Brochure gaffe: I detected errors but allowed it – ISD boss

Read Comments Comments (155)

• Life 8 years ago

Resign now

• HUMANISM 8 years ago

Ghana is going downhill, anyway. So sacking this guy will not make any difference.

If this guy is sacked, what happens to all d folks at the Flagstaff House who never bothered to double check the nonsense they had print ...

• Maj Gen. Sagbuul 8 years ago

All along i think people with this type of head have sharp brains but.....

• facts 8 years ago

ARE YOU SURE YOU ARE NOT BEING PAID TO SAY WHAT YOU ARE SAYING?

• OYOKOBA 8 years ago

Taking full responsibility does not exist in vacuum. It means resigning from your position before you are forced to go through sacking.

Let this joker burry his face in shame and resign immediately, that is what taking full ...

• Ato Kwamena 8 years ago

If Mr. Kwarteng Arthur has admitted this gross incompetence and disgracing Ghana on such a memorable occasion , he is not fit to serve in that position. He must resign or be fired immediately. Serving our country must be take ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

If this man and all those involved in this disgraceful blunder are not sacked at once, I shall personally joined in haunting President Mahama out of office! He has appointed the idiots and morons who are misgoverning and runn ...

• W. Anderson 8 years ago

What does Mr. John Mahama expect when he appointed mostly his inexperienced northern people to almost all the key positions in his administration? It's because of embarrassing mistakes of this nature that people label him and ...

• Nana Prempeh Bani 8 years ago

Just sack the fool. Ghana is too good for this. If Mahama's Administration set this guy free, then really "The Incompetence" slogan will destroy his re-election chances. Just sack him.

• Fact 8 years ago

But this shameless prick came and LIED and put the blame on ISD!

He must resign or be FIRED!

Is the Chief of Staff a frigging WIMP??

• Close Observer 8 years ago

Foolish people are leading Ghana, thanks to FOOLISH VOTERS. Incompetent Mahama doesn't know what he is doing at the presidency. Just like the Nigerian and Ghanaian movie actors we watch, he is just celebrating his position (i ...

• YOU SAID WHAT? 8 years ago

YES, SACKING HIM WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE,PEOPLE NEED TO KNOW THEY ARE PAID TO WORK,NOT CRUISE AND ACT IRRESPONSIBLY.THERE WERE FOREIGN DIGNITARIES THERE.

• Anarchy Is The Order Of The Day. 8 years ago

Ghana under Mahama is rotten to the core - who can deny it? Oh, Mahama, I pity you.

• Prayers For Him. 8 years ago

Ghana under Mahama is rotten to the core - who can deny it? Oh, Mahama, I pity you.

• Oburoniba Fitafita 8 years ago

Foot soldiers are administering affairs of government in Ghana. The President is responsible for the growing rot and deterioration : he never fires people who put this country to shame. They walk around with high feeling of i ...

• Concerned Citizen 8 years ago

Don't worry about it, Mr. Arthur, you will only be sacked, so rest assured.

• Queen 8 years ago

Like the Rev. Minister said:-Where are the WISE MEN in Ghana to allow these FUCKING FOOLS to handle the affairs of the Country?

• JM 8 years ago

The wise men are the thieves NPP

• Obenfo 8 years ago

Ghana is really interesting:) You just assume responsibility? Is assuming responsibility enough? Well, assumption of responsibility come with a price.

Gentlemen, don't crucify the guy - he sees people get away with crim ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

When you have idiots ruling the country, this is what happens. Is this moron telling us before he sent the initial script to the Flagstaff house communication department, he did not read it? The moron is drawing huge salary f ...

• Joe Canada 8 years ago

He he he he he he he he he he, this is soo funny, but there was some fact though. Ghana has attained low income status!!. Fucking guy was brutally honest. This is a big achievement under dead goat President and his Nation Des ...

• Joe Canada 8 years ago

He he he he he he he he he he, this is soo funny, but there was some fact though. Ghana has attained low income status!!. Fucking guy was brutally honest. This is a big achievement under dead goat President and his Nation Des ...

