Rawlings must return Abacha’s $2m gift – Nigerian journalist

Read Comments Comments (108)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33 ) 7 years ago

Author:-OFOSUAA..... JJ Rawlings knows too well that he has unleashed a group of monsters and nation wreckers on Ghanaians bcos this current ndc is never what he dreamt of at all at all…..this ndc fears to use the very word ...

• vigour 7 years ago

Rawlings is a disgrace really and the way he allowed the wife to use the 31st December to amass wealth for themselves

• Ali 7 years ago

The man who often mounts the pulpit with his holier than thou attitude has finally shot himself in the foot by his revelation. He has no moral justification to talk about corruption or point a dirty finger atanyone.

• insight to the bone 7 years ago

So now kwasia ayigbe JJ is now fake fighting aboaba pepeni all in a fake propaganda gimmick like the nonsense we see in Turkey today > Fake activities only meant to brainwash their sympathizers and followers

• Equity 7 years ago

Is unthinkable that Rawling would stoop so low. He has lost all credibility. In fact Rawling a devil who killed people for minor offences and committed this heinous crime.

Author:- PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33 ).....
    WE NEED NANA'S WISDOM. HIS LEADERSHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND LIBERATE US FROM OUR ECONOMIC OPPRESSOR ...

• AMUZU 7 years ago

In June 1979,eight top military officers,including three former heads of State,were line up and executed at the Teshie Military Firing range in two batches.Gen,I.K.Acheampong,Gen.F.W,K.Akuo,Gen.Robert Ktei,Lt-Gen.Akwasi A.Afr ...

• locomotive engine 7 years ago

1. WERE DID RAWLINGS GOT THE MONEY TO FOUND NDC? CORRUPTION.
    2.JJ RAWLINGS CAME UP WITH PROBITY AND ACCOUNTABILIY MEANWHILE HE IS PRACTICING THE OPPOSITE.
    3.JJ RAWLINGS KNOW VERY WELL ZANETOR IS NOT A REGISTERED VOTER I ...

• Kwabena, Toronto 7 years ago

Regardless of the amount Abacha gave Rawlings, it's was ill-gotten, period. The self-proclaimed anti-corruption campaigner and former Ghanaian dictator has seriously undermined his own integrity for accepting such "gift" from ...

• Nana Kuffuor, Abeka 7 years ago

Nigerians, collect your money from the corrupt,attention seeking mad man. Rawlings does not behave like a statesman.

• DEPORT MUGABE TO BURKINA FASO. 7 years ago

THEN HE HAS TO SELL THE NDC PARTY HE FOUNDED.MAHAMAH IS WORSE THAN RAWLINGS AND UNCLE ATTAH.HMMM,THIS ALAKPATOR.

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

Yes Nigeria should sue this Rawlings guy for their money. This man don't even have sympathy for his dead vice president. Punk !

• COMMON SENSE 7 years ago

JJ AND THE WIFE TALK TOO MUCH,THEY SHOULD LEARN FROM THE PAST GOVERNMENTS,

• Johnny,Madina 7 years ago

Its their evil deeds which is haunting them,they did not only steal from Ghana but outside.The NDC which is in power disturbing us was also founded with Ghanaians money.Hopefully they will go into opposition after 2016 & coll ...

• Son of Africa 7 years ago

You are wrong,Rawlings drove to Obuasi after the treason he committed and stole a whole lot of Gold.The very thin Rawlings at the time,was a very desperate and poor soldier who Chose the coup-de-tat to better his Situation in ...

• ACCOUNTABILITY 7 years ago

You can see clearly that JJ Rawlings is telling lies. Mr. Rawlings, you did not ask for that money, right? So, Abacha was a Father Christmas who was giving out Nigerian hard currecies to corrupt African leaders like you.

M ...

