My wife applies for UK visa too - Jon Benjamin

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Nii Ayi 6 years ago

They are honest in.regards to governance but Africans have no respect for basic rules and regulations . We help foreigners to dupe our country because of the peanut we get. God have mercy

• email: tourgh37@yahoo.com 6 years ago

Full scholarship to study and acquire Post Graduate, Degree,Diploma, PHD,Masters in Australia.

IT
    Agricultural
    Computing Engineering
    Electrical Engineering
    Political Science
    Law
    Sociology
    Business Administ ...

• Kwadaso 6 years ago

I will really miss this man.He is by far he best diplomat Ghana has ever known.We may disagree sometimes about the finer points but there is no doubt that he is a decent and fair minded person who for some reason actually li ...

• Villager 6 years ago

Mr Benjamin added that he does not want to work in a system “where the rules apply to some people and then better-connected people get away with it or around those rules, I don’t like that and don’t want to be part of s ...

• Gigi 6 years ago

Mr Benjamin added that he does not want to work in a system “where the rules apply to some people and then better-connected people get away with it or around those rules, I don’t like that and don’t want to be part of s ...

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

Agree

• ADRO-CHOPPERS 6 years ago

This guy should be the PRESIDENT of GHANA.

Hey, before start to insult me me, consider this:
    If we can go and CHOP ADRO in Europe and USA to be RULED by the WHITE MAN for DECADES there, is there any difference if they com ...

• Antwi 6 years ago

I know you are joking but let me respond to it anyway.First of all less than 1% of Ghanaians travel to Europe and North America.The rest of the population is right here in Ghana building the nation.If the whole population wer ...

• KTI 6 years ago

Those who choose to move to the West do so by choice.Life in these countries where they are treated with mild tolerance and allowed to do menial jobs is not exactly something I will prescribe for all Ghanaians.

• Concerned 6 years ago

Simple commonsense but in Ghana some feel special and think they have to be treated diffently from others. No more animal farm mentality. This man  is a true socialist in the corbyn mode.

• Concerned Citizen 6 years ago

This is what Africans cannot yet understand. In fact, if you are in a position of authority in Africa and you still go by the rules, you are considered by friends and family as a fool.

• Obed Adore 6 years ago

That's right.
    I refused to pay bribe for the renewal of my Ghanaian passport.. It took me a punishing 3 weeks of "Go and Come", but got it eventually without paying a pesewa!
    Most of my friends take me for a "fool" for not ...

• Mr. hustler 6 years ago

Naked bribery at Ghana Embassy in Germany. if you want to renew your passport you have to pay bribes before you can have a new passport I hope the minister for foreign affairs will sack the bribe takers at the Embassy

• Phantom .. 6 years ago

You did not pay pesewwa you said, But you wasted almost a month, so just imagine if you have important agenda with that third world passport of yours .. lol

• sojourner truth. 6 years ago

Kudos to you. If only more Ghanaians behaved like you. People are receiving salaries at the end of every month and yet expect their palms to be greased before doing their jobs.

• Jane 6 years ago

Obed by doing that, you have shown that we still have self respecting and dignified good citizens in Ghana you have restored my confidence that there is hope for Ghana well done and God bless you.

• Jojo 6 years ago

That's our problem. We all think we are too big to follow the rules! Pathetic!

• Africanus 6 years ago

Wrong my brother. The real problem is that in Ghana we do not punish wrong doers. In western societies they know and understand the meaning of using punishment to deter others. When you have a country where vigilantes are fre ...

• Yarchoe 6 years ago

Sese Its true British MPs travel by public transport. I have lived in Britain for so many years. I have sat next to one MP on the Tube, I recognised him as I always follow political debates in Britain here, so I asked him if ...

• APONKYE 6 years ago

It is our attitude that makes Africans appear like sub-humans to other races. See how our current government is behaving - shamelessly covering up the glaring gargantuan corruptions all over, just in 6 months.

As they say ...

• Nana Malik 6 years ago

When did you realized africa has bad leadership?Mahama was one of them.

• I Am A Winner 6 years ago

Are you yet to hook a job 6 Months into 2017?
    How long more can you wait? Are there really enough jýobs for all? The world pays solution providers. Learn to become one!
    FIX high-value SMART devices (some are btw $600-$100 ...

• Pablo 6 years ago

Is he a Fulani or British?

