Mother of deceased Achimota student accuses authorities for son’s death

Read Comments Comments (147)

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

Why do we always get away with negligence? I hope we start to hold people accountable

• Abban 7 years ago

So sad,sorry for your loss.

• Ham 7 years ago

Beatrice Adom terrorizes every teacher and student to the extent that when you even buy a book to be handed over to your child, housemasters are afraid to receive the items as she has set up spy teachers on them.

• Asumadu 7 years ago

This is shocking to hear. How could they be so insensitive? Are they medical doctors to determine whether or not a child is qualified to immediately see a doctor? A precious life lost. Very sad indeed. May his soul RIP

• KK 7 years ago

You know many many students lie that they are unwell just to go home and so when the student becomes really ill the housemaster thinks its not true

• guy man 7 years ago

you are very stupid, how do you blame students

• kojo 7 years ago

No insults pls. Just make your point.

• Pauline 7 years ago

You speak the truth~ i am a former student and i regret ever attending that school

• Mother of an old student 7 years ago

Achimota has always been biased against Akan students.The school is dominated by Ewe staff who go out of their way to give students with Akan names(particularly Ashanti names) very raw deal.Years back in the early 90s my olde ...

• agooji 7 years ago

This Headmistress of Achimota school need be replaced immediately for her negligence and must be prosecuted for her role in the death of the student

• Osmond 7 years ago

She has turned the school into her empire

• Breezy 7 years ago

Very true. The child's demise is an anticipated concequence of a set of rules needless to begin with and oppressive in nature. Trust me I know; I just completed there and hated every minute of it.

• Oh Jay! 7 years ago

Did he see the school nurse? If he did, why didn't the school nurse vouch for his exeat? Do school nurses also need permission from the housemasters when a student is in a critical health condition? Could we also say some sch ...

• Asem beba Dabi 7 years ago

No school nurse in any Ghana. Very apathetic, the Ghana health service and the nursing council are all clues institution that need overhauling

• F.M 7 years ago

Is the sch who have to apply for nurses.... But for your information the Achimota Hosp is just at the sch entrance....walking distance

All these Tsotsoo's nonsense must stop at once. All she and her subs. care about is the length of our children's hair, uniform being pimped, cutlasses and hoes being brought in,PTA collecting money for this building and that ...

• withheld 7 years ago

this is indeed heartbreaking. My spirit is really down this morning.

• ADJOA 7 years ago

Our hospitals are not equipped to make diagnosis.
    Both young and old are dying unnecessarily
    37 military hospital could have diagnosed the boy and treat him. He was there long enough to be saved.

• kantankerous 7 years ago

It's called cerebral malaria.

• Davis 7 years ago

this can never happen in Europe. this young boy lost his life because of irresponsibility n stupidity of school authorities...... RIP

• Auntie Teresa 7 years ago

If house master was acting irresponsibly go above him. Call the principal

• winnie 7 years ago

The principal is even worse..she would have even sent the sick child to the disciplinary committee for trying to make his mom take him home.. They are just Interested in unnecessary things..take this from a former student of ...

• Withheld 7 years ago

Are we in Europe?
    Don't people get tired of comparing Ghana to advanced countries?
    This situation is unfortunate but wake up... This is Ghana

Baldadash!!! You mean this is Ghana so things like this is permitted to happen?.. Shame on you!!

• South Africa 7 years ago

Nonsense. Just here in south Africa, Apply for a Postgraduate certificate in education, a module called educator as a Leader,Manager and Administrator. This Negligence iss punishable offence by law wherein the school authorit ...

• Eve 7 years ago

When you push your own baby out and care for him and he suddenly dies out of negligence and sure your comments will be different from what you've just said here. What is good for the goose is also good for the gander.

• Gaatjou Nietsaan 7 years ago

Sorry i disagree. It happen also in europe. People have died even in the hospitals because doctors made the wrong decision. The only difference is that they ar held accountable here.