• GREEDY BASTARDS 7 years ago

JJ Rawlings, the Founder, received "a small suitcase of money" from Abacha. He "had an idea of what it could be", but he went ahead and received it all the same. The givers say the amount is US$5million, JJ says it was US$2 m ...

• mr s 7 years ago

What links your comment to the issue stated above, Mr Adade? Your English is quite okay but you are an idiot.

• Benny 7 years ago

Nigeria must also give back the 10 million pounds given to them by Kwame Nkrumah. They needed money for their independence and kwame Nkrumah gave them the said money. They have to give it back and it is not going to be 10 mil ...

• Stone 7 years ago

Nigeria can't force Rawlings to refund the money. Countries help one another. Ghana help other countries in many ways and the same applies to them. Nigeria also help other countries. You could see Rawlings said "we needed som ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

If Nigeria Abacha gave the money to Ghana, then it cannot force Rawlings to give it back because some countries give money to other all the time but that is not the case here. This money was given to Rawlings as a personal gi ...

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

@stone: What donor money from another country gets delivered in a suitcase hidden at the boot of car?
    I am sure that moneys given to Guinea, Mali and Nigeria etc. by Nkrumah were properly transferred and also common knowledg ...

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

Sorry for the typo.

• JM 7 years ago

Benny, if even it's true, the amount you're talking about according to your own treaties was given to Nigeria in the spirit of Pan Africanism however, the $2m was given to him personally and not to Ghana.

President Mahama of Ghana should quickly pay $180 million gas debt owed Nigeria,and stop levy blaim Nigeria ongoing blackout Ghana experiencing now. The era of Nigeria lavish gift to other African country with out any resp ...

• JM 7 years ago

Benny, if even it's true, the amount you're talking about according to your own treaties was given to Nigeria in the spirit of Pan Africanism however, the $2m was given to him personally and not to Ghana.

• Michael UK 7 years ago

My concern is what was the money used for? If it was actually used to prepare our country for transition from military rule to a democratic country as claimed by JJ then that's good. But JJ need to show Ghanaians how it was u ...

• Kwetteh 7 years ago

That was openly money given to the Federal Govt. Of Nigeria, officially. This was money in a suitcase, like a mafia transaction. He executed officers for taking loans from banks that they were making payments on. What should ...

• Sid 7 years ago

It wasn't paid under the carpet.it's known n written but this was not declared to any one or the nation

• Neutral Zone 7 years ago

True Benny. Very true.

• Sarah 7 years ago

Not sure he can pay it back, please stop wasting your time.

• Nii 7 years ago

Well if can't pay it back all his assets should seized and sold to recoup the money. But failing that he should be locked up in jail. That is what I call JUSTICE my friend.

• predator 7 years ago

seeing that Gen Buhari will come after the loot, Rawlings is trying to reduce the amount to refund should it be required of him to do so he can still pocket 3 million dollars.

• LAST DON 7 years ago

He is confused....When Akuffo Addo is telling him Ezeanator must not win you are endorsing Akuffu Addo.

Your Witch wife is bitter and malfunctioning with her malapropos party...

How can you campaign for your daughter a ...

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

God don't have mercy on people who are so perfect in their own mind. God hate arrogance and self righteous people. This Rawlings don't deserve any mercy, chasing his vice who served him well and honorably only to be paid with ...

• Kwaku Duah 7 years ago

I over heard Mr Rawlings asking the developed world some few days back to help Nigeria to retrieve all the perceived Abacha stollen money. Now that he has confirmed of been in pocession some 2m dollars, what is he waiting fo ...

• CK 7 years ago

How bout money laundering?...Tht money was in suitcase(s)...talk bout integrity...talk bout other heads of states who had to be killed for similar transactions....there's no devil oooo...we all are the devils...yet we think s ...

• CK 7 years ago

How bout money laundering?...Tht money was in suitcase(s)...talk bout integrity...talk bout other heads of states who had to be killed for similar transactions....there's no devil oooo...we all are the devils...yet we think s ...

