Dutch friendly exposes Ghana's weaknesses

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Son of Man 9 years ago

We are going to spend $9m for a week stay in Brazil. The Coach lacks the tactical acumen to switch gears when the going gets rough. He will stick to the same 1 striker formation 'cos that is all that he knows. When you go ...

• OKOE 9 years ago

THE TIME HAS COME AND CHEAP TALK IS OVER. OUR TEAM IS GOING TO MEET THE BEST IN THE WORLD AND SHOWMANSHIP IS NOT THE GAME. COMMON SENSE AND LOOKING FOR EACH OTHER ON FIELD WILL BE THE GAME TO PLAY. IT IS NOT GOING TO BE EASY ...

• moyo 9 years ago

Ghanaians will always repeat history instead of learning from it. We claim to be a football loving country but we can spend $20,000 a month on a coach who cannot even write his name on paper let alone make a meaning of a plan ...

• Ern 9 years ago

Our problem in the Netherlands game was that we did not create chances and did not threaten the Netherlands goal.
    This is football, every team will conceede a goal now and then. If the defence was so poor, and Netherlands co ...

• SKILLO 9 years ago

Essien can play central defense against Portugal. WHY? Cos He knows Ronaldo better!

• The Stallion 9 years ago

If there is a game going on and something happens, then you can bring Essien or change his position to a central defender -- you can't just change the composition of a team by playing him in central defence when nothing is ha ...

• The Stallion 9 years ago

If the writer sees the defence that bad, why didn't Holland harvest?
    It is the pairing of the central defence and/or the parings of the full backs that might have caused the problem.
    It is not a matter of having "good defen ...

• OKOE 9 years ago

HAVE YOU NOT HEARD?HE IS GOING TO BE MAKING $100 AN HOUR NOW.SO GO AHEAD KILL YOURSELF.YOU WORTHLES PIECE OF CHORKOR TRASH.

• Truth 9 years ago

When AA asked for assistance from former coach Milo most Ghanaians were up in arms.Now that the real situation is staring us in the face you say he has no technical acumen.Klinsman is being helped by berti vogts.Let us all fo ...

• GHFUO, RIP MAYA ANGELOU!! 9 years ago

CAN YOU COMPARE BERTI VOGTS TO MILO? WE WANT BETTER, BUT THOSE IDIOTS AT GFA ARE TOO BUSY SCRAMBLING FOR MONEY. THEY WOULD RATHER SEE THE TEAM FAIL. THAN LOSE OUT ON POCKETING SOME OF THESE WCUP CASH. THAT IS THE PROBLEM. NOT ...

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

I have never favored one-striker Offense. It is puts too much burden on one Forward Line player. Besides, when that person gets neutralized, no one on his team seems to be ready to fill in for him or back him up.

It is a ...

• Ghfuo, RIP Maya Angelou! 9 years ago

Kwaku Bonsam was talked about on en today. The announcers said he was responsible for ronaldo' injury and unavailability to play....eeeii, boys abr3. Cold War tactics paa nie?

The breakdown leading to the goal started and ...

• readi 2 dye 9 years ago

Adomah was suppose to be back there helping nkoom but was late getting...watch it again..

• GHFUO, RIP MAYA ANGELOU!! 9 years ago

HEWAS TAKED ABOUT ON ESPN...KWAKU BONSAM AKA WIZARD OF WEDNESDAY. COULDNT STOP LAFFING. ESPN SHOULD HVE PUT HIS PIC UP ON TV FOR ALL TO SEE...MUAHAHAAAAA AFA!

• THE ONE AND ONLY WAHJAHKAMAN, 9 years ago

We have very good individual prayers and all we need is a tactician as a coach to take us through the world cup.My fear is that, we will never get far as we did in South Africa.

• Santaclausian, Croydon 9 years ago

Near perfect analysis but we need to take into consideration the fact that what was featured is not our first choice defence. Jonathan Mensah and Boye will make our defence much much stronger. It is Inkoom I am worried about ...