• MAN 7 years ago

CALL TO BOOK THE HEAD MASTER.

• Youli 7 years ago

Ghanaian parents are so afraid of these school authorities why ?
    Achimota is a great school but if I don't have access to my son 24 hrs 7 days a week then I am no bringing my children there. My child life is more import ...

• Concerned parent 7 years ago

My advice to all parents: trust your child more than the school authorities. So as soon as you receive that call from your ward or a sympathetic staff about your ward's welfare, drop whatever you are doing and dash to the sch ...

• Youli 7 years ago

Absolutely

• Also Concerned Parent 7 years ago

I fully agree with you as I had similar experience too. Heads of schools now behave as tin-gods! May his soul rest in peace!

• Osmond 7 years ago

I fully agree. Especially if your child is in Achimota School. I'm proud of my school but it is currently being run by the wrong person and some if her loyal subjects.

• DB 7 years ago

Concerned parent, you are spot on. It is your child not the headmaster or house master. If your child calls to say they are not well, as a parent act immediately on your gut feeling and instincts. Better safe than sorry. The ...

• DKB 7 years ago

Concerned parent, you are spot on. It is your child not the headmaster's or house master's. If your child calls to say they are not well, as a parent act immediately on your gut feeling and instincts. Better safe than sorry. ...

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Very True

• Krika 7 years ago

People don't care why ?

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Same shit every day. NEGLIGENCE. Yet the authorities do not want us to talk about it. 37 has become the sacred cow that must not be touched.

• Grayson Tema 7 years ago

The boy was there more than 24hrs . They could not diagnose him. If they did why no treatment?
    37 almost killed my father. We took him from there to a private hospital and now he is fine.The doctors and nurses are no g ...

• Kofi Asare 7 years ago

In this case 37MH has got nothing to do with it...His housemaster watched for it to get to Malaria 3plus before he was sent to Achimota Hospital before he was even transferred to 37MH..so 37MH is not to be blamed

• Abotsi 7 years ago

My daughter nearly died at Tsito Sec Tech. But not for another teacher who called me my dear daughter would have died. Even when my Pastor rushed there to send the girl to the hospital, it was a fellow student who followed. ...

• Hayley B 7 years ago

The hospital need medical resources and compassionate doctors and nurses. They just don't care over there.

• Efua 7 years ago

Doctors, nurses, teachers etc all gave a duty of care. Professionals serving in this capacity need to travel to see how it's done in Europe . You chose to do that job so deliver well please.

• Dabi Asem Beba 7 years ago

I was at More by at 2 am went to ER with a seemingly heart attack .met nurse she told if I didn't fall then I go and come back to the OPD

• Kaakie 7 years ago

Hmmmm. I remember years ago. Only God had mercy on me and saved me. I''m really sad. RIP and my sympathy to the parents and family.

• BB Quaye 7 years ago

37 military hospital is a death trap

• a concerned parent 7 years ago

Achimota school is a death trap!!!

• Amos 7 years ago

this is serious n uncultured behaviour on the part of the housemaster,I fully support the woman to investigate this matter

• HONEST MAN 7 years ago

The authorities must come out and explain. When can this stop.A child complains and you play GOD? This cannot continue.

I agree with you a 100%

• Efua 7 years ago

Or even go to the school yourself. Our children are our future. This obviously could happen but in Europe, teachers are more vigilant and take every health issue seriously.

• kwasi oduro 7 years ago

My sympathies to the Ansong family for their loss. But I'm unable to understand why Mrs. Ansong is asking that the school be closed down.

• Gerald Nyarko 7 years ago

yeah you wouldnt be able to understand,if he was your only son or your only bro,allow the mum,because he is my cousin

• London 7 years ago

I really sympathise with your loss. Indeed there is to be proper investigation into the matter. I am sure big lessons will be learnt from today.

However to close down the whole school? To hold other children
    (over a thou ...