• Bataba 7 years ago

Rawlings will disgrace himself more than this. Allah is One and Great.

• KOO 7 years ago

People were shot for less under Jerry,s administration.The man mounted platforms to preach probity and accountability.While pointing the finger to others, he was himself embarking on corrupt activities,one of them is his own ...

• KK. 7 years ago

Everybody is beginning to find their smoothness levels now. $2m at the time must hv bn huge sum.U hv the gumption to call others corrupt. Hmmmm

• Ex Wo1 Salifu....Techie Accra 7 years ago

I SAW THIS WHOLE THING WITH MY EYES.WE HAVE A GREAT MAN OF INTERGRITY.AS A GUIDE AT THE CASTLE THOSE DAYS.MOST AFRICAN PRESIDENTS SENT THEIR PEOPLE TO CONE VISIT.THIS CAR WITH SUITE CASE SAT THERE FOR CLOSE TO A WEEK.THIS MAN ...

• CPU 7 years ago

You can't even get one good leader in Africa. The continent is full of criminals that is why the people are suffering day by day

• Nii 7 years ago

It does not mean we should keep quiet on this one else they will continue stealing our resources. Seize Mr Rawlings assets and throw him in jail. That will be a lesson for all and that is what I call JUSTICE my friend.

• JB 7 years ago

Rawlings is a joke and an A**hole, he should be in jail.

• Kwaku Duah 7 years ago

Rawlings knew in unlikely event if Akuffo Addo comes to power, he might connive with Buhari to retrieved the stollen money from him, and even sent him to jail, that is why he is always trying to find some favor from them, by ...

• Lloyd 7 years ago

His saint wife also enjoyed the loot she should refund her share. It is the money she is using for her NDP campaign. Shameful and disgraceful couple.

• H.E JOHN YAHAYA SAEED 7 years ago

It feels so sad to hear the outside would speak ill of our leaders. I don't just blame any foreign personnel for insulting our leaders, but our own selves (Ghanaians) for teaching the outside world how to disrespect then. If ...

• Lloyd 7 years ago

THAT OSU CASTLE WAS A WORLD BANK IN ITSELF.YOU REMEMBER NPP CHAIRMAN ACCUSING HIS PRESIDENT FOR MONOPOLIZING THE MONIES MEANT FOR THEIR PARTY? HE CLAIMED THE MONIES WERE GIFTS FROM CONTRACTORS.

• Ojuku 7 years ago

Unlike Rawlings who accepted $2m (or $5m) bribe money to do PR for disgraced Abacha, the late Prof Mills would not even accept something as little as a Christmas hamper. Yet Rawlings has the audacity to declare him (Mills) co ...

• KOFI ASANTE 7 years ago

WHAT ARE THE LAWS ON BRIBERY AND HOW MANY "GIFTS" DID THIS GUY TAKE
    SOMEWHERE ELSE, THIS RAWLINGS WILL BE IN JAIL--HE HAS ALREADY ADMITTED TAKING THIS MONEY

• k.k 7 years ago

to whom

• k.k 7 years ago

is a gift

• Yaw Osei 7 years ago

This was not a slip of tounge. Rawlings knew the Nigerians have started investigations into Abacha's stolen money so Rawlings has to confess before they get to him. Very clever "holier than thou" man. He must vomit the money ...

• Dollar 7 years ago

The loot was a gift, so why must it be returned ? Rather, if it was a personal gift, then the GRA needs to collect its share in taxes !

• Nyebro 7 years ago

So far, nobody has been able to establish the real rationale behind that gift. Was it used by Rawlings himself or given to the state? If Rawlings handed it to state officials, then its used can be traced so why attack Rawling ...

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Of course your name (Nyebbro) says it all.

• TRAGEDY JUNE 7 years ago

This is day day the emperor was shown his true colors. It is a dark day. Rawlings taking bribe? He assassinated people for lesser sins. He should bow his head in Shame.

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Leave the man alone.