• Joe Canada 8 years ago

• AGYEI-BADU 8 years ago

Kwarteng takes entire responsibility of the errors on the brochures for fear of the wrath from Stan Dogbe, the Trokosi_ terrorist who will stop at nothingt to eliminate all those who oppose him. Even Otani Mahama, the incompe ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

A few years ago, the people of Rwanda (Hutus and Tutsis) were as stupid as most people in Ghana today; DISCRIMINATING AGAINST EACH OTHER, and they paid dearly for their stupidity. You don't build a nation with division. DESIS ...

• asuo 8 years ago

Boy!!! You make a lot of mistakes for someone criticizing others for theirs. One assume full responsibility not "takes entire responsibility". "Errors on the brochure"? "For fear of the wrath"? Commonnn!!! Mathew 7:3-5. Go an ...

• Brian Williams 8 years ago

Mahama is a disgrace to Ghana, period. He is an idiot and has surrounded himself with like minded people. What a shame.

• Alligator 8 years ago

"The Brochure also went ahead to state that..."

How can a brochure go ahead and state something????

See our nation?

The news item that reports of mistakes of writing in an official document is, itself, not expressin ...

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

Fire this fool.

• come again 8 years ago

This stupid man need to proceed on leave. he very silk.

• Wright 8 years ago

How can Arthur the deputy director of ISD GET instructions from Abiset deputy director of publishing?
    Mr Abiset should have been in charge of the brochure from the onset

• Omanhene (U$A) 8 years ago

I'm very EMBARRASSED about this silly and an incompetent work and excuse by the ISD boss. President Mahama MUST fire his sorrowful ass immediately, because the guy has irreparably DAMADED Ghana’s reputation and credibility. ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Not only this guy. Anybody who worked on the brochure printing including the Flagstaff house communication department all need to be fired.

They have disgraced President Mahama and the people of Ghana.

• Monica 8 years ago

So you should be resigning like yesterday instead of sitting there and proferring untelligible explanations. You have disgraced Ghana and you are thus no fit to hold any public office

• yoluis 8 years ago

Tell us how much?

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

If you were billed to produce the brochure then what on earth made you to give to Flagstaff House to print. If you intend to liar at least make it to appear more sensible. Since you take full responsibility, you definitely de ...

• Hanson 8 years ago

No body requested a sample for the committee to approve?.

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Ask again, Hanson. It's unbelievable that an important brochure like this seems like it went through many hands without anybody proofreading it.

Is Dr Bawumiah a safe or what? About a week ago he said these fools do not re ...

• BigMouth 8 years ago

Dear Mr Sarpong,

You could not string a couple of sentences together without making a mistake
    yet you have the effrontery to call others fools?
    Did you proofread your own comments and do you honestly think you would do ...

• SARPONG 8 years ago

Idiot, what mistake are you moron talking about? Fool, Sage came out as safe because of a typo but if I have to produce a brochure and not a comment, definitely at lest somebody on my staff if not myself could have detected t ...

• Odikro 8 years ago

The NDC gave this program to a private company. All they are doing is to get ISD to accept blame and cover up the millions they would have paid some NDC bed warmer. Parliament should, please, act.

• Nkrekete 8 years ago

Very simple! The ISD boss agreed to divert the job from ISD to a private printer with the full knowledge of the government functionaries at FH; hence his decision to accept responsibility for the errors in the brochure. Per ...

• BSR 8 years ago

Surprised those leading this crusade on the errors in the Independence Anniversary brochure are some of the very journalists that are daily spewing all sorts unprintable grammatical errors

• ... 8 years ago

Any competent head would have allowed just about 10 or so samples to be printed. He would then distribute those 10 samples to qualified proof-readers for corrections. The final copies would then be printed after the corerctio ...

• BEYEDEN 8 years ago

WHAT WERE THE PRESIDENTIAL STAFFERS DOING BEFORE THIS DISASTER?.DIDN'T THEY HAVE COPIES BEFORE IT WERE PRINTED?.WHO SENT TO THEM WHAT THEY HAD TO PRINT?.NDC WITHOUT RAWLINGS IS USELESS AND MEANINGLESS.THEY ARE ALWAYS FROM DIS ...

