Money for free SHS will come from Heritage Fund - Osafo Marfo

Read Comments Comments (138)

• Kay 7 years ago

LET THE PARENTS PAY FEES. I WANT TO PAY MY CHILDREN'S FEES.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

the oil money is gone now that the competent thieves have arrived

• ...AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

The free education is going to solve many problems. Anyway, why are the northern NDC politicians not criticizing Nana's free SHS. It is because they have benefited from it.

• Citizen 7 years ago

At least you acknowledge that they're competent. That's enough for me.

• worde stephen 7 years ago

He is not de person to rule us.He is a criminal.

• Oboy 7 years ago

You are big fool to day that Akufo and Gangs are thieves.kwasia boy

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

Education is the key.United States, Japan UK and other advanced world have the same program. Even more expensive. You will prefer a lot people to be illiterates right? Mmoa NDC with animal brains. Ghana is moving forward and ...

• frank 7 years ago

Wo maame ashawoni no na oye aboa.
    Kwasiampani wo maame turumu kaikain.
    SEE THIS PRODUCT OF PROSTITUTION
    INSULTING PEOPLE

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Who told education is totally free in the US? Ghanaians with myopic minds

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF 7 years ago

STUPID FOOL WHO TOLD YOU THAT THE UNITED STATES AND UNITED KINGDOM HAVE THIS STUPID POLICY,?.

• Kushman 7 years ago

So u guys preferred the misuse of the oil money by Mahama to build mansions in Dubai. Buy and donate V8 to chiefs???

• Ghanaian 7 years ago

what's the heritage fund for? future of Gh? Are students not the future of Gh? just use the money judiciously and wisely. education is the biggest investment that guarantees gain 100% of the time

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

I think the whole issue of charging "Land Poll" tax for Citizens and Expatriates should be revisited

• Blantyne 7 years ago

Yes middle income status means majority of citizens are increasingly becoming educated.

• kk 7 years ago

Already lots of school leavers without jobs......create jobs.......lobby companies to bring manufacturing bases here......kenya has a Volkswagen plant......Uganda is yet to get same........after free education.....what next.. ...

• Kushman 7 years ago

Think with ur brain! Investors will come when we have a strong and knowledgeable workforce

• Kwami US 7 years ago

After free education, free unemployment will follow

• pilolo 7 years ago

now our future is gone, they will chop it all b4 they die. akuffo addo is a common criminal

• lone prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

They were doing everything to come to power because of the oil money for the future of Ghana and our children.They should find another means not our future heritage funds shalom peace maker

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

We are not going to allow them to touch the Heritage Fund la! I do quite remember that when Johnson Kwadwo Asiedu Nketia and other suggested the same for the massive infrastructure projects under Mill/Mahama's administration, ...

• Alhaji Tunde 7 years ago

If u won't allow them to use it for educational purposes then, go and stop them and use it for bus branding

• Citizen 7 years ago

Why create a Heritage Fund for an uneducated generation? Use your gift of brain given to you by Jehovah to think.

The one not thinking straight is you. Now, ask yourself as to why Nigeria, Angola, Gabon and many others that are having tens of billion of barrels more in oil reserves as compared to that of Ghana are not doing what Kukurudu ...

• Lori 7 years ago

QUIZ! Who is the ugliest, shortest President in the whole wide world?

• alpha 7 years ago

U r very stupid.
    Please show decorum

• Alhaji Tunde 7 years ago

I see that u are a mental case because you have observed that now that there is a reliable source of funding free education, your useless NDC is gone forever. Useless crack of people who only think of their selfish interests. ...

• Nana Appiah 7 years ago

What's wrong with this akuffo Addo and the Npp?? once that fund is spent, how are they going to replace and sustain that stupid free education scheme..?? Ghana is Doomed !!

• Ko Menewo Mienu 7 years ago

If boarders have 3 square mills, the day students also deserve three meals and free transportation

• Kushman 7 years ago

Lol...saa? Keep dreaming

• Good evening Ghanafuo 7 years ago

Look at sarfo marfo chop chop mouth. People with big mouth are known to chop money waawaa. No wonder nana put him there to help chop our heritage fund. Old men chopping the cash for the younger generation. God punish them

They are using this free SHS as a bait to have the access to the Heritage Fund, haphazardly run their so-called free SHS to enrich them shameless selves. I have seen this movie over and over again. In fact, Ghana numerous woe ...

