Government signs MoU with Russia for rail project

Read Comments Comments (98)

• good magic 8 years ago

black magic spiritualist in Ghana professor0244908520 in science divine the grand master...healing of HIV protection...sbuckless360@yahoo.com
    money rituals magnetic belt to bring money magic wallet king Solomon ring
    for ...

• Joe 8 years ago

So all u do all day, n probably going to do all ur miserable life is to hold on to a cheap mobile phone, courtesy China; cut, paste, n wait for someone to take ur bait; hopefully u can pay ur rent by yr ending!
    How can u be ...

• Holy Judge 8 years ago

Can't Ghanaweb delete such dubious Posts? Black Magic powers- my foot. Jesus is Lord!!!

• AMUZU 8 years ago

The entire project is estimated to cost us US$21millon.Woyome alone was given US$30millon by The NDC for NO JOB DONE.WE DON'T BUILD RAILWAYS AND MOTOWAYS ON WOYOMES'HEAD.

• Niii 8 years ago

This is what we want mr president. Thank you.

• Ghanaian 8 years ago

THIS IS GHANA MY BELOVED COUNTRY NOW IN SAFE, VERY SAFE HANDS. GOOD RIDDANCE THOSE STUPID IDIOTS.

• ccd 8 years ago

Nana, this is a good vision. But why 3ft 6ins lines instead of the new 4ft 2ins everywhere now.
    They are more stable, trains can cruise faster and carry more weight. Anyway half a loaf is better than none, I am sure it is th ...

• insight to the bone 8 years ago

we dont need no russian technology or money .Through tribalism/hegemony , corruption and a toxic mentality of lawlessness /lack of justice
    NPP has power but NDC is truely in control , the pepeni/ayigbe conspiracy even today ...

• Amavie 8 years ago

You have a very lazy MIND. You can't even coordinate your thoughts. Slave mentality will get you nowhere. Get a life!!!

• United Ghana 8 years ago

You're just a sad miserable bigoted Akan nationalist looking to serve a foreign master. Why are you so obsessed with GH taking loans from the Americans & not from China or anywhere else?

• eddie 8 years ago

is this npp administration serious at all. were they not the same people who told us that the Chinese are coming to build our railway network. how come is the Russians. moreover were they not this same npp in opposition that ...

• LeeD 8 years ago

Do not compare NDC to NPP because NDC did not come to help Ghana, they came for their pockets and looked around only for stupid deals.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Thanks for noticing their diabolic tactics all too well, mate.

• IQ (NYANSA) 8 years ago

Stop exposing your ignorance, who told you is 4ft, 2ins. it's always 3ft, 6ins every where in the world. Too-Known.

• Boboobo 8 years ago

If there is a while loaf of bread on your table why do you go for half? Our politicians lack of vision, do it and do it the right way, this is how African leaders has been eating our money,sooner than later another administra ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 8 years ago

"Your Excellency, I am happy to inform you that, we have been in touch with your Railway Ministry for over a month now. Due Diligence has been conducted and Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) has also been signed." - Sergey Ka ...

• king 8 years ago

What about your mother nand father.....
    Aboa bi ba....

• AAA 8 years ago

It is your crooked parents who brought you up this way to insult people who have made it in life without any justifiable reason

• Kim 8 years ago

Nanaoooooooo, nana.

• Adjei Marfa Ahanta. 8 years ago

Please 4yrs is around the corner hurry up and get these Employed

• KWEKU MANU 8 years ago

It's good idea b'cos all the workers will be
    ghanaians, our graduates will get job and
    also the technical student. Please is the
    amount 21million or 21billion

• BB 8 years ago

Wrong filla..Ghanaweb

• Alex London 8 years ago

This is the best thing to happen to the nation Ghana.

• Joyce 8 years ago

NDC hate Ghanaians.
    They want Ghanaians to suffer.

• Nana Adom-Gyamfi, USA 8 years ago

This is great for Ghana and for the president's vision for the country, Nana keep the big ideas coming. It's only small minds with no vision that doubt you. My only concern is the corruption levels in the country, I can't wai ...