• Jnr Mandela 6 years ago

Pablo - it is as if you have no brains to think for yourself. Being British doesn't mean one has to be White. By the way, what is wrong with being Fulani? Jesus, Just open your mouth and let any shit flow thanks to the intern ...

• kwao 6 years ago

Hahahaha you're right

• 000000 6 years ago

you are a damn fool ! Do you sleep on pillow ? Are Fulani1's not human beings ? A lot of Africans are law makers in British parliament, fool !

• Anokye Twum-Antwi 6 years ago

The UK and other countries have built and maintained systems that work. We fail to build such systems and sabotage the few rules and regulations that are in place. The politicians and senior public servants are the worst cul ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 6 years ago

Thank you, Sir.

• Villager 6 years ago

Until we stop this NDC/NPP, Northerner, Ashanti, Ewe, pepeni, trokosi nonsense our system will never work.
    It worked be4 when Nkrumah's govt removed things like tribe from application forms. Why is it not working today? You ...

• Adensa 6 years ago

Ghanaians in particular are notorious for bending the rules to suit them only forgetting that life situation does not work that way. We seem have a funny way of thinking. Forgive our naivity.

• Adam 6 years ago

Ghanaians think they can corrupt every system. No visa favours to any akyim mafias. they do drugs and clean toilets.

• Baba Alhaji de Nima 6 years ago

Indeed God, Allah, Nyumgboh, Nyamie or whoever should have mercy not only on Ghana but also on Africa. I don't see how this continent can move on.

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

Yes she the wife is entitled but she has to apply for it,The fact that there is a comon application path for every individual who ever you are is what makes is unique and unbelievable to some of my Ghanaian brothers and siste ...

• LARRY 6 years ago

ITS NOT THE APPLICATION THAT IS CUMBERSOME BUT THE WAHALA PEOPLE GO THROUGH AND THE MENTAL ANGUISH. WHO WOULD DARE QUESTION HER? WOULD THE VISA NOT BE DELIVERED TO HER IN HER BEDROOM?

• John 6 years ago

Hello Larry
    What he is saying is true.
    I have been living in UK for a long time so I believe him.
    You see the fact that they are married doesn't make the wife British Automatically.
    The two have to live here together for ...

• Earl Jones 6 years ago

It is shame Jon Benjamin has been reassigned. Jon has been very effective at highlighting the hazards of corruption and creating public awareness of the canker of corruption than any other diplomat. He deserves commendation. ...

• kweku 6 years ago

Wow. Deep thought. I always ask myself why should an MP be walking with body guard when in UK and other developed countries MPs move with no guards and even travel with public transport. Hmmm Ghana, we have a huge problem. Co ...

• Sese 6 years ago

Have u seen an mp in the UK using public transport before?? Or because people are saying it so u want to say some? Get your facts right before u mislead the public with your ignorance. Politicians are the same every where. U ...

• Orlando uk 6 years ago

I have at least once picked the same train from Kings Cross with David Blanket when he was a minister in UK. This is a man who is blind but he came to the train station by black cab taxi alone I swear what I'm saying. The on ...

• Jamez4 6 years ago

Most European politicians use public transport that is a fact.

• Nii 6 years ago

Yes Jeremy corbyn and even Boris use bicycle most days riding in corners and full glare of public..there are many that use public transport like trains and trams.

Yes Uk may not be different but t starts from somewhere. yo ...

• Villager 6 years ago

Sese did you ever know that the British female MP who was killed two years ago was living on a boat cos she did have rented accommodation in London?
    With this stance it seems you know little outside the borders of ghana. pol ...

• Noah 6 years ago

Yes, some MPs in the UK use public transport including buses, trains and underground. Some even ride on a bicycle to parliament.

• John Dean 6 years ago

The Mayor of Toronto goes to work riding the subway.

In Ghana, Deputy Ministers have drivers.

• Kuu 6 years ago

To be fair, the fact that people are gay doesn't mean they're not entitled to their rights.

• kweku 6 years ago

David Cameron used to take train transport during his time as a prime minister. Her wife also was doing the same. Can the deputy minority whip in Ghana Parliament even travel with a VVIP bus? This must even tell them there's ...

• Ananse 6 years ago

Even the immediate past vice prez Joe Biden was riding in a train from Delaware to DC when he was a Senator.

