Akufo-Addo to construct ‘Dubai underground’ at Nkrumah Circle

Read Comments Comments (100)

• Gye Nyame 7 years ago

I think the drainage issue should have been solved first before building the flyover. It is like the cart before the horse.

• GhanaWeb 7 years ago

It's good you "think", because you have no clue.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

The Kokofu lawyer says it will cost $700

• don`t care !!! 7 years ago

Mr.Square peg in a round hole!the Dutch are the best constructors of drainage..not the above you mention

Mr.Atta-Akyea Square peg in a round hole!even you are far away 4rom the solution...first find out whatz the cause of ...

• Kwadaso 7 years ago

THANK YOU NANA AKUFO FOR YOUR FOWARD THINKING.THIS PROJECT IF PLANNED PROPERLY WILL BE ANSWER TO MULTIPLE OF OUR PROBLEMS.I WISH WE COULD USE OUR OWN ENGINEERS AND WORKERS BUT IF NOT THEN MY CHOICES ARE ISRAEL,CHINA OR BRAZI ...

• ICONIC-07 7 years ago

The Chimp and his cohorts don't like Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah and will do change the brilliant name of the circle from Kwame Nkrumah Circle to Dubai Circle
    The Chimp and his ethnocentric divisive and inward-looking Ashanti ...

• H.S. FIRE 7 years ago

Stop this chimp nonsense, and get serious my friend.

• $martphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Remember this; It is not enough to earn & carry about a certificate! That's phase 1. Life is about relevance & providing solutions. Someone right now somewhere is looking for someone who can do something for him/her & get pai ...

• Critical 7 years ago

The NDC always puts the cart before the horse. The only Government that will build a sugar factory and then shut it down after two weeks for repairs because there is no sugar cane to process.

If this is not foolishness I d ...

• peeeeee 7 years ago

Cart before the horse!!!u stole the words out of my mouth,,idiotic government doing cosmetics before election,,but not thinking about the real deal

• Naana 7 years ago

Who were the contractors who sold the plan to NDC with underground drainage and none of our engineers questions the project before it took off? Interesting.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Exactly! So, count the story twisted.

• National Destruction Party Mahama 7 years ago

All Mahama and his wasteful crooks wanted to do was to inflate figures without thinking about the maintenance and long term care of the projects. They did this to deceive the NDC fools and now the whole thing is coming apart. ...

• onipanua 7 years ago

Shame!!What has your NPP government so far done?Only talking since they came to power.They have done nothing.Only talking and nothing else.

• Vic 7 years ago

Shut your mouth NPP came two months ago, wait and see. NDC are thieves, plunders. They have been voted out because they have been found out to be the wrong ones .

• GhanaWeb 7 years ago

Look who is talking. Clueless talkatives

• kokoti 7 years ago

we are watching npp only talk talk empty brains they will soon forget and sleep after the rains talk big English saaaaa there is no sense

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

John Mahama's rush to construct the Nkrumah Circle over pass without a drainage system is another political hogwash projects that The dead goat and his criminal infested NDC tried to use to deceive Ghanaians to give him more ...

• Ama Nyarkoa 7 years ago

Steve u re a big fool....

• kk 7 years ago

U re the fool..kwasea boy

• kk 7 years ago

U re even a girl and insulting a man,kwasea girl

• Ulysess, USA 7 years ago

Why damn Dubai when there are better references, like Shanghai, Tokyo and LA - the first World capital of Fly Overs!. Oh, I have forgotten most of you Ghanaians have only heard of Dubai from your Arab masters. I visited Dub ...

• babs 7 years ago

Ur hatered is understandable.poor people don't go there.

• Buju B 7 years ago

Focus on another capital town Accra is not the only city that needs development,pretenders).

• Nanaba Sika 7 years ago

Big minds are talking that is how a country should rule

• Kwesi, Maryland 7 years ago

Stop the nonsense! The circle is not Dubai!

• RIGHTMAN aka LOVEJOY - USA 7 years ago

Hope he is not going for a loan.

• Hohoho, montreal 7 years ago

Below

• King Lomotey 7 years ago

Critically study what causes the perennial flooding in Accra before you contact foreign experts. Our engineers would be able to handle the problem if they are given the permission & the money.

• yash kugmoor17 7 years ago

After multiple annual flooding, they have never came up with a plan or maybe not spoken up loud enough...regarding what they can do to help.

• kk 7 years ago

U want ur black minded engineers to squander the money and do a shoddy work

• BAAFOUR AMPOFO, New Jersey 7 years ago

Ghanaian must resist referring the Nkrumah Circle as Dubai, is very primitive we behaving as if we Ghanaian never witness such construction before.
    In the case of Accra water drainage system in Accra Hon. Atta Akyea is wal ...

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

This is NPP alltalk but no action.

• Atta mensah 7 years ago

This proves you are not sensible theyve only been in power for 2 months and because the previous government stole money from the country akuffi addo has ro find a way to get funds nonsense what did mahama dobin his first 2 mo ...