• Abu 8 years ago

Thank God, Ghana is working again

• Nyameke 8 years ago

I hope it's not another STL fiasco. First it was part of the 15 billion Chinese deal. Now it's Russia with an outmoded track n plan ready to impose on us. Single track? Can you believe this in the 21st century? We've learnt ...

• KK 8 years ago

Read well... it's never been part of any Chinese deal.. chinese deal is to link the two mining areas and the processing factories..

• Tony 8 years ago

Nana will make Ghana great again

• Readi 8 years ago

Instead of coming out with such infrastructure he will rather RE-PAINT his face on buses, his wife's face on Ghana chocolate and build a fake DUBAI at circle ONLY to grab the limelight.
    I promise you the man wears a brand ne ...

• Joe 8 years ago

Hahahahahhaaaa...I'm cracking up right now

• BB 8 years ago

Every party has their own priority project. The NDC's own was schools, hospitals among others. So do not blame Mahama. He did his very best with the resources available to him. Did you hear 21billion dollars?

• king 8 years ago

Kwasia Kwa..can 21 million dollars build railway line from Accra to paga as well as reconstruct dilapidated railway lines.... Think deep..... U are an educated fool....

• slyster 8 years ago

Mahama did nothing he stole half of the money by inflating all those projects. He will always remain a thieve ,including you.

• GYIGYI 8 years ago

This news made my day. Hope it happens. God bless our homeland Ghana

• Opoku. Dansoman 8 years ago

This is the man Addo Dankwah, this is not by your strength I know is by the grace of God The battle is the Lords

• Adjowa 8 years ago

Amenooooo! Even though I left Ghana as a child and don't have any vote there. I was there when the election took place after the results GOD gave me so much peace concerning the results! Thank GOD for HIS mercies and forgiven ...

• ugly akufo addo 8 years ago

him n the family is now like bank of Ghana , they are stealing our monies to kyebi

• king 8 years ago

Fear yourself.....tanii aboa mahama sef no steal President Nana Addo wet he go steal.... Mr. President do your work..

• slyster 8 years ago

You see ,you are nothing more to say. A real defeatist attitude.

• ENO 8 years ago

GOD BLESS YOU NANA

• kofi Brako-Asamoah UK 8 years ago

The railway development will help boost the economy.

• Aduananiba Kwame 8 years ago

Why are we building a new railway track with an outmoded Narrow Gauge (1067mm wide) and not the Standard Gauge (1435mm wide) which is used throughout the western world and Asia?
    The Engineers in Ghana should make sure we go ...

• ccd 8 years ago

Nana this is good vision. But why 3ft 6ins lines instead of the new 4ft 2ins
    They are more stable, trains can cruise faster and carry more weight. Anyway half a lofe is better than none, I am sure it is the cost involved. N ...

• UGLY ASIEDU NKETIA 8 years ago

Eboronasa mouth odour what are your comments. Smelly mouth.

• SOCRATES 8 years ago

THIS PROJECT IS OF NKRUMAHIST MAGNITUDE & STRATEGY SO WE SINCERELY SALUTE NANA. ANOTHER THING IS THE RUSSIANS HAVE THE TECHNOLOGY WHILE THE CHINESE HAVE THE MONEY; HOWEVER THEY HUNGRILY NEED OUR MULTI BILLION $ GOLD DEPOSITS. ...

• Abusuapnin 8 years ago

Ghana can benefit from friendship with China and Russia. With these two countries we can have a win win bilateral relations that lift us from the doldrums of development. Let's grasp this opportunity.

• Emer 8 years ago

This is what we called leadership unlike Kwasia bi type where money earmarked for projects are diverted into private account in the name of capacity building

• Sly 8 years ago

I hope this piece is credible, because is full of wrong figures

• IQ (NYANSA) 8 years ago

and what correct figures did you know?. tell us my friend.

• Emmanuel K. A. Anyidoho 8 years ago

Modern railways systems use standard gauge 1435 mm for high speed and stability. We should be moving away from the narrow gauge 1067 mm system inherited from the colonial days. Care must be taken if we want to source rolling ...

• EA 8 years ago

Hmmm good point. We should all get involve in the technicalities of this project instead of just delightful of the project news.