• Nii Nyke 7 years ago

Free education is not a bad idea but my question is who get to go for free boarding school. Why not let those who want their children go to a specific school outside their home district pay for boarding and lodging.After al ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

Does this free education policy affect private school students?
    If implemented as indicated by Osafo-Marfo, there is a likelihood of tremendous increase in the student population. Does the country have adequate facilities ...

• James carter 7 years ago

I believe you have raised a very good point here. Those who want to go to the board house, I believe should be made to pay at least for boarding. Good point!

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Good and sensible question. That was my question too. Why is NPP rushing to implement vital policies that need to studied thoroughly

• NIPA YE BAD. 7 years ago

NANA ADDO IF YOU TOUCH THE HERITAGE FUND YOU WILL OVERTHROW NEXT MONTH,FOOL YOU THINK GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS,IF YOU WANT MOMEY TO PAY YOUR DEBTS GO TO AKYEM LAND.

• CHAMPION ATTA 7 years ago

THE CREATING, LOOTING AND STEALING IS ABOUT TO START!! GOD HELP US! NANA ADDO SAID SOMETIME BACK THAT "THE SYAKES IN GHANA'S ELECTIONS WAS HIGH BECAUSE OF OIL MONEY" BY THE TIME THEY LEAVE, THEY WOULD HAVE HELPED THEMSELVES T ...

• Kushman 7 years ago

and What is your argument? What is wrong with free education. Certainly, you have the choice of taking your kids to a private school and pay taxes to help the state or simply use your money to fund free food or whatever for t ...

• stev 7 years ago

no go area. don't touch the heritage fund. don't. !!!!!!!!!!

new bleed of thieves

• NDC 7 years ago

Northers have been enjoying free education for decades no matter where they school... Now that the whole GH is going to benefit they wanna block it? It's either we makes SHS free for all or cancel the free SHS for northerners ...

• Yakubu 7 years ago

The same Heritage Fund that the NPP voceferously warned the NDC NOT to touch??? . What kind of politics is this we are witnessing in Ghana???

• Abe Alasto 7 years ago

You were going to touch the FUND to supplement the Budget deficit which had been occassioned by GVT's frivilous expenditure.....

Now the name of the FUND is Heritage FUND, let us use it for that purpose

What funds will support the cedi?

Akufo and his gang of thieves

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

Folks listen me the difference between the NPP and the non yielding NDC could be traced to their derivations. Whilst the NPP was founded on Ideals and dreams to bring Ghana to its position as the black star and hope for the ...

• Mohammed 7 years ago

It's so funny. Dishonest people. NPP has always fought for the heritage fund not to be touched and now they are turning around to do same. Allah save us all

• Abe Alasto 7 years ago

NPP has always fought for the Heritage FUND to be preserved for the future of our kids.
    Now education is the future of our kids

• Blantyne 7 years ago

Good move yes

thieves, thieves, thieves

• Ishmael Otchere 7 years ago

I think the government can use the free SHS to boost agriculture. The free meals should be mostly come from local food and drinks to create market for agribusinesses.

• SAROUK MISSILES/NIMA 7 years ago

THANKS NANA, BUT WE WILL VOTE NPP OUT IF THEY DON'T RETRIEVE ALL THE STOLEN TAX PAYERS MONEY FROM NDC THIEVES. THEY USE THEIR FAMILIES NAME TO BUY PROPERTIES HOME AND ABROAD

stealers

• Papillon 7 years ago

Let the illiterates keep applauding till they realise.soon that the nation is being taken for a ride. I say Ghana is finished kwata kwata.

• Naniema 7 years ago

Eii a asem be beba da bi yoooo

Hmmmm NPP.

• ogya 7 years ago

We told u but won't listen . npp for you

here to chop and fleece Ghana

• JUST SHAKIN MY HEAD 7 years ago

SO THIS IS HOW YOU PEOPLE ARE GOING TO STEAL THE HERITAGE FUND???????CHAEEEEEEEEE NO WONDER BECAUSE FOR EVERY 1 CEDI SPEND ON FREE SHS U WILL DEFINITELY STEAL 10 CEDIS. CHAEEEEEE HERITAGE FUND IS IN GOD DAMN TROUBLE

• Papa 7 years ago

THESE CRIMINALS SHOULD NOT TOUCH THE HERITAGE FUND FOR THIS PURPOSE. LIARS CALLED NPPians.

• SAROUK MISSILES/NIMA 7 years ago

GUESS WHICH ETHNIC GROUPS ARE BITTER, JEALOUS UNHAPPY NOW. AND SOME VOLTARIANS ARE ALWAYS BRAGGING THEY ARE EDUCATED. BECAUSE OF RAWLINGS THEY GOT ALL THE SCHOLARSHIPS STOLEN FROM POOR COCOA FARMERS AND NOW THEY DON'T WANT ...