• Kuki 7 years ago

My exact thoughts. Its really sad but the school wont be closed down because of this. If theres anyone to deal with, it would be the house master.

• Pauline 7 years ago

I attended that school but only for a while because of such careless behavior. They do not see the students as people they just saw us as pests. I left the school and went to a place where they treated me like a human being. ...

• Lloyd, Washington, DC. 7 years ago

It is no more the school it used to be.

• oxzy 7 years ago

Am highly disappointed about your comment, how can teacher see you as a pest?

• Ama 7 years ago

This housemaster must be prosecuted and the school sued for negligence!!!.. he must not get away with it!!

• Ama 7 years ago

This exaet thing sucks

• Yayra 7 years ago

Aaaaaaaw. Real sad. Why. Aaaaaw.
    Angel may yr soul rest peacefully.
    Real sad

• SNEB Asamoah 7 years ago

Being a house master is tough. No one sees your good deeds but always see the negatives.
    Listen to both sides before your comment. Well what if it's not the teachers fault after investigation? Everyone should relax and wai ...

• Samuel Agyapong 7 years ago

Necessary investigations should be done and if the housemaster is at fault, he should be severely dealt with. We cannot tolerate this in our schools!!!! Our children cannot die due to people's negligence. Accountability must ...

• Akora GNB 7 years ago

We understand it could be tough at times but that doesn't mean you and your colleagues must treat the students like prisoners. I was in the school from 2012-2015 so I know what I'm talking about. I was in Kwapong, your house ...

• Akora Ama 7 years ago

Say this again o...we have all been through all sort of pain from the heads especially you..!Mr SNEB Asamoah in the name of being trained to be living waters to a thirsty land..so please don't pretend this is the first time s ...

• Mijima 7 years ago

Thank you. My son is in that house at the moment and it is hell living there especially with Asamoah as the housemaster. My son fears him so much and hates his sight. You the old Akoras should write a unanimous letter to the ...

• DKB 7 years ago

I was there in the 80's, the strictness was the same, nothing has really changed much, we ate gari and beans and fried plantain with weavels floating in the oil but thank God I am a proud product of Achimota school 30 years ...

• Emmanuel Agyei 7 years ago

I want to ask you ...did you ever conduct investigation into student cases before taking them to DC and giving them punishments they didn't deserve. ....cos I quite remember I was brought to DC by Kate Aidoo ...my side of the ...

• Akora CN 7 years ago

Sooo true! They never listen to students at DC. He's here talking trash .

• nene 7 years ago

commot there
    if it were to be your brother??
    you know the meaning if death
    u will Never see the person again

• South Africa 7 years ago

Gyimii this is Negligence. Go read to find its meaning and consequences on teacher's

Mr. Asamoah you must be ashamed of your self for trying to justify what has happened to the poor boy. how would you feel if that was your son? My advice to parents in Accra with their children in SHS's in accra should try as ...

• Vic 7 years ago

There's nothing to hear from him, this is shear negligence

• Joseph 7 years ago

Be smart and think like a father...you housemaster's and house mistress takes orders thats are not sensible from your so called headmistress even if it doesn't make sense.you guys should sometimes use your Brain small.someone ...

• winnie 7 years ago

U are saying that because u are a teacher in the school. U guys do not value the students. U treat them like slaves and all u r interested in is punishing and taking them to DC. All because you are scared of Tsotsoo. ????

• anonymous 7 years ago

Achimota school Authorities are fond of that stupidity, They are always doing that especially the girl houses ,I don't want to mention that house.They claim that's the rule meanwhile, it keeps on killing people . This head ...

• ?????wasThereSom 7 years ago

these teachers always think all students are liars.. Whenever we ask for exeats for sth urgent... They think we're lying.. They always want to see the problem at its peak before they give us the exeats.. And that teacher espe ...

• Koti 7 years ago

These attitude of school authorities is actually getting on my nerves. Headmasters sometimes behave in a manner which beats understanding of all. Mtcheeeew.

