Trafficked boys being married off in fishing communities – Study

Read Comments Comments (34)

• ghanaman 8 years ago

All institutions for child protection must take this reported trend serious and work out possible solutions to this abhorring development

• APONKYE 8 years ago

NGOs will invent any lie to attract sponsorship.

• Ernie 8 years ago

Not true !

• nana 8 years ago

Aponkye the goat at it again.

• nitty-gritty 8 years ago

Mahama's administration a lot of imaginable surprises everything goes.

• korshivi 8 years ago

this story doesn't make sense. is marriage a rope that ties down the boys? and at what age are they married off?

• Neana Malik 8 years ago

Thats exactly what It is,my brother.African NGO scam to attract western money.So can they ride in big cars and dont even care about the damage they cause to image of their countries.

• afro 8 years ago

Despicable as this is, the reporter needs to give more facts like where, when . Social Welfare and police also need to be involved. i hope it is not just another NGO scam to raise donor funds.

• Ghost of Atta Mills 8 years ago

Married to who, girl or women?

• Hanson 8 years ago

We want specifics, not these shallow reportage. Any serious reporter would have mentioned the places, period, and who these children are. Stupid reporter.

• ROCKY 8 years ago

The witches and wizards of Ghana, voltarians, are the pepertrators of these heinous crimes. And such people have a say in our Ghanaian politics. They deserve to be castrated and their women given to zoo keepers to used as mee ...

• kofi abas 8 years ago

The witches & wizards can be found in the bush part of Ghana and every Ghanaian is aware. So the primitive bush animal called rocky shd come again. Hope u not a disguised sarpong

• ROCKY 8 years ago

Who told you that voltarians are not primitive and bush people. Which people engage in this type of criminal activity apart from the ewes? Tell me!!! idiots!!! Travel along Accra Kumasi high way and see, all shrines establish ...

• kofi abas 8 years ago

Primitive bush animals must stop deceiving themselves thinking they deceiving others because Ghanaians have come to know them very well and that is why they are always frustrated & insulting people all the time. May be they n ...

• ROCKY 8 years ago

I am not an ashanti but i know the history of antoa, idiot. It is not the property of the ashantis. It was started by a group of northern farmers. Ewes must carry their own cross of primitivity. Idol worshippers, is kwaku bon ...

• Dk 8 years ago

rocky ..u are such a pathetic moron. I dont know which tribe in Ghana you come from so l won't attack any tribe.

• Nana 8 years ago

The writer does not make sense. Be clear in your writing. Unless there is another meaning for marriage

• Thems Dempsey 8 years ago

Fine. That is African way of educating the children young in fish farming and family management. They will grow up specialising in fishing and family management to keep the tradition going.

• Osa 8 years ago

Kufuor must answer. Has any ndc politian named yet?.....where are de npp guys on this forum.......asem beba dabi

• insp we.i 8 years ago

Who are the boys being married off to? This article does not nake sense

• wofa 8 years ago

If the writer means business he should come again. At what age are they married? To the grown up women or their age group? Are they given to the daughters of their masters? Answer all these questions and many more, otherwise ...

• Kwasi 8 years ago

Why are there so many NGO's. Do they really serve the interest of the country...

• MENSAH FRED 8 years ago

Call or whatsap 0249620218
    Hello Am Mensah Fred I deal with LOTTERY NUMBERS
    my numbers are deal game which comes from a TRUSTED SOURCE everyday.
    The maximum win we experienced a week is THREE and the minimum is TWO .inter ...

• P Djamgbe. 8 years ago

Nan, Aponkye is spot on on this. Believe you me even here in the advanced countries charity firms are more concerned about making themselves rich at the expense of the very people they claim to be helping. Having said that, I ...

• Ernie 8 years ago

That is not true. Give us proof !

• komfo 8 years ago

Jesus Christ!!Such things happening in this 21st Century in Ghana here?

• Truth 8 years ago

Could anyone tell if there is any truth in this piece. Who are these young boys and who are the wives they are married too and at what age. Put your facts together and come again.

• SANDOOO 8 years ago

Ei Nana Nyame eeeii,
    Stollen gods frm de North,de art weaving borrowed frm cotten growing nd smock weaving north,northern yams and rice tagged kumasi bayer3 nd Asante broni,a kingdom forged by a Larteh wise man who is later ...

• SANDOOO 8 years ago

Oh Rocky the historian address issues than run down ethnic groups for historically ur people hv never given credit where it is due,u warp history and facts to perpetrate ur superiorty complex 4getn that b4 GOD we are one.

Take weapons of labour from a man and he will forever become your slave. It amazes me when children of 15 years can set up a company up in the U.S. and employ people to work for them, meaning that they are the Chief Executive ...

• Bariham 8 years ago

Bravo to the NGO for conducting a study that expose this outmoded practice in some fishing communities in Ghana. Parents, community members should come out with ways of tackling the issue head on. All children in Ghana need e ...

• VickY 8 years ago

This is a heart breaking issue, the Kids have nobody to fend for them, the perpetrators has to be jailed.
    This is where the State and its Branches needed to be Active, to take care of their own.

• Aria 8 years ago

Sick culture

• David Anoited 8 years ago

This is very pathetic,de human right n trafficking agencies should take hold of dis uncivilized conduct before it become too alarmingly