News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

'Stop inspecting insurance, driver’s license' - Ashanti regional police commander

Read Comments Comments (48)

• mk 7 years ago

how do u ensure people in charge of vehicles(drivers) are who they say they are? how can u tell if they are qualified or not? how u tell if they have the legal right to be on the road?

• BA 7 years ago

You don't stop drivers on the road for no good reason. A driver should be stopped for traffic offences. It is then that the Police ask for driver license and vehicle particulars. You don't block a road to just delay everybody ...

• THE WISE MAN IS BACK 7 years ago

So now everybody can drive in GHANA rt ?

• Unknown 7 years ago

Cheap talk...

• Kwadaso 7 years ago

Commander Yeboah understands that road blocks are just excuses used by some Police Officers to surreptiouly harass drivers for bribes.The police must aid with unrestricted traffic flow not cause unnecessary delays with unauth ...

• Maame 7 years ago

This is serious in Ghana unlicensed drivers can drive eiiii

• Fiko 7 years ago

Massa you are the one who's got brains. I like your submission. At least we've got sensible men around

• Unknown 7 years ago

Do u really know the work of police...who is in charge of checking those things..its time we allow all state institutions to work than making others to do it for them

• Dwanfunu 7 years ago

I think police shd inspect license n insurance thrice a month unannounced. The rest shd be on traffic offences. Every Police shd have a unique number, so that we could easily report the corrupt ones. Police shd also introduce ...

• NiatseShikatse 7 years ago

It is not the work of the police force to be checking road worthiness...Their core mandate is to maintain law and order and not to deviate into others officers duty...The road worthiness,license are to be checked by the MTTU. ...

• ghanian at heart Rose 7 years ago

So that means unlicensed and uninsured motorists can drive around without hindrance or prosecution? They still have to make sure everyone is abiding by the law.What kind of DCOP is he? Tell your men to do their job and stop e ...

• Onua Francis 7 years ago

Will the policeman ever desits from exploiting his powers. No for this directive to work there should be a punishment for those who flout the order.

• ghanian at heart Rose 7 years ago

It has nothing to do with NPP or whoever, it's either bad journalism or ignorant DCOP....

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

The police service must now focus their prosecution attention to the insurance claims which the insurance companies are always paying death ears to.

its only the insiders who benefits from police checks who are against thi ...

• ANC 7 years ago

this r reasons why we need COP Kofi Barry bk to field, why can you let ur men who cough in the ack doing wrong shuld be punished die, re we nt sending a wrong signal Ashanti region to be a lawless region with this directive.

• JTETTY 7 years ago

WRONG DIRECTIVE PAPA POLICE. Driver's license and Insurance check are equally essential. Please , police commander review your directive. Such directive doesn't fit your rank.

• King 7 years ago

Useless politics with the life of Ghanaians. So anyone can drive on our roads ????? Just look at what happened to the nursing students of Tanoso. The driver was unlicence driver. I dont know why playing politics with seriouse ...

• Talatala 2per 7 years ago

Perfect sir, BY international standards police only pull drivers over when you commit traffic offense, like overspending, driving through red light, drunk driving or they suspect wrong doing upon tip off that's where they dem ...

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

Focus on DUI - driving under the influence of alcohol and wee. It's the major cause of accidents in Ghana!

• Kaakie 7 years ago

This is wht we deduced after discusing: DCOP has a view n that is; the drivers put money (Gh1/2) in the license n insurance cards where the police take without even checking the photo on the ID card, the validity etc. n there ...

• Knockout 7 years ago

Not to take money

• kofi adu 7 years ago

koo yeboa, think about it ,why do we need insurance? I kind of open a can of worms.

• kofious 7 years ago

The police at Biriwa barrier before Cape coast are always checking up these instead of concentrating on their core duty of being stationed there. They ask to see your Driver's Licence,First Aid box and Fire Extinguisher which ...

• Nii 7 years ago

Absolutely the correct approach to stop extortion. There is a short Police Man who is there with his vehicle and 2 other Policemen in a Police Pick up just after the Ashiaman toll booth on the Tema motorway. Their job is to j ...

• odensi 7 years ago

Mk l think your thinking is very shallow. NPP is not going to repeat the same methods which were not working for us and which has drawn us back.Most passengers are delayed in their business and workers are also late to their ...

