Chiefs must be recognised before ministers at state events – Otumfuo

Read Comments Comments (104)

• Create,loot and share 7 years ago

The chiefs are the causes of galamsey and land disputes in this country.How can one plot be sold to two people.We need to get rid of these stomach chiefs.Look at the roads in Kumasi but Otumfuo has a house in South Africa tha ...

• Asempa 7 years ago

All chiefs in Ghana are useless. This Otumfuo is top on the list. He always talks rubbish. Chiefs are no better than our poticians but at least we get choose our politicians.

• DKC 7 years ago

That guy is the idiot Ashantis have ever had...thanks again

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

The chieftaincy institutions have outlivedd it's usefulness. They only thing they do best is causing tribal wars in Ghana. Examples are the Hohoe 'massacre 'where Togbuiga Gabusu and his Trokosi attacked and burnt Hohoe Zongo ...

• humbleman 7 years ago

u wil pray for hundred years nd u wil never get such a wisest King in ur family nd in ur region never

• Prince Awuah David 7 years ago

Please, just respect the chiefs and if you have any concerns, ask God for answers.

• Akwasi Nti 7 years ago

I dont know who you are and your status in life buh I dont think you come anywhere near the King in life. You guys have lost respect and whenever you open your mouth only shit we hear. Who are you to insult the king for shari ...

• Asempa 7 years ago

The king is a fool. Just imagine him losing centuries of cherished regalia in Europe. He's empty headed and shady. He never accomplished anything in his life, not even a college degree in spite of all the resources he had. He ...

• Repugnant. 7 years ago

May you live with your pre-servitude nonsense. Who needs a king in a democracy? Every land in Ghana belongs to the government. Your silly chiefs sold or lost it to the British, after independence all lands were propertied to ...

• Agyenim 7 years ago

If you hear some one insulating otumfuo the answer is "Akyem people" they hate otumfuo too much. All because they want to raise Okye hene above Asante hene and that is impossible.that is why they are trying any way for Akufo ...

• humbleman 7 years ago

mind ur words for ur useless comment.Otumfuo is not a chief he is a KING nd nomatter what u say about him,he stil remain the only WISEST nd POWERFUL KING we have in Ghana.

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Everything African is being dragged in the mud as evil for the homo-pedophile degenerated culture of the criminal European with the churches being its gate keepers.
    Our tradition is only our salvation.

• TUMTUOY 7 years ago

You are wrong,it is the responsibility of the central government to construct roads and not chiefs or for that matter the Otumfuo.

• Potag member 7 years ago

SHUT UP!!!! WHY NOW???

• Akwasi Nti 7 years ago

Whom does your "SHUT UP" goes to??? I dont think is my king. #getalife

• Jamil Wango 7 years ago

Mo Nana

• Selassie - UK 7 years ago

"Render therefore unto Caesar the things which are Caesar's; and unto God the things that are God's".

• mr prince 7 years ago

Noo Nana this is below the belt. What recognition at all do u chiefs need in those functions. Don't go there Nana.

• Atanga Abanga 7 years ago

I can't agree with the King more on this issue. Our traditional rulers are selected and enskinned/enstooled on the basis of their wisdom/their ability to foster unity among their subjects and, ipso facto, deserve recognition ...

• Edem 7 years ago

Traditional rulers are not selected base on wisdom but by merely belonging to the ruling clan. This deprives intelligent people in the area who are outside the royal family not to be part of the ruling class.

• ELINAM 7 years ago

There's a bloodline that needs to be respected. It predates all of us, and is copied by all other races who use them and then forced you respect them, from the Saudis to European monarchs. All these royals are not in the pict ...

• BB 7 years ago

The land belongs to the chiefs??? Really???

• Ole B Imerslund 7 years ago

THE LAND belongs to the PEOPLE. !!!

• DENNIS ADOMAKO AMANKWAH 7 years ago

Yes the lands belong to the Chiefs, that's why they have the power to sell them.

• Abu 7 years ago

The Otunfo must know respect is won by ones good attitude and not by right of birth or family linkage. And if he wants chiefs respected he needs advising the latter to live above reproche and unblemished lifestyles and compor ...

• Kofi Akosah ( London) 7 years ago

It is because in Ghana today, the MInister and the DCE Are more powerful than Chiefs. Power belongs to the people but once power is given away to the politician, then they are more powerful. Power has gone into their heads an ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

THE ALND BELONGS TO THE PEOLPE. CHIEFS ARE MERE CUSTODIANS. WHY DO CHIEFS MERIT RECOGNITION? THEY CALL THEMSELVES CHRISTIANS HAVING ABANDONED THEIR TRADITIONAL RELIGION. CHIEFS SIT THERE WHEN FOREIGN PRAYERS ARE SAID AT PUBLI ...