• Johnny,Madina 7 years ago

Hahahaaaa JJ collected a gift from an Anago man whilst JDM also gets his share from a Mossi.

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

JJ was angry with folks who had two toilet in their homes, killed for much less then turns around and accepts millions from others.Don't you see the moral decadence here? His net worth is more than any of the people he killed ...

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

Ooops! mind working faster than fingers.

• Stephen Accra 7 years ago

Mr Rawlings kills people because of just GHC 5 cedis ? and now look at the money that you have received from Abaacha U ur self tell else what we should also do to you. Mr Rawlings

• Kofi Lawyer 7 years ago

This is absolute Nonsense. When Ghanaians were asked to leave Nigeria in the 80s majority of Ghanaians lost assets i.e. money and properties and other things, let alone those who died or killed on the way. It was no way compa ...

• Fufula, Kumasi 7 years ago

Shut up you idiot!! Do you know how much Nigerians (who were even born in Ghana and had lived all their lives here) lost after being sacked one hot afternoon to Nigerian by the forefathers of the NPP in 1969? Let sleeping dog ...

• Minua 7 years ago

Well, the cat is finally out of the big Anlo straw bag. JJ has been proven to be the most canningly corrupt personality even witnessed in Ghana's corruption history, despite his witting prowess to hide this fact from the eyes ...

• tex 7 years ago

Dont worry guys buhari has promised to collect it. believe me u he is serious.

• klo 7 years ago

if is true that jj Rawlings took bribe 2m fron Abacha, then kill him too as he did to others like generall Acheampon??

• VOICE OF REASON 7 years ago

"We no go sit down make them cheat us everyday" was a refrain that characterised the worthless coup in the 1980's.....now we know nobody was cheating anyone.Enviness and jealousy and the quest to amass wealth was the motive f ...

• Sinclear 7 years ago

railing's must be arrested in Nigeria and return the bribe money he took

• JAY 7 years ago

The biggest hypocrite in Ghana today,the only man that has blood money in Ghana and now Nigeria on his hands,a living DISGRACE.

• simson 7 years ago

Blood money! No wonder Ghana is still suffering. Rawlings must return the money now.

• satanic church 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    00233244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

THAT LOUD-MOUTHED AYIGBE TYRANT MUST BE STRETCHED TO ACCORDION LEVEL. HE HAS CHOSEN TO DECEIVE GHANAIANS AND THE WORLD FOR FAR TOO LONG CREATING HIMSELF AS A SAINT, THE MOST HONEST MAN ON EARTH. NOW THAT HE HAS CROSSED THE RE ...

• AMARIYA 7 years ago

Up untill now he , Rawlings has not accounted for
    Millions of money paid into special account
    Set by the AFRC. Was the accounts given to the PNP?

RETURN THE $2M TO WHO AND FOR WHAT? NEAR-VISIONED STATEMENTS FROM SOME AGGRIEVED INDIVIDUALS WITH AN AXE TO GRIND!

• Yaw Oppong Kyekyeku 7 years ago

Mr Rawlings please do the honorable thing by returning the money you took back to the people of Nigeria. Your days of mantras are over. You have no integrity.

• Oboobay 7 years ago

These two Indian women might have special PUSSYS ,Abacha felt like he was in heaven whiles on top of one of them , So God told Abacha may your dream come through ,,stay here

• Nana Kwame 7 years ago

Hardly did we know that he is the biggest Ayi, apart from being a murderer. He will completely be exposed before he dies.

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

Fast. Return the money you bribe taker

• RAWLINGS THE BRIBE TAKER 7 years ago

RAWLINGS THE BRIBE TAKER

• Uncle 7 years ago

Executed former leaders for their sins and did the opposite about what he preached behind closed doors

• Benny 7 years ago

As they said No position is permanent. Wodi pe ebeka wanum. Right, they came to chop and that was it. When tomorrow comes then you will pay

• Francis 7 years ago

I think its not appropriate to ask Jerry Rawlings to return the cash. If anything at all, we rather demand an apology from the state of Nigeria. With this disclosure its now established that the mayhem visited on Ghanaians by ...