• Alexander Ansong 7 years ago

I believe it is high time people show more seriousness to issues of such sort. My condolence to the family and the school. Very young man.

• Osei 7 years ago

What a sad news. The investigation must go on. It should not be swept under carpet

• Omni1 7 years ago

yeah that's good sonia we're all behind you for stupidy to stop happening

• Akora Gracer Bondzie. 7 years ago

This happens every time, that's how the school is! How can the house master go and threaten the boy after he contacted his mum telling him he was ill. That's just not right. And this is not the first time, as I said, it happe ...

• Opoku UK 7 years ago

Sad news ! May his soul rest in perfect peace.

• God strengthen you. 7 years ago

Very sad ! A handsome young talent lost to stupity ? My condolences. No ! But madam , where were you when he called to ask you not to call the housemaster again ? You've admitted that definetly the housemaster warned him; t ...

• Unknown 7 years ago

How can you blame the mother?
    I am an old student of the school
    Whenever you go against what your housemaster or mistress says
    The trouble and insults you will get
    It is something that has become a habit in the school ...

• Ohenewaa 7 years ago

I'm not sure at the moment her mind went to the fact that the housemaster went to warn the boy. If the boy called back sounding reassuring and not scared then she would not have suspected. This is not the time to think about' ...

• DKB 7 years ago

Ohenewaa my son will not tell me went to be worried or not be worried. I tell him when to worry or not. As a parent, follow your instincts as I said before, it may be convenient to listen to your child as it reassures you the ...

• Elorm 7 years ago

This happens in every school..its so terrible .just sue the school

• Akora GNB 7 years ago

I wish this case goes far because the school treats the students like prisoners.
    I'm an Akora of the school and I can say the school is really bad, and wouldn't want any of my friends or family go to that school, they treate ...

• akora unkown 7 years ago

argh this headmaster when will he change .such stupidity at. it highest peak ,u deny someone permission to go home ,hope he is dealt with very well .Rip young lad

• Akora 7 years ago

The headmistress has kept too long...she has to be changed..yabre nu...

• Nanagogogko 7 years ago

WHENEVER YOUR KIDS CALL AND COMPLAIN OF SICKNESS PARENTS GO FOR THEM ,IF THEY DIDN'T ALLOW TELL IF SOMETHING HAPPENS YOU WOULD THEM RESPONSIBLE ,NONESENSE IS IT OXFORD UNIVERSITY

• sala 7 years ago

it happen in many schs especially de high schs

• kka 7 years ago

More craze things happen over there but the media don't report.

• naaw 7 years ago

I really don't get why kervin Moses died. This could have just been prevented by bringing the boy home and even the school's authorities were reluctant in sending the boy to the hospital thinking he would recover like every o ...

• Ably 7 years ago

If ur ward goes through school and complete, just thank God. Something must be done about this, it must end.

• Yayra 7 years ago

Achimota school has toooo many strict rules and they follow them to the core. Even the stupid rules. It's by God's grace some of us survived there. This isn't the first time an issue of this sort has happened and the authorit ...

• Mijima 7 years ago

This nonsense must stop because death is irreversible. We like Achimota school but some of the housemasters have turned themselves into monsters such that they are unapproachable.Our children even fear to go near them. They h ...

• Atsu Azoka 7 years ago

Don't blame the housestaff. I support the parent's call for investigation. Whst is GES guidelines? What is the system being operated by the school? This what happens when power is giving to people and regulatory body seems ...

• froyolover 7 years ago

the teachers are supposed to support students not to condone every nonsense they call rules set by the head mistress... the housemaster should have helped the boy! his ghost will haunt him!

• DB 7 years ago

Don't be stupid, look who's talking about ignorance, you are here talking about ghost and calling someone ignorant. If what Atsu said is above your level of reasoning don't come here making a fool of yourself.