• dd 7 years ago

Useless African government

• calistus 7 years ago

Let build the other regions,most of Ghana money is been poured I.to greater accra.Accra and tema is the most developed part of the country,let them use the taxes crom industries and property taxes to develop the rest of their ...

• Kwetteh 7 years ago

So there is no Ghanaian engineering firm capable of building these drains after 60 years of independence?

• Unless 7 years ago

Where is that idiot koku ayidohu,let him come n explain to Ghanaians why this in circle, foolish man ur face like an hungry restaurant dog

• agoli 7 years ago

why only Accra?

• MOHAMMED. 7 years ago

When Mahama was construction for the good of the country others say are we going to eat the development, now you NPP to construct underground at circle........here we are.........

• Chief Asare 7 years ago

I cannot agree with you any better than your statement! I want to echo your statement! Is there no engineer or academics from the KNUST that can design, supervise to construct the underground sewage system?

• KK 7 years ago

The solution is not an underground drainage but flood control systems below the mountains using natural drainage systems

• KK 7 years ago

The KNUST provided this solution many years back but off course nobody minded them. Using stepwise flood control of the natural drainage system. Accra is mainly below sea level and therefore underground drainage would not be ...

• Chief Asare 7 years ago

This is safety issue and there is no need to politicised it. Whether or not the circle infrastructure, the area continues to flood so our citizens lives should be at the front of the matter rather than politics.

• NPPigs 7 years ago

E BE INFRASTRUCTURE WE GO CHOP?

• Gyen 7 years ago

It must be a mind stop on how we insults leaders in our country . Ghanaians are only good in insulting. Still they can't fight to put corrupt politicians on checks . Let see what the minister and his NPP government has to off ...

• sibo 7 years ago

John Mahama was a thief. Stupidity was too high with him

• Thabo 7 years ago

How can you talk about John Mahama like that?Is your father and mother who are thieves.We will not allow you to use certain words to describe a formal president of this country.You are the biggest fool i have ever seen.You ar ...

• Adu 7 years ago

What is Dubai underground?

• Victor A.Young 7 years ago

We can't always say we're going to construct roads, drainage etc when Ghanaians don't care about changing attitudes towards finding a lasting solution to our problems with flooding after rains. It's time for people, residents ...

• Zagzon creation 7 years ago

where will the $700,000 will come from? it is by loan or it is also private? because the forma President went for loan and you said he is not competent.

• Allan 7 years ago

How much was the cost of the interchange?? And only gutters will cost $ 700 million dollars?? The criminals are on the loose to destroy this country of our mother land, I call on daities of antoa, aduana nsamanfo and one) k ...

• gjna@hotmail.com 7 years ago

Shut up stupid idiot.

• Andy 7 years ago

The Brazilian again,please kick them out, thy not the best of construction.

• ali bugat 7 years ago

This lazy and busy for nothing apoplexy of Nana dumdum govt shd sit up and fix the economy.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

*1.Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    *2.Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

*3.Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

*4.Enhances Weight loss.
    (0572174551)The Unique thing ...

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

Pls Ghana be civilized and patriotic for not replacing Kwame Nkurmah Circle with " Dubai " which makes no sense in Ghanaian society but just foolishness.

Another avenue for chop chop, as far as we put rubbish in the gutters, it will happen no matter drainages we build, once it rains, I will all float straight to circle, and block. We need strong laws, not more money for chop ...

• Kof 7 years ago

We need to fix the korle lagoon

• Mensah Abrampah 7 years ago

The idea is good but why call the project Dubai? Oh please, let's do the right thing at least for once. Don't we have enough names in Ghana that are better than Dubai?

• J love 7 years ago

Drain water with all the filth and the poop washing freely into the ocean is despicable. We can say goodbye to tourism

Fucking clear and clean the odo river
    Looking for chop chop.

• Francis Saaka 7 years ago

Some people speak or write on national issues as if they are not Ghanaians. Abusing the previous gov't for good work is nonsense and primitive way of expressing one self under the cover of freedom of speech. The circle over p ...

• Naana 7 years ago

At least it would control the human traffic and ease the traffic above.

• Freedom and justice 7 years ago

Why so much dependence on foreigners?
    After 60 years of independence haven't we produced engineers capable of constructing bridges and drainages?
    What happens to the products of KNUST?

• Dr E. J. Asiedu 7 years ago

Such a huge, non-experimental, project won't be given to some 'unorganized' KNUST engineers, but to a well established construction company. So to be able to take part in the project, the KNUST engineers MUST first become em ...

• Kwame Agyeman 7 years ago

It's so unfortunate that the media today is quite misleading. The media is even dangerous to national development than corrupt politicians. I think it's high time the media commission bring members to book.
    The minister mad ...

• NAANA GYIMAH, AMBASSADORS FOR NANA AD 7 years ago

I was not surprised when I heard His Excellency Nana Akufo - Addo wanted to construct underground at Nkrumah Circle. The president believe in perfect and complete jobs. This portrays the president will soon transform Ghana to ...

• mallam zamaani 7 years ago

This is mallam I have come back from India where I went for some powers, now am work in Ghana gushegu northern region , so those who requested to come are now ready to come, u can whatsapp me now or call me now (+233546805897 ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

The $ 700 million drainage should have been constructed before the interchange built. Your engineers shall not mislead you. Drainage is carried out before construction. Be careful with expenditure on flood prone areas. Put up ...

