Media Foundation condemns attack on Danish journalists in Ghana

Read Comments Comments (87)

• KOO 8 years ago

This is a clear example of breakdown of law and disregard of agreements in mother Ghana.The Danes cannot just come without the consent of the authorities and quite obviously might have receive clearance to record.What was th ...

• Jordys 8 years ago

This is what happens when corrupt and stupid Ghanaians don't want their arses revealed internationally!

You know, Danmark has virtually nothing, yet is among the prosperous country in the world to where Ghanaians troop ev ...

• George 8 years ago

perpetrators and anyone that attacks the Danish journalists must be arrested and charge with aggravated assault

• Mensa 8 years ago

this criminals that assaulted the Danish must be charge with assault and battery with the intend to commit bodily harm and must be put in jail immediatly

• ODIKRO 8 years ago

Get the racist china men for illegal mining. What about the cattle keepers in the gov. Called fulani

• YOOSI 8 years ago

If the system is working work well, someone should have told the company about the visit and the authorization.

• Kofi Totobi Kwakye 8 years ago

"Kataso, muamuaso" If you were respecting the people in your deeds, if you were respecting human rights in this country, you would have nothing to hide. We are inching towards globalization, our only hope for real freedom.

• William 8 years ago

If you are cleared to film a community does that mean you do not need to also clear with the locals before filming their facility? If they did fine, then you have a case. If they didn't then the mining company is right. Pleas ...

• ME MAN NTI 8 years ago

Do you have laws in the country? If no, then the locals will have authority to do that but if yes, then the system is broken and Mahama must GO. He can't supervise a country who doesn't respect the laws in his era, John Maham ...

• PatriotsRock!y 8 years ago

Having the license to film foes mean you can enter any where or somebody's property and begin filming. You need to meet the right people, declare your mission and get clearance to operate. They were obviously trespassing how ...

• sAnjAY 8 years ago

me man nti * it seems u dnt even understand the story or u did not read the well bcos u seems not to know what u re writing

• fairplay 8 years ago

Even when your wife denies you love you will still blame Mahama. When you fool around and you are caught and dealt with according to the law you will still blame Mahama.

• Koki 8 years ago

Granted they ought to have obtained the company's clearance is it the right modus operandi? Quite frankly tactics of this nature are signs of a system where common sense is thrown out of the window and respect for the rule ...

• Galamsey Mahamah 8 years ago

Look, Mahama and Asiedu Nketias' NDC govt has turned the country into a lawless country moving us back to their PNDC era. Look at what the soldiers are doing to innocent children, what the BNI is doing to innocent ctizens, an ...

• Obuama 8 years ago

Is the MFWA saying that foreign journalists can enter Ghana,make and take out films,videos etc without any content restrictions whatsoever? I beg to differ.

• Stoway 8 years ago

Nonsense at the highest order, who said one can just come straight to my property and film because they have approval to film in the country? Those supporting this brainwashed group should sit up! Next time it will be their b ...

• Simon 8 years ago

If your not doing anything wrong you wouldn't care.

• Ice cool 8 years ago

Blame stupid mahama and his idiots administration NDC.

• Saar 8 years ago

President is creating a North Korea but is he in charge ?

• Bbb 8 years ago

Mahama is a silent dictator

• Samurai Japan. 8 years ago

It's unfortunate this happened but sometimes if one watches the kind of stuff some foreign media houses show to their people and the entire world about Africa, you'll be shocked. I think a little censorship is ok when such do ...

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 8 years ago

Nonsense, if you don't trust them, then why allow them in the first place. This is just like inviting Al Qaida prisoners into Ghana and then blaming it on Akuffo Addo. Why does Ghana suddenly become a dumb country anytime the ...

• Mr true of SA 8 years ago

U have forgotten what addo brought from SA recently they are dangerous than al-qaeda

• Kabah 8 years ago

If you arrest dangerous people, you just send them away?