• Awurade kasa 8 years ago

Proof readers you mean?. Incompetence knows no proof reading. Where is Asiedu Nketia?..... Mr. Know it all.

• Samuel Kwame 8 years ago

Documents are reviewed continuosly and the master copy most be approved before final print. Why was this project given to a private firm and who was responsible for oversight. Mr. Just pack your bags and hit the road for maki ...

• Osono 8 years ago

This shameless and sloppy guy has the nerve to be making excuses instead of handing over his resignation letter. To make matters worse, nothing has been heard from the chief of staff. There is a rapid response team to answer ...

• VVIP+NDC=Cocaine 8 years ago

NDC illiterates at work!

• Kontonkyi 8 years ago

This is a clear evidence-based incompetence.

• Smallgaka 8 years ago

President, fire him and you also leave d poultry hse

• Shenje 8 years ago

Just RESIGN you are really a disgrace to Ghanians.What school did you attended.What a Country God help us

• HARDER@'89... 8 years ago

this may aptly be the finger of GOD to caution us particularly those in officialdom to refrain from the wanton and the disgusting habit of praise singing our achievements before others the manner the president embarrassingly ...

• dick 8 years ago

so u caused this disgrace

• Nii Dove 8 years ago

Sack the fool!

• Kwasi 8 years ago

Sack him.

• Plasma Kote 8 years ago

HOW MUCH DID THE PRINTING COST ??????

HOW WAS THE PRINTING CONTRACT AWARDED ?????????????

WERE BIDS INVITED ........????????????

• Matete 8 years ago

Mr kwateng is obviously not on top of his job. He must proceed on leave immediately. This is a flimsy excuse.

• pee 8 years ago

Fool

• Kofi Virginia 8 years ago

Really?

• steph 8 years ago

So, he was too lazy to read through the brochure before forwarding it to the printers, assuming that it was correct. We could have pardoned a mistake, but not several. He has really embarrassed the nation.

• Iwan 8 years ago

So what is the fuss? There are more errors in the papers we read daily. And there are blatant lies in the net.

• Kofi Virginia 8 years ago

Lazy officers. Proof read and don't leave it to under links.

• Kanewu 8 years ago

This minister is stupid. What a lame excuse.How can such careless people run a country. Mahama must dismiss him or else the consequences will be disastrous for Mahama himself. A word to the wise is enough. Your days are numb ...

• Otwenua Adamfo 8 years ago

Ok Let's move to the penalty phase -RESIGN

• piouscy 8 years ago

foolishness this man should be fired
    and who ever also has a hand in it

• Gh paaa 8 years ago

Why does he have a job today?

• nana 8 years ago

THAT IS HOW THEY A DOING ALL THE WORKS, EVERYWHERE ON GHANA THE SAME THING IS GOING ON.

• Kwesi Pratt - the SNAKE! 8 years ago

This guy is a fool. Ewe NDC will use him as an escape goat like Rawlings used Amartey Quaye.

• Boy Oh boy 8 years ago

But truly Ghana is at the geographical centre of the earth.

• GABRIEL TENUO 8 years ago

Someone somewhere played mischief,government should get to the bottom of this.

• Stoway 8 years ago

The lady who is the head of the operations is a suspect. She knows about this sabotage and was quick to blame this man for apologising.
    People now disgrace the very country they claim they love to come and govern.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Yes, it was done deliberately to ridicule the presidency. Even a toddler out there is aware that President Uhuru Kenyatta is not the president of Ghana. However, the acting Director of the Information Service Department (ISD) ...

• Whatever 8 years ago

Look at the problems all around us and beyond and the opposition in Ghana are looking into brochures. It says a lot about them.

• Who 8 years ago

So now you idiot admits there are numerous problems around us, huh? What a disgraceful government.

