Dubai reference to Circle flyover worrying – Lecturer

Read Comments Comments (46)

• Pio Papa 7 years ago

I support you so much. There is nothing in Ghana that we can be proud of as ours. We always want to weigh our lives against the developed world. How can we be proud of where we and what we have

• APONKYE 7 years ago

This lecturer only has book knowledge but no home sense. The name Dunai adds spice and gives people added pleasure going to Kwame Nkrumah Circle.

Please Mr Professor, keep your views to only Legon and don't worry us. It i ...

• KOKU AMAGAFIO 7 years ago

Mr Aponkye you are a real aponkye , stupid semi-literate, an ass hole to write such nonsense after an intelligent person tries to educate Ghanaians on the possibility of the loss of the name "Nkrumah Circle through the stupi ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 7 years ago

The accusations on trotro drivers and mates are misdirected. It is NDC ministers and propagandists the who first attached Dubai to the project and was lifted up by the drivers and mates.

• ELINAM 7 years ago

There's no street in Ghana named Oxford street but Ghanaians have turned the Cantoment road to Oxford street in Accra all because of prostitutes who used to ply the street in search of Europeans and now the street which has a ...

• Tet.. 7 years ago

You are obviously missing the point. ..very sad. In addition you resort to insults instead of adding something constructive .

• J0eY l0nD0n 7 years ago

What is wrong with so called intellectual Minds?

• APONKYE 7 years ago

We hear Nana Addo has vowed never to use the Accra Dubai Interchange. His prayer was for the project to fail but since it is a gargantuan success, the solution is never to use it, simple. Or, if he has to because there is no ...

• Kwamaaaay X 7 years ago

U lack common sense and don't understand what the intellectual was saying . Fools like u are setting Gh back . Now read and learn . That interchange is named ' Kwame Nkrumah Circle ' but this useless and corrupt Mahama led ND ...

• Safo 7 years ago

The Trotton drivers and their mates have found a very easy way to communicate and ply their business. Accra Dubai is too romantic and catchy a phrase for the ordinary transport operators. Nkrumah statue there is enough for v ...

• Sappey-Agboh. Tsiame-Lagbohkope 7 years ago

Safo you've actually managed to comment in lay African businessman's term how the new term is a way of making business. Moreover, the full depiction as Kwame Nkrumah Circle Interchange is a mouthful. 'Dubai' for short is more ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

I agree. But for now let them celebrate it anyhow and be excited and we address the problem in a January next year.

• WHEN GHANAIANS GROW MATURED 7 years ago

MURTALA MOHAMMED AIRPORT IN LAGOS WAS COMPLETED YEARS AGO & MATCHES SOME EUROPEAN AIRPORTS. ONLY AN INTERCHANGE TOO GHANAIANS ARE MAKING NOISE LIKE SOME BUSHMEN WHO JUST CAME TO THE CITY. APUUUU

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

Murtala Airport is now an eyesore-dirty and falling apart.Does it pain you we have a nice interchange?

• Ray 7 years ago

It's not known who told Ghanaian's that this type of design comes from Dubai. You are perfectly right, most Ghanaians exaggerate always. The interchange is referred to Dr Nkrumah and not Dubai. Let's make everything possib ...

• H1j6je8q6 7 years ago

Is this the first time you heard driver's mate name for place that is not the real name of the place, go to Aflao station, there is a place or a town called Anloga is called Angola, a town called Alakple is called Alaska. Don ...

• Marcus Chris Lawson 7 years ago

This call in my view is in the right direction and must be taken seriously so as to preserve our history and name
    There is no reason good cenough to call our kwame nkrumah interchange any other name especially ...

• Alec 7 years ago

This is much ado about nothing. That is the choice of the people and nothing can make it otherwise.
    The lectuerr's concern should be about how to maintain the Interchange and not the nickname given to it.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage )
    *1* Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy and stamin ...

• Nana Danso 7 years ago

Is Dubai our yardstick? It's sad, Ghana!!!!

• PHONEY NPPians SHIT 7 years ago

WHY NOT ADVOCATE FOR CHANGE OF NAME OF AMERICA HOUSE FIRST,GYIMI AND ENEMY OF PROGRESS.THIS THINGS TEACHING AT UGBS NO WONDER WE HAVING LOTS OF SUBSTANDARD LOONIES COMING OUT OF THAT SCHOOL AS GRADUATES .TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

Talking out of envy and ignorance, 2 dangerous traits. UGBS is a great School. Characters like you would never have the opportunity to study there.