• Danny Jones 6 years ago

That's all you know

• Yaw 6 years ago

This is how democracy works. Not the chop chop one in Ghana. Ghana must learn. this shameful behaviour of our leaders must stop

• Kofi 6 years ago

And so? She will assured of getting it automatically,. With Ghanaians you know you will refuse or not give her you take their huge monies and refused them on simple common sense errors which can easily be corrected based on c ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

Sorry for my unedited write up but I hope Ben you will understand what I am trying to say. Ben you know definitely Ghana is sweeter than uk hahaha tell the truth just that your systems and laws works in the UK than Ghana but ...

• dunaa 6 years ago

I like the system Jon Benjamin is describing. If we ever develop that kind of system in Ghana, we will ALL be better off.

• Tamale John 6 years ago

There is no British citizen paying fees like Jon says to take a wife to the UK

• Opia 6 years ago

I live in the UK and yo bring your foreign wife to live with you, you have to earn a certain amount of money. Everything has now changed. I hear the amount will be increased in 2019.

• ILYEE86 6 years ago

i am a British citizen living in London, @ tamale john, please re check where you got you information from . yes British citizen need to pay close to 2000 GBP if they want non British spouses to the uk through spouse settleme ...

• Mame afia manu 6 years ago

BRITISH/AMERICANS GOVERMENTS NEEDS TO LEARN TO RESPECT OUR PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY,AND AFRICA,AND NONE OF OUR SENIOR PUBLIC OFFICIALS ARE QEUEUH FOR YOUR STUPID DESPICABLE VISAS, AND TWO, WHO CARE WHERE AND HOW YOUR CHILE ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 6 years ago

You are a certified fool on a fabulous distinction. Now, get the hell out of here and I mean on the double, nincompoop!

• Orlando uk 6 years ago

Maame every truth hurts and that is what we ghanaians don't like to hear. What he is saying is true I know . The system is working so even people with mental health who need daily support know what to do. Please learn someth ...

• Kareem Starboy 6 years ago

Hear ye mt beloved Ghana?

• STARLINGARD 6 years ago

She applies but will "NEVER" be declined coz of You. You guys woz our colonial masters so that means your country was built partly by GHANAIANs(Natural Resources and Labor). You guys Jx decline pples Visas for no reason somet ...

• Baababora 6 years ago

I hope we can all learn from this man. The law applies across board.

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• Bash 6 years ago

when looking at things u will found out that my country Ghana and our learders don't know what they are doing at all. in U S. I and Obama are likely the same cuz if I have paid for transport b4 bording a train he has to do s ...

• Elliot Lee 6 years ago

I thought we said good riddance to Mr Benjamin already???

• ROGUE LAWYER 6 years ago

Mostly all the Africans think that it is the Ambassador who issued Visa, which is wrong impression. Visa are issued by the immigration home offices , they must be satisfied and commend the Applicant to the Ambassador for con ...

• Marcus 6 years ago

In our society and speaking to our culture as Africans we are taught from day one to accord maximum respect to our elders.This is what we observe to do and cherish for religious reasons if not moral. You can try the harmony o ...

• Mame afia manu 6 years ago

TIME HAS COME TO PUT TO VOTE ,IF THESE AMERICAN AND BRITISH OUT POSTS , ARE TO WORTH HAVING THEM IN THIS COUNTRY, HISTORICAL BRITISH AND AMERICAN GOVERNMENTS HAVE NEVER SUPPORTS ANYTHING GOOD AND LASTING FOR THE PEOPLE ...

• Eagle eye 6 years ago

@sese don't get him wrong. UK MP riding on public transport doesn't mean he can't afford to buy a car .most of them even use bicycle, like Boris Johnson current foreign minister, Ken Livingstone always use underground trains ...

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

What is the reason for declined applications Mr. If there is a tangible reason don't you think it's only good to refuse the application to allow an honest person like you to rather take the chance? ????

• kayy 6 years ago

The fact of the matter is your application will never be declined MR Benjamin. There are so many qualified applicants your people have denied visas and have refused to refund fees as well. IT'S not as simple and straight forw ...

• K Appiah 6 years ago

The wife just needed to submit the application for formality purposes. Only idiots would praise this idiot of a high commissioner. APUU.

• diako 6 years ago

Jon is no more uk ambassador to Ghana so he should go and leave Ghanaians alone, he talks too much and arrogant.

• Kutsii 6 years ago

Go way u over there. We don't want to hear u speak to Ghanaians again. We've had enough if your undiplomatic nonsense.

