Giving Anthony Baffoe the captaincy cost Black Stars the 1992 AFCON final – Prince Polley

Read Comments Comments (47)

• MAKE MONEY WITH THIS SKILL THIS YEAR 9 months ago

TRAINING makes all the difference towards Mastery. Time waits for no one, 2025 is ticking already. No cash-capital for a sales business this year? Set up this smartphones skilled-service business instead! Learn this skill & e ...

• Otto pfister 9 months ago

We don't have time for this at this ppint..

• AFriCa 9 months ago

The decision to by-pass Yeboah was orchestrated by Pele who was Pfister's darling boy because he felt threatened should Yeboah wear the band and win the Afcon, it will propel into becoming CAF best player would eventually bre ...

• babs 9 months ago

In other words, Tony Yeboah and his Kumasi faction also refused to put in their best in order to sabotage Abedi's chances of getting the CAF best player. We all saw how Michael Essien, Sulley, and Co were bypassed for Gyan bu ...

• AFriCa 9 months ago

There is no hatred here, I posted the truth without emotions.

• AFriCa 9 months ago

Anyways, did you say refused? oh come on, at that crucial moment, you can just imagine. Besides, it wasn't once he was shown that disrespect. I don't have to explain anything here though, that's why I said those who know know ...

• Kofi Sromani 9 months ago

You posted what your prejudiced mind told you, or what the ethnovebtriv bigots in the team told you. Stop it. Anedinhasxbeen quiet all this while while the cheap empty barrel ethnocentric characters rant all over the place in ...

• AFriCa 9 months ago

I posted what your dementia and dishonest brain failed to tell the public about the hypocrisy of your paymaster and it's effect on Blackstars. Bootlicker.

• Kwami 9 months ago

U lied or made a wrong assessment. No way tony yeboah would have won the MVP of the tournament and African best even if he captained the team to win the cup. Yekini and Weah were ahead of Anthony Yeboah. The instructions on w ...

• Abu-Nkonya Barrister 9 months ago

@babs and who missed the penalty to denied Ghana the trophy, be fair and stop the hate

• babs 9 months ago

Asamoah Gyan's missed penalty was fatal.

• Emperor Rasheed 9 months ago

@ AFriCa.Stop lying! What will propel Yaboah into becoming CAF best player? Yaboah only scored 2 goals against Egypt and Congo, and he wasn’t that great in all our matches, compared to Abedi. Abedi was like Maradona of 86 ...

• AFriCa 9 months ago

You lack knowledge yet you're so confident in puking gibberish. Check on records the contenders of the CAF 1992 player of the year title. Why am I even responding to useless stooge..

@AFriCa. Inferiority complex is worrying you hence your insults.

• AFriCa 9 months ago

Look who is talking about inferiority complex here. Do you understand the phrase at all or you're just using it because it sounds good in your ears? Tweaa.

@ CHAKA, USA. Please where have you been hiding? I am sure you are back with a different name to torment the Emperor. I know since your pretty wife dumped you in US, your mind has not been at rest. sorry buddy.

• Kwami 9 months ago

What happened 4 years later when Abedi got injured in South Africa 96. Tony couldn't take the team to the finals when he was made the captain.

• Kwami 9 months ago

U're right. Why the hatred against Abedi Pele?

• Kofi Sromani 9 months ago

Where did you get this from? The usual hatred for Abedi Pele, so you have to cook up a story to implicate him; that the coach was so stupid that he only acted on the wishes of Abedi. The fact is that, there is nothing you peo ...

• Charles oppong 9 months ago

Any player will feel disrespected and down like Tony Yeboah,how can u do that to a player and expect him to perform better on field of play.it was a bad action of the coach Otto Pister, the German coach at the time.as nature ...

• King Adjei 9 months ago

WHEN WILL YOU PEOPLE STOP THESE NONSENSE, WHERE HAVE ALL THE CAPTAINCY LED GHANA TO????

• AFriCa 9 months ago

Exactly, that's why we want the technically bankrupt Otto Addo to know that already, the Blackstars right now is below par due to player commitment and innovation deficiencies, most of those guys are not talented and committe ...

• PAUL JOHNSON 9 months ago

YOU MAKE A HUGE SENSE.
    WHO DOES NOT KNOW OR UNDERSTAND THIS CRAZY AND WILLFUL DRAMA?
    THE AUTHOURITIES ARE JUST WAITING UNTIL THE VOLCANO ERUPTS AFTER OUR DISGRACEFUL EXIT.