• froyolover 7 years ago

I was in Achimota and it was hell! I had a communicable skin disease an I couldn't even overstay my vacation because I didn't want to weed..THIS NONSENSE MUST STOP!!! Do you want all students to die or leave the school before ...

• Atsu Azoka 7 years ago

Don't blame the housestaff. I support the parent's call for investigation. What is GES guidelines? What is the system being operated by the school? This is what happens when power is giving to people and regulatory body se ...

• Osmond 7 years ago

A responsible man would see a child's life above a few queries and other possible penalties. The housemasters I had when I was a student there just over a year ago would not have been this irresponsible

• paa Kofi 7 years ago

Too bad a news...very heartbroken over hearing this. But why is the house master refusing to utter anything unless being authorized by the Headmistress??? Mrs Ansong, by condolences on ur lost. As for the authorities, they sh ...

"This is Ghana" so things like this should continue? Is that what you are saying? Shame on you

• Hayes 7 years ago

I suggest they sue the school,the ministry of education.Too many autocratic systems in our schools.

• Oh Jay! 7 years ago

Did he see the school nurse? If he did, why didn't the school nurse vouch for his exeat? Do school nurses also need permission from the housemasters when a student is in a critical health condition? Could we also say some sch ...

• Osmond 7 years ago

I don't know why a sick person in Achimota School has to get to the point of death before taken seriously. Some housemasters in that school are not responsible enough to be handling kids. They still behave like final year stu ...

• Ernest 7 years ago

why is that when students are sick authorities dont give them permission why does the students take transportation fare from from them to go home this housemasteris very stupid and must charged for the death of this innocent ...

• Bismark 7 years ago

So Mr housemaster what is your excuse

• Naa 7 years ago

We had no school nurse at school.

• kwasi antonam 7 years ago

I'm extremely disappointed in the officials in charge of affairs at the school presently. This is not the Achimota we used to know. May God cause a change to protect his children. Amen.

• Hajia Asana 7 years ago

The house masters in that school are too into power.They handle these kid as if they are adults.They forget that this is the first time they are away from their parents. We will have to hold them accountable..

• Monica Ansong 7 years ago

These incidents are becoming one too many in this country. Housemasters and mistresses are not doctors and one can never understand why they would want to assume that role. If you think the child is feigning take the child th ...

• Monica Ansong 7 years ago

These incidents in second cycle schools are becoming one too many. Housemistresses and housenasters are not doctors. When they feel a student is feigning they should seek clarity by sending the child to hospital to ascertain ...

• DA 7 years ago

So sorry for your loss.if these thin Gods in the schools in Ghana are not punished and made to pay for wrong doing they will never learn a lesson.the family should sue the school for negligence.You only take care of the child ...

• Vgggvgy 7 years ago

Housemaster in deep trouble i say

• adwoa 7 years ago

sometimes we should allow the children to go home when they are sick its true that the school is taken care but I think when parent pick them and treat them is the best. after, they will definitely report back to school. the ...

• Wisdom macony 7 years ago

Mum you must know that God gives and he takes.

• Vic 7 years ago

God does not give and take. You think God is heaven trying to cause pain for his children? This is abuse and neglect from the school authorities.

• Osei Serwaa Sei 7 years ago

This is a sad story. How Ghana has negligently allow a beautiful life of Kofi Mosses to be lost. I can't stop the tears.

• Ishmeal abraham 7 years ago

So sad,it is painful,may the almighty lord act against those people

• abs 7 years ago

very stupid heads and housemasters.R they the ones to learn for the boy while he goes home to cure himself.It shall surely be their childs turn elsewhere cos God is watching.

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

RIP Mister ... the house master is either stupid or foolish ... these children are in your care and in situations like this where the child insists they are not well u don't dig in your heels to prove a f*cking point ... m ...

