Tales of a mortuary attendant: My life is marred by stigma

Read Comments Comments (96)

Very dedicated man,

• Mahmoud 7 years ago

It's not the work of mortuary attendant that people disrespect; it is the amount paid for the work. They need to be paid better.

• Ofylia Tyra Mana Anderson 7 years ago

Yes ooooooo

• Dacosta 7 years ago

Meagre salary with 3wives n 7 children n still counting. Hmmmm

• 21st century 7 years ago

I was about to believe his story is until I saw this "One day someone died and I had to pick him from the hospital and prepare him for the morgue. This individual died out of a spiritual battle so when I carried him from the ...

• Toff 7 years ago

You haven't seen something yet in the world, pal! Maybe one day, you will believe spiritual things do exist after you have had a personal experience. If you were not with him, don't doubt his story!

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

HE CHEW DRUGS TO DO HIS WORK......“One day someone died and I had to pick him from the hospital and prepare him for the morgue. This individual died out of a spiritual battle so when I carried him from the hospital and got ...

• Bernard 7 years ago

Yesooo,hm it's true

• Anass ehsan 7 years ago

Then if u dont believe u can go and sleep there 3 days and wat will happened to u

MAHAMA, INCREASE THEIR SALARIES. THEY DESERVE A PENSION ALSO...AND A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT.

FOR BETTER PAY, PENSION N RAISES, HEALTH BENEFITS...

• MANNERS 7 years ago

That was the spirit of DUMSOR at the morgue.

Hmmmm. So is it really true ghost exist

• obenalo 7 years ago

IF HE IS NOT SPIRITUALLY INCLINED, HE DID HE KNOW THAT THE PERSON DIED BY SPIRITUAL BATTLE?

• Dagban' Doo 7 years ago

Mortuary men or women deserve better remuneration. My man, may God bless you. I will urge you to uphold high moral standard in the coursr of your work. Continue to respect the dead and be secretive about what you notice about ...

• Paa Kay 7 years ago

RESPECT

• Rocky3! 7 years ago

Call 'the undertaker' and let those with understanding understand

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Our politicians are grossly overpaid, they steal and yet and at the end receive ESB. Match that against this very dedicated worker who earns nothing, yet works so hard!

• Issah 7 years ago

What is the essence of this story. Is this not the lot of most Ghanaian workers? But in spite of his so called miserable state he can afford to marry three wives and take care of seven children. Is this something he should sh ...

• Nana Yaw 7 years ago

Ur salary is not enuf bt u v married 3 wives why u dey cra or what huh

• Eshun J. 7 years ago

Your colleagues are making alot of money. Why you?

Its depends which side of the country you are. Cos those working at Accra as undertaker are earning huge some of money. U can rellocate for greener pastures

• boka 7 years ago

Thanks for the work you are doing to us all. Just know that your work is very important but unfortunately the people that will thank you cannot talk or let me put it this way, they are thanking you but you just cant know how ...

• Apuskele 7 years ago

Chieftaincy is not contested for. Its hereditary. It comes to you. Nobody contests for chieftaincy in any society except in northern Ghana. Why is this man contesting for chieftaincy?

• THE REAL C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

I am disappointed by your comments which just portray as an ignorant bigot.

Even in Akan areas where queen mothers presumably have the sole prerogative of nominating heirs to stools, several qualified (and even unqualifie ...

• NorbertAsante 7 years ago

In many cases through out Ghana, there is always more than one person qualified for chieftancy. The fact that you don't know that shows you're a moron!

• SOLDIER 7 years ago

You are an ignorant bushman. Widen you horizon bushman!

• propaganda 7 years ago

Shut up, do u know his culture than him? When they chief's children are many they must go through laid down tradition before the one ordain become the successor.

• comrade ozman 7 years ago

and indeed,he is frm northern ghana.u said yaself so,whats the question for?just stay put if u hav nothing to write.

• VINCEY,NJ 7 years ago

I find the part where he said he ordered the dead person, to put on the light quite amusing. This man and all the others that takes care of dead bodies should be paid well. Imagine the epidemic if hospital dont get people to ...

• No to superstition 7 years ago

This story is worrying especially when the gentleman talks of struggling with the dead. There have been instances when people who are in coma and mistaken for dead have been taken to the mortuary.When such people come aroun ...

• jOeY l0nD0n 7 years ago

I am a front line officer and I know what he is talking about. You Mr too know will be shivering hands down when you are to spend a one lonely night within a cooperative funeral home .You will be running amok. Respect the ...

• truth 7 years ago

Until we change as human beings not Otabil, Duncan William etc can change the mind of God towards GHANA. These two figures are mere mortals. Same blood following through them.