• George Bush 7 years ago

Water always finds its level. Ghanaians would always come out with the most appropriate names to describe a place or phenomenon. Remember 'Dumsor'. It is just to make easy understanding and identification. King Tackie Tawia ...

• Sappey-Agboh. Tsiame-Lagbohkope 7 years ago

Just as someone had said earlier, this is much ado about nothing to quote the great Shakespeare. Common people unlike the intellectuals have their own way of naming certain landmarks. We have Kufour Junction, Osu Oxford Stree ...

• NPP go lose AGAIN!!!!! 7 years ago

AND THIS IDIOT OF A LECTURER IS ENTITLED TO HIS. HE SHOULD GIVE US A BREAK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

How is it worrying,mr lecturer?Is calling the flyover 'Dubai'deceptive or a crime?It is just an euphemism to tell the world how nice the place is.I hope you get it Mr Lecturer.At least we are trying to brighten the corner we ...

• Akah 7 years ago

Folks are referring to the Nkrumah circle interchange as Dubai because of the dancing fountain at the site. A bigger version of that kind of fountain can be found in Dubai.... Just google and enjoy the spectacle.

• kofi tei 7 years ago

It was Mahama who mentioned in his speech that the water works display was fashioned around similar one in Dubai. That was pure unpresidential

• francis 7 years ago

Na who causal am. That hopeless President causam. He said it first because he himself has Dubai as his first home because of the many infrastructure he has in Dubai .

• Kutsii 7 years ago

I agree perfectly with u, bcos we have to eulogize Kwame Nkrumah. But go way u over there, wherever u find self. Wait after the elections, when Mahama has won the elections before u suggest this sensible thing in your coconu ...

• adiza 7 years ago

Mahama called Circle Interchange Dudai. This is very worrying. This means our President travels but lack what change means to a country and boasts about effort achieved.

• hmmmmmmmmmm time will tell. 7 years ago

Nice talk Doc

• lankwei 7 years ago

Why should he worry? As a lecturer, does he not have more pressing matters?

Anyway there is a Dubai City off the Tei Man to Abokobi road! So why all this wahala???

• pocket lawyer 7 years ago

It is true, I prefer the name kwame Nkrumah interchange,Dubai didn't fund the project ghanaians must know how to honour their past and present leaders

• Odikro 7 years ago

You see, John Mahama's reverence for Dubai is a result of his investments in that city. He is drawing attention to his 5-star hotel, but guess what? All shall pass.

• Ama Texas 7 years ago

Is true it has name already why are they calling it with another ghanians we should be content with what we have

Foolish comparison

• CHE 7 years ago

The NPP is behind the name DUBAI being used for Nkrumah circle. They are very good with vile propaganda to kill the name of Nkrumah but it will never succeed. After the 1966 coup they burnt all images of Nkrumah and his books ...

• MARCUS 7 years ago

OUR JOURNALIST ARE BELOW THE BELT .

• Johnson 7 years ago

Its worrying you either because you don't listen or read from correct sources or you have caught Opana and his Npp disease for lying without blinking. Shameful. JM said the design was a miniature of one in Dubhai

• Tet.. 7 years ago

It is amazing as well as disheartening that many of us don't get what the lecturer is saying. Some of us get it so three is still hope.

• kaketonti 7 years ago

THE LECTURER IS RIGHT.
    FOR BUSINESS,THE DRIVERS/MATES ARE ALSO RIGHT.
    FLAG STAFF HOUSE EXISTS.YET THIEF KUFUOR UPON BUILDING ON SAME SITE CHOOSE TO CALL THE "AREA" JUBILEE HOUSE.TELL NPP-AKUFO ADDO:FLAGSTAFF HOUSE NOT JUBIL ...

Cantonments and Burma Camps... We live in a country which citizens do not feel proud of themselves and name places after foreign towns. Let us start with Accra, Nima, James Town, Medina, Burma Camp, Galellei, Arakan Barracks, ...

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

They must to let the trotro drivers to understand the name of the circle to direrect the pasengers to there so that the people will not being in the confuse of the going there,and it must to be ban to ban in way that its ca ...

• Simpson 7 years ago

Idiot Mahama has no Vision. Get lost Mahama, you Idiot calling Nkrumah Circle Dubai.

• Nana Acheampong 7 years ago

Dubai is a clean city and everything there works and people don't piss and shit against the side walls. There is no dumso and the roads are cleaner and the police don't collect bribe from drivers like Ghana so please stop thi ...