Ahafo region to be created in 18 months - Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Tota 8 years ago

My fellows from the Oti region, let us also accelerate the process and be the next. Hurraaaayyyyy

• Zoobie-Zoobie 8 years ago

the tribal war lord in action

• Amos 8 years ago

You are right this insensitive Government will definately cause a massive civil war in Ghana.

• Stormborn 8 years ago

Hey dude or babe. What's good? 4 whole months gone! 4 months!!! If you can, why not? If I told U each 5 mins, U have the potential to pick at least N5000 ($15) from a walk-in customer for that smartphone or tablet fix, will U ...

• Nii Teiko 8 years ago

Dividing Ghana to smaller regions wont solve pour problems. Give away Trokosiland, the troble-makers and srealers, back to Togo instead.

• King of powers(+233547122212) 8 years ago

Powerful spritualist, Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in your life, I help people in the following (1) ins ...

• CAR 8 years ago

NANA FIX THE ECONOMY THAT YOU PROMISED THAT 100 DAYS IN OFFICE NPP WILL DO. DO IT NOW. CREATING MORE REGION NOT THE ISSUE, PEOPLE NEED MORE PAY FOR THEIR RENT, UTILITY, HEALTH BILLS AND TRANSPORT FARES.YOU LAIR AND FOOL GHANA ...

• Eke 8 years ago

Those who divided us have united and we are still dividing ourselves. Is this a priority? We more serious issues in this country to be tackled. Creating regions is not one of them.

• Joe 8 years ago

Yes it is, especially for administrative purposes. We can achieve more efficiency in our decentralization efforts. Let's support him.

sad

• be wise 8 years ago

This is sheer tribalism can't you see that ... This one is different from the regional creation by Nkrumah....

This is purely by tribal lines... He also hinted on dividing western region purportedly for political expedienc ...

• Ghana, Ghana & Oh Ghana 8 years ago

What is the sense in this ? Does simply creating extra region bring efficiency? Just like having 275 MPs ! Complete waste of time !

• P Djamgbe 8 years ago

You call this decentralization? This is divide and rule. Ghana has not reached a state whereby it requires this kind of decentralization - it is neither so big nor an economic powerhouse. Only unnecessary things is what Akuff ...

• Anna 8 years ago

We can create a few more regions and disband districts. They are too many and are a waste on our resources. Twenty regions can take care of all these many districts. Hope we can start the debate.

• Musah Baba 8 years ago

But if the Ahafo Region created, what will be the name of the 'old' part of the region? Brong Region, Brong Banda Region, Brong Manso Region or what? Let's ponder over that before the divorce.

awful

• Maka a maka 8 years ago

Brong Region, brother.

• USA 8 years ago

Is that why the people are poor

• SSM 8 years ago

Creating additional regions is not what will facilitate development. If we have few and we cannot develop them what is the justification for having many?
    What we need is a complete change of mind and attitude as Ghanaians. ...

• TAYLOR 8 years ago

Mr president why not start from the Ashanti region .Ashanti region is conjested so mr President divid DAT region.

• King 8 years ago

Mr Taylor, Ashanti Region is the only homogeneous region in the country, with one and only overload - the occupant of the Golden Stool, hence indivisible. That thought (partitioning) shouldn't even come to mind.

• King 8 years ago

I'm saying 'only homogeneous region in the country' in terms of the fact that only one group (the Asantes) come from the region; unlike other regions where we have several groups.

• King 8 years ago

even the overlord himself cannot divide the Kingdom.

• be wise 8 years ago

Go and ask the Adansis and the Kwahus ??

• Maka a maka 8 years ago

Don't overlook the fact that Ahafo was part of the Ashanti Region. It was split from Ashanti by President Nkrumah in order to weaken the Asante Kingdom. The strategy didn't work though, because most Ahafo paramount chiefs sti ...

• be wise 8 years ago

Nkrumah had no intention what-so-ever to weaken ashanti province. Stop that your egocentric and your complex attitude. The ashanti region was bigger that just the inclusion of Ahafo. For the record Nkrumah even fall under the ...

• be wise 8 years ago

...bigger than just the inclusion of Ahafo***

...peace in Ghana than amongst our neighbors...***

• King 8 years ago

Perfect. You are spot on.

• SSM 8 years ago

One biggest challenge is that Ghanaians embrace corruption. We eat, drink and sleep in corruption. No wonder everyone is entering into politics to manipulate the system to his/her advantage

• KWABEE PARIS 8 years ago

Long overdue Hwidiem as regional capital pls

• NAKED I CAME say as it is 8 years ago

Next is Adanse region, Adanseman we need our own region. Adanseman next, the Adanse people should come together with one voice. Adanse region. Long live Adanseman

• eerf 8 years ago

I think Mr President should better split Akim from Ashanti region before coming to Brong Ahafo Region. we the people of Brong Ahafo shall not agree for that partition.

• opoo. 8 years ago

I think what Kennedy Agyapon should fight for is also the Assin to separated from the fantis. Look at all the 3 district voted for NPP not even 1 deputy comes from this district.

• MASSA 8 years ago

Is the president going to use the heritage fund for free education? Haba. Why not use it for needy but brilliant chaps. Fossil fuel is not forever. It will run out one day and when it does we will have nothing to show for it. ...

• Sunkwa. 8 years ago

Noooh what about street naming and proper address codes in our cities?.citizen identification is another exercise very important for accelerated development. Stop deviding ghanaians on tribal lines calling it new regions.

• Ghanaba 8 years ago

I think Ashanti region is far bigger than BA,why not divide them first?He just afraid of Ashantihene.BA stand up bcos togather we stand!!

• King Paul 8 years ago

God bless you Nana. We are tired of the triabalist of the Bonos. Hurry, back to our roots.

• Addae Munumkum 8 years ago

This is not a wise decision. Divisions on ethnic lines do not promote national cohesion. A very large South Africa has only 9 provinces. Job for the boys as ministers of new regions

• Pias 8 years ago

You can't divide without a REFERENDUM! The people must decide - love from Kumasi!

• Pias 8 years ago

As a matter of fact, ALL Ghanaians MUST help to put a brake on this stupid decision. Insensitive and very time inappropriate. -Love from Ashanti region

• Nii Joromi 8 years ago

The money to be spent on ministers and staff, accommodation, transportation and other allowances can improve the lives of these people. Why are some of these chiefs so stupid? And Nana is encouraging it.

• Promise K. 8 years ago

He should not venture this divisive attitude on Voltarians. Just compare Volta to Eastern, Ashianti, etc in terns of size and population and draw your conclusion on which need to be divided. A word to a wise....

• Pias 8 years ago

If WE Ghanaians don't rally behind Brong, then division is possible in every region. -Love from Ashanti region!!

• Abdulai Mahamadu 8 years ago

Fellow right minded Ghanaians,when the NDC and his excellency form President John Dramani Mahama was busy building unprecedented roads, schools, hospitals, market centres,expansion of intake of students nurses and teachers ...

• Abongo 8 years ago

Is creation of regions a priority Mr bullfrog president?

• PATAPAA TRUMP 8 years ago

Ghana is too small to create more regions,what are the benefits for creating more regions?Or just to fulfill the enormous campaign promises he made for the electorate to believe in him?It is a cost venture to create regions t ...

• PATAPAA TRUMP 8 years ago

Ghana is too small to create more regions,what are the benefits for creating more regions?Or just to fulfill the enormous campaign promises he made for the electorate to believe in him?It is a cost venture to create regions t ...