• Hannan 9 months ago

:))) Hot girls are waiting for you on >>>> www.Hot4.eu

• God's property 9 months ago

Prince it was not because of captaincy it was your hatred of your senior Abedi that made you did what you that we saw the way you celebrated of your goal against Guinea in Tunisia just keep quiet and allow Abedi enjoy his l ...

• God's property 9 months ago

Prince it was not because of captaincy it was your hatred of your senior Abedi that made you did that we all saw the way you celebrated your goal against Guinea in Tunisia just keep quiet and allow Abedi enjoy his life

• SAKU 9 months ago

Leadership in Ghana is our bane. In Africa we are the best. God's abundant blessings but the spirit of hatred must be exorcised from our torch-bearers, front runners and the rulers. We forget that we are one people. And it is ...

• COD 9 months ago

@SAKU; Leadership, proper and progressive leadership has and still is our bane.
    One thought Ghana learned from that destructive episode in Senegal 1992 regarding captaincy in the Black Stars. But we do not witness that.

• GOKA 9 months ago

Don't fall for what many want us to believe that captaincy cost us 92 AFCON
    The players don't have excuse any serious team will not mind who is the captain but will focus on winning the cup as they were in the final
    They di ...

• Ghanaba kwaku 9 months ago

My brother, you are 100% right. If you are committed, what is captain? You failed yourself, period!

@Ghanaba Kwaku. Please do not pay attention to Polley. He had a very big chance to put us in the and he squandered it. Go to YouTube and watch Ghana vrs Ivory Coast.

• Abacha 9 months ago

And currently we are still having captainship issues in the Black Stars. Are we serious at all ?

• Christopher Ang-Nieten Dassah 9 months ago

So what happened to the coach? Was he not sacked?!!! Africa is its own enemy ruled by selfish leaders who want to convert every opportunity to their parochial interest!!!!!

• Bompata Bone chewer 9 months ago

That game was one of the painful eye- plucking. Thank God I witness Ghana’s Afcon victory in Ghana, Libya but one was ‘suleaaahhhh’ Captain problem and players indiscipline is our Achilles heel. For many years now the c ...

• KwamKay 9 months ago

Yeboah was very greedy. His complex against Abedi cost Ghana a lot. Tribal complex was the motivation factor

• Nsafoah 9 months ago

Anthony Yeboah was greedy? I don't understand why Polley is still dragging this issue but do you really know what you're talking about or just trying to add up to the usual propaganda to cover up the main cause of their fail ...

• Fastook 9 months ago

It’s pathetic to continue talking about this. This over 30 years ago. Talking about won’t change anything l. Just make sure you don’t continue making those silly mistakes. It’s disrespectful to Tony Baffoe for his col ...

• T.T 9 months ago

Your gang teamed up like mafias, just admit to that and stop the nonsense.

• Paa Pee 9 months ago

Rubbish as all the elaven players played the penalty plus extra. Tony Yeboah score but Asare and Tony Baffoe missed.
    Ivory Coast 0–0 (a.e.t.) Ghana

Penalties
    Aka soccer ball with check mark
    Hobou soccer bal ...

• Spiogab 9 months ago

Abedi Pele is a hypocrite, he is not a team player, he always plays for himself so that he make a name for himself

• Ages 9 months ago

Funny saboteurs. So now that you are talking what achievements to you have to show to your grandchildren. You people thought you were sabotaging the nation. Fine, today what trophy did you win with your generation. Tell us. I ...

• King GH 9 months ago

It is evident that Otto Pfister sabotaged himself and the nation with that dimwit decision not the players. I have never heard Tony Yeboah complaining in the news over issues in their camp so it's clear they have all moved on ...

• Nijaboy 9 months ago

Wow!!The last time Ghana won AFCON was in 1982, which was 43 years ago!!! Meanwhile, the present Ghanaian team cannot do much to help the Country.

• Psoo Psoo 9 months ago

After 1992 Ghana had played two finals. 2010 lost to Egypt by one goal, 2015 lost to Ivory coast on penalties again. So was it captaincy issues that made them lost the other two finals as well?

• Abiba 9 months ago

We lost the 92 finals due to a missed penalty. It has nothing to do with any personalities issues. Stop politicizing who should be the captain of the Black Stars but rather rally around the team....

• Bobinsky 9 months ago

Go play football you were fighting over captaincy. No wonder our children don’t know any of you. Shameless brat you and that your Tony yeboah were a disgrace to this nation. A better organised team not thinking of fame got ...

• Zadokkk 9 months ago

Minister of Sports and the GFA at that time should be blame for this apparent mishap. How can you bypass your designated deputy Captain Yeboah, who was in top form, and go with Baffoe as Captain? In the absence of Abedi, Tony ...