghana ...

• siburuku Tifalo 8 years ago

And ur ppl call this Idoit with a Doctrate title! AND After a VERY Hard Day's work at home with ur family He then tells u to pay MORE? WHAT AN INSENSITIVE IDIOT MAN? WHAT A GOVERMENT IS THIS which doesn't care a fig of its ci ...

• Kweku 8 years ago

The whole energy problem is politico-profiteering deals between the corrupt NDC government and the energy distributing sector investors. Absolutely a corrupt oligopolistic strategy involving NDC gurus cum corrupt GRIDco, etc ...

• kwami 8 years ago

AFTER HE HIT US WITH RATE HIKES HE DEMAND WE VOTE FOR HIM AND HIS NDC GOVT OF LOSERS

• ed 8 years ago

NORTHENERS CANT LEAD THEY DONT UNDERSTAND ECONOMY THEY BORN FOLLOWERS NOT LEADERS SO NOW WE MUST VOTE MAHAMA OUT OF OFFICE SO HE WONT HURT US AGAIN WITH BIGGER RATE HIKES,HIGER VAT AND MORE TAXES

• when 8 years ago

AS A RESULT OF YOUR INABILITY TO SOLVE DUMSOR. YOU WANT TO TELL GHANAIANS THEY SHOULD RATHER PREFER THE DUMSOR BECAUSE WHEN THERE IS LIGHT THEY WILL PAY MORE. MASA WE NEED THE LIGHT STUPID FOOOOOL

• when 8 years ago

AS A RESULT OF YOUR INABILITY TO SOLVE DUMSOR. YOU WANT TO TELL GHANAIANS THEY SHOULD RATHER PREFER THE DUMSOR BECAUSE WHEN THERE IS LIGHT THEY WILL PAY MORE. MASA WE NEED THE LIGHT STUPID FOOOOOL.KWASIA BI NTI THERE IS NO LI ...

• Kwabena Owusu, texas u.s.a 8 years ago

you gat it right gentleman. how many people actually stay at home during the day time. ghana will become a ghost city at night. this guy is asking for more crimes at night by handing over the night to armed robbers at ease. ...

i smell this guys are being crafty. this might be another way of passing on those huge Public energy debts of the various ministries to to the consumers. think deep guys!

• Ndu 8 years ago

Its like a cellphone promotion cheap when u r sleeping expensive when u wake up

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

The incompetent corrupt Mahama is only interested in power but not to preside over the governance of Ghana.

• Dr. Michael J.K. Bokor 8 years ago

Blame the corrupt people surrounding Mahama, they are making the president look incompetent.

• Ben 8 years ago

If you are a coach and your team is not performing who do we blame? Incompetent Mahatma. Period.

• OBAA YAA 8 years ago

Are you really a doctor? Where did you receive your degree? With an analysis like this from you please, tell me so I will not encourage anybody to attend the institution where you obtained this doctor degree.

Have you not ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Both Prof Lungu and Dr. Michael J.K. Bokor you are responding to in here are not the original two that we know. So, chill.

• wofa 8 years ago

Is it encourage consumption or discourage consumption, correct that paragraph

• Teacher under Tree 8 years ago

Given the cerebral challenges he faces, the Right Hon Dumsor Donkor is quite capable of saying the opposite of what he means.

• THE MAN FROM HO 8 years ago

Ghana's Minister of Power signed deal with a man from Oslo wanted for fraud and organized crime. The deal is worth 510 million dollars.

Ghana's minister of power does not even bother to lift his eyes when two journal ...

• Kweku 8 years ago

Done deal between President Mahama and NDC gurus to swindle Ghana, that's part of the reasons Mahama made uncountable trips to Dubai, UAE.

• APONKYE 8 years ago

People should not be so cynical and complain about everything. If you think hard you will identify many benefits from the dumsor, far more than its bad sides.
    1) now I eat fresh food everyday. No more heating and reheating s ...

• Ben 8 years ago

Rubbish. See what you dey talk.

• Kojo 8 years ago

I think u can still enjoy ur advantages by disconnecting the electricity in ur house or re plan ur life well. Cos Ghanaians needs their light back.

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

hahahahaaaaa heheheeeee.....Ndc voters and leadership think support for a political party simply means DO-ME-I-DO-YOU...But this is sheer stupidity of the highest level bcos its Ghana that ends up the loser and our kids who e ...

