News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Family pressures cause of police involvement in robbery and fraud - Cephas Arthur

Read Comments Comments (81)

• Golden 7 years ago

Thieves, from PHD degree to bullion van to one hundred dollars

• Nurudeen 7 years ago

all the armed robbers are also stealing because of family pressures.. or you idiot thinks all criminals do it for fun because they are not policemen? ghana is doomed with such fools at the helm of affairs

• KWAME Nduom 7 years ago

SO THE REASON FOR BEING A POLICEMAN IS TO MEET THE DEMANDS OF YOUR FAMILY. WHAT A STUPID STATEMENT TO MAKE, AND THIS IS FROM A POLICE SUPERINTENDENT. DID HE THINK BEFORE SAYING THIS? MOST OF US WORK HARD TO TRY AND MEET DEMAN ...

• Amegaxoxo 7 years ago

What a stupid explanation from a so called Supt.of Police. Does this man deserve to be in Police Uniform?

• GITMO 3 7 years ago

SO WHAT DO YOU EXPECT?

YOU HAVE CROOKS IN GH GOVT.

• Franco 7 years ago

Is the police trying to rationalize thievery and robbery of their members? Is it only the police who have families in Ghana? Cepas Arthur should come again with a better rationalization. Has he even spoken to the culprits be ...

• Franco 7 years ago

.... ls he not the one who ....

• George 7 years ago

Absurd my brother, say it again.

• Times are hard 7 years ago

The long and short of it is that "Ghana is hard" not just for the police but everybody. Does it sound as though Cephas Arthur is doing politics?

• Odwanfunu 7 years ago

Idiotic suggestion from a whole p.r.o
    You think the police are the only bread winners in the country or what. Everyone is complaining the system is hard and you think it was a joke. Idiots at work

• Dr Appiah 7 years ago

I feel ashamed if someone could justify robbery because of family or societal pressures, God should save us

• Abass yussif 7 years ago

BAD TALK FROM POLICE NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS ARE WE SAFE AT ALL GOD SAVE YOUR CHILDREN FROM THIS CURRENT GHANAIAN LEADERS GREEDY BASTARDS

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Don't blame them that is the benefit of president useless John Dramani Mahama better Ghana.That force police men into armed robbery.The most useless president John Dramani Mahama don't deserve second term he should vote out.

• Retired Special. Branch Officer 7 years ago

Then why do you people arrest offenders? They too have good reason and story to tell Superintendent Arthur come again.

• ceasar 7 years ago

ALL NDC POLICE MUST GO ...EH? GHANA PEOPLE.

• Adom 7 years ago

I tink u re de ryt person to sack dem so go ahead...

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

OMAN GHANA MU AY3 DEN DO DO!!!!!!! HENCE THE INCIDENCE OF POLICEMEN CARJACKING AND ROBBING BULLION VANS AND BANKS. BLAME VISIONLESS, CLUELESS, CORRUPT JOHN MAHAMA AND HIS THIEVING AND INCOMPETENT NDC PARTY, VOTE JOHN MAHAMA O ...

• Tony 7 years ago

Mr.cephas Arthur,it is not true that family pressure contributed to the police involment in these fraud,rather u have recruited thieves, armed robbers
    and hooligans as police officers. What do u expect?

• Odoba 7 years ago

Are you serious? Ahh hmmm

• maa adwoa. 7 years ago

Nonsense, stupid n foolish talk. who doesnt have family? silly from a buffon

• Yoku 7 years ago

Very funny

• nana@ 7 years ago

Papa Police this assessment is not well thought. It's foolish and useless thought.
    Every worker in Ghana have pressure from families. Are twachers selling school children for sakawa or bankers stealing customers money bec ...

• KOFI KOFI 7 years ago

TELL MAHAMA IT IS THE ECONOMIC PRESSURE THAT IS CAUSING THE POLICE TO BEHAVE THE WAY THEY ARE GOING. THEY REALISE THEY MUST DO EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO KEEP THEIR FAMILY GOING.

• aikins 7 years ago

What sort of nonsense is that, how can a whole police PRO give such stupid excuse , who is not receiving pressure from the family under this useless mahama government ?

• MIKY DARLING 7 years ago

Cephas Arthur, why are you running away from the fact? your logical reasoning and judgement is very very poor. look, your background checks on potential recruits is weak, period. Are there no family pressures on other workers ...

• K K 7 years ago

This tells you that the police knows the robbers and have refuse to arrest them.

• K K 7 years ago

You have disgrace your wife, children and family for such a useless talk.

