MMDCEs will be elected from 2018 - Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Kojo Bonsu Fmr Mce 7 years ago

What a joke

• Phasmida 7 years ago

Is that not a plan? You know you would never have have had this opportunity if it was not by appointment.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

this is a good one

• Wells 7 years ago

I have said it . And will say it AGAIN. This man of a leader is God sent. I hope those stooges whose main aim is make Ghana continue to become a third world Country are watching. He is not there yet but all his words make lot ...

• Obournana 7 years ago

It seems you are very young. NPP said the same thing in 2000 and the abolition of VAT. They didn't implement the election of MMDCEs but rather increased VAT from 15% to 17.5%. Ask Kweku Baako the NPP writer only if he will sa ...

• Kwadaso 7 years ago

This will force DCE's to work closely with local leaders to further their growth instead of butting taking orders from party leaders.It will also start the training process of future leaders to ran for national office.

• Akora Sark 7 years ago

STOMACH INFRASTRUCTURE PARTY MEMBERS ONLY THINK OF THEMSELVES,AND NOTHING ELSE. VERY NOISY, AND MORE OF EXTROVERT AND PHARAISM. ALWAYS BLOWING THEIR HORNS LIKE THE ndc FOOT SOLDIERS.

• Socrates 7 years ago

All is promise promise tell us something different Mr short man

• OJO 7 years ago

Heheheeee,a short man, midget, dwarf or if you like ' Not a human being' Nana Addo is your President for four year and if you can't coupe with that GO AND BUN THE SEA. Socrates.

• Pascal 7 years ago

Ojo, ur one of the Ghanaian who should be ignored in decision making when it comes to Ghana' s desire for progress. Indeed I reasonably think u have a sub-human intellect. If ur not a robot let us see who u are. STOP the SHIT ...

• KO 7 years ago

Thank good you were created a "tall person" you are a fool.

• OJO 7 years ago

Heheheeee,a short man, midget, dwarf or if you like ' Not a human being' Nana Addo is your President for four year and if you can't coupe with that GO AND BUNRN THE SEA. Socrates.

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Why is the so-called president-elect attempting to speak in slangs? It stinks!!!

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 7 years ago

Envy. Envy would kill you.

• inercycl 7 years ago

Aponkye does not even know what slang is. So an accent slightly different from his, from someone who is lived and worked in the UK, stinks for this aponkye. It is aponkye that stinks and not the "slang" ( different accent) Wh ...

• Anointed 7 years ago

Hahahaaa, no wonder you are called aponkye. You think like one and act like one. Open your eyes and your ears well and listen to English. Goat man????????????????????

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 7 years ago

Kojo, you are a disgrace to mankind. This is the best news of 2016 after the elections.
    Nana, go ahead.
    Kwabena Ahoi is finally defeated.

• Ben 7 years ago

This should been done at the inception of our fourth republic but the framers of the constitution instead stopped at the election of Assembly men and women. This will enhance development because the people will vote for their ...

• Peal 7 years ago

Nana Addo is confused. He thinks he is still campaigning. someone wake this INCOMPETENT MESS UP and tell him campaign is over it's time to work.

• sam 7 years ago

Keep on. You think u are still on the campaign trail.

• AMATX USA 7 years ago

Enemies of progress what at all do you wants from Nana Adoo he has been chosen already change has come.

• n,p,p people 7 years ago

nana addo must not appoint inexperience people to key position, people like sammy awuke, john baadu, and the rest, their not experience, let them be at the communication team.of n,p,p , n,d,c performed poorly because of p ...

• Akua Ampofowaah 7 years ago

NPP GOT EXPERIENCED MEN AND WOMEN FOR ANY JOB TRUST THEM

• Eborenasa 7 years ago

This evil dwarf has started giving excuse. I soak the nation in the blood of Jesus. Any evil plans by this dwarf and his old men with sharp teeth to loot this to pay their debts and replace his father's stolen properties shal ...

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Another ranting lunatic who labels himself as "literate:

• KO 7 years ago

Can you determine height? Respect yourself if you do not have anything sensible to contribute!

• kofi adu 7 years ago

another good move. chiefs should rule their own land as dce. mothers know best.jail the ahwoi's.they never listened.

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

Choosing MMDCEs by election is a long overdue idea that many have, in the past, been fighting for. It should not be by Executive Order, though, else, some other President may try to abrogate it by similar decree in the future ...

• kwesi simple 7 years ago

Please Nana I am waiting for the free SHS , because Ghanaians voted for the free SHS so who I am to say I will not go to school because I completed in 2008 till now I have not gone to school , so please I am waiting for the f ...

• kwesi simple 7 years ago

We are waiting , God is going to Judge as .

• BAS 7 years ago

One of the best democratic decision ever made. Thumbs up

• Sammy 7 years ago

The best way to avoid winner takes all. Certainly districts will have to be conceded to the opposition which will disappoint supporters of a winning party as job for the boys will give way to competence.Both NDC and NPP were ...

• Mike 7 years ago

Tweaa DCEs and the like will never occupy those positions if there were elections in their time. Good morning to true Democracy. Nana must not bow down to pressure from his party to postpone this decision as happened to past ...

• papa kay 7 years ago

Massive massive move! This is what we need.

• MAN 7 years ago

WE NEED FREE EDUCATION, TOO MUCH TALKING. LOOYERS

• Mark Asamoah 7 years ago

Akuffo Addo think Ghanaians are fools do does it means that MMDCEs is going to be appointed in 2018.? I see he used to described someone as incompetent and now he is showing MUTUMBANZA leadership

Did yo

Did you understand what you read ?