• Sam 7 years ago

U are just a stupid fool!!!!! The heritage fund is not meant for this purpose

• Koo 7 years ago

Are you for real? What has that Rawlings done for Volta that he didnt do for the rest of the country. By the time he left office Akan areas were more developed than V/R. Compare to Kuffour. I just realised how JJ and his mini ...

• ghanaman 7 years ago

The Heritage Fund must be used to provide the best education money can buy. Next, is of course, the quality of education! Bravo!

The Heritage Fund is not to be touched, period. That money is reserved for future generation when our meager quantities of oil reserves run dry in some 25 years time. Both political divide was adamant that this Heritage Fund ...

• Nana Appiah 7 years ago

I think they are left with 10-15yrs tops for their meager oil to bottom up...so if they don't think right, the next generation is in trouble for sure..!!

• cool 7 years ago

One Party cannot and should not dissipate the HERTAGE FUND

• KK Tuffour (Adjringanor) 7 years ago

AMEND THE PETROLEUM LAW BECAUSE YPU HVE TH E MAJORITY TO CREATE LOOTE AND SHARE ABI? OUR POLITICIANS PASS LAWS TO BUY 6YR OLD CARS THAT BELONG TO THE STATE AT 2000 GHC ONLY AND THE CITIZENS WHO ARE TAX PAYERS PAY EXORBITANT I ...

• Desiree 7 years ago

This is absolutely crap:do you want tax payers money to pay for rich kids:then do for rulral kids:no kids left behind for our farmers only

• Desiree 7 years ago

There is no school infrastructure how do you give free SHS

• Yakubu 7 years ago

That is how u will benefit from the oil money.not just the name heritage fund whilst politicians are Chopin it! NDC symperthisers grow up.

• William 7 years ago

Tell them every Ghanaians should enjoy the money I support.

• Sam Y 7 years ago

Yakubu
    I think u should shutup if u don't know what the heritage fund is meant for....
    It was this same fun Mahama wanted to use to solve the energy crisis but the Npp kicked against it....
    The energy crisis we faced some ...

• Good evening Ghanafuo 7 years ago

Look at sarfo marfo chop chop mouth. People with big mouth are known to chop money waawaa. No wonder nana put him there to help chop our heritage fund. Old men chopping the cash for the younger generation. God punish th ...

• peep 7 years ago

If u know nothing,don't talk anyhow,Nana is nt poor as too use de little Money left by de N D C's.Which of Nana's children is now attending S H S ,wat ever dis man is doing is for our young siblings. Let's pray for our presi ...

• teshie 7 years ago

progressively free programme in your mother or father bed room foolish man like you .The mahama lead Administration never start any progressively free programme. is a liar i came to your office more then four time nothing hap ...

• Jude 7 years ago

my friend stop the lies .... we all know Mahama started it n he did not use the heritage fund.... Npp should b wide if not they will b in power for just one term

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Ndcfour akronfour. Shut your stinking mouth. Thieves!

• Kojo 7 years ago

Go to school. Toilet cleaner!

• Abugre 7 years ago

I told u people yesterday only fools will Jubilate free shs. Minority don't allow this stupid idea to work.I want a lawyer to help me sent this to supreme Court.

• your fada waaa 7 years ago

Fools you people have take your children abroad and you want us to get free education ..abuaaa ..nana your modaaaa waaaa

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WITH SUCH A BIG PROMISE ON FREE SENIOR SCHOOL EDUCATION,CANNOT BE ACHIEVED IN A HEAVILY INDEPTED POOR COUNTRY(HIPC) IN THE WORLD, CONSIDERING THE HUGE FINACIAL CHALLENGES AND DIFFICULTIES FACING THE SENIOR HIGH SCHOOLS AND BR ...

• Jojo 7 years ago

OH LORD, WHY DID THE MAJORITY OF GHANAIANS VOTE THESE CRIMINALS AGAIN TO POWER AND TO DESTROY THE LAND OF OUR BIRTH.

WHEN ONE ANALYSIS THE POLITICAL SITUATIONIN THE COUNRY FOR THE PAST TEWNTY FIVE(25)YEARS,IT WAS WRONG FOR ...

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Who is going to pay the public debt of over $120 billion?
    I can foresee Ghana going through heavy mess.In 1966,when Kwame Nkrumah was overthrown,Busia canceled free education for elementary schools.He said it's the responsib ...

