News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Soldiers will continue to beat you - Major rtd Oduro tells ‘loud-mouth’ journalists

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

Akufo style of gangserism

• Kofi Nti 7 years ago

I am calling on His Excellency the Prez of Ghana, to revoke the nomination of major Derrick Oduro as deputy min for Defence with immediate effect. we cannot allow a man of this kind of mentality to be part of ur Govt. I hope ...

• Ocran 7 years ago

Ay fool with a cheap camera around his neck calls himself a journalist.Did he have authorization to be at that sensitive location?

• Isaidit 7 years ago

He is lucky the Major didn't 'sound'him right there.Some of our so called journalist are too provocative.This idiot insulted the Major and when asked to control his mouth he said he won't.where did he get his journalism degre ...

• MUMU VOTERS 7 years ago

murutu, think! can they afraid to br film if they were doing the right thing? like if they were helping someone? stupid continent

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

where is it displayed openly, "NO FILMING HERE" in Ghana?

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

This is what happened.Some of the people from the independence day celebration wondering off to a curtained of security sensitive area.This"journalist" went there and started taking pictures and when asked to leave,became arg ...

• jojo 7 years ago

these stupid people military thinks they can can beat everybody, we need to promote the rule of law.

• BAWOMEA 7 years ago

I LOVE THE WAY THE DEPT MINISTER ODURO. NPP IS USING THE MILITARY ON JOURNALIST , I LOVE THAT SO MUCH. THE GJA USE THE JOURNALIST TO REMOVE NDC AND JM . NOW YOU IT ALL.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

This Major is a beast and will personally campaign for his removal. He does not qualify to even be an MP. How can he talk like a bastard. How many times have we not seen or heard of military brutality? That is why some of the ...

• Jumbo 7 years ago

We are going to intensify the beating of that type of journalist. if their mouths are big, we will crash it for them. Does journalism means people have privacy?

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

WANT TO MAKE $$$$ WITHOUT WORKING. GO TO 360EQUITYINVESTMENTS.COM AND CONTACT US TODAY!

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT.THE MAJOR IS A MORON AND NOT QUALIFIED FOR THE JOB.
    THESE NONSENSE HAPPENED IN THE PNDC ERA AND WE DONT WANT THESE BULLSHIT AGAIN.

THE SO-CALLED JOURNALIST IS NOTHING BUT A PROVOCATIVE PIECE OF SHIT! HE HURTS HIS OWN CASE BY HIS PRONOUNCEMENTS AND ATTITUDE!!

• KKK USA 7 years ago

WE WILL CONTINUE TO BEAT THIS FOOLISH SO CALL J S S JOURNALISTS IN GHANA FOR TELLING LIARS ABOUT POEPLE BECOUSE OF MONEY GIVEN TO THEM YOU GO TO SSS AND DO TWO YEARS AS A JOURNALISTS AND YOU ARE HAPPY SAYING FOOLISH THINGS ON ...

Rule of Law

• GIDIGBA 7 years ago

Obiara fit talk nonsense for wana kontray now o.

You are rather a certified idiot. No wonder you call yourself KKK. Come and join the KKK at Stone Mountain city in GA where the KKK have their headquarters and carry out their rituals.
    You moron, how would you have acted if ...

• Jkorku 7 years ago

Listen to this kubolor with his kubolor English

• Kojo 7 years ago

Is KKK writing English or Arabic? Haha, I cant think far koraa...what an English...hehe. I don't think he meant USA...maybe different usa in his village. Hmm hahaaaaha...

horrible

• Kofi Adu Bediako.,Gernany 7 years ago

For a.ministerial appoint it is sad to make such comment.Soldiers are not above the law.They should be deployed to solve the armed robbery cases we have in Ghana and not humillate civilians.This man is not qualified to be a ...

sad

• fiko 7 years ago

Am shocked of ds man's words !...... ayt ,,,, das his mind nd conscience but i choose to ignore !

ask Akufo

• Krataa 7 years ago

This young and naive idiot thinks calling himself as a "journalist" gives him a PASS to be rudely provocative!

Anyone smart knows that the days when the "NEWSMAN" badge commanded instant access and respect has evaporated b ...