• bob 7 years ago

Chiefs have no place in the 21st century.We no longer leave in the stone age.

• Desmond 7 years ago

Since the chiefs stood too low and beg politicians for their stomach and not devepment for their people.

• MP 7 years ago

Na wei, nyansa ben na ewomu? What is the sense in this??

• Sekwa 7 years ago

Thsi land belongs to the chief syndrome is what is killing Ghana and most African countries development. Its one i expected the forebearers of our independence to solve and they rather exploited it. Ghana CAN NEVER get to it' ...

• Carol 7 years ago

We must respect our chiefs and give them their due but the chiefs must also earn our respect and do the right things for their communities instead of thinking of themselves only.

• Wofa Yaw 7 years ago

A people who do not value their heritage cannot be valued in future. The chief whom you disrespect is the embodiment of the village you call your hometown.

• Chief 7 years ago

After facilitating and taking bribes to influence important decisions leading to the suffering of the masses, they want to be respected and recognized.

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

i write to you otumfuo,the chief of asanteman.in making legislations,the assembly man is better placed that you.by govt arrangents chiefs have a place in controlling people of their area of jurisdiction but i tell you with ti ...

• hmmm 7 years ago

@Samuel Azumah you a ffoooooll.

• ogi 7 years ago

jealousy go kill u all.no Mata Wat u people wil say Ashantis come first in everything.God bless otumfo,God bless Asanteman

• Kekemeke 7 years ago

"Ministers of State " are far above these mostly rogues being called chiefs. CHIEF and THIEF have one thing in common "HIEF" ,explaining how easily one can become the other!!!

• atia 7 years ago

most of them are corrupt self-seeking idiots.

• Joe Ansa-Adu, Begoro 7 years ago

Just being born into a particular family does not make you more important than me. Chieftaincy is one one our major ills. You should be thankful that Nkrumah did not have the time to chase you from your hideouts. Achieved s ...

• T.O.K 7 years ago

Truly the chiefs are the custodial of land bt failed to control the illegal selling of land to foreigners and hv landguards to be killing the very people their rulling.How can they be recognized,Asantehene u nt God who create ...

• GH 7 years ago

Ministers of State represents the whole nation but the invited chief represents a segment of the nation. Otomfou could be recognized first before the Regional Minister in Ashanti if that is what he wanted. Even how significan ...

• ASAFO BOAKYE 7 years ago

GH,
    Well said. The issue of who is recognized first or last does not matter at such functions. Chiefs can command that recognition when they organized their own durbars.

• ASAFO BOAKYE 7 years ago

GH,
    Well said GH. The issue of who is recognized first or last does not matter at such functions. Chiefs can command that recognition when they organized their own durbars.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

When Prempeh the first went into Exile the land was still there.
    The land belongs to the people.If so Queen Elizabeth will say she owns Scotland and wales.
    Chiefs don't live forever.If there are no people on the land,who wi ...

• Efo Nyamdze 7 years ago

Chiefs must learn to be truthful and honest to themselves and their subjects.Chiefs must tell the truth when the government in Power and their appointees have failed the citizens.Chiefs must stop helping people to destroy our ...

• charles 7 years ago

Nonsense

• Deep Thought 7 years ago

Those speaking against the wisdom of the king have low thinking and reasoning mentality. Do you people feel proud belonging to a tribe or having a hometown? If the answer is yes , then you need to understand what the king is ...

• Yaw Yeboah 7 years ago

Personally, I believe the Asantehene is surrounded himself with poor quality advisers. Otumfour, a large number of your own people are facing severe economic hardships and your Region is experiencing serious social problems ( ...

• Last Don 7 years ago

Deep Thought is speaking sense,listen to him.Who told you ashantis have problem.Ashantis are the only tribe with less problems.You can ask your grandmother or your father if you have one!

• Yaw Yeboah 7 years ago

Unfortunately, all of my much loved Grand Parents are all dead. If you really think that Asante's are exempt from the rest of Ghana and not facing severe economic hardships you are a complete idiot.

• Junior dwarf President 7 years ago

ashanti women raped their zambrama slaves and produced the likes of you, that is if you have no stained teeth, long occiput, red eyes, short, very black/dark and bow-legged! Now this is an ashanti. It appears Nana Addo might ...

• LAST DON 7 years ago

Nonsense!