• Dinho 7 years ago

Guys.. bcos of this directive.. accident do happen on our roads, every day since last year nov. till now.. all the time people die.. cos of this .. hmmmm I wonder... GHANA

• Dwanfunu 7 years ago

I think police shd inspect license n insurance thrice a month unannounced. The rest shd be on traffic offences. Police shd introduce on the spot fine mechanism to raise money for the state.Every Police shd also have a unique ...

• Prinz Chenty 7 years ago

I think the DCOP of Asante Region has every right to limit the operations of his men to their expected obligations. Checking Driver's license and other car documents is never part of the mandate of the Police.

• kofiko 7 years ago

All against d directive on this platform are police or their relatives. The orders of d police commander should be enforced.

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

let the National insurance commission publish year by year the insurance cover paid to beneficiaries,
    as compared to the number of accidents that had happened in the country.
    they paid nothing.

in the insurance scheme ...

• mOTHER gHANA 7 years ago

they are here to act like a good Ghanaian commenting on the issue but to destroy mother Ghana no way, Ghana is bigger than you guys, God rules

• Maame 7 years ago

This is serious so unlicensed drivers can drive is that what they are telling the public eiiii Ghana

• bv 7 years ago

Create incentives like bonuses for arresting officers to cut out bribe taking by police

• Kofi Ellison 7 years ago

If Kofi Boakye was COMMANDER ONE.....this guy is COMMANDER ZERO.

CheckingDRIVERS LICENSE and proper INSURANCE must be the one duty of police officers whenever a driver is stopped.

TWEAA, we are dealing with mateurs.

• FUFUO DADESEN 7 years ago

TELL YOUR GOONS TO STOP THE EXTORTION NOT THE INSURANCES----DUMMY

• mOTHER gHANA 7 years ago

This is one of the best police in the whole of Ghana, we need such bold men to lead us to a victorious envious Ghana of our time. God bless you sir.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Massa talk to them very well,this comportment chaces investors and disgraces the nation.Is it not cheating also to do this?After all you have very very good salaries,haven't you?Love Ghana a little.

• Adjei koti 7 years ago

Tell your men. THEY JUST LOVE BRIBES and it's killing the force. I think it's time to retire all the members of the police for and recruit new ones. These ones we have are just not good. Corruption is in their blood, and can' ...

• max frm u/ER 7 years ago

His directive is right.reacless and disobedience drivers documents should be checked not every vehicle.those comment against it should reason well or they fail to know that in the cities productivity drops due to road traffic ...

• Ajai 7 years ago

I disagree. This is stupid. So if the police will not ensure that the person driving the car has the right training, and the car is insured, then how can we make our roads safe? Who came up with this idiocy?

• killer 7 years ago

This man want to increase crime in ghana

• Ekusages 7 years ago

There are many drivers possessing driving license, yet are inexperience .
    We have experienced drivers who do not have driving license due to the high cost of driving license.
    Don't bring politics here.
    I beg

• Mounir 7 years ago

So now we are saying everyone and every vehicle can ply our roads? Why are the police officers bent on taking bribes if they are to check license and insurance. Is the Ghana ???????? police service saying they cant check and ...

• NDC ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

Very disappointed!,DCOP.since GH.is not on electronic vehicles check,there is no way DCOP YEBOAH your directives will be efective,DCOP don't mine those complaining about police been extorting,they shld rather tell the motoris ...

• Agbodzalu 7 years ago

Check for those things only when there is an infraction such as driving over the speed limit, driving while drunk or after an accident and make the punishment very stiff if the driver in unlicenced or uninsured and make sure ...

• Agbodzalu 7 years ago

Check only when there is reason to do so. Infraction such as driving over the speed limit, drunk driving, accident. Make the fine stiff and don't let the fine go into the individual pockets of the police

• JH New York. 7 years ago

I beg to differ. I think the first thing a
    Police Officer should know about the Vehicle he stopped is whether the person in the driver's seat is : (1) -authorized to Drive a Vehicle,(2).if the Vehicle is Roadworthy,(3).and h ...

• Seabreeze 7 years ago

Why are things done so backwards in Ghana?