• NANA 7 years ago

WE NEED FREE SHS AND REDUCTION IN UTILITY BILLS.

• Ghana First 7 years ago

Oh my God so Npp has now turn around and want to use the heritage fund? Wow wonders shall never end. My goodness so our future is not guaranteed under this government then. How can't they use their brains to create that wealt ...

• SHADOW 7 years ago

Did they look at the cultural implications of this? How will students respect their parents knowing they didn't contribute anything to their education dn welfare? Taking care of kids have sociocultural importance and taking s ...

• Raymond Abbiw 7 years ago

What at all is going on with Ghanaian leaders?

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Mr Minister,please go to Nigeria and ask them what happened to the oïl money on education in the early 80s.Surely,they will laugh at you,it's not too late to call any Nigerian friend of yours and discuss this crazy Policy.Th ...

• NIPA YE BAD. 7 years ago

NO KEEP THE HERITAGE FUND,THIS CRIMINALS WILL USE THE HERITAGE MONEY AND SHARE FOR THEMSELVE,E!AKUFFO ADDO STARTING STEALING FROM NOW.

• nii 7 years ago

IF YOU GUYS WERE SMART, YOU WILL CONCENTRATE ON CREATING JOBS AND FIXING THE ECONOMY.

• bill. international-man 7 years ago

Pleace let cool heads prevail,the solution of the cost, this should not be an issue.the way is just add some structures to the existed once in every community and convert the boarding to day in order to absorb more students.T ...

Hey NPP !!! So using the heritage funds is one of the innovative ways of raising money as promised by Dr Bawumia.

• Kofi/USA 7 years ago

Wake up folks. Educating all our children is one of the keys to Ghana's advancement. Look at Singapore and Malaysia. These politicians spend more money than what it will cost to fund education from kindergarten to university.

• Adu Phillips (Toronto) 7 years ago

Kofi Npp stopped NDC not to touch the fund and that led NDC to IMF.

That was the only way to avoid the IMF programme at that time but Npp was against it so why touching it now if they feel they have to meet their campaign ...

• Paapidi 7 years ago

Not to touch the fund to pay debts like NDC wanted to do. But to educate our children is the way to a better future for Ghana.

Its takes a fool to know a fool. Your thinking cat is bankrupt. Our oil is only good for 20 years so what are we going to use at that time to fund our education? You see your foolishness or you need more education?

• Paapidi 7 years ago

By the end of the 20 years most of the students would be gainfully employed and pay taxes.........Do you need a new brain?

And what will be the population at that time My wiseman? Do you know how much we were buying crude oil 10 years ago and today?

The student population will increase by another 100 fold in the next 20 years whiles oil price ...

Ignore that fool since some of them don't use their God's charitable given brains usefully.

• ASH 7 years ago

Sources from the oil revenue is not stable. You do not control the revenue flow from this source. Find a reliable source. And remember you do not control population growth,sharp changes in technology which requires immediate ...

• KOJO 7 years ago

Don't mind them do your job

• Paapidi 7 years ago

No one in the NDC is smart enough to know that using the Heritage fund for free education is right on point. Educating students free in second-cycle institutions is the way to a better future. I give NPP A++.

• Kwame Asante. 7 years ago

Sure, this good news from old veteran Osafo Marfo. This will enable the entire country well equipped and qualified for the advancement and progress of the nation.

• KOJO 7 years ago

don't mind them do your job nana

• mahmoud 7 years ago

If education is expensive, try ignorance which is free.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians, let us be wise now and ask ourselves a very simple question as citizens of this nation. What do you actually benefit from your country Ghana? But you call yourself a Ghanaian.When you go to UK or U.S.A, as ...

• Naa Nana 7 years ago

You are very stupid to comment this way. You call those who established the fund for npp to come for it in easy way as stealers. remember NDC could have used the money to fund the free SHS and claim glory. Very stupid people ...

• pro se 7 years ago

Npp always go for the easiest way.they went for hipic easy way.Greece avoided it.now untouched oil money saved from previous government.so where are the men they said they had.they were all taxi drivers in UK and NY.

My brother thank you so much. I keep on saying Npp are lazy people when it comes to using their brains to turn a situation around. Hipc was one reason and now they want to touch this fund.

The intention of this fund was t ...

• KONKONSA 7 years ago

How would you save money for the future of your kids and deny them education now?Where is the logic. What is the value of illiteracy vis a vis the gains of a fund? For you its an easy option cos you're shallow minded. Its ...