• Wells 8 years ago

Then Resign

• asem 8 years ago

this shows our incompetence as a nation. During such an occasion, editing is done by a group and not one person. What a shae

• raf 8 years ago

This guy must be fired

• barima owusu akyem tenten agyekum 8 years ago

What kind of leaders do we have Ghana at the moment .Is like we have square pegs in round holes.all The bosses should be fired for showing gross negligence of duty.it's shame to Ghana.

• collins 8 years ago

what a stupid uncivilized country!!!

• Bedele Dangati 8 years ago

The product of PNDC/NDC trained so-called
    Cadre.

• Odjam 8 years ago

The Independence celebration should even have been cancelled and the day used profitable for Cleaning Exercise.Poor children and teachers dying for lack of food and long useless parade.What have we achieved.Nothing. Even mist ...

• Mr Bond 8 years ago

Am glad that this time dummy government officials did not blame it on printing press it during government criminal reading 2016 budget figures miraculous changing and when those thiefs got cut they blame it on the the photo c ...

• Anelka 8 years ago

Go and seek for ASYLUM some where as quickly as possible? ..

• Mensah 8 years ago

no wonder

• Ohemaa 8 years ago

I detected huge mistake during one of the finest international school speech & price giving day & i immediately collected all the booklets & assured all invited guest they were going to correct it & reprint all again. This is ...

• ORIGINAL VOICE OF REASON 8 years ago

Ghana is really a sad case.What have we done to deserve this?For a buffoon like Mahama to rig elections to impose his stupid self on us.Now see the disgrace and humiliation he is heaping on us,not to mention impoverishment !

• hungry man 8 years ago

Npp is under ur mistake 'even in times of serious activities you turn to politicise it.

• Akoloogo fra fra 8 years ago

You fool 'resign

• Kofi K 8 years ago

We all see the exhibition of sheer incompetence in this regard on the part of these guys occupying such important positions in Ghana now. And they have the audacity to overlook this and rather make noise about Nana Addo's out ...

• Joe Fetsefe 8 years ago

I am surprise to hear that the errors were detected and because of the time period it was let go.
    Such decisions can never be tolerated in the medical field and I feel so embarrassed to hear the Minister's weak response. Oh ...

• BetterGhanaNoMatterWhay 8 years ago

Lash him publicly and then fire him without benefits. He disgraced Ghana. Actually not he alone was disgracing us. The people in charge of protocol need to be sacked as well. How can you leave to Prezidents leaving in the sun ...

• Paa kwesisika 8 years ago

Mr. Kwarteng Arthur you don't sound credible enough. You sound like you have been taken for a scapegoat. Tell the truth and save your credibility. Take my advice young man. A word to a wise.

• cuuh!. 8 years ago

What can u say abt dr Bawumia. Ndc minis dont read. Is it true or false.
    Study to show thyself approved unto God.... ndc try to study. We 're tired of u

• Simply George. 8 years ago

Whatever happened was carefully orchestrated to sabotage the government in power but on occasions like independence day celebrations, it is name of Ghana at stake but not a political party,s name. I mean people
    need to think ...

• HOW SAD 8 years ago

Pride precedes fall.
    Let's wait and see what the so called presidency , the loud mouthed scribes of the party and other sycophants has to say in their defense .

• old boy 8 years ago

Don't blame these crop of people but blame the type of education the country is giving to our wards.
    1.The country lays emphasie on cutting corner on spending the structures of education. The results are what the country is ...

• JM 8 years ago

Please Prez. Mahama sack those NDC sabotage guy or sabotice in your office before is too late. That guy need not to be there Sir..

• THE TRUE VERDICT 8 years ago

Incompetence from the top to the bottom .
    Bawumia was right .

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 8 years ago

This is utter irresponsible! He must be fired. What did you send to the printing house and did they do exactly what you ask them to do? Wasn't there any proofreading to ensure that all is were dotted and all ts crossed?

T ...

• Consider 8 years ago

Just resign

• Osono 8 years ago

This shameless and sloppy guy has the nerve to be making excuses instead of handing over his resignation letter. To make matters worse, nothing has been heard from the chief of staff. There is a rapid response team to answer ...

