Bullion van attack: Police officers jailed 36 months

Read Comments Comments (60)

• Koo Nimo 7 years ago

It should have been 10 year with hard labour

• damion 7 years ago

people steal goats and get 10 to 15 years. Theses guys managed to cause the death of another human being and get 36 months. Wow what is going on???

• brain rejuvinater 7 years ago

Human life is lost and 36 months the judge is happy of this sentence? Did our chief justice hear this and agree? Then hence for do cassava ordinary plantain stealing case should left free. Abaa. what are seeing Ghana? God Zen ...

• kwasi 7 years ago

This is just for escaping from lawful custody. robbery trial will be done separately

• kobooh 7 years ago

Something is missing here. Sentence mentioned here relate to fleeing from custody, what then is the sentence for committing the crime - robbery? Is the judge confused or out of his mind?

• CITIZEN ONE 7 years ago

These freaking village judges. have no clue what they adjudge. for them 12 months is a very very long time, considering the life expectancy of the average villager.

• KWEKU 7 years ago

NPP NPP NPP

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

3 years for robbery and murder? I see...What a mockery of the justice system.

• Esi 7 years ago

If we have police officers like these then Ghana is doomed.

• Garvah 7 years ago

What a nonsense? Armed robbery and they were given 36 months? what's wrong with our constitution? Others commit minor crimes and receives heavier sentence. That judge must be vetted.

• Ko 7 years ago

Did you understand the piece of information you read before insulting the learned judge? I will not blame you for your lack of understanding and attention to detail.
    If you care to know,the culprits were prosecuted on two co ...

• Paa willie 7 years ago

hi Garvah, pls note that a circuit court can not sentence a convicted person to more than 36month imprisonment.
    so,the suspects should have been tried in a district or high Court then they could have weightier sentences.
    H ...

• yoo 7 years ago

this one is for escaping. trial for murder will be done separately in Accra

• Carol 7 years ago

When will the case of Gregory Afoko and JB Danquah be heard? It's taken too long. Justice must be served.

• THE FACT 7 years ago

THIS IS CRAZY: SOMEONE STEAL A GOAT AND GOT 36 MONTHS JAILED, AND KILL A HUMAN BEING ALSO TO GET 36 MONTHS JAIL?

• ONIPANUA-TORONTO 7 years ago

A BAD PRECEDENT HAS BEEN SET. STEALING A GOAT WITHOUT THE USE OF GUNS EARNS A THIEF 5-10 YEARS IN JAIL.

• Jake/Accra 7 years ago

The policemen were jailed for the escape and not for the robbery and murder. I believe the robbery and murder trial will follow.

• prayer life 7 years ago

This is a complete injustice..How can you sentence police armed robbers who killed a fellow police man to just 36 month.!!!..God help Ghana

• Ndewura 7 years ago

These judges are joking!
    Did they give them 36 yrs or 36 months?

• Odikro 7 years ago

The law is an ass! A man who steal a fowl or a goat for Christmas, get 10 years and this dangerous criminals get 36 months? How does the law work? Somebody explain to me because I am no expert in law.

• Ko 7 years ago

Very well. Probably you did not take note of what you read. The part of the case that has been dealt with only relates to the culprits escape from lawful custody. The robbery and the others cases will also be tried. These wil ...

• KOFI YESU 7 years ago

why such soft sentence?....so incase they have hidden some of the loot,they can come back soon and enjoy it whiles the other officer who was killed has his family a life sentence without ever seeing their son,brother,husband ...

• Akwes 7 years ago

Why 36 months?

• Akos 7 years ago

Why only 36 months in prison for murder?
    Oh, mother Ghana!!!

• Phyllis 7 years ago

This judge is not serious. How could he give this sentence to armed robbers ? These police men should be jailed for life. The government must appeal. Mahama must do it before he hands over.

• KWEKU SOLO 7 years ago

Were these people jailed 36 months or 36 years? Justice has not been served. Can someone appeal against it?

• KAY 7 years ago

the 36 months is for THEIR ATTEMPTING TO ESCAPE AND ESCAPING. THE REAL TRIAL for the ROBERRY is ONGOIONG

• Papa G. 7 years ago

In that case whoever wrote this piece, should go back to school if what you've written yourself is correct.

• joe 7 years ago

some one kill and get 35 years police officer who know rather kill and get less than two years jail, what are we doing to the country? this judge ,we need to really find out on him.