• Abigi 8 years ago

Hello you are backward and far behind in time. In the Gold Coast Era where you use the same wrist watch for 10 years, your ideas would have been ideal. However, in the 21st century your ideas are antiqueted,silly and dead. Ho ...

• Akuvie 8 years ago

Hahahahahhaaaa. Me too.

An idiot's content is usually based upon retrogressive satire. This is an obvious example of the untrained mind for progress. To him the dark ages have their merits. The unfortunate answer to his defense is : Ghanaians view t ...

• Mr. No Nonsense 8 years ago

Aponkye you are really aponkye, abrekyire. Do you think ghanaians are fools. Mahama and co will ever use you as sponkye to prepare their meal. You don't think of suffering of the masses. You only think of today but not tomorr ...

• Abeiku 8 years ago

Appnkye,Aponkye,Aponkye...How many times did I call you?You are far behind civilisation and am not surprise because there are lot of people in the country who also think like you.
    Come out of your shell because technology is ...

• Dorcas Kpando 8 years ago

This man is mad.give us the light and we will pay fool.The name Donkor shows he can't do the work

METKA is owned by one of the richest dynasties in Greece, the Mytilineos family. According to the press release, the industrial giant had acquired a new partner: Ameri Group.

The Greek corporation informed that its wholly ...

• OFOSUAA 8 years ago

THIS IS WHY WE WILL KEEP VOTING FOR JOHN MAHAMA BY ALL MEANS...Ndc voters and leadership think support for a political party simply means DO-ME-I-DO-YOU...But this is sheer stupidity of the highest level bcos its Ghana that e ...

• Tetteh 8 years ago

In fact this government has taken Ghanaians for granted. Who forced them to power?

• md 8 years ago

we will connect illegally from 6pm to11pm. period

• omanba 8 years ago

This minister is truly the enemy of the poor majority in Ghana.He has not got any sympathy for ghanaians who are oveburdened with unemployment poor salaries.He is a proxy for international capitalists and neo-liberalists.Wh ...

Director Mohammed Amin Adam of the think tank Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP) does not believe this agreement will make the world a better place.

On the contrary, he is very critical to the agreement between the Gh ...

• Fanti Man 8 years ago

Look at this idiot. Why don't you focus on fixing the power supply first before looking at tarrifa ..

• Akuvie 8 years ago

Ghanaians have to stay in darkness to save on their light bills. Solution is to get a solar if you can afford one

The men behind the deal

Wanted Norwegian-PakistaniUmar Farooq Zahoor

The police in Oslo has put the 40 year old as one of the main men behind one of the biggest bank frauds in Norway. Umar Farooq Zahoor has also been ...

• vampire 8 years ago

Wicked man

• Ambassador 8 years ago

Aboard minister

• nii 8 years ago

pls the power minister said his ministry might be considering having different tarriff charged for different period. he didnt say he was advocating for that. bad journalism

well said my good friend, this is how it all starts then it is introduced, watch it!

• Taniba 8 years ago

Useless and is all useless and incompetent

• KOFI 8 years ago

FOR LONG/SHORT RENT: 2 & 1 BEDROOMS WITH A/C.,SATELLITE/CABLE TV LINKS,POP CEILING WITH FANS,SLIDING OPAQUE GLASS WINDOWS ETC. IN TANTRA HILLS :

PLEASE CALL: 026 471 6238

• Sad 8 years ago

Why are punishing Ghanaians like that.

• nii 8 years ago

how can we pay more rather at night if it is not the peak period. wrong heading.

• Kokofu Mahama 8 years ago

Ghana's Minister of Power signed deal with a man from Oslo wanted for fraud and organized crime. The deal is worth 510 million dollars.

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

When we are at work and nobody is using the power then the tariff is low but when we are at home to use the power then the tariff is higher. Wicked and incompetent NDC government. Shame

• Me 8 years ago

I doubt if this news is accurate.. I listened to him nd if ma memory serves me ryt: he said it will be cheaper at nyt, i.e off peak periods...

• Kweku Tutu 8 years ago

Ghana paid double price for gas turbines from the Amer group is revealed by two investigative journalists from the Norwegian newspaper Verdens Gang (VG) That is 250 million dollars down the drain.
    VG showed the minister a p ...