• malcolm, bulwak 9 years ago

to build a winsome side one need to form a solid defence.you dont go anywhere even if you have the Worlds best attacking line,.the team with the best defence will lift the Trophy.am worried about the entire backline

• koo 9 years ago

When are some Ghanaians going to learn not be one sided ,but also pay attention to quality of the opponent,the Dutch were superior,they have much more quality player than us and also playing in their backyard which makes it a ...

• Ern 9 years ago

We registered a mere 2 tame shots on target in 90 minutes, and you guys are worried about the backline?
    The defence is fine. They will conceede one or two here and there, but we should make sure we are also scoring goals!
    O ...

• Me4U 9 years ago

The reason why no one is talking about the attack is because Gyan did not feature in the match. Of course we have a problem in attack but we also do in defence. Our attack will turn out fine once the tournament commences but ...

• Ern # Chai!! Dia ris God ooooooooh!!! 9 years ago

ok, so God forbid Gyan gets hurt, should we just pack up and go then?

• VERY LIKELY 9 years ago

With a very bad Defense and a very weak and ineffective Attack, Ghana is very unlikely to go beyond ROUND ONE.

• K. Ghana 9 years ago

A clear, effective plan needs to be in place — probably mapped out conscientiously Van Gaal-style in a notepad — by the time they board that flight to Brazil. Otherwise, the Black Stars might just be on an early flight ba ...

• Me4U 9 years ago

I think the writer is a bit harsh on Afful and Opare. Other than that, everything is spot on. The thinness of a very weak defence will be our bane. Inkoom is not good enough, does he always have to break the ball before tryin ...

• worlas 9 years ago

One thing this writer has forgotten is
    football is a game wait and see what these boys will do.Do you know a player
    called DRAMANI who was in the 2006 world
    cup squad against USA?Please writer keep
    your frustration to you ...

• emmanuel kwaku 9 years ago

THERE IS NO POINT IN WHAT U WROTE MAY U COME AGAIN.REMEMBER COACH APPIAH WILL GO FAR AND IF POSSIBLE WINNING THE CUP MARK IT.

• tuy 9 years ago

Ghana's match against Netherlands was just a friendly match. Ghana did not use its starting eleven. Friendly matches are different. Anybody who has referenced Van Gal' notes taking during the match must be suffering from infe ...

• Adjoa 9 years ago

The Dutch played at home. If Ghana were so poor in defense and the Dutch came from the moon, why couldn't the Dutch white wash Ghana, boy?
    Write from your heard and not your heart.

• C.O.D 9 years ago

What are "friendlies" for in the world of football? To test, rehearse, get exposed, learn and plug the holes, among others. There are too many "coaches" in Ghana and I wonder why even some local clubs employ foreign coaches. ...

• Kweku Nenya Ka na wu II 9 years ago

Appiah with a notepad? You are kidding me! The guy was forced on Ghanaians by his Ashanti cliques at the GFA, and has no clue what is going on. Just He has no strategy for the World Cup. He is only going to rely on individual ...

• Zangina 9 years ago

I have always had my fears about Appiah. His lack of innovation and tactics. But what worries me more is his fixation with Inkoom. It is clear the guy has reached his highest level which is nowhere near good enough for the Ba ...

• So so 9 years ago

moy don`t be jealous about Appiah

• London East 9 years ago

According to Uk newspaper, Ghana couldn't create any chance to score a goal

• MENSAH. 9 years ago

THE WRITER HAS USED HIS TIME AND EFFORT TO POINT OUT WHERE THE BLACK STARS COULD FALL.
    But never said anything about how to correct the weaknesses and the strategy employed to win.
    I HAVE ANOTHER VIEW ABOUT OUR BLACK STARS: ...

• Concern Ghana Man 9 years ago

Mr. writer, this is exactly what's going to happen.

"by the time they board that flight to Brazil. Otherwise, the Black Stars might just be on an early flight back to Accra"

While the Dutch coach was busy taking notes. ...

• Mohammed Ibrahim 9 years ago

Ghana Black Stars are not Playing well at the Moment.The Black Stars have lost all the friendly Matches they have played.The Team is not defending properly,the midfield is not well organise,and the forward line is not scoring ...

• malcolm, bulwak 9 years ago

how come that after the 6 1 demolition we havent managed a single win. dont tell me they were frendlies. check how Brazil taketheir friendlies