NPP government of hounds...So how can this person convince his captures to spare his life when he is a prisoner of war. Will he order them to shoot him? If some of us have not carried guns before and been on guard before we w ...

And you think these beasts of deranged soldiers and lying retired officer are right. Even in developed countries, you cannot torture an animal. Those soldiers and the lying imp of a retired major are worse than beasts. Animal ...

• Krataa 7 years ago

Frank, where were you when a senior police officer @ FSH, the seat of the GOVERNMENT, was publicly ASSAULTED in broad daylight by NPP thugs?

I spoke against it. It was not right. It does not mean what the immature and semi literate soldiers and their certified liar of a retired officer did and said was right. All that nonsense need to end. I have written many time ...

• okofurbour otafirgya kojo West. 7 years ago

PLEASE MR PRESIDENT AKUFFO WITHDRAW THE NOMINATION OF SO CALLED MAJOR RTD ODURO AS DEP. MINISTER.THIS MAN HAS NOT TRANSITIONED TOTALLY TO CIVILIAN LIFE AND HIS UTTERANCES ARE UN-CALLED FOR AS HONORABLE MAN OF THE LEGISLATURE. ...

• Akomfem 7 years ago

The President should act fast and withdraw this nomination. journalists and human activists should make sure this happens.

• ASUMADU EMESEWOELI, HO, VOLTA REGION 7 years ago

THE FIRE IN NANA AKUFO ADDO THE THEPRESIDENT MUST BE SEEN IN HOW HE DEALS WITH THIS 1914 BUGABUGA SOLDIER. HOW DID THIS KIND FIND HIS WAY INTO THE NPP? THE MAN IS LIKE A ZOMBIE AND I DID NOYT SEE TRUTH AS PART OF HIS ASSETS. ...

• sacked recruit 7 years ago

This major rtd oduro is the most stupid and foolish man I ve ever see on this earth. Thunder will fire you and your family all aboa bi. Sia fioo ma yen dwen ti bonkoso like u. We are coming for you

• Sey, Elmina 7 years ago

This country needs cleansing. All idiots in the form if Derrick Oduro must be sacrificed to make Ghana clean again. Derrick Oduro must be ready for what's coming his way

• Akrika 7 years ago

U people tink dey are ur gods ( Ghana will cry more wai )

• Law of Kama 7 years ago

There is a difference between wisdom.and knowledge.
    Journalists like Komla.Dumour (May His Soul Rest in Peace) knew where thei rights ended but some.of.you think.you are untouchables.
    Go and.take the.picture again...Nonsens ...

• issaka 7 years ago

Any body can record anything about a soldier's and put on website just for them to look bad in the sight of Ghanaians. The soldiers are human beings and not animals.they have brains they are not mad.did we ask what actually h ...

• Yahya Jammeh 7 years ago

Did you read the report well, it says that he was filming soldiers beating up someone when they turned on him too. What gives the soldiers the right to beat up someone, are they above the law.? No matter what, They have no ri ...

• issaka 7 years ago

Why ask the president to withdrawn his nomination as dep minister
    .what has he done.Mr do what is right live this so call human right people. What is your business when soldiers are beating someone.why didn't they beat every ...

Another fool. The military is under rule of law and have no duty to torture anybody. This is common sense. In the Developed world anybody can videotape anything in public. Why not Ghana? You pamper such animals masquerading a ...

• Law of Kama 7 years ago

That's the only rhing we know Our Right but Hypocrites as we are we see homeless people , polluted rivers, and disobey common laws as in littering as for that no one or group of journalists speak harshly against.
    The fact t ...

• . ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Nana Addo is a wicked man

• yes 7 years ago

Fully support you sir...

• Tetteh 7 years ago

Some of us have been in uniform before and I wish to express total disgust at this retired Major's attitude. He is in no way fit to represent even the gutters of the Ghana Military. Why Akuffo Addo nominated such a sorry spec ...

• Kareem Starboy 7 years ago

If you truly have been in uniform before you would have seen this action as normal between soldiers and too known civilians such as this journalist unless you were not an infantry soldier.
    Maj Oduro, high five! You're the ki ...

• Beroo 7 years ago

This is too bad

• Naniema 7 years ago

So if this brutality as happened in NDC era what would have been said by this old soldier it's a question.