• Joshua, joshua 8 years ago

Nana o Nana
    we know this is a tip in iceberg. We trust you deliver more to permit the doubting Thomas to into hibernation

• Gardo 8 years ago

Nana is sort president Ghana need.Jah bless Nana

• LAWRENCE 8 years ago

FAKE NEWS

• Osofo 8 years ago

Nana anaaaaaaaaaaaa God bless you.

May the vision come into fruition.

• Hmm 8 years ago

Please plan for double track, and not single. this will help us better

• eddie 8 years ago

is this npp administration serious at all. were they not the same people who told us that the Chinese are coming to build our railway network. how come is the Russians. moreover were they not this same npp in opposition that ...

• SOCRATES 8 years ago

THE PARTIAL SANCTIONS ON RUSSIA COVERS ARMS DEALS DUE TO THE PERCEIVED RUSSIAN INVOLVEMENT IN THE UKRAINIAN MILITARY CONFLICT. INTERNATIONAL CIVIL COOPERATION LIKE INVESTMENTS IN GHANA'S RAILWAY SYSTEM ARE EXCLUDED I.E. WHY T ...

• asem bi 8 years ago

When Amere power plant was contacted on this BOT program these Nppians weren't happy. Now Railways project is on BOT terms for how many years. WHO is fooling WHO.

• Kojo 8 years ago

Why not the standard gauge (4ft 8") now used all over the world for railway lines? We should move away from this 3ft 6" gauge which doesn't sit well with the AU agenda for infrastructure development and which in the long run ...

• Boahen 8 years ago

This is the economic transformation Ghanaians have been yearning for not the Ahomka thing. God bless our homeland Ghana

• 666 HEAL SATANIC 8 years ago

black magic spiritualist in Ghana professor0244908520 in science divine the grand master...healing of HIV protection...sbuckless360@yahoo.com
    money rituals magnetic belt to bring money magic wallet king Solomon ring
    for ...

• Obroni 8 years ago

President Acheampong introduced Ghana to metric in September 1975.
    We seized to be a British colony in 1957 and the UK is not even one of our largest trading partners. And still the press is using miles, artisans measure in ...

• KB 8 years ago

I and future children of this great country will forever remain grateful to Nana and NPP if they are able to execute this singular project.
    Long Live GH

• Adjei 8 years ago

It is heart warming news than the Chinese arrangement. However take a second look at the gauge of the railway track. If it will be possible to change to standard gauge or broad gauge we will have to do that.
    2. Use GE as eve ...

• Samuel Akrasi Gyapong 8 years ago

This railway project is the single most thoughtful project that convinces me of how serious Nana Akufo Addo is about his promise to transform Ghana industrially. The railroad system is the backbone of industrialization everyw ...

• Ibn Adam @ NPP FOUNDING MEMBER@YYZ 8 years ago

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS , EXCELLENT WORK DONE IN SELECTING THE RUSSIANS

FOR THIS ROAD PROJECT

MR PRESIDENT THANK YOU

• Sweet Ghana 8 years ago

Action speaks louder than words. Let's all hope and pray this dream comes to fruition since it'll allow our roads last longer.But presido,consider a wider gauge to ensure safety.

• HARDER@'89 8 years ago

Very AUDACIOUS... Great minds such as this is what Africa n Ghana hungers for...we deserve more than crumps n tokenism...
    Long live Ghana long live Our president...

• CharlesP 8 years ago

Big Hairy Audacious Goals. Finally the day came when we stopped voting corrupt fools into power. I hope that this news will transform Ghanaians in the hopes that they hold for their motherland. God bless Nana Addo and his gov ...

• owusu Alex 8 years ago

Nana show boy thankyou

• Why Louisa why? 8 years ago

AWHY DID YOU MARRY STONE BOY A RUFFIAN??
    WE KNOW YOUR DAD DID NOT APPROVE

• pocket lawyer 8 years ago

GOVERNMENT MUST DOUBLE ITS EFFORT TO BUILD RAILWAY TRANSPORT SYSTEM IN THE COUNTRY BECAUSE A COUNTRY WITHOUT RAILWAYS,AIR LINES,NO SHIPPING LINES,NO BUS TRANSPORT SYSTEMS,YET WE HAVE MINISTRY OF TRANSPORT AND COMMUNICATIONS ...