• Not so Funny 7 years ago

Morgue worker admits to having sex with up to 100 dead women
    Kenneth Douglas told court he ‘would just get on top of them and pull my pants down’

Loulla-Mae Eleftheriou-Smith Monday 18 August 2014.

A man has admi ...

• JET 7 years ago

It's absolutely stupid to stigmatised against the man who will take care of when you are dead and no want to help. As for the nurse who did that embarrassing thing God will take of her at the appropriate time. Mr Azaah take h ...

• ATO KWAMENA, USA 7 years ago

sir, I want to assure you that what we can't see does not mean it is not there. Our GOD had given you a powerful spiritual gift and I assure you that if the living disregard you have ye assured the spirit world will always r ...

• One step at a time . 7 years ago

God bless you Sir and keep up with the good job. May be time will tell.

• KING BIA 7 years ago

Very sad

• DRAWINS 7 years ago

God should be your strength in all things.Remember dat some of us love you.God bless u

• joe,london 7 years ago

Africa!!!.How can a person doing such an important job be despised and poorly paid?In the UK they are referred to as mortuary technicians,well trained and well paid and respected too.Why should a deadbody,a cadavre,a lifeless ...

• Jt 7 years ago

Infact,i respect this man,i personally dont have the courage to do what he is doing,yet he earns peanut,if this man is in western world,he cant count his money,may God continuon to give you strength to do this job

• Kombonyun Sampson k 7 years ago

your salary should have reached ghc 1000 but because of John mahama aimless mam with no vision

• propaganda 7 years ago

Stop ur stupidity and dirty politics here. Some of u can't read and understand the whole story but quick to pass foolish comments. When was the man employed?under which government? Is there a certain range of amount which mo ...

• Rauf 7 years ago

I knew somewhere along the line, a moron will post shit on what everyone is humbly showing respect on

• Boss 7 years ago

You deserve an award from Ghana government.

• Nii Addo 7 years ago

Shame unto most people in Ghana today.
    The politicians go round telling people there are no Kobe in Ghana. Here in the UK Ghanaian graduates come here and before they get their papers to settle do all sorts of job for surviv ...

• Abrantepa 7 years ago

You will be shocked to know how much these hospitals charge to preserve corpse in their morgue. Yet they pay some peanuts to the mortuary attendants. This is too bad. Our hospitals need to take these workers serious. It's ver ...

• Eric 7 years ago

Abrantepa u a rit.

• Dan 7 years ago

Great work your reward is with the creater Jehovah

• Nana b 7 years ago

Eii Ghanaweb, fateful or faithful day?

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Nana, unfortunately, your questions has rather exposed your ignorance, or must I call it illiteracy?
    The writer did use the correct term ok.

• nana b 7 years ago

Master Obed, am not saying faithful as a word is wrong but the way it was used, the right word for the sentence should have been fateful day instead of faithful day. Pls don't prejudice and call me ignorance and illiterate.

My dear both words sound de same

• Nii 7 years ago

Well done!

• Marverick 7 years ago

rare to find these days....a dedicated and proud Ghanaian. I'm really touched, God bless u man

• Umaru Ilyass Djagana Morrison 7 years ago

How can I donate to this dedicated man? Beeing in Bolga, I want to donate a brand new motor bike for him. Ghanawed let's get in touch.

• Gande 7 years ago

He is really good man he has taken Care of My dad in the morgue before. he is very kind and helpful may God bless him.

• Shake Zulu 7 years ago

By the labor of your hands, you shall eat, good job

• sergio 7 years ago

i met this guy somewhere in 2008 he is a very dedicated guy.
    i know he is highly respected by the police officers in Bolga because of the encounter i had with him and the police.

keep the good work.

• Posca 7 years ago

That bitch Oye who thinks she is a human rights lawyer should read mr Azaas story

• Maulaya Abdallah from Tamale(d Wise n 7 years ago

This goes to those demeaning mortuary men and Burriers in the cemetery, that they should remember that,they are not above the mortuary as they no one knows the next second. So please demeanors take time n take cover too.

• Wk 7 years ago

Some nurses are very stupid

• kwame kusi 7 years ago

Most of them. Infact about 98% of nurses in Ghana are stupid!

• Diasporan 7 years ago

This is a primitive story narrated by a primitive mortuary attendant to a primitive writer who carries it to a primitive audience in a primitive country on a primitive continent.

