$600m/year needed to fund Free SHS - IMANI

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Naa Akosua 7 years ago

This is peanuts if they stop embezzling money to buy V8's,sleeping with prostitutes building houses at DUBAI,ALBERTA CANADA and LONDON.May the lord be with us

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: AGYA KWABENA------- The British Foreign Secretary, Boris Johnson, who is currently in Ghana was cycling to work when he was the Mayor of London. He never used a car to work but he was a very effective mayor . In Ghana ...

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

boarding students must be exempt from free shs. if u want to send ur kid to boarding. u must pay or be eligible for a govt scholarship or a scholarship from the school. this will force most boarding schools to close down and ...

• Desiree 7 years ago

Yes:Cars are said to be property in Ghana therefore own a car an assets but cars are pathway to indebthness.A nation that spent all their resources in vehicles are there for nothing but bankruptcy

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

How many V8''S can finance this?. Face reality and let's all advice Nana to subsidise SHS education but not to finance all. The Heritage Fund can also be used to create jobs the unemployment masses in Ghana. Better still they ...

• ETWSE. 7 years ago

SHUT UP PAA KWESI YOU HAVE EXTENDED YOUR STUPIDITIES FROM FACE BOOK TO GHANA WEB TOO.WE ARE WATCHING FOOLS LIKE YOU TO SHOW YOUR STUPIDITIES.

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

So this imani knows how much the government spend recklessly in a year?? If they stop that kind of spending,free education is nothing to worry about.Give us a break!

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Check the statistics and advice Nana

• Aswad 7 years ago

Oh even chairman WONTUMI can finance a quarter of it if claims to get 1million a day.

• pilolo 7 years ago

we have a devilish wicked man as president who wants to dissipate the money for future generations, this man is not just wicked for deciding to loot n share our money but a big fool. we have voted for a fool.

• Citizen 7 years ago

I think you are the '...devilish wicked man... not just wicked ... but a big fool...' who doesn't see any wisdom in investing in the future generations through good education for them. Why do we have the penchant to insult pe ...

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Very bad decision to invest all our Heritage Fund to Free SHS which when they graduated from the University no jobs will be available for them.
    What about the other sectors of th Economy? Parents still pay their wards fee an ...

• ETWSE. 7 years ago

DURNG MAHAMAH'S TIME WE LEARNT THAT,THAT MONEY HAS BEEN USED.CAN YOU TELL US HOW THAT MONEY WAS USED?.YOU BETTER SHUT UP LET MEN OF WISDOM USE THEIR MINDS.BRAINLESS FOOL,IT WAS MAHAMAH TIME THAT WE HAVE BUDGET DEFICIT,IF A FO ...

• anus taya 7 years ago

Why borrow money and pay interest when you already have money sitting under your bed? The so call experts can go to hell. We need proper investment and there is none better than investing into our children. Ghana has more tha ...

• Yay Martin 7 years ago

Free SHE we wait for him

• Kwam 7 years ago

False

• Nan 7 years ago

I don't support free boarding and free meal. Parent's who are willing to take their kids to boarding house should pay for the boarding utility bill and the meals.Day students is 100% free with nothing to pay.

• BOY KOFI 7 years ago

Nobody is against free shs,it must be done well but not just for political jamboree.
    There's no sense in feeding rich families at the best public schools.I'm all for free education even up to university level, especially if ...

BOARDING SCHS IN WESTERN COUNTRIES ARE FOR THE PRIVILEGED, MOSTLY WHITES OR ASIANS WITH DEEP POCKETS. THE ONLY MINORITIES OR BLACKS U SEE ARE FEW AND THEY ARE KIDS OF WEALTHY PARENTS OR WERE ADMITTED THRU A SCHOLARSHIP FROM T ...

• Ato 7 years ago

Where will boarding schools get the scholarship money from?

• nana 7 years ago

this is what you get when you vote 73yrs old man to look after your future... If 91% of the oil revenue is not enough for you to implement your free shs policy, What will the 9% heritage fund do.

• Koo 7 years ago

Lol you can hustle educate your people so they can learn to create jobs

• who cares 7 years ago

Imani we don't need your coating figures ,creating impression the money is too much right. We spend money for unnecessary things in this country. unlike something which Will help future generation. Masa, Ghanaians need educat ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

If so, then they should stop spending money on unnecessary things and use it judicially on their so-called free SHS among others, instead of our Heritage Fund. It's that simple.