• barimaba 8 years ago

May Your Name be praised O God for given us Nana Addo to save Your nation (Ghana).

• Mr Nas 8 years ago

We are in comfortable lead already .
    RIP mahama

• Inkoom 8 years ago

Please do introduce trains in the country to increase jobs for our people but don't sign old age trains to Ghana and don't paint the trains in Ghana flag please it doesn't look good on trains even Europeans don't paint nation ...

• Patriot 8 years ago

I thought the standard gauge is 4ft. 6ins. Why do we still stick to the colonial gauges of 3"6'?

• Okley Jnr 8 years ago

Nana show boy,Nana visionary leader.Some of us are hopeful and positive in this new gov't led by President Nana Akufo to deliver beyond his promises to facelift Ghana's dev't.It is too early days for some pples to destructi ...

• Serebour USA 8 years ago

Prophet Owusu Bempah has prophesied already. Nana will be the best president in Ghana after Kwame Nkrumah. I think the prophesy is manifesting. God we thank you with all our heart for giving us Nana Addo

• Kwasi kyei baffour,Atlanta,usa. 8 years ago

Mysuggestion to the government is that after the construction,the government should turn the railway project to a private company to run the rail system and let the company pay taxes to the government every year.

• Give desailly the job 8 years ago

Cheap but same or better value! They also don't mind transferring knowledge unlike the West. Nana Addo is showing pragmatic leadership.

I know it's cheaper to use narrow gauge, but I think it will be better to use standard gauge for its many advantages including high speed travel. Have the future in mind. The world is moving on with even higher speed travel w ...

• Lexis 8 years ago

Nana and Bawumia more grease to your elbow.
    This is what is we want.

• Fredrick @Tain District 8 years ago

Nana most of Ghanaians either NPP ,NDC,CPP ,even all the political parties knows that you have better planes and God things for your country ,may the good lord gives u wisdom to rule this Nation

• Joe Sankah 8 years ago

947km is the existing route length not Accra to Paga

• Joe Sankah 8 years ago

947km is existing route length not Accra to Paga

• Christian Emepe Barney 8 years ago

Why should the Russian partners engage university of Ghana but not with any of the technical universities in the country? I see the project to be technically oriented.

• Ghana's Pain 8 years ago

A very good idea, but sadly I feel let down by the size of the gauge. Ghana must think big, and go for the best n the industry.
    In our quest for accelerated development, we must must think 50-100 years ahead. We may never ...

• Kwasi Owusu Kyenkyehene, London. 8 years ago

So far, so good. The problem the sector minister is goibg to face is mainly the illegal occupation of railway properties and lands. Any time I visited Kumasi, I felt concerned about development on railway property. Even the c ...

• Teye 8 years ago

Is really a good news . My problem here is IS THE COST $21M or $21 billion.
    $ 21m can't even construct an airstrip

• Girls SP 8 years ago

npp = narcotics people's party people's
    npp = nonsense people's party people's
    npp = loot n share party
    npp = friends and family party
    kweku burger n butumbansa bawumia

• Dr. Atongo.UCC 8 years ago

Vision in motion. Absolutely competency and this is what mother Ghana is looking for

• Isaac USA 8 years ago

This is what l want to hear.l am not an NPP but let's shout Nana Addo nie, Joe Ghartey nie.

• Nag 8 years ago

What type of railway line are we constructing? Locomotive? Fuel or electric?
    We must be careful not for these white suckers to come and dump their scraps of abounding locomotive and fuel powered engines in Ghana. Can Ghana ...

• kwam 8 years ago

This will a very monumental legacy should this project comes to fruition. which will ever be a history in the great achievement for the current President. l pray that God should him the strength and wisdom to do more for this ...

• Seth Yeboah 8 years ago

Everything is excellent and reassuring with the exception of the Gauge. It should be increased to 5ft 6ins to be in with the international standards. The old, colo