• Aade London 7 years ago

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH OF THESE SEMI GOD HOUSEMASTERSAID!! ME IF MY CHILDREN CALLS ME TO COMPLAIN OF ILLNESS WHILST IN SCHOOL, WHETHER THEY LIKE UTILITY OR NOT I WOULD BE THERE BEFORE THEY WILL SAY JACK. SEE THE POSTURE OF THE HOUS ...

• nene 7 years ago

they think about the rich children first
    their parents settle them that's why
    God is not dead
    some of you will pay dearly with your children's life
    an eye for an eye

• Deep Well 7 years ago

ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS:
    1. When did Kelvin report sick to the school authorities?
    2. Did he receive due attention as required by policy?
    3. Were the parents notified and when?
    ....R.I.P Kelvin and my condolences to the fr ...

I've been in this situation before when I was a high school freshman. When I was declined permission to go to the hospital, a senior helped me elude the school authority before I could get myself admitted. I was in a very cri ...

• TK 7 years ago

This is heart breaking. Infact I'm very much disappointed in the school authorities. Feeling very angry.

• akuya 7 years ago

This thing Needs to be looked into....what kind of bullshit is this...common exeat u couldn't gv to this boy.. .what if he was your son how would u feel

• Christi 7 years ago

Awww, so sad. May his soul RIPP. May God keep him in his bossom. Amen!

• Old student 7 years ago

The administration of the school just makes the teachers heartless because in some cases the house staff can do something about it but just because it's against the "rules" of the school they will rather chose to obey ...

• Cudjoe,Peki 7 years ago

I will blame the mother partly too ur son called that he was not feeling well.Yes there is a housemaster but it's your responsibility to go straight to the school and see for your self why he called n did not want to depend o ...

• Old student 7 years ago

The administration should stop acting like they don't have children they don't even allow their kids to be in the boarding house because they know the rules there are senseless and sometimes the students are treated li ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

Authorities in Achimota School must sit up. As a parent I have had serious issues with their attitude in handling our children independtly when they are sick. I think they are inefficient cos the follow up to Achimot ...

• Robby 7 years ago

This is sad, the achimota hospital is the last place you want to be, they give drugs that prolong your stay at the hospital to raise your bills. Every time i went there i had to secretly contact my dad to bring me medicine an ...

• .... Efo Godson 7 years ago

heartless stupid asshole housemaster n principal police must arrest n prosecute them ...the boy lost his life n might be he's the only child the parent have.

• Ernest 7 years ago

My condolences to the family of this young boy. May his soul rest in perfect peace.
    it is unfortunate this has happened, I will however appeal to both the parents and school authorities to handle the issue in an amicable wa ...

• Alex Kwakye 7 years ago

Had a similar experience with my son in achimota school, he had been in and out of achimota hospital on several occasions for one ailment or the other. I spoke to the housemaster to request that my son be granted an exeat on ...

• Yaw B 7 years ago

I am so sorry. This is a very very sad story. May his young soul rest in peace.

• Kwabena kyei 7 years ago

This is what Achimota school is doing to our children and 4 students are dead and 2 teaching and non teaching staff are also dead..

• Macbins 7 years ago

I went to Achimota school , and I know that's how they behave . We use to lose our friends yearly due to this same situation . All the staffs are not correct .
    Go back to history , which school has the most death in a year ...

• Nii Nmai, Dallas,TX, U. S. A 7 years ago

We have not heard the school's version of what happened but if what we have heard so far is anything to go by then I will say Maame, get a good lawyer and sue the school and GES. It may amount to nothing but this could be the ...

• Nii Nmai, Dallas,TX, U. S. A 7 years ago

Concerned Parent, your comment is the best so far. Kudos.
    If your child is sacked from that school it is much better to have your child living.

• Abena 7 years ago

Oh rest in peace. I'm just disappointed in the school.

• Rabena 7 years ago

This is very very sad....Achimota has indeed fallen from it's glory.l had my younger brother who is Achimota facing
    the same challenge but fortunately for him my parents stood firm to take care of him despite what his house ...