• me 8 years ago

Now the illegal connection will kick Inn...I feel like they don't think through it...or it might be one man option

• Ras 8 years ago

Retrieved Ghc200 million
    Bull shit
    Another few circus and you could have PURCHASED a power barge and save the country $US 800 million over the 10 years plus $US 175 million in extra monies to be paid for fuel that Turkish ...

• Ras 8 years ago

Ghana signs desks with fraudsters

Add www. To front of link

vg.no/nyheter/innenriks/ghana-s-minister-of-power-signed-deal-with-a-man-from-oslo-wanted-for-fraud-and-organized-crime-the-deal-is-worth-510-million-dollars/ ...

• truth 8 years ago

i dont blame you. The president is the biggest fool to keep you at your job. Ghanaians are been taken for granted. Mahama must go too

• dukeD 8 years ago

CALLING THEMSELVES POLITIFIANS

put www to front of this link vg.no/nyheter/innenriks/ghana-s-minister-of-power-signed-deal-with-a-man-from-oslo-wanted-for-fraud-and-organized-crime-the-deal-is-worth-510-million-dollars/a ...

• Foreigner 8 years ago

Yes, this is used in more sofisticated countries. It's a smart way to charge since the electricity producing network build its capacity for peak periods. By charging higher for peak times, consumers, where possible, will m ...

• CHINOOK 8 years ago

Useless people forming Cabinet in this NDC Government. Where did this man get his PHD from? He is as useless as Class One pupil.

• BOUBABA 8 years ago

IF MAHAMA DOES NOT FIRE THIS GUY, NDC IS DOOMED. DUMSOR IS STILL THERE SO WHY IS THIS GUY AT POST WE WILL SEE COME DECEMBER 31 IF MAHAMA WILL TAKE ACTION AGAINST THIS CROOKED INCOMPETENT MINISTER.

• YAW 8 years ago

Is that what Ghanaians voted for ? Why Ghanaians vote for NDC again ?

• Pele Pele 8 years ago

We should pay more because he signed inflated deal of $500 million dollars, can you imagine? Ghana is for sale. The bush people are selling Ghana

• Pele Pele 8 years ago

Mahama ,wife,family, brothers and nation deals centre(NDC) are all mafias. Ghanaian mafias

• Kwaku Mensah - Accra 8 years ago

This is totally unacceptable. Draining every pesewas out of the pocket of average Ghanaian. This again will bring hardship on the life of Ghanaian, minister should seat up and look for other opportunities and not to task Ghan ...

• SAMUEL AYAMGA 8 years ago

I believe if he doesn't have solutions to the problem, he should better leave there and not to create more hardship for Ghanaians. The period between 6:00pm to 11:00pm is where small scale business are still operating. Why do ...

• NEWLIGHT 8 years ago

I've never seen a useless government like Ghana's currently.

• truglio u.s 8 years ago

The sun is always shining in Ghana why can't consumers switch to solar energy and Apostle Kojo Sarfo can invent those devices for every house.

• EFO KOVI 8 years ago

CORRUPT AND INCOMPETENT KWABENA DONKOR, PUT ON GHANAIAN AND WE WILL PAY.

• apuuuu 8 years ago

This power minister Kwabena Donkor is scumbag he is a thief he inflated contact he signed with man wanted by Norwegian police he signed deal for $500 millions instead of $220 million what kind of nonsense is ...

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 8 years ago

Where in the world did the minister hear of this senseless suggestion? I don't blame him. I blame the INCOMPETENT Mahama with his mediocre, bootlicking, and money-grabbing presidency.

• Elliot Ness 8 years ago

The minister's solution is based on faulty analysis. Like Rans said, it should be more expensive during daylight when it is not needed to get things done. No one can do without assistive lighting at night time and this policy ...

• apuuu 8 years ago

Then don't cry Lowder than the widower

• MARCUS AMPADU 8 years ago

Social media is not free. More people are u

• Kwame Joe 8 years ago

Social media is not free. More people are using sm now than before, and it hasn't cross their mind where the energy to charge their cell phones & computers is coming from.

• kweks 8 years ago

We have to use energy wisely now. Delay in switching on your outside light. Use energy efficient appliances. Change all florescent tubes to energy efficient bulbs. Dont leave your tv & radio on all day. Plan to minimize use o ...