Education Ministry freezes award of contracts to expatriates

Read Comments Comments (66)

• Borketey 7 years ago

Good start my brother.

• EFO KOKU 7 years ago

These are the people we need to develop Ghana. These are true Ghanaians who care about Ghana. No more Burkinabe contractors and Transvolta ministers ruling Ghana.

• TEL: 0502339432 7 years ago

Job Vacancies in South Korea,(Asia),Estonia (Europe), South Africa (Africa), Saudi Arabia (Middle East), India (Asia),Finland (Europe) for

1.Teachers
    2.Nurses
    3.I.T. (INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY)
    4.Mechanic Engineer
    5.HR
    6 ...

• Nanahemaa 7 years ago

I will be very grateful if you send yua family members. That way, you will improve the living standards of yua family.

• jOeY lOnDoN 7 years ago

Populous and protectionism or another way for cronies to chop chop?

• TWEAA dc 7 years ago

CALL IT WHATEVER NAME YOU LIKE......IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN.....'ABOSOMAKOTRE' LIKE YOU.

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

When cronies get jobs, the leftover cash goes to Ghanaians. They do not go to nationals who are not from Ghana.

• JJ 7 years ago

What a loser like you. So you want the status quo to continue? What a fool you are.

• jOeY lOnDoN 7 years ago

Tread carefully Mr, A Used Tampon is worthy than your smelly foreskin. Come again vagabond and you will fuck your daddy if you have one. Yaka Gbemi .

• Essuman 7 years ago

Finally, somebody is placing Ghanaians first. Thank you.

• Adhei 7 years ago

stop this kind of systemjust to please us.

• Kamasma 7 years ago

Yes one day you will become president of ghana.napo .l tell everyone in new York about how you are blessed.

• Komfo kesi3 7 years ago

Truly, Napo is another good presidential material to watch! We'll continue to pray that God gives you long life! Keep up your good works.

• Kwaku duah 7 years ago

Hmmm. This is going no where. Hope w do you attract foreign investors. Am not for the idea that even a foreigner who's company is 100% Ghanaian can't get a contract to print exercise books. Let's not harm our drive to boost f ...

• TOM SAWYER 7 years ago

How can a company owned by a foreigner be a 100% Ghanaian?.
    What did Busia do wrong on immigration?. He simply said all foreigners must regularize their stay and register their businesses.. Was it a crime?.

• Paa K 7 years ago

Kwaku DUAH , A whole lot of bull shit coming from u . U did not make one sense in ur submission . Is obvious u have so much time on your plate . Just listen to ur self man and u will notice u have not made any smart logi ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Maybe they should also turn off the tap on foreign teachers helping out in some of our schools .am Shure you will be fine with that.if a foreigner have a printing business and employs almost all Ghanaians as its works force,e ...

Why? Must you change names to make comments? You stupid NDC foot soldier. Mr idiot stop using different type of names to make comments. You hate Ashantis but u keep using their names to make your stupid comments. Is your na ...

• Atta 7 years ago

That is a private school.

• Joe Ativor 7 years ago

I agree with Napo. This will stem capital flight, repatriation if profit in forex. Quality levels are increase per client feedback so with time ours shall increase too.

• Kelvin 7 years ago

Kwaku Duah be careful.
    I read comments when I see a strong case made for local entrepreneurs.
    Going through the response here, and somewhat chanced on your ill-thought submission.
    I own an engineering company in Europe, I ...

• Prince Abibirim 7 years ago

Ah my brother mek you no listen dis kweku dua. Hin no sabe dis kine ting oo. There is really no such thing as foreign investment in Africa, only foreign exploitation. In the US even a 10,000 cash transaction generates a notic ...

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

Dear Kwaku Duah,
    Caucasians or Mongoloids might employ Ghanaian for an 100% staff strength yet, the bottom line remains the same; bulk of the profit made is given a flight to THEIR home country. It is only in a stupid and si ...

Still u will import papers from abroad.We do not make papers in Ghana.

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

How could you dare suggest that Ghanaians should be made to compete with foreigners in our own country! You must be off your trolley. And how many Ghanaian businesses would be allowed to operate in Syria or Lebanon? You must ...

• Kaikai 7 years ago

We need to create a competitive open market. If a company irrespective of country of origin can offer cheaper goods with quality, won't dat better?

No more V8 from Toyota etc

This minister is loud n shallow.
    Any succe ...

• Century Common Sense Law 7 years ago

Thank you Dr! This policy should be a law in the Ghana. No Western country will award a foreign country a contract more importantly like African contractors. African countries will not even know where to find contract applica ...

• SAROUK MISSILE/NIMA 7 years ago

DONT HIDE BEHIND YOUR ETHNICITY, TRUE ASHANTIS DONT NAME CALLING PEOPLE. NANA WAS A GOD SENT

• Bbb,Mahama remains a thief. 7 years ago

Ghanaians comes first under NPP .

• Francis 7 years ago

This is very bold decision and i commend you for that.
    Napo l have a big issue about how some headmaster are milking the parents.
    All the 3rd year students in SHS will be in school less that 30 days for the whole term. Why ...

• Alonzo 7 years ago

Exercise books have never been printed by foreigners Napo is a laier.Foolish propaganda

• Adu Phillips .Toronto 7 years ago

Lying again to Ghanaians. Seamstress sawing the uniforms are not foreigners.

Again they should stop using the word free SHS because it's the same progressive free SHS the previous government was doing. How can the free onl ...