• Atta 7 years ago

we need to abolish this birth right madness. these chiefs(thieves)are our bane in Africa. then parliament must vet chiefs.

• KOJO BRENYA 7 years ago

I love you Nana ASANTE HENE OTE KOKOOSO NANA OSEITUTU A OTO SOO MIENU. The Primus Inter Pares, No Size.
    Who are the so call ministers and the political appointees before the ordinary Ghanaian ?If we don't vote for their so c ...

• paa sei 7 years ago

Give our chiefs the respect due them
    Mo ne kasa, Otumfuo.

• Kbk 7 years ago

If a chief wanna b more respectful, then the chief must help create jobviously for his people . Bot if u sit there for the minister to do this then de minister automatically will b addressed before u. What money does u asante ...

• Cut The Crap ! 7 years ago

Ghana is a REPUBLIC not a Kingdom !

• INDIAN SPRITUALIST IN GHANA 7 years ago

hi there is indian spritualist in the wold call for all spritual problem money charm locket
    and knws that this year is for the lord lucifer a lot will happen in 2016 just calculate
    666+666+666+6+6+6 give the answer is ...

• kejetia king kong 7 years ago

People are crying for jobs and you are crying for recognition. No recognition we go chop?

• Kofi (USA) 7 years ago

U accept bribe from them how will u be respected.

• kejetia king kong 7 years ago

God should come before the chiefs .Please google Lord Lugard and the land tenure system. The next after God is Assemblyman. Ladies and gentlemen and then the chiefs. Nkrumah missed this exit.

• JH New York 7 years ago

It's a sign of a Country which had lost its heritage.Those bogus laws by the wee smokers and akpteshie drunkards
    Military Juntas which Stripped the Chiefs of their authority and respect should be reversed, if possible.It doe ...

• Faith 7 years ago

Recognition like respect is won and sought for. Guess chiefs should examine themselves to see if they are playing their traditional role or have become politicians and going after goodies from political leaders and manipulate ...

• akuffo addo retirement party 7 years ago

Nana, chiefs are regional and most are communal, the ministers are national. Some people equate democracy with the backward form of chieftaincy.

• sulo 7 years ago

What respect is this man talking about - root of corruption. Is hard to imagine people who only have heads but not sense can grab all land because they brought them from their mother's womb. What do you think will happen if ...

• Rino 7 years ago

Asantehene this one di3 I dey your back 100%

• Kwame D 7 years ago

For what reasons. The land does not belong to the chiefs, it belongs to nature. Otumfuo be shame of this and your corrupt attitude. You always wants to be like Jesus but never want to live like him. There is no way that Ghana ...

• Mohammed Adnan King of da thing 7 years ago

Chiefs are thieves, selling land multiple times, dealing with galamsey and trying to use their stool to scam people. If they would be noble and would contribute properly to society then why not but as long as this is not happ ...

• KA NA WU 7 years ago

Chieftancy has no place in the constitutional era, look at the United States of America. Who said lands belong to chiefs? Ghana has a long way to go.

• Azumah 7 years ago

pls ooo Nana,for what?Give us a break. wait for cultural events.

• kpoliatenukpo 7 years ago

Chiefs,so what? Go to hell!! You people like positions too much. Are U not going to die? Apuuuu chiefs /kings my foot!!

• KWAKU 7 years ago

I think Nana is wrong on this one. This discussion is not even necessary. I want to respectively remind Nana that Ghana has more important issues to think about and he should put his self-importance away and let us think abou ...

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

Absolute nonsense and rubbish for Otumfuor to say that lands belong to chiefs.Who gave that custodianship to them?I blame politicians for allowing kings and chiefs to grow feathers and believe that they are more important tha ...

• Nana Thommy krobo Manaam 7 years ago

People must know the difference between chiefs and a president for that matter their duties before they dugde

• Akwasi Ampofo Agyei 7 years ago

Nana, well spoken those talking contrary to ur views don't have respect for African tradition and values, I pray u live longer for Asanteman and Ghana to protect our chiefs and our culture. Those talking nonsense learn ur his ...

• Jenny 7 years ago

Respect every human and environment

• Jenny 7 years ago

Chiefs themselves recognise ministers 1st before their fellow chiefs especially Akyem foolish chiefs and their leader.