• eddie 7 years ago

It serves him right for following this stupid president Akufo Addo to celebrate nonsense Ghana @ 60. I f you have stayed at home and cared less about that foolish anniversary like me you would have been safe. We have a demi-g ...

Listen to what this idiot too is positing. Do soldiers have the right in Ghana and be free in public? We still live in the Dark Ages. You need to read and realize that Ghana is North Korea. Even China and Russia no more do th ...

• L/cpl 7 years ago

Foolish man we would continue to beat up people

• kobby 7 years ago

Journalists in Ghana have for a longtime allocated to themselves powers they are not entitled to. What business has he got going to video an alleged assault being perpetuated on a civilian? In any case, where is the alleged c ...

• Dave 7 years ago

Des is stupidity at the highest level.what nonsense is rtd Oduro saying.des are the people who says their believed in democracy. Unfortunately we hv journalist in des country and their are not saying any thing about it not e ...

• makuz 7 years ago

is our president selecting his ministers at random or what. People like Obiri and this garbage too.

• XOSE BODZAH.BRONX, NEW YORK(USA) 7 years ago

This man does not not deserve to be called an honorable because he is full of shit and does not know how to calm a situation down. This is a victim of your subordinates and instead of saying something sensible to calm the vic ...

• rita 7 years ago

A good words spoken..Mr.MP..AM HAPPY .. FOR THAR .LOUD MOUTH..THEY SHOULD BEAT THEM MORE ..TO TEACH THEM HOW TO KEEP MUTE

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

People like power but dislike criticism.

• New jejeti 7 years ago

This rtd major has psychological problem how on earth will a member of parliament under democratic government talk like a rebel . As he forgotten that the powers to punish is the sole preserve for the judiciary. Per article 1 ...

• Dimitri Oleg Penkovski 7 years ago

Oh, Kennedy Agyapong is also in Parliament

• Kofi Jnr 7 years ago

Please NPP you better be careful we can't go and stand in the sand as polling agent and some useless old soldier who did not contribute any thing will send us to opposition with their bad comment on TV, NPP youth please rise ...

• Paparazzi 7 years ago

Where is the freedom of speech then ?

• Quist 7 years ago

These illiterate loud mouth journalist dey bore . Ghanaians are too indiscipline and always use democracy for cover. This is why we are where we are. Most Ghana journalists are too silly and indiscipline . Make the soldiers l ...

• nii 7 years ago

I just came back from ghana and its like a zoo house. No order what so ever. I think we take joy in disorder

• Marcol 7 years ago

are we save? remember is just four years not forever.

• Paul. 7 years ago

The most terrible,horrible and insensitive person I have ever waisted my time Listering to. How in the world with his poor oral and bad English did he rise to the position of major in the Armed Forces. Please Mr President wi ...

• Prince 7 years ago

How can this guy be called a journalist, he can not even speak simply English. God have mercy on Ghana.

• yaw adabl a 7 years ago

he must be beating again,uselass man who cannot speek inglish proud for nothing

• MENSAH 7 years ago

let the Major be..A good start in your new office .Major..

all the best..i knw you an do it.. protect and defend your men and the country..dont listen to them...

i am sure they are happy to have you..Always listen ...

• MENSAH 7 years ago

if you dont knw the useful of soldiers in a country..i dont think you have brains...this is the kind of man we need to put and die for him..to bring back the respect ..

if u are a man..take pictures and videos of t ...

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeei npp, the party that claims to be rule of law? Eeeeei is this democracy or military rule. So in npp the military is untouchable. This is the main reason why l lose my respect to anybody that support npp. Na ...

• DANKASA 7 years ago

MAJOR RTD. ODURO SHOULD KNOW THAT THE MILITARY IS A DISCIPLINED INSTITUTION BY ITSELF.

• MENSAH 7 years ago

Go to Burma camp and video them..if you are able to do that..then you can be a true journalist.

YOU HAVE FREEDOM OF SPEECH TO EVERY SOLDIER..BUT A SOLDIER CANT GIVE YOU FREEDOM AFTER SPEECH..SO MIND YOUR WAY YOU DO THI ...

• 20/20 7 years ago

A nominee tells you a lot about whoever nominated him.