• Quarshie 7 years ago

You thought u could use 36 months to beat our intelligence. Is it not only 3 yrs considering the crime been committed. Tweaaaaa. Somebody steals fowl n is jailed 5yrs. Suspected robbery attack almost amounting to death is 3 y ...

• kk 7 years ago

The 3 yrs is for attempting to escape and escaping... The robbery is yet to be....

• bestman 7 years ago

what a stupid judgement, 36 months? nonsense. and just a pick pocket for 5years

• annonymose 7 years ago

some few months ago a student of knust was jailed 10 years for robbing a fellow female student of her handst litte amount of money in her hand bag.in the case of this police men they were armed and rob in the day light yet th ...

• paa k 7 years ago

weak corrupt constitution of ours when people robb and put behind bars for 10yrs same citizens commit same crime and given 3yrs

• Kotakopia 7 years ago

This an anomaly that can only be explained by the concept of "SCRATCH MY BACK AND I SCRATCH YOURS".

• Ken. Mike 7 years ago

Where are the so called human right lawyers that argue on unnecessary things. This is a case that they should fight for right justice. I hope they said justice is for all and no one is above the law. Am very disappointed at ...

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

OMG this can't be for real ...

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

Must gave been 36 years for the two of them .. 36 months ??? Say no more

• kutpt 7 years ago

36 months for escaping from lawful custody .Robbery trial later.

• No 7 years ago

The judge is a pig

• Eddy 7 years ago

My brother that sentence is only for the escaping from the lawful custody, the murder case will also follow later

• Papa G. 7 years ago

As for this one paaaa I beg to differ. Someone steals a goat, fowl or a cat and goes in for years But a robbery incident that caused a man's life and destruction to state property and you give them 36 months and even to run c ...

• Prince 7 years ago

they should be jailed for life. this is mahama government for you. anything is possible

• I Smell The Blood. 7 years ago

Bribe, bribe! The judge was bribed. Full stop! Anass should go to work here.

• ChrisC 7 years ago

Idiots should learn something before coming on this site to comment. If you do not know how the law works find out and stop making stupid comments. Anytime somebody escapes from lawful arrest, it is cakewalk to convict and so ...

• vugaa 7 years ago

A man stolen chicken has been jail for 36 months and a lawmakers rub and killed also 36 months? hmmm. what's a laws.

• KB 7 years ago

When a man lost his life? 36 months? Interesting!!!

• Moojo 7 years ago

Bullion Van robbery got and jailed.

• fndnndndnd 7 years ago

got mujik ben nie. the judge fool how can you give 36months for killing a human being

• Kanawu 7 years ago

This is complete bullshit, someone who's supposed to maintain law and order has gone wayward and this is the outcome. It should have been for life to serve as deterrent to others. This case must be revisited.

• asem 7 years ago

36 months? something that led to the death of a human being?

• kalaanga 7 years ago

please the meat of the case has not been tackled yet.so please omg you hold your fire.this conviction is only for the escape from lawful custody.

• SLIMMART 7 years ago

DO YOU PEOPLE EVEN READ TO UNDERSTAND THE ISSUE AT STAKE? THESE TWO HAVE BEEN SENTENCED TO 36 MONTHS FOR UNLAWFULLY ESCAPING FROM JAIL. THIS JAIL SENTENCE HAS GOT NOTHING TO DO WITH THEIR MAIN CASE OF ARMED ROBBERY, WHICH WIL ...

• ko 7 years ago

I wonder y they were not charged for murder and 36months I'm afraid Ghana we are doomed

• DAAKYEHENE 7 years ago

Am a security personnel n I think there is something behind this,how can police officers kill someone during robbery n face jail sentence for 36 months? This I crazy Ghana.

• joe 7 years ago

star of the future Ramzy, was jailed for 10 years for robbery and these men who caused the death of an innocent driver in a robbery incident have been jailed for 3 years. What an injustice in the land! Can we get a lawyer ...

• joe 7 years ago

the youth must rally against these injustice and corrupt systems in Ghana. We assure the executives of the land that Ghana is on a TIME BOMB. We will come after u

• Redfish 7 years ago

Ah Mr judge add more years

• Nana asabere 7 years ago

They are lucky enough 100 years self is too small?

• Kyen-Kyen 7 years ago

Give us complete report. Are they waiting for a trial ?