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Don't mind these Uber drivers and Bus conductors who come home and pretend to be expert in this, expert in that

• KKD 7 years ago

There soo many fools on this page .NDC fools , What has the Heritage Funds benift to our people at Villages . Mahama has stole all this money since we got Oil .thank God NPP has come and there want every Ghanaian to enjoy sam ...

• James 7 years ago

if u have no sense left in ur skull don't talk on this platform.... We are not talking about Npp politics here..... fool !!!! stop going for the easiest way of solving problems... Remember the person u are calling a thief use ...

• Akwasi 7 years ago

I think is a good idea. In this case the heritage foundation would be distributed equally. The future is our children. Don't leave for one man to chop as Opuni did at Cocoa board.

• John 7 years ago

my friend it's not a foundation.... awwoooo Ghana

• Sly 7 years ago

Go on and share the wealth for everyone. Everyone deserves a bit of the resources from the Nation.

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

The NPP should go look for money to fund their free SHS. Stupid criminals that is what you are! Leave our heritage funds alone or risk looking the 2020 elections for accountability sake. You have our mandate to rule for just ...

• Desiree 7 years ago

OsafoMarfo have been a bad economist from decades:Him And Ofori-Atta were said to be good economist never had before but our country financial issues were from decades:They were misappropriation of IMF economic reform program ...

• Nana Ama 7 years ago

Eiii gyemii ni. Can someone reserve food for the strenger, n let his kids go hungry? Education is the best thing to grow a nation. So de ndc wanna tell us dat de intelligent kids shd be ignored for us to save dis heritage fun ...

• wahab 7 years ago

Kay you better keep your mouth close l don't think you're having kids even one

• Jenni powers 7 years ago

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now **0265800003*,, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? E ...

• PATAPAA TRUMP 7 years ago

"Mo nya nhunu hwee koraa, akakakra mo be hunu Akufo Ado suban ankasankasa"

• wahab 7 years ago

Kay l don't think you're having kids even one

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI. ESQ 7 years ago

DEAR HON SENIOR MINISTER YAW OSAFO MARFO, CEO OF STANBIC, DAILY GRAPHIC AND THE READING PUBLIC OF GHANAWEB.COM, TO REDPECTFULLY NOW SPEAKING AS A PROFESSIONAL LAWYER REQUESTING TO KNOW WHAT IS THE HERITAGE MONEY/ FUND? WH ...

• King of powers 7 years ago

This is a man who can bring back your life about all your spiritual problems spiritual diseases spiritual attacks problems madness child Barrens or you want to get quick riche search for positions and many more call for all h ...

• Naniama II 7 years ago

The NDC set up the GetFund which generated lots of money from which educational projects and equipment have been bought. What is wrong with the NPP from not re-examining the GetFund to see how much can be generated into rathe ...

• worde stephen 7 years ago

akuffor is a real criminal! O! WHAT FAKE PRESIDENT
    ?OH GHANA

?
    !
    !

• Koby 7 years ago

The GetFund is the best possible source of funding the free SHS scheme. The Heritage Fund is a no no no. The Nation may only start using funds from the Heritage in 20-25 years time. Please listen to the voice of the people.

• William 7 years ago

He can do it, if he wants to.

• Kofi Sam - USA 7 years ago

If we want our kids to value their education , then they must not have a free ride for every thing through the course of their studies . In general people don't value things they obtain free . At least they must be responsib ...

• Sam 7 years ago

U n likeminded people like u should use ur heads small... The heritage fund is not meant for what this dwarf president wants to use it for... This fund is meant to b used in 50 years to support the generation at that time whe ...

• BAD IDEA 7 years ago

Áll of the president's proposals are good except the free food. I think students should be allow to have choices of what they eat. In this way the Ala-carte system is the best. That is what they have in the U.S school system ...

• Knockout 7 years ago

Every body must pay school fees,free Education will produce lazy students and lazy teachers. They won't know what hard work is.by the way is this includes free uniforms.Ghana will be busy making babies because of free educati ...

• Dominic owusu Ansah 7 years ago

This is the behaviour of politics in Ghana if we don't change from it there will be no development in Ghana

• Sankofa 7 years ago

The proposal is an incredible waste of the Heritage fund.

The money was meant to be invested for the next generation so that they could also benefit from the oil money. Using it to subsidise education is not what was inten ...

• Obonto 7 years ago

My fellow countrymen please if you think education is too expensive. Try costing illiteracy/ ignorance and see how much it would cost the country.

• Thinking 7 years ago

Kay you are big fool to say this