• Abraham Kuchando 7 years ago

Is unfortunate that some politicians having gotten power become insensitive to the plight of journalists who propagated their messages to the people who voted for them. How can a leader, even a defense minister's status talk ...

• Kofi Obour 7 years ago

Foolish talk
    Are the military above the law?
    They behave without thinking

• Kofi Thompson 7 years ago

Classic. Definitely not fit to be either an MP or deputy minister for defence in any genuine democracy.

In any serious country, his unfortunate comments would have ended his career as a politician, on the spot. Pity.

Hm ...

• PATAPAA TRUMP 7 years ago

This major must know that he is a change person from military to parliament therefore must speak as an ex officer gentleman and parliamentarian whose duty is to defend and protect democracy,he cannot speak like he is still i ...

• Dee dee 7 years ago

I think ad for this man , Nana should change him. Very very bad behavior and wat surprise me is as a defence minster ya don't care about Ghanaians then wats ya use. This so bad Nana

• MUMU VOTERS 7 years ago

kokoo ase sojas, where in the West do hear soldiers beating journalists? foolish incoming deputy minister of defense.

• Asare 7 years ago

This is what you have voted for they will continue beating you people

• Wofa Atta 7 years ago

How can such a stupid so called major be appointed in a government we love. He has to be booted out immediately.

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

Major Oduro is a colomial soldier who has not ditched his colonial mentality. The colonial army officers treated the NATIVES with contempt and assumed that the STUPID African understands only FORCE. DISOBEYING their ORDERS wa ...

• Isaac.Italy 7 years ago

Stupid comments by a minister, Ghana paaa any idiot can be a minister, Nana's government will be the worse Ghana had ever have. He was surrounded by so many idiot's. Long live Ghana.

• tweeaaaa 7 years ago

We would have turn the studio into a boxing ring if I was to be the journalist. The court will not chop thia matter for u. just go to nogokpo

• DSP Hils 7 years ago

If you did not commit,a soldiers will never beat you Mr.Journalist all you fake journalist knows in Ghana here is gaining point by taking any irrelevant materials to your edit rooms for publishing.Military goes with law so ab ...

• ss villa 7 years ago

Foolish,irresponsible media personnel Must know that the military is one of the true non partisan state institutions that has nothing to do with Ghana's irresponsible political freedom. Who born dog in a state of emergency? ...

• Simon - 7 years ago

Firstly, the Retired Major Oduro is an idiot. He's grammar is extremely poor. Who even elected this sycophant to parliament? His candidature should be withdrew immediately. This will be a distraction to the President. Soldier ...

• ODB 7 years ago

Ghanaians have not seen anything yet, npp, shift the gear to the next please. Akofo addo move on and show them

• NIPA YE BAD 7 years ago

DEREK ODURO DON,T LOOK LIKE FORMER MILLITARY OFFICER,HE TALK ANYHOW,HE IS ONE OF NANA ADDO PRIMITIVE GANGSTER.

• kk 7 years ago

i was very sad today after going through some of the comments here, please where in the video did the Major said he is in support of what happened to the Journalist, he even said he was not there when it happened and the Jour ...

• AD 7 years ago

He is a useless old man he is not fit to be a minister he does not know the ward diplomacy you don't talk like that on a national TV he should be fired he could have spoken in a way that would heal the young mans wounds to br ...

• Igp 7 years ago

Nana its in the interest of peace, democracy and rule of law that your pick as a deputy minister of defence, Oduro should be withdrawn. He is unfit to be the 2 in cmdr to lead the MOD. We urge you to withdraw his nomination. ...

• AD 7 years ago

kk did you read the whole article if you did not try and read it,a minister of state should be a leader to all and to bring people together we know journalist are nosey and inquisitive but without them we would not know what ...

• The spirit 7 years ago

this is how uncultured journalist talks and behave .Even those who are involve in a motor accident sleeps.Get out with ur nonessential journalism

• Agbalagba 7 years ago

I wonder how some civilians think,do u think sojas are mad,as being a civilian how many of u that if someone do u bad thing u just stop and go to report police,how in a civilians rightful does he think he or she can just do a ...

• CD MAN 7 years ago

I don't understand why this minister nominee is behaving like this imagine Kendrick the journalist was ur son or your relations how will you feel and besides dis beaten man was a staunch npp supporter in the ablekuma south co ...