• kojo 7 years ago

Mr.Stephenson, please remember that we have big brains at work so it's easy to fund it,after all if economy is managed well we have money for these good social policies.

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

8 yrs of waiting for these big brains.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

must be joking... this FREE FREE FREE SSS has not been CAREFFULLY THOUGHT-OUT... five years ago Akufo did not know how much it would cost and he still dies not know. The so-called competent men are loud and empty

SO WHERE ARE THE REVENUES AND PROCEEDS FROM NATURRAL RESOURCES LIKE TIMBER, DIAMONDS, OIL, GOLD, COCOA ETC? HY HVNT THEY BEEN INVESTED IN A NATIONAL 401K OR GH SOVEREIGN WEALTH FUND? IF 10PERCENT OF ALL REVENUE FROM THE SALE ...

• sharp. 7 years ago

@naa akosua..you are the prostitute they have being sleeping with..kwasia baa...you don't even have common sense.

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

Sharp, your mum is an animal PROSTITUTE bitch sleeping with the brainless animals in the wild forest and you bitch was born out of that.MOTHERFUCKER.Son of a brainless animal bitch

• King of powers 7 years ago

Powerful spritual man Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in your life, I help people in the following (1) ins ...

• Naniama II 7 years ago

Mahama=reality=free SHS but program spread progressively over time in order to sustain it
    Akuffo Addo=delusional=FREE without thinking about the funding and how to sustain it

Bawumiah=MUTE while his boss, Osafo Marfo is d ...

• ghana boy 7 years ago

god help gh

• MANNUEL 7 years ago

Ghanaians have gotten the Government they deserve. Ghana is in real trouble times, our future is now in the hands of gamblers and only God knows what is lying ahead for the millions of people that are unable to analys the dec ...

• kw 7 years ago

Currently how much is being spent on education? The basic schools re paying their examination fees.Are we going to spend 50% of our GDP(Gross Domestic Product on education alone to the neglect of other equally important secto ...

• NDC 7 years ago

This is no where near even 2 percent of our GDP which is around 40 billion dollars

When the wise rules a nation citizens become free and happy! NDC has really waisted the progress of this nation for far too long. Nana Onyame Nhyira Wo!

• Desiree 7 years ago

A path to a bankruptcy nation

• Crypsti 7 years ago

It not fair if the grant discriminate against other students. It could have been spreaded to cover all students proportionally eg 25% with the hope of increasing with time.

• Oman 7 years ago

So u know how much to spend a year for free shs and you didn't tell mahama to fix dumzor since 2013 u know how much cost for Akua donkors car and the house foolish people

• Jojo 7 years ago

Aaaa so how much did currption take from ghana economy each day and telling us this baby's mathematics that is huge give us break and think like humans

• King of powers 7 years ago

Powerful spritual man Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in your life, I help people in the following (1) ins ...

• Kwam 7 years ago

Funding SHS from the Heritage Fund should not a big deal for Ghanaians, after all well educated, highly qualified skilled Ghanaian is a natural resource that can even generate more income to the country. Cubans Doctors are be ...

• Agyemang Boye 7 years ago

My humble question is that, if all these things are going to be free, then which student would want to be a day student? which parent would want the child to be a day school student?

• Danso 7 years ago

Everything is possible in Ghana, and free SHS is possible also.God Bless Nana and the NPP. Azaa IMANI Stories.

• Nshyira 7 years ago

Why do we have to save money for the future generations if current generation are not taking care of. Use part now and save part for the future.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Spray our caocao indiscriminatively,close the waste channels at the customs,tema,takoradi for instaces and reduces the no.of appointees,paliament exp.and the deal is done.

• Atoa 7 years ago

600m dollars? And people are clapping for such an idea? How many well equipped schools can this build? is it not more sensible to build more schools and provide the necessary amenities and books for students instead of using ...

• Vcky 7 years ago

If we really think about the future of our country, i think they should implement it think about the selfishness and the looting, why don't they stop and take care of the people, after all we are all one people, why should ...

• Kanewu 7 years ago

Yet again, you can tell that most Ghanaians have a problem with understanding English. No where in the minister's statement suggest that we should use all the money in the heritage fund to bankroll free compulsory Shs . What ...

• Peter 7 years ago

We can create a fund for the free SHS. Then a backing law from parliament can require every mobile phone user in Ghana irrespective of the mobile network provider to contribute Ghc 6 every month to the free SHS fund. The Ghc ...