• Alex 7 years ago

You just not serious are you ask and you would know
    When was the fees for wghs, Prempeh college , owass and other schools cancelled
    You just don't know how relieved parents are even if one ward has all been catered for

• BUUU 7 years ago

Now money is available for free SHS but Your Government caused Mahama of having depleted the National coffers

I don't understand this policy. So if a company is owned by a foreigner but all the workers are Ghanaians that company will be denied contracts. Does it mean the workers should be laid off? Is this the way to create jobs? Are ...

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

If there are contracts for Ghanaian entrepreneurs; thus, jobs for Ghanaians job seekers, where will be the case for lay off? Please reconsider your stand a bit. If all the jobs are in the hands of Ghanaians, job seekers will ...

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

My bro Kwame, foreigners who own businesses in Ghana make their profits in cedis, which they cannot take back to their countries. They must first convert the cedis into, say, dollars before taking it away - that is where the ...

• Zuarungu Atindana 7 years ago

Mr Minister please look into that student who topped the whole of West Africa exams and can't get admission into the course he wants to take at KNUST.

• Charles Mensah 7 years ago

I pray for long life and strength for you to fulfill all your promises, so that we can come back home. Diaspora life is tough.

• KK 7 years ago

I think I am beginning to feel some positive sense in these ministers. Some sensible people are appearing on our political scene. Well done. These are some of the drastical and tactical decisions that we experience abroad.

• Kwame Tenadu 7 years ago

These Ghanaians who awarded contract wont employ any Ghanaians. They will simply print the exercise books in China creating jobs there. I think we should improve on the Ghana Publishing Corporation by equipping it with the n ...

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

Yes, you have said! The Assembly or Christianborg Press. They have the skills but lack the equipment. They could engage many hands who will in turn pay the appropriate tax to the state unlike the non government sector that ma ...

• SHENANDOAH 7 years ago

The DONALD in America is saying America for Americans . Why not GHANA for Ghanaians.Big ups bro

• Kojo Ghana 7 years ago

KK you're so bias ,aren't you aware stationary are printed in Ghana by previous government? Maybe you don't listen

• deen 7 years ago

you have said it ,we have take in good faith ,

• JC 7 years ago

This policy should not be limited to the Ministry of Education. It must be applied in all Ministries. Road and Highway Ministries should stop awarding contracts to Israelis and Europeans. We have civil and structural engine ...

• ATONGO 7 years ago

One foreigner sets up a printing press in Ghana. He employs 50 Ghanaians. The company cannot get jobs just because the owner is a foreigner. The company lays off the 50 employees and that leads to job creation for Ghanaians. ...

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

One foreigner sets up printing press...warped. Foreign owner or Ghanaian owner will engage 50 Ghanaians, right?
    What happens to the profit made is the issue here. With the foreigner, the profit goes to his or her home countr ...

• karma 7 years ago

He didnt say they cannot work in Ghana. He said GOVERNMENT won't award them contracts anymore. So the can continue printing the books to the market. Get it dumb ass!

• BERNARD 7 years ago

0572174551_0572174551_0572174551
    PREMATURE EJACULATION, LOW SPERM COUNT AND ERECTILE DYSFUNCTION
    One of the major cause of marriage and relationship breakup is inability to achieve the maximum sexual satisfaction She has al ...

• chief 7 years ago

These are wise men who can truly build Ghana to proper again not selfish and greedy ndc ministers . Gail them all

• Kooboat 7 years ago

Mr Journalist, the free education will benefit you greatly because your grammar is poor.
    We SEW clothes; we don't SOW clothes.
    Take note

• Oboy 7 years ago

Thank you so much

• Oheneba Kwaku Duah 7 years ago

Very good Napo. At list is a sign of developing our locals. Is also decentalization. Every region to print it text books. Text books should be print locally

• Paul 7 years ago

This cannot work. It's government contract for schools that should be given to local printers as the NDC government was doing. However if any other company is here printing for the open market you can't stop them. Do you know ...

• Well done Nana for this 7 years ago

Ghana first, l support the government policy. Everything must be Ghana first. Thanks Mr. President for bringing this up. Home sweet home

• Boahen Kwasi 7 years ago

NPP is truly a party 4 all Ghanaians, unlike the other party which served the interest of only party faithfuls.

• cardinal 7 years ago

God strengthen u guys, I believ in dis administration.
    #No shaking
    # Avoid critics n primitive pple

• Citizen 7 years ago

I am not and will never be a fan of your political party, but I applaud you on this initiative. I hope the elements in your party who make a living being middle men between these foreigners and government don't descend on you ...

• TITUS 7 years ago

Smart Move. Again, they are not even any expatriates biaaaa, they are simply Immigrants. If they can call themselves, expatriates when they are in African then so can we also call ourselves Expatriates when we find ourselves ...

• SIMPLY GEORGE 7 years ago

The idea of Ghanaians first in terms of awarding government contracts is quite laudable but dangerous at the same time. Nationalism is practically done in most countries to boost local industries in order to reduce importati ...

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

We are with you in prayers ,Napo,God bless Ghana,AMEN.

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 7 years ago

Nana's free education for pre-school children and senior high. The pre-school has to be Nana's priority if he wants to have future scholars with quality education and not just university degrees without common sense.The minis ...

That hopeless Okujeto Ablakwa was education minister for so many years did he have such wisdom? Did Asiedu Nketia bring such idea? Ghana was lost under NDC!

This government is supposed to attract foreign investment. How is this going to attract anyone? Competition is the key to success and if Ghana wants to succeed, it must attract every $ it can to create jobs.

Sad to think that this man would choose local company without necessary skills employing 5 people over a foreign owned company that can deliver and has hundreds of Ghanaians employed. This just doesn't seem right.