• nii, u.s.a 7 years ago

Can somebody tell me with the hospital number I would love to bless this man....it's about time we starts giving respect to people like him.....my email felarks.com. a ghanaian in the u.s

Baba Alhassan, with you and the entire persons in Ghana n the entire globe who does these work,if not Almighty Allah,we can't afford any penny for that.Blessings abundantly for you all.but I cries n say lnnaaa lillaaahi wa in ...

All work is important. great one there

• Cobby 7 years ago

What at all is wrong with us as a people,we know very well that this kind of job is not attractive n is not sought after,ironically it is soo important a job that if not performed can create a whole lot of health problems fo ...

• inusah 7 years ago

The nurse never intended disgraced him but just as guys guys

• Today, UK 7 years ago

If only Ghanaweb and other media houses will dedicate half their time and efforts on stories and injustices such as this in our society..Ghana will be a better place for all.

• Abrahim Alahson 7 years ago

everybody has his grave yard to fill,if one has taking the lead that doesn't mean you will not go,is a home of all man kind,.thank you for preparing our for Jenny,

• National Agenda 7 years ago

We will ALL be one day handled by a mortuary man...why can't you respect them? We need to pay them better as already suggested by others. We need to give them the needed protective work tools and clothing. FULL RESPECT!!!

• Yaw Asante 7 years ago

I call you my brother b'cos of the respect you have for the dead. May the almighty bless you! Don't let what people say bother you, your reward is in heaven. May the Heavenly Father bless you for the rest of your life, may yo ...

• Dau 7 years ago

Alhassan

• SLIMMART 7 years ago

Look at the salary of this chief Mortuary technician - GHC 500/month. Meanwhile Black Stars footballers are paid $10000 each per match to kick around a globular leather for 90 minutes. Wherein lies the social and economic jus ...

• Coco 7 years ago

These are the people who deserves a car and a place to stay

• TM 7 years ago

Sad story. He and similar others deserve far more better

• ex-cpl Atia naagode 7 years ago

Oh poor but determined statesman. How do you go about with 500cedis monthly salary with 3 wives and seven children. Please control your sexual approaches in other not to install miserable life for your children. Vote for Npp ...

• Tenneson 7 years ago

Brother keep doing the good work for mother Ghana. We love and appreciate your contribution.

• Igp 7 years ago

Well Mr. Alhassan, take courage. Let me assure you that there is dignity in labour and hard work. You are one of many unsung heros in Ghana. You have not looted the coffers of Ghana nor are you taking bribes, i presume like s ...

• David Abugre 7 years ago

In fact the government should put all of them on full salary of (GHC2,000.00 and the Head GHC5,000.00) and sponsor their children education.

• naakai 7 years ago

i wonder if our comments are being put into consideration but the man needs a better salary....its not an easy job....cmon Ghana!

• T. K. 7 years ago

Good man. God bless you!

• nana 7 years ago

Keep de good work up

• Apple Sauce 7 years ago

Some jobs are dirty but somebody have to do it anyway, these people deserve respect and better salary like everyone else in the working force.Don't worry you'll one day prepare all those who cheated you and those who laughed ...

• Fiii 7 years ago

I respect ur job so much. Keep it up

• james balogun 7 years ago

AFRICAN DATING AGENCY ORGANIZATION,THE BEST CERTIFIED RELIABLE AGENCY COMPANY IN NIGERIAN/GHANA 2015/2016
    ARE YOU SEEKING FOR A RICH SUGAR MUMMY/DADDY/LESBIANS/GAY/ IN NIGERIA, GHANA, ANYONE INTERESTED SHOULD CONTACT AFRICAN ...

• EMMANUEL AGBESI 7 years ago

The dumsor situation in Ghana is cut across. He is doing a good job and must be honoured but must know that dead person does not put off light. That was the time of dumsor.

Very inspiring story..........
    In life every choice we take in our life have its effects and advantages

• ex-cpl Atia naagode 7 years ago

Oh poor but determined statesman. How do you go about with 500cedis monthly salary with 3 wives and seven children. Please control your sexual approaches in other not to install miserable life for your children. Vote for Npp ...

• Zanze 7 years ago

How l wish l could help Alhassan Azaah financially, God will see him through

• Serwaa 7 years ago

I think their salaries should be raised because they are exposed to lots of danger.

• Bash 7 years ago

Good man God bless you and protect you and your family. Please if someone is listening increase his pay all jobs are important I respect you as a person and also respect you for your call to duty . Thanks for your service

• Ama 7 years ago

God bless Mr Alhassan. He deserve more cash than the Useless NDC communicators always making noise

• Osei kuma 7 years ago

Kindly put him number here for me to wire some support to him. God bless him.

• king 7 years ago

He need to be paid 20m old gh