• VIKTIM 7 years ago

I can't think far koraaa for this fool called Mark Asamoah, what at all are u saying? For your information, local level elections are held 2yrs after the general elections. So MMDCEs can only be elected in 2018. Before then, ...

• ksi 7 years ago

You see how dump you are, the man said in the article that MMDCE's will be ELECTED from 2018. This means in the first year the status quo will remain. Don't forget a bill will have to be passed in parliament before we kick st ...

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 7 years ago

MamaGhana does not need Regional Ministers; It is waste of public money. They should be renamed and appointed as Regional Commissioners or even as Gouvernors. Deputy Ministers and Regional Ministers have no role to play in de ...

• Concerned 7 years ago

The mayor or local chiefs can perform most of the functions of a regional minister. Like they say, too many cooks spoils the broth

• rich 7 years ago

ndc bought the mind of all ghanains with get today forget tomorrow and big men stealling is what is happenning in ghana now by that time ndc/npp operatives will be seen by citizens themselves tovote a good idear

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

If Nana is able to achieve this by 2018, he earned my vote for reelection. Taxes collected from every district will be used to develop them. Chief executives will be made accountable to their people and not the president who ...

• ALEENO 7 years ago

Good idea I love your plan God bless your leadership.people should elect them.if you don't perform well you will be voted out.GA EAST DCE is not performing good at all in the area.very Bad DCE I ever seen.

• Kuma 7 years ago

the problem with decentralization is the canker of Corruption normally initiated by some technocrats with endorsement by the Chief Executives. Decentralization as a Policy will succeed when officers engaged in Corruption are ...

• Justice 7 years ago

Deal with economy first

• R. Y. Sarpong 7 years ago

I agree, chiefs need to be part of governance, because they are leaders taking decisions affecting their people in the various communities. Ghana local government system should involve all the chiefs in district assemblies.

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

HAHAHA, AKUFO YOU PROMISED TO ELECT MMDCS IMMEDIATELY AS PRESIDENT, SO WHY SO QUICKLY YOU HAVE CHANGED YOUR EVIL MIND BY DECEIVING GHANAIANS?. OYIWA. WHEN YOU VOTED FOR KIND OF COCAINE,, SNIFFER DWARF AND VERY UGLY, WOW. ...

• Jay 7 years ago

It was these stupid lies and defamatory acts against Nana Addo that cost the NDC this huge margin of defeat. Wake up from the propaganda stupid coconut heads. Why can't y'all pray to help build a better Ghana. If Nana fails w ...

• Tony 7 years ago

There is the saying dat do onto others what you want others do 4 u, Nana n his npp make sure they destroy to come to power so expect same

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

*HIGHLIGHTS OF NPP MANIFESTO (STUDENTS SHOULD TAKE NOTE OF THE RED MARK)*
    *_____________________________*

????The next NPP government will abolish th ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

We have not had opportunity as a nation to be represented by good leadership." This is our moment" said Barack Obama. As the people of ghana prepare to usher in our new president " this is going to be our moment " ! "This is ...

• JAY 7 years ago

This is one NPP policy I highly disagree with,Ghana is too divided politically,you will allow NDC to regain power through this policy.NDC will undermine and sabotage your policies.

• ABA 7 years ago

I DISAGREE WITH YOU JAY. ITS ABOUT POWER AND VOICE OF THE PEOPLE AT THE DISTRICT AND LOCAL LEVEL. EVERY PERSON HAS THE RIGHT TO RUN FOR IT. IF YOU DONT PERFORM, YOU WILL BE THROWN OUT BY THE PEOPLE. THE DISTRICT COMMON FUND S ...

• Fk. 7 years ago

This should have been done long time ago, how can a guy whom only travel for a vote during election time imposed D.C. On people ? Not partisan person but this will help control cronism.

• ABA 7 years ago

This is a very SMART MOVE. CHANGE IN THE AIR. GHANA WINS OOOH!

• Waaaaaa luk 7 years ago

Some pple have issues comprehending the English language.

• Foster Lee 7 years ago

Is the President-elect going to appoint temporal MMDCEs till 2018 when they are elected ?
    He should come again.

• Foster Lee 7 years ago

The beginning of the end.

• Akora Sark 7 years ago

Please do away with all the so call Rubber-Stamp Chiefs. They only served NDC for their stomach interest, but not for the benefit of the State and the Community they represent.
    What a shame, and disgraceful Stomach Infrastru ...

• Akokraba Akwasi Adu Acheampong 7 years ago

This school boy can't think far they don't have vision

• KO 7 years ago

If President Akufo Addo does this that will be great for the governance of our country. The tool much centralization of our governance is not good

• Anointed 7 years ago

Go and tell ur father to wake up

• Anointed 7 years ago

Kojo Bonsu or whatever you call yourself, that's why you are former and did bizarre things in kumasi. You rather joined and are one of the babies with sharp teeth. We'll jail you all, ajeiiij

• KUTRIKU 7 years ago

THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN THE BEST LEGACY NANA WOULD HAVE BEQUEATHED TO GHANAIANS. IT WILL ALSO HELP THE PEO[PLE TO DECIDE WHO CAN BEST LEAD THE NATION FROM DISTRICT TO REGION TO NATHE NATIONAL LEVEL.

• Dela Abey 7 years ago

NDC is a party for greedy animals.

• Kobinadu 7 years ago

Electing MMDCEs per se is not the panacea. It all depends on the type of leadership from the top. We need to keep the DAs non partisan instead of getting it bogged down with partisanship. The current practice offers opportuni ...