• The Mentalist 7 years ago

$700 million ? How much is the interchange itself that gutters will cost that much. Watch that Atta Akyea very well ooo!!

• Nana Asumadu sakyi 7 years ago

This is long overdue. Hope this does not turn out to be d case of d vulture who promises to build a better nest during rain, then ignore it till another rain. What type of engineers comes out of our institutions? Why foreign ...

• FACT 7 years ago

It is only in Ghana that we construct such projects before looking at how to put in a drainage and sewage system after the fact. Total bonkers!!!.
    Is it stupidity or what? Can anybody show Ghanaians an elaborate drainage and ...

• Nana Addo. 7 years ago

These people want to squander0our money ooo. God save Ghana for us.

• NANA BAAH 7 years ago

GIVE IT AN AFRICAN NAME!
    WE HAVE A LOT OF NICE NAMES AND WE
    SHOULD BE PROUND OF OUR AFRICAN HERITAGE.

• Abubakar Adam garba 7 years ago

Very good may God almighty help him

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

The long advocacy for subterranean culverts in Ghana seems to be now reaching somewhere. It is long overdue. No country with widespread open gutters and filth that always carpet the streets after rains has any prospect of de ...

• dd 7 years ago

We are sick and tired of Accra Accra Accra.Other places in Ghana also need development.The whole Ghana is not Accra.Nonsense

• Yakubu 7 years ago

When is president going to hold his tongue and start doing some work? He does not need to continue promising us stuff. We've heard enough. So far the economic magic of Bamumia has not been manifest. He too continues to spew o ...

• lone prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

NPP CONSTRUCT DRAINAGE PROBLEM SOLVED AND STOP THE BLAME GAME GHANA BELONGS TO ALL GHANAIANS SHALOM PEACE MAKER

• Salv@ion 7 years ago

The fools always rush to criticize without analyzing the situation at hand first..

The flooding will stop when you and I stops dumping our solid waste in into the various gutters and litering around as well....

Lets b ...

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

WE HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO

ACCRA IS CONGESTED MOVE THE CAPITAL BACK TO CAPE COAST

THE BRITISH NEW BETTER

• Ali Mahama 7 years ago

Circle Dubai flooding exposes wicked,greedy,and,incompetence nature of Mahama and his NDC crooks. For all their flashy projects they only thought of their 10% and not the quality of the projects.Mahama is a real murderer.

• Ama Nyarkoa 7 years ago

Just like ur parents

• K?te K?s?e 7 years ago

Waste of money. ..the area is low land.educate people not to throw thrash into their drainage.

• K?te K?s?e 7 years ago

Waste of money...educate people not throw thrash into drainage. The Area is low whenever it rains there will be a backsplash.

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

We all know that national patapaa party (npp) is not a responsible party. It is a completely a lawless party. So l was surprised when akuffo addo hypocritically said 'npp is a party of rule of law'. Is it taking over public ...

• Inusah 7 years ago

We need a behavioral change in the long run to check some of these flooding

• girl's sp 7 years ago

Nana dumsor ooooo

• None 7 years ago

That's why we do not move forward. We think only about my party and not the country.

How can the drains cost more than 4x the cost of the interchange?

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

AN AFTERTHOUGHT IS ALWAYS CONSIDERED AS EXTRA AND OFTEN MORE EXPENSIVE.
    THATS WHY YOU SHOULD ALWAYS SORT OUT DRAINAGE BEFORE YOU CONSTRUCT ANYTHING. SOMETHING GHANAIANS DO NOT DO.

• Nature Florida 7 years ago

I did be happy for Ghana people if, 1. That will bring about jobs because with jobs people will earn money complaining will stop and everyone will be happy 2. Take care of the stinch and drainage problems.

• Abonse 7 years ago

Is not this brizilians who construct the overpass witout drenage ?. Why have the also shown interest again to construct the drenage whiles they can do that when they first start the work. God help Ghana

• SIMPLY GEORGE 7 years ago

In the middle of every year, we experience indiscriminate rainfall in our country. As part of the country need rain to boost the growth of their crops which is the only means of livelihoods, other parts always pray for the r ...

• yaw lord 7 years ago

We need to grow up. This is our first
    Major project Of it kind.they say travel n see .but once a blind always a blind.Should mahama told us the planing will cost more.what are those clever Ghanaians will say.think before ...

• Jackson 7 years ago

Ghana needs to bring back the sanitation police as in the days of Kwame Nkrumah's regime to monitor and issue summons for litters.

• Owusu baffour 7 years ago

INSULTS WON'T GET US ANYWHERE, LET'S BUILD A BETTER GHANA FOR OUR CHILDREN,

• Dessie 7 years ago

Useless country which we don't have no idea of doing anything of our own. It we classify ourselves as second class status nation;we don't have knowledge of drainage system which designs are done by engineering students

• Joe Germany 7 years ago

This No plan party should stop talking and start something now. Talking is too much.