Wo tri so

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

My friend, first of all, you have to establish whether what is reported here is accurate? Second, if they truly came into the country under the banner of the so-called Impact TV of Denmark? Third, did they make their intentio ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

My brother,in the first place the footage you see is a file photo,it is not related to what happened there,Ghanaweb does that all the time,it is just something to show similarity.
    I believe the story is true,our soldiers jus ...

“imagine even in our Flagstaff House they don't allow you to enter there with any electronic devices including even pen drive.”

Corney, where did you get that information of yours from? Where do you think the presiden ...

• CORNEY 8 years ago

If you can read your own last paragraph then you have answered your own question and ask yourself why one has to leave even a pen drive behind.

If you read my comments well,I didn't say journalists are not allowed to bring ...

Corney, It's you that brought up the Flagstaff House into the discourse whilst the topic under discoursing here is about journalism, both foreign and local. Others not allowed to bring along their gadgets at the presidency is ...

(Then so are a few in others) should read (Then so are a few others in here)

• CORNEY 8 years ago

The issue of the Flagstaff House is very clear,it is related because of the use of one's equipment,nobody is saying people should go to the presidency with whatever they want but things like pen drive should not be one of tha ...

God Almighty! Where are you going with this debate of yours? What grants you the certainty that I have not been in the Flagstaff House and won't know about the protocol? You perhaps might be more NDC than myself, but is that ...

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 8 years ago

Corney, I am surprised you asked where we belong in the world. Do ualso want to be sent to Nsawam prison before you that Ghanaians, including their wannabe leaders, belong the uncivilised world of developing people, previous ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

If the Okyenhene Nana Ofori Panin is inspecting roads,he should have accompanied them to the mine.

• kwami 8 years ago

SHAME ON YOU FOR ACTING LIKE 3RD WORLD COUNTRY

• KWAME-BELGIUM 8 years ago

Who are the people who did this? Were they informed about the presence of the people? Who invited the people to Ghana? What were the arrangements for the journalists? Were they working within the areas stated in their contrac ...

• DOWBIAH ROKO. 8 years ago

YOU ARE VERY STUPID HUMAN.WERE THEY FILMING MAHAMAH'S OFFICE OR HOME?.SUCH A FOOL LIKE YOU IS NOT REALLY LIVING IN WESTERN WORLD AS YOU ALWAYS CLAIMED YOU ARE IN BELGIUM.GHANA IS NOT A COMMUNIST COUNTRY WHERE MEDIA MEN MUST S ...

You exhibiting ignorance here yet you have the nerve to insult somebody. Wait till they enter your papa's house and begin filming without prior notice and see what you would do... The question you need to be asking is did th ...

• Ragmzo 8 years ago

TO ALL STOMACH JOURNALISTS:

FOR YOUR INFORMATION, GHANA IS AN INDEPENDENT AND SOVEREIGN STATE WITH OUR OWN LAWS. YOU ARSE LICKING WHITE MAN WORSHIPPING IDIOTS DON'T BELONG HERE.

• OSEI TUTU TAWIAH 8 years ago

Stop talking nonsense, if you are independent state with your own laws, then why follow the White man's laws. If you don't like White men then don't let them in. White people are greedy, they will always take 2 if you allow t ...

• lol 8 years ago

u are right they always report negative things about Africa

• Jerome 8 years ago

The country has been reduced to a jungle and lawlessness. We are signing treaties of climate change and we continue to destroy our environments, poison our water bodies in the name of gold mining which money we don't even kno ...

• Mohammed. Tamale 8 years ago

Media foundation or What do you call your self, you guys are not bin truthful to the Gud people of dis nation. Is it bcos they are white men? Can you go to Germany and seek authorisation to film how Germans are treating refug ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Mohammed, there's a lot of negative reporting of Africa in the West, but, you cannot chastise the foreign media if what they report is the truth eg child labour in GH; forced marriages of infants, environmental issues etc.