• Pangrove 7 years ago

Rawlings already spent the cash in educating his children and the rest on building a house. Also, the wife used some of the dough to form a political party with the intention of doubling the money when she comes to power.

• Big Bro. 7 years ago

What is the evidence that Abacha took the money from the state coffers? U can't ask him to pay to the Nigerian government bcos he did not give it out in the name of Nigeria. It is a free gift to JJ but this type of gift is di ...

• Zakari Ibrahim 7 years ago

Mr.Rawlings I told you God is watching you so u see.Nigerians are asking you to return the money you received from Abacha so what are you going to do? When you bonce a ball on a wall it bonce back to you.This is just the begi ...

• Luze 7 years ago

Rawlings and the wife Nana Konadu would continue to receive more disgrace if they don't shut their mouth over politics. In fact is a big shame to Railings now.

• Abongo7w 7 years ago

Abacha gave jj the money. It is a gift idiot hahaha an idiot lawyer. That is why most of you dont even have law certificates but operate as lawyers hahaha Akufo Addo group of companies

• M Shanunu 7 years ago

A very welcome news for Mahama,now tell me who is corrupt,,,oyiwaa,

• ANK 7 years ago

Yes he must.

• Kofi Acheampong, USA. 7 years ago

Stupid man. Rawlings will not pay anything, it was a gift not a loan, idiot !

• Akple and Abolo 7 years ago

Rawlings a criminal the most corrupt human on this earth

• jam 7 years ago

Abongo 7w, you are simply a FOOL. Tell your fellow fool, John Ford Mahama to return the ford before you turn on Rawlings. NONSENSE !!!!!!!

• Y. Doku 7 years ago

This is a national and international humiliation that the greedy, selfish and exceptionally corrupt Rawlings has plunged our nation into. But the most unfortunate of all these is tacit support NPP is offering this criminal Ra ...

• Arusha 7 years ago

Haunted by Okatachie Akwasi Afrifa's ghost .Send this man to the firing squad now.

• Kojo Mensah 7 years ago

The Evil that man,do rawlings

• kwabena Edusei 7 years ago

Why should he returned something he decided to accept? It was not a bribe and a gift is free from any obligation. To return or otherwise has to be the sole perogative of the President.

• Abu 7 years ago

Both patriots in Ghana and Nigeria must mount pressure on holier than thou Rawlings to return the money back to Nigeria and its people where it rightly belongs

• DHURUWAH 7 years ago

If it is true that Rawlings got a $2M gift from Abacha, Nigerians should have asked for it a month or two after it was given to Rawlings, right now, the money is gone, spent, and like spilt milk, it is not recoverable.

• The Truth 7 years ago

I agree

• The Truth 7 years ago

really people how long do money last in GH he spent that sh..get over it.

• no mars 7 years ago

A gift is a gift

• Frank 7 years ago

What has madam Konadu Rawlings got to say about this? A well deserved gift? No wonder there's a saying that "When man makes a mistake, it is called SIN but when God makes a mistake, it is called NATURE"

• VOX POPULI 7 years ago

RAWLINGS IS THE ORIGINAL GREEDY BASTARD AND SUPREME HYPOCRITE. HE WILL NEVER RETURN ABACHA'S BLOOD MONEY.

However, he has now been internationally exposed again after the Norwegian courts revealed his Scancem bribes and t ...

• Eric Asamoah USA 7 years ago

What did he use it for can he account for that?

• Boss(Amansie Ba) 7 years ago

You killed innocent people because of your greediness. God will punish you and your descendants.

• Ndc supporter 7 years ago

Not Ghana but Rawlings must give the money back. He took the money and always claiming others are stealing meanwhile he and his wife are the biggest thievies