• Frank Akoto 8 years ago

Sack him. He is useless.

• yussmont 8 years ago

What an idiot

• Kwame Safo 8 years ago

Symptomatic of a government that sees nothing wrong with flying $9,000,000 on a chartered plane to Brazil in the C21st.

• Sammy 8 years ago

Just listen to yourself, so u trying to tell us that u didn't order for a sample of the product. U have months to plan for this but u failed. All u guys know is to drive in town with police behind u and take salutes from mark ...

• atwei 8 years ago

The man is a liar. I have worked with Mr. Abisat for more than five years at ISD. He would never produce this kind of poorly written information for public, national and international consumption. He is lying. Abisat woul ...

• Nyorkopio 8 years ago

What foolish idiocy is that? Our country does not have proof readers who can edit an important brochure such as this one for Independence Day celebrations? 3,000 wrong copies are wrong and ought to have been withdrawn. No mat ...

• S L Y 8 years ago

may we know where the brochures were printed and if they did not have proof readers do their job before final printing. that man must go to serve as a warning to future mistakes like this. just step down. its a very big disg ...

• Noorah 8 years ago

Disgraceful!! A country run by a bunch of imbeciles.

• Noorah 8 years ago

Disgraceful!! A country run by a bunch of imbeciles.

• Reggie Tagoe (regtagoe@yahoo.comu) 8 years ago

If it were to be somewhere the one responsible would have resigned or committed suicide by now for causing such a national disgrace. But this is Ghana. People will not be sacked. It shows the level at which our country has su ...

• Kusia 8 years ago

People who fake CSR crashes when they loose elections .fake pink sheets,FTogolese voters register,fake Lawyers are capable if doing any mischief for power...watch out Mahama... There is more pre electioned sabotage coming... ...

• Dick 8 years ago

He has taken the blame of all what happened because he's very sure his position is intact. If his position is in jeopardy, then he would lie.

Sick administration.

• KOOBOY 8 years ago

IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER WTHHOUT THE ERROR RIDDEN BROCHURE. WITH SUCH A VOLUME OF PRINTS A TEST ORINT SHOUL HAVE BEEN DONE BEFORE THE SO CALLED 3000 PRINTS WENT INTO PRODUCTION. WHY DID THESE PRINTS COME OUT A DAY BEFORE THE ...

• koffi parker 8 years ago

Rather this error has created the deserved attention as if it has gone viral for the worst but looking at its spiritual values it has served its divine purpose.THE WHOLE WORLD WILL SOON COME TO KNOW THAT GHANA OUR DEAR MOTHER ...

• concerned ghanaian 8 years ago

Who ever was given the job to print the brochure, was determined to embarrass the Government. We are a bunch of NERDS. We don't plan, we don't proof read documents. We extend our politics to exposing Ghana as hopeless.

The ...

• Afia Sika,Gomoa Nkran 8 years ago

What? How can you make such a horrible mistake? Do you want to say that you did not proof read what your deputy wrote? Those who typed too did not edit the information sent to them nor the print out? Hmmmmmm.

• prof 8 years ago

Mahamais surrounded by block headed people who only know how to insult. You see, this is what we've been talking about. Where is the so called Dr omane boamah? Where is that small boy with sharp teeth? This is the end of arro ...

• KnYc(USMC) 8 years ago

I have always been saying, we have morons in positions of interest. Ndc government of morons who are setting our country backward. Too many incompetent people in NDC propaganda government officials with blockhead.

• MaKaMaKa 8 years ago

This man should be the Real Minster of Information!Job Well done.You are so good.Keep it up.Idiot!

• Kwame Gyekye 8 years ago

A national embarrassment so What does full responsibility mean in this case?

• nyame ba 8 years ago

sack him.

• Togbui Delavi 8 years ago

Bawumia is very prophetic. Whatever he says manifests.

• Adekunle 8 years ago

Am ashamed to Ghanaian

• nyame ba 8 years ago

kick him out.