Go advise the engineers in your country to construct safer high rise buildings. Fool

• Nii 6 years ago

How deplomatic do you want him. so that you can steal. When pple has bashing you you dont want it because it exposes you. How is he undeplomatic when he points out the rot for which he is living in. Dont you know foreign miss ...

• Kutsii 6 years ago

Nii, u are a stupid fool. As for me, I know that the worst thief of the continent of Africa are the British. They took our gold and cocoa for free in a period of 535 years; 400 for slavery and 153 for colonization.

So tell ...

• Dan 6 years ago

Kwasia boy. How dare u compare ur wife to my ex presidents. Foolish fool of a boy. U are even no more a diplomat

• Aziz 6 years ago

Is your ex president not human...fool!

Leave your home and go and serve your ex president if that would be better. You dont even value yourselves! and would do the bidding of presidents..nonsense

• Nana 6 years ago

Jon you don't have to explain yourself again. Ghanaians wanted to make their own rules anywhere.

• civil servant 6 years ago

This shows that the Ambassador is from a civilized country which has policies that do not favour only the big people or whom you know"
    Why should Ghanaians make too much noise over a another country's visa policies? Ghanaia ...

• Paakwesi teshie tsuibleoo 6 years ago

Please give us a break with your stupid lies. A high commissioner into politics. Fake man.

• torifer 6 years ago

masa leave us alone and let us continue our sweet bribe and corruption process because in ghana tradition goes on

• Fred 6 years ago

Things work in the West and most people follow the rules. We always want not to follow! What's wrong with us?

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 6 years ago

Visa fees are either Standard or Reciprocal. The figure needs to be verified, as no one believes that the wife of a British Diplomat should pay 2000 pounds sterling for a Permanent Visa to live in the UK with her husband.

• NY 6 years ago

We blacks are not honest,what we are best for is corruption.

• Odikro 6 years ago

I have been hearing this outgoing thing for the last several months. I love this maverick politician and - seriously - do not want him to go. But when shall we stop hearing (and reading) this outgoing, outgoing thing?

• Adensa 6 years ago

This is why Jon speaks the way he does because he is experiencing the same issues.Ola Jon! You are always welcomed to stay in our little place in Ghana or the U.k.Jon Ola. Chileans behaves like us in Africa. Thank you for you ...

• indian black magic 6 years ago

black Indian spiritualist..professor in science divine0244908520 master of the night
    healing of HIV protection black magic money rituals ..wealth power invisible power contact the grand master of the night

• Asare 6 years ago

Jon thanks for educating our ignorant sycophants who do not know how to queue for their turn.

• Donatus 6 years ago

Is this man still in Gh? Why can't he go? After all his tour is over. May be he needs a green card. Because this is the only country a diplomat can talk ballocks against them and get cheered. Remember the balony talk by Bush? ...

• KAAJII 6 years ago

YOU ARE THE BEST BRITISH HIGH COMMISSIONER IN GHANA SO FAR.KEEP IT UP!THE GOVERNMENT[NDC] AT THAT TIME WAS FULL OF KAKISTOCRATIC MEMBERS, VERY INCOMPETENT AND SHALLOW MINDED SO FORGIVE GHANA.THEY JUST WANTED TO CALUMNIATE YOU ...

• N. BOAKYE 6 years ago

WHY IS THIS MAN STILL IN GHANA. WHAT IS HE DOING BEING IN THE COUNTRY.

• Kojo Denzel 6 years ago

This guy is so full of himself. You compare your bitching wife to our Dormwr presidents? Who the hell do you think you are. Idiot, donyou know that a former American President is still accorded the courtesies of security even ...

• Alhaji Yussif 6 years ago

That's the fairness Ghanaians leaders can never ve,I know Mr Jon Benjamin has received a lot of request from our leaders to help them secure visas for their relatives to UK,they ll all be shock to hear that the ambassador him ...

• yebopower 6 years ago

he is a model

• Kofi Mensah 6 years ago

Do you compare your wife to our Ex Presidents ? Does Tony Blair's or Cameron etc visit the passport office of Chile when any of them is visiting that country ? Tagbokuku gbe male??!!!

• Gyakabram 6 years ago

Mr High Commissioner

I respect, salute and congratulate you for having the courage to put this personal information on-line for the populace.

It is high time that Ghanaians realise that no-one is above the law and thAat ...