• JB Nwotwe 8 years ago

If the whites have the guts to report about the bad side of Africa in general and Ghana in particular, then the MUST report the good side as well, because the positives sied of Ghana is also the truth.

Other than that they ...

Believe it or not, but, I agree with you. It's just that I'm tired of Africans complaining about negative reportage, but, don't do anything about changing these negative issues.

• Rusty 8 years ago

They should ask permission before filming the minining company
    If they had permit doesnt mean its automatic to enter somebodys privacy they deserve the beatings
    Can a ghanian journalist go to denmark and enter a cheese fa ...

Rusty, you are the only sensible guy here. The rest are a bunch of idiots produce by our listless educational system. Sometimes I want to believe that the Ghanaian is a deliberate case of pretentious minds
    Yes , minds t ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 8 years ago

Ghanaian journalists cannot go to any foreign country and get permission to film in any sensitive areas in the country, in Denmark, they will be told to abide by the laws as dictated to them by the danes. Ghana, same thing, ...

• Kabah 8 years ago

I pity your pathetic soul. The miners are doing a great job, what can the journalists report on? They are only going to promote your rich natural resources to the whole world. Is that not what you want? Unless there are some ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

Amoatia Ofori Panin the chief should have accompanied them since he has become a busy body inspecting the roads.

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

Lawlessness by members of the security agents should be curbed ASAP and rooted out from our body politic for good! But who should bell the cat? The toothless IGP or the drowning uncaring President?? Please, Legal Council of G ...

• ktz 8 years ago

That is some other human rights abuse Mahama and his NDC are subjecting both Ghanaian and foreigners to

• inercycl 8 years ago

This is how far we have come. You need authorisation to do anything in Ghana now...a communist censored state.Merely taking pictures is a crime in this country. We are not doing the right thing, the reason we are afraid of so ...

• Jalil 8 years ago

Which ghanaian journalist can dare go to Denmark to cover a documentary about the Denmark just like that ? Why didn't they ask permission from the company affected? If granted permission it is not a lisence to just cover new ...

• New Sherrif in Town 8 years ago

National Security has become the Law. Ghana is being led by a clueless leader

• Nana Yaw 8 years ago

NDC is turning Ghana into a police state. However, NDC appointees who are stealing from Ghana are not arrested and jailed.

• David 8 years ago

Cccccccc

• africa 8 years ago

Stupid pple callin demselves security personnel..all u can do is to intimidate people..when terrorist attack da country we will all see how u ll run away like donkeys..fools

• George Nutsugah 8 years ago

The JDM virus of corruption, stealing, lying, incompetence, mismanagement, misappropriation of funds etc is spreading to many organizations in Ghana including the BNI, A-G dept, ministries of agriculture, finance, education, ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 8 years ago

If the concern of MFWA raised here is correct than Article 162(2)of the 1992 Rawlings/Tsatsu Tsikata constitution of Ghana remains one of the backward provisions of the said constitution. Who is in charge of Ghana, anyway -- ...

• ScHoly 8 years ago

Who will take these security personnel to court to get them punished for their actions?

• Adama d'Gharty 8 years ago

What a disgraceful attitude to adopt by harassing Danish Media reporters who were in this country to report on mining and the destruction caused to our environment. Mining in Ghana today needs all the external exposure requir ...

• Kweikuma 8 years ago

How long is Ghana's integrity going to suffer under lawlessness?The govt must put its foot down to redeem Ghana's image abroad.

• Abam Kofi 8 years ago

The whole Ghana Armed Forces is protecting the same people who are polluting the land and river bodies just because of nokofioo. Very soon, the next generation will curse us for our carelessness. Leadership has really failed ...

• Mawunyo 8 years ago

Why should we allow the European who only does negative report on African Countries to do what they always do which is to insult us in their media? I support the attack on them because they will not permit us to do same in th ...

• fairplay 8 years ago

I regret the sad treatment of the journalists. But I totally disagree with MFWA because you can't just go to some people's country and start filming without permission.

