Ghana starting line-up against South Korea, Essien benched

Read Comments Comments (79)

• Ghana midfield rocks 9 years ago

Strong team, is Essien not fit?
    Let see what this team can do tonight

• Mark 9 years ago

Rabiu is a hard tackling midfielder who will help the defense. Essien is Appiah's backup central defender, so Appiah might not want to risk injury to Essien at this point. Good selection!

• The Stallion 9 years ago

This line up should have been on the bench for the real fire on June 16.
    If we get a goal or two, he should quickly drop most of them and bring in our team B to play.
    I am not happy at all.

• J0eY l0nD0n... 9 years ago

Tell us the reason why bro?

It's true Appiah cannot stand pressure. So you listened to people like GH FUO and committed such valuable players for a friendly match ahead of the real fire less than a week from today? Wonders will never end! I am not happy ...

• GHFUO, heaven is NOT for fools!!! 9 years ago

U WANT TO START DEDE, GYAN, KPB, KASA, MUNTARI...AA, SO IF ANY OF THESE PLAYERS SHOULD GET INJURED OR PICK A KNOCK. WHO WILL U RELY ON WHEN THE REAL DANCE BEGINS? EBEI?!...GHMMMM

No need to rush!

• J.J. RAWLINGS 9 years ago

Please keep our players safe. Play them in the 1st half and bring the team B in

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

He had not used the friendly games well and this is his last chance to see the best players playing together.

So, he is just trying to correct his mistakes. I am happy with the exception of Essien not playing together with ...

• Sammy the Sheriff 9 years ago

He should have played Essien with Muntari to replicate the 6-1 thumping of the Egyptian team in Kumasi. You are right, we should try Essien and Muntari in the central midfield again.

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Why didn't wimpy Appiah replicate that against Egypt in Cairo and against Montenegro?.

You wanted the Players to be killed in Egypt? Blackstars played smart in Egypt. Beating Egypt in Cairo was a dangerous mission.

We did not play that against Montenegro because we didn't want to expose our players to injury ...

FOLKS, OUR GENERAL IS NAKED. WARS ARE WON NOT ON YOUR AMMUNITION OR NUMBER OF SOLDIERS BUT BY YOUR GENERAL'S ACUMEN. AA IS IMPULSIVE,MAKES RASH DECISIONS, IMPATIENT AND ARROGANT..LIKE MOST TYPICAL GHPPL. DONT BE SUPRISED TO S ...

• Citizen 9 years ago

Where is Kwaku Bonsam? What is he saying about he match.

• OSEI ASSIBEY-USA 9 years ago

IF U EVER WANT AN ARROGANT PERSON IN GHANA, DO NOT GO CLOSE TO AKWASI APPIAH. HE IS ONE OF THE MEEKIEST OR 'DOWN TO EARTH' PERSONALITY I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTED IN MY LIFE.

PLEASE, IF YOU REALLY DON'T KNOW ANY THING ABOUT CER ...

• MR TRUELY TRUELY 9 years ago

I know him recently with his cool nature and he smiles with great inner love to any person he meets. he came to Holland with open heart. He is really a servant to God & Ghana.

DO U KNOW HIM? U MET HIM, HAD AN ENCOUNTER WITH HIM. THAT 5MIN OF INTERACTION DOES NOT TELL U ANYTHING ABOUT HIM. IVE NEVER MET HIM BUT I CAN DEDUCE WAT HE IS ABOUT BASED ON WAT HE DOES, HIS INTERVIEWS AND SUCH. IM SURE HE IN ...

• ziggy w 9 years ago

It is therefore our responsibility to cover our naked general, no one can do that for us. support him even when he is falling. we Africans dessert our generals at the earliest sound of defeat or trouble. Death and life are in ...

• Ghfuo, change your MENtality! 9 years ago

The best way to help.aa cover his nakedness is to offer him suggestions, ideas. Yet, be won't listen. Too arrogant. Does not even read comments becos he is too.afraid to have his emotions tested. So ziggy, how do you suggest ...

• Rasheed 9 years ago

I used to play for a club and I really understand why we play friendly matches. I will always play my best and try to avoid unwanted injuries.

Coach Appiah has shown his hands too early but its ok if he pulls off most of these players from the game after 45 minutes of play. I will like to see Afriyie Acquah again.

I will also like to see Essien in the second half ...

• Rasheed 9 years ago

What are you writing about?. Brazil, Argentina, Germany, Ivory Coast Cameroun,Nigheria and USA are all testing their first 11 in friendly matches to see how they fare, so that they can make the necessary corrections. You are ...

You don buzz? If there is injury, will you not be the first to criticize Appiah?

Let me ku ku leave here go home go open my vod bottle jarey. If I no buzz, I no dey fit enjoy the matches. I no sabi why.

But seriously, h ...

• Rasheed 9 years ago

Those wey do use their first 11 play matches nobi human beings abi?.Make u go find some vodka quench your thirst and put your nash behind your TV watch de match ojaare.

I don't care-ya about other countries. I want to enjoy my vod during the WC.
    We have to pray that all the players come out clean. Or the two coaches can meet together and tell their players that we are both in the WC so