• Nii 7 years ago

Absolute bullshit. Civilians also have similar issues but that don't mean they should rob others.

• Joachim 7 years ago

What a shame cephas.the economic situation is bad and that's why police men in uniform have taken to arm robbery.mahama and his NDC after 8 good years must be booted out.period

• revolution 7 years ago

Concert police force..who does not have family pressure...is he trying to justify what these police officers are doing or what??? no wonder they are all thieves

• K K 7 years ago

If this man is a policeman where will Ghana go, that police officer must be sack, he is a disgrace to Ghana and the profession

• K K 7 years ago

If you go to school and your parents refuse to train you this is what will happen, this man will say Gold coast is TETE ABAGYIME BREE, what about you policeman in modern Ghana bow down your head in shame

So they are not to blame. what a load of crap. Policemen are well paid. As a group they are the biggest criminals on Ghana. Any taxi driver knows this!

• James 7 years ago

No, Mr PRO, you would have done yourself and the police administration a lot of good if you had not mentioned 'pressure.''
    What about personnel of other security institutions who also carry weapons but are behaving different ...

• Man made 7 years ago

It is your way of recruitment that's the cause of this. If only you will stop this protocol thing and the collection of bribe, you'll get the right people for the job

• Adwoa Agyeman 7 years ago

Pl Mr. PRO, everybody has pne dprm of pressure or the other. What will become of country if we all take up arms.
    These people just want quick money.
    Pl. give us a better excuse.

• 2016 7 years ago

The clueless Mahama is saying under him Ghana is peaceful and the country is not dangerous...
    That is what a clueless, unintelligent and corrupt President brings on a nation.
    Those who swear to protect and serve, the men in ...

• boozu 7 years ago

This is no excuse superintendent for police men to go robbing and killing. Ghanaians don't expect this kind of words coming from a police PRO. SHAME SIR.

• SHINGO 7 years ago

am disappointed in cephas u people are thief from birth not family pressures from roadside to bullion van oh ho thiefs u are always justifying it . IGP i like u so much do something

• SHINGO 7 years ago

thiefs always justifying wrongful deeds of police hooooo to u

• Dee Vinity 7 years ago

Perhaps we should encourage a colleague to knock on your door tonight.
    We'll attribute it to difficult economic circumstance.
    How about that for illogical buffoonery.

• Musah Ali 7 years ago

Is true that people with clean records after joining the the police or army become criminals why because of greed and bad leadership. what happens when collect bribe from common criminals and leave them off the hook? What pre ...

• asem beba dabi 7 years ago

love for money is the root of police misconduct. about 70 percent of police personnel would do anything for money. total disgrace

• Busumbru 7 years ago

This Cephas Arthur is an armed robber himself

• Alfa 7 years ago

It is never true. These are policemen who were enlisted on protocol. Politicians and chiefs have been sending these criminals to be enlisted on protocol, so almost 80 to 90% or more of enlistments are protocol based.

• kiki 7 years ago

foolish talk

• Akua AU 7 years ago

I am in tears for this rubbish of an excuse from a supposedly police superintendent. Ghana Police Force is rotten indeed!

• Jamaica 7 years ago

Police PRO cephas Arthur , Ghanaians had disappointed in you for say family ???? pressures lead police personnel to rob. You are even lucky to be sss payroll and still saying these.....meaning you are even encouraging your co ...

• bg 7 years ago

please dont say that,face the fact,people are relly surffering in the country but the police should do thier best to stand this hardship and make a good chioce in this coming election. thanks

• Kwabena martins 7 years ago

So it is the family pressure that make your men demand 20 ghc from truckers or waste ur time in..they go in their private cars and do just that.. It is family and soceital pressure that makes them run shift in bullying driver ...

• edem 7 years ago

Rubbish talk

• obi 7 years ago

what do u mean by family pressures ,ist only police who has family pressure stop talking about that taking monies on roads not ok GCB van ll be ok this time

• Collins 7 years ago

if it's a family pressure and hardship that calls for the involvement of security personnel into rubbing and fraud then it is the same family pressure hardship that cause ordinary ghanaian to steal and do other unlawful act, ...

• Gyae 7 years ago

The Police "Minister of Information" Cephas Arthur must bow his silly head in SHAME!

The Police and the Military are very selective and supposed to be extra-disciplined, so this crap about "family pressure" is just plain a ...

• Odoi 7 years ago

Look at this man too. We are all under pressure to make ends meet. But that is no excuse to turn to armed robbery. Should bankers also steal from the vault because they are under pressure as well. Foolishtalk

• Citizen 7 years ago

Are they the only people who come under pressure from family members? Find some better us please.