National security supercedes every constitutional pr ...

FairPlay, I beg you, on my knees, could you kindly show me the national security implication of filming a mining enterprise?

• Akua Danka 8 years ago

Hopefully they have the opportunity to report on some of the real experiences Ghanaian journalists live through despite trumpeting we have the most free press in the world. It seems that Ghanaian security agencies are now liv ...

• tt 8 years ago

attack them is a good move can any ghanaian come to danmark and do that know

• Concern 8 years ago

My brothers and sisters in Africa wake up, we've been asleep for far too long about white people, these people will buy all the expensive video camera's just to come to our continent to shoot a negative image about Africa to ...

• tt 8 years ago

we have laws in ghana likewise danmark laws in thay county ok der can just come to ghana and do that ok fools.

• Whatever 8 years ago

journalists from joyfm and other stations were beaten in the aftermath of 2012 electiosn by thugs, NPP thugs. The media foundation did not see or hear

• Whatever 8 years ago

Media foundation should have condemed attacks on joyfm journalist and other media house by NPP thugs filled with evil all die be die

• Kwame Obeng 8 years ago

What is the Mining Company in Saaman afraid of. If they are mining taking into consideration all the environmental issues as they will do in western countries , they should rather be happy about the good things they ar ...

• Agya Koo 8 years ago

MAHAMA'S FREE PRESS. FROM NOW ON, OBSERVE WHAT HAPPENS TILL THE SO-CALLED UPCOMING GENERAL ELECTION. IT STARTED WITH THE FORCED DEPORTATION OF THE THREE SOUTH AFRICAN EX-POLICEMEN WHOM EVEN AFTER A COURT ORDER OF RELEASE W ...

• MENSAH FRED 8 years ago

Call or whatsap 0249620218
    Hello Am Mensah Fred I deal with LOTTERY NUMBERS
    my numbers are deal game which comes from a TRUSTED SOURCE everyday.
    The maximum win we experienced a week is THREE and the minimum is TWO .inter ...

• Say the TRUTH 8 years ago

THERE THEY GO AGAIN NDC GOVERNMENT LEAVING BAD MARKS ON GHANA'S IMAGE ON INTERNATIONAL LEVEL......WHEN BEEN EXPOSED OF THE DEGRADATION OF OUR ECO-ENVIRONMENTAL SYSTEM!!!

THEN WE WILL GO BACK TOA THE VERY SAME PEOPLE TO ASK ...

• Say the TRUTH 8 years ago

WHAT IS THE THINKING OF GHANA...MAKING THIS RESTRICTIONS IN THIS MODERN AGE OF WIFI...WHEN INFORMATION IS INSTANTLY SENT TO THE WORLD THROUGH WIFI ACCESS.....WHAT IS NEEDED IS TO DO THE RIGHT THING OTHERWISE YOU WILL BE EXPOS ...

• zongo zongo 8 years ago

they Always tanish african lmage in europé. good as they attack this fucking danish spy.the

• Mr Bond 8 years ago

Frankly speaking,primitive ,semi educated, barbaric,violence president John Dramani Mahama is disgracing Ghana with his uncultured primitive lunatic behaviour.These behaviour is barbaric and can only be found in Ghana.Gold Ru ...

• joe mensah sampson seattle wa u s 8 years ago

l m distrub about this. if the media were granted permission to do their to their documentary, then what really happens that it get to this.i just dont get it people. they have visas dont they? then this,

• Rusty 8 years ago

Joe Mensah if i have visa to shoot documentary in seatle from the us government i belive you know i will not just get up and enter your home or enter cargill company without permission and the security men in your house or c ...

Where is the BNI cum GIS,take them to court, trample over the judges and deport them.

• Edensu 8 years ago

When photographs of the "NDC branded vehicles" surfaced on the web, a Ghanaian was arrested for allegedly taken photographs without authority. How can journalist go to a mining concession and start filming without the consen ...