'Diaspora Affairs Ministry needed' - Research Fellow

Read Comments Comments (34)

• The Mask 6 years ago

"Over the last ten years they've had more than 10 billion dollars of donor assitance. What have they done with it? Nothing"-- Akufo-Addo GTV talking Point program in the Mid 1990's

Rule of Law
    Zero Tolerance of Corruption ...

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

I have said many times that the corner stone of any country's development are the diaspora , check Germany Japan China etc but in our country infested by Islamic stupidity we have rather a whole ministry for Zongo stupidity i ...

• Kwadaso 6 years ago

Remitances alone from Ghanaians around the world amount to 12 and 15 billion dollars every year.Not only that.The influx of ideas,skills,expertise,education,and training gained in other countries can do so much in changing ou ...

• Zoobe-Zoobe 6 years ago

sad

• 30-6-2017 6 years ago

Re: insight to the bone,
    MMO NA KASA!!,
    you've said it all & spoken for the entire populace of Ghana!!,
    THE TRUTH & NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH!!

MMO NE KASA,
    The best comment so far in 2017 on GhanaWeb!!!!!!!

• Omanba Pa lslington- London 6 years ago

All that we need is allow us to bring our items home and reduce the cost. How can you you tell me that l cannot bring my used Fridge, Television and other electrical appliances to Ghana? This is too bad. The government must d ...

• Yaa 6 years ago

They make it impossible to go home! When you get there they want to rip you off!

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

. .
    Everything about Mahama is evil. Mahama's brother Ibrahim Mahama is evil; Mahama's Wife Lordina Mahama is evil; Mahama’s business partner Roland Agambire is evil Mahama's fitter Asem Emmanuel is evil; Maha ...

• Omanghanabapaba 6 years ago

@Agbesi Kwesi, you're brainless,8f l hv access to block you from giving stupid comments will never waste even 1 sec to do so,l don't think you reason when you go bed or during serious moment

I WANNA BE WHITE NOT BLACK

NDC members cannot think that is why they steal from government's coffers.

• Prof Lungu 6 years ago

Some good ideas, we must say!

Yes, Diaspora as properly defined as “11th Region”, and done with!

Finit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• CONGO SPANNER 6 years ago

THE NSAWAM, FISE POKUASE ROAD IS IN A BAD SHAPE. THERE ARE SO MANY POTHOLES THAT NEED SERIOUS ATTENTION NOW. WHAT IS THE GHANA HIGH WAY SECTION DOING PLEAS REPAIR THAT ROAD NOW.

NDC I LOVE THEM VERY MUCH, IGNORE THE FAKE

NDC HAS MILKED GHANA DRY: NDC guys are crooks. The other time Dr Apaak, a presidential staffer under Mahama, came out to claim that an amount of $5.9M was rather the cost of the new Veep Mansion. Then NDC Deputy Minority lead ...

• Maame Abenah 6 years ago

Ghana wants her diasporian resources but not the diasporan,and that is absorb. A diaspora ministry is well overdue. The Disporan has talent,resorces and ready to help Ghana,but they come at a disadvantage,because the laws of ...

• Kwasi 6 years ago

I sympathise with our thinkers sometimes o. We are complaining about ballooning ministers of state who are a drain our our coffers and instead of proposing what will save us, we are rather spoiling things. Why can't the ambas ...

• ANKORA WASH DC 6 years ago

A more detailed analysis of the issue was recently made recently by Mr. Adolf Afful, the former chairman of the Council of Ghanaian Community in the Washington Metro Area.

• Kwame 6 years ago

We do not need a ministry for diaspora affairs. Foreign affairs should just be resourced to have the capacity to take on diasporan relationships.

• Yaa 6 years ago

Completely right. Why create another institution that will only lead to corruption and rot! Please spare us. We need to scale our institutions down, get rid of waste and make them more efficient!

• Reuben 6 years ago

If NDC government made a mistake, does it mean the NPP who comes to power after telling Ghanaians "they needed change" made those same and related mistakes and be making references to the NDC for similar errors when criticize ...

• KOFI 6 years ago

DIASPORA PORTAL ON GHANA.GOV TO REGISTER ALL ABROAD BY COUNTRY /CLASSIFICATION/ INCLUDING THE ASSOCIATIONS ABROAD AND THEIR EXECUTIVES

• KOFI 6 years ago

NO PHONE CALL GET VIA EMBASSIES EVEN USA

• WULFAANG 6 years ago

Ghana already has a ministry of foreign affairs so I don't think we need another such ministry. I however agree with you in one breath, if our we do not have specific to pay attention to diaspora affairs, I think the way forw ...

• Agbeli Kumordizi. 6 years ago

Ghana government is like helpless goat
    What kind of assistance can the government of Ghana offers to those Ghanaians outside Ghana.
    Ghanaians at home more than stranded no job, people have to dig up a hole as sweage syste ...

• Rockson 6 years ago

Its a great idea ghan a pay attention to diasporan and their voices heard. Take like ghan a govt after empting all coffers in Ghana and around the globe through their foreign issions. Ghana :-O t turned to Ghanaian living abr ...

• Scarce UK 6 years ago

outrageous and ridiculous...
    What is the main functions and responsibilities of the foreign affairs ministry. Pls stop wasting our ears

• Kareem Starboy 6 years ago

Ghanaians please mind your own business and leave diasporrans out of any discussion after you don't give a damn about us. Common voting sef you deny us. What at all can you do for us when it's even difficult to renew passport ...

• OPANINPA 6 years ago

WASTE OF FUNDS ON USELESS STUDY. IF ANY GHANAIAN LIVING ABROAD IS DESIROUS OF COMING HOME, HE/AHE WILL FIND THE NECESSARY INFORMATION FROM THE VARIOUS GHANA MISSIONS ABROAD. THERE IS NO NEED FOR A SEPARATE MINISTRY OR MINISTE ...

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

A DIASPORA AFFAIRS MINISTRY IS A MUST SO GOVT HAS TO BE SERIOUS. THE FORWARD MOVEMENT OF GHANA CANNOT BE COMPLETE WITHOUT THE DIASPORA.

• 30-6-2017 6 years ago

None of the past & present governments in Ghana cares about the welfare of the Ghanaians in the Diaspora,
    They even envy & jealous us to the bones,
    I feel at home in the Diaspora rather than in my own native homeland Ghana, ...

• Paa Joe 6 years ago

Oh please spare us. Ghana is just too expensive and trying to get the simplest things done can drive any sane person mad!

• KO 6 years ago

The mentality of creating Ministries to solve every problem in Ghana boggles my mind. It doesn't work. We keep on creating institutions when there is an existing institution capable of doing the job. Why can a Diaspora Relati ...

• Pelicles. 6 years ago

Disapora affairs ministry needed for what? Why do we love to create more waste? The foreign Minister can do that job with ease if she is prepared to.