• jam 7 years ago

POTAG MEMBER, YOU ARE BIG FOOL LIKE YOUR IDIOTIC PARENTS. GO AND ASK YOUR CHIEF TO SHUT UP. YOU HAVE YOUR SENSES SITUATED IN YOUR STOMACH HENCE YOU TALK FILTHILY FROM YOUR ANUS

• jam 7 years ago

PATRIOT, I HAVE NO DOUBT YOU HAVE YOUR BRAINS SITUATED AT THE WRONG SIDE OF YOUR HEAD. YOU HAD A FAULTY UP BRINGING FROM YOUR HOPELESS PARENTS. LOOK AT YOUR FACE IN THE MORROR AND YOU WILL SEE A STUPID FOOL

Shut up!! Shut up!!!
    Do you think you are a monarch over all of Ghanaians?
    You exercise your power over Asantes in Kumasi only.
    So give us a break you UNREPENTED FOOL.

• Baam 7 years ago

Nana you were dancing with prez. Mahama that " y3n ntie obiaaaa" you have already sold your prestige by dancing with a common president. Nana Osei Tutu, the Ashanti kingdom, that Europeans couldn't even stand. See where you h ...

• Akwasi 7 years ago

It's about time we disbanded chieftaincy institution. It's a useless institution. We should rather focus on local government institutions.

• Joe Ansa-Adu, Begoro 7 years ago

How on earth would you see the Asantehene dancing in a suit with a president in public dancing to a super high life song by Daddy Lumba_ "yen tie obiara (we shall not listen to anybody, whatever you say)? Some say that times ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

What is wrong with our leader? Does it matter who comes first. The average African leader is too much position conscious.

• Mike 7 years ago

Useless institution. I wish it dead

• Akoloogo fra fra 7 years ago

If u want respect behave like UK queen, not cheap politician

• Addo Kuffour 7 years ago

U will continue to be at the bottom because u were imposed on people No one elected u period

• Nana K 7 years ago

I remember you brought this issue during Kuffuor's time & you have now brought it back again. I believe you know it very well that this can never be because Chiefs are not elected but politicians are, to run the affairs of t ...

• paps 7 years ago

Nana the truth is chiefs have sold their conscience and therefore have lost it all with the citizens,advice your chiefs stay BLESSED.

• Amen Amen 7 years ago

It was their ancestors who occupied the land be4 ur so called politicians came , but look at how this politicians are milking the nation coffers n have no good ideas 4 the nation. Nananom needs recognisation more than this M ...

• Theo 7 years ago

Well spoken kiny Solomon.

• Akwasi Poku 7 years ago

Chiefs should sometimes come down to earth and allow themselves to be criticized .This will make them spiritually compatible with people and be loved by them.I love to get closer to a politician th

• Andy weeee 7 years ago

This things must stop now, how can one plot sold for two or more people be cos of money chiefS why this??????????? ????

• fiifi 7 years ago

Otumfo is the king of Ghana and people must obey him

• EKLU nazah 7 years ago

I support otumfoas call. Because, Hi who lost his root has lost his spiritual strength.

• Francis 7 years ago

Please why can you people get it,
    that there are only two tribes in Ghana and that's ASHANTIS and the others.

Anywhere in the world, there are particular who are powerful than the others, same as Ghana

Pls just accept ...

• Nana Osei Kofi 7 years ago

This Otumfou is becoming an asshole by the day. You take money from your poor neighborhood to invest in multimillion dollar and pound homes in England, SA and USA then open your mouth and talk rubbish. Kwasea man, what role d ...

• Nani 7 years ago

The chefs should stop selling one parcel of land to 5 people and giving lands out for galamsey and cutting down and decipating our forests and they shall take their place in society. for now they are nothing but bunch of crim ...

• Shamo 7 years ago

SEE WHO IS TALKING ABOUT THIS, THE ASHANTI CHIEF IS CRYING TO BE KNOWN HAHAHAHAH, STOP CRYING CHIEF, IF HE CARES ABOUT HIS OWN PEOPLE THEN THEY WILL SAY SOMETHING ABOUT IT HIM.THE LAKE BOSUMTWI IS CALLING HIM FOR HELP

• Kojo 7 years ago

I salute u Nana. Chiefs should be recognised before politicians.

• TRUE PATRIOT 7 years ago

All des man noes is asking and fighting for recognition and respect. I humbly want to tell his Majesty dat respect is merited. Maybe u ve forgotten de history Sir but u noe for sure dat all de historic Asante heroes did not g ...

• Junior dwarf President 7 years ago

The state is not based on land ownership, otherwise we will elect leaders from the list of landlords. Check the status of chiefs in the constitution. Nana I am your friend but this one, I hope you were mis quoted!

• Obiba K'Badu 7 years ago

If this article is true, then one has to wonder what planet this chief thinks he's living on! He doesn't appear to know the difference between being the custodian of the land and being the owner of the land, for a start. One ...