• majid 7 years ago

God help this country. Can you imagine what a police office is saying. Everyone of us face similar presure, so forget it. Now it's police, we should pity them.

• NII 7 years ago

COME AGAIN DONT SAY THAT CEPHAS

EVERYONE HAS A PRESSURE

• Nana Atakora Sikahene 7 years ago

When u have a fake Dr.as IGP what do you expect his men to be?

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY. NPP JIMIFUO KUO 7 years ago

Don't we all go to the same market? Should the police be excused to rob people because they are the only ones that have families?

• JOHN 7 years ago

KWASEA IS IT THE POLICE ALONE WHO HAVE FAMILY PROBLEMS. EVEN KAYEYI ARE ABLE TO SUPPORT THEMSELVES. KWASEA POLICEMAN. BUUULU

• kwabena 7 years ago

you took all the bribes in this world
    and when we complain you say is because of your salaries. and they introduced single spine for you guys and what happened. your salaries were doubled still you didnt spare the innocen ...

• Patriotic 7 years ago

A paid lair. Police administration are paid to receive bribe from top to bottom and they practice culture of bribery and corruption, arrogance and impunity and unpatriotism.
    I do not respect them for once.

• afua 7 years ago

we all have pressure from our family but do not engage in robbery

Useless man are the police the only people in country who have families, almost every worker has a family with pressure, so everybody should go out to rub because of family pressure.indicipline Ghana police, a big shame on u, ...

• David 7 years ago

Bullshit , what about we the teachers , nurses , and the others , like we will rub BoG. Does he know the pressure on us too. Even the graduate unemployed

• Issifu Hasiatu 7 years ago

If that is what you are saying then we would all have been armrobbers because for family pressure is not them alone

• Bretuoba KFB 7 years ago

We all face family and societal pressures but that has not push us into robbery and fraudulent lifestyle.They were robbers and frauds before they join the police.To be honest,I think the police profession the world over are t ...

• Nyarkoh 7 years ago

MR CEPHAS IF THAT IS SOMETHING TO GO BY THEN UR INSTITUTION SHOULD LEAVE ARMED ROBBERS ALONE COS THEY ALSO DO THAT UPON PRESSURES AND DEMAND S OF THEIR FAMILIES TOO. PLS STOP DEFENDING THE POLICE WHO ARE PAID WITH TAX PAYERS ...

• obi 7 years ago

u are lying are the only people who has family

• Onipa ba 7 years ago

Na who cause am? Bad leadership Jonh Mahama government . N u are part of that so shotup

• Exposure 7 years ago

Are the Police Personnel the only people under pressure from families? What about the Military, the Doctors, the Engineers, the lawyers etc, etc. Please don't take Ghanaians for fools.

• God bless 7 years ago

An unfortunate rationalization. I did not expect the police P.R.O. to say this. We are all under some form of pressure in this country, but that does not mean that we should all turn to armed robbery. Police P.R.O. come again ...

• Edem Lolonyo 7 years ago

Cep has this is a stupid and dumb reason you are advancing to give your policemen face. What about non policemen who commit crimes, are they not under family and society pressure?
    Stupid thief.

• agyeman 7 years ago

WITH THE HUGE SALARY GIVEN YOU FOR VIRTUALLY NO WORK DONE YOU WANT TO TELL US YOU PEOPLE ARE UNDERPRIVILEGED AND SUFFER PRESSURES FROM FAMILY. I THINK YOU ARE BIGGER THAN THIS CRAP. TELL US SOMETHING BETTER AT LEAST GIVE US A ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

What a foolish statement! Policemen/women have jobs to go to and get rewarded handsomely at the end of the month. How many people apply for a single advertised job in Ghana? Will the police arrest the unemployed man/woman who ...

• me my self and I 7 years ago

Please please please Cephas Arthur, you disappoint me greatly. What are you saying? Is it only police officers who have families who make demands on them? Stop that and punish those disgraceful persons who are tarnishing the ...

• only the truth 7 years ago

That is know excuse as a police officer who was supposed to protect the lives of citizens n property. Police have become so shameless in this country. This robbery is know news it has existed long ago not only by gun attack b ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 7 years ago

Mr. Cephas Arthur, don't other Ghanaians also face societal & family pressures? Should they also resort to illegal activities a some of your colleagues are doing????

• Chris 7 years ago

Nonsense ... protocol and foot soldier recruitment accounts for this.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

If you know you do not earn enough, do not attempt having so many dependants. Minimise your family size.