• Nicholas 8 years ago

What do you mean by taking full responsibility? Resign immediately. You are not fit for your position now.

• DDT 8 years ago

I know before a book is published, it is first edited so who is responsible for that. I am sory or taking responsibility is not enough. All those involved must be sacked. You always demand high salaries for doing nothing. ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 8 years ago

Could the errors be intentional or expected ? If intentional, then our big men are tired. We need not be told. Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown and a guilty conscience needs no accuser.

• A. T. 8 years ago

This will NEVER HAPPEN in the United States. In the US, Leaders actually read through documents before they go to the press. Actually, several people look at the document. Leaders in Ghana don't WORK!!! They just sit down and ...

• Papa T 8 years ago

Kenya lies on the geographic equator which is latitude 0 deg. Ghana, however, lies between latitude 4 degrees North at the coast to 11 degrees north at the northernmost border with Burkina Faso. The Greenwich Meridian which i ...

• Kweku 8 years ago

Why should a brochure for an event which has been planned since the last celebration be looked at the morning before the events?
    The brochure should have been ready over 2 weeks before the date. And they could have been corr ...

• Kwesi 8 years ago

Is anybody surprised? The practice where consummate professionals are passed and party people fielded in important position is costing mother Ghana dearly. It doesn't matter which party is in power, if this practice is not st ...

• Kofi B 8 years ago

Ever heard of QA/QC?

• .......p 8 years ago

May be we need a new president now!!!!new

• Kofi Sugar 8 years ago

Saw the mistake a few hours to the parade......

And yet allowed it....

Now, this clearly shows how serious they are handling the affairs of the nation.

Very simple tasks, and still can't do the right thing.

Hmmm ...

• ex-cpl Atia Naagode 8 years ago

What NEXT Mr Kwateng????? Give way to a competent officer who can reason well and take effective decision next time. Mahama boy indeed.

• Sly 8 years ago

Those idiots must vacate their post with immediate effect Without pay. Until this shameful act been investigated .

• Sly 8 years ago

Most of these guys are millionaires . Ghana is falling flat in all aspect.

• JAY 8 years ago

U shouldn't Jst assume responsibility for it. It should cost u some dearly since u decided as a single person to ridicule a whole nation

• TA 8 years ago

This guy is not fit to occupy that position. He has actually exhibited incompetency as a manager. A manager takes critical decisions to put his organization in good standing. Now that decision has disgraced GHANA, what is he ...

• Unjust 8 years ago

What a 59th disgrace.

• Boycott Ecowas 8 years ago

Fools hold positions in Ghana so nothing will be done wright

• Boycott Ecowas 8 years ago

Nothing will be done right

• B.A 8 years ago

Krakye spare our ears with this nonsense

• kakabo 8 years ago

This tells you the level of incompetence in the government. If just a common anniversary program could be handled in such manner, then can you think of what happens to the 200 page loan agreements documents that they sign wit ...

• Kwadwo Num 8 years ago

Proverbs 22:1
    Good name is rather to be chosen than great riches.

• save ghana 8 years ago

people of Ghana. don't u think mahama is an error president and God never gave him the seat? look at when he was addressing AU and he mixed up his sheets. everything always turns into error. the country is suffering. thinking ...

• We Have A New President. 8 years ago

Uhuru Kenyatta, please be our president. Mahama has deposed himself.

• Sefa 8 years ago

And he is still at Post.
    Mahama truly has serious leadership issues.
    He us truly indecisive.

• Kpakpatsu 8 years ago

Why would you wait to be sacked?

• Daavi Golemekpo 8 years ago

Stop wasting your time. Mahama will not sack this man. He will transfer him to the Flagstaff House to assist in corruption duties

• Sule 8 years ago

This idiotic monkey must be sentenced to death for making mockery of our constitution. How can this be attributed to a mistake??? You call urself a scholar??? Incredulous...we will never forgive u.

• Efo Nii Ghanaba 8 years ago

I'll take Uhuru Kenyatta as president over Mahama any day. At least he has the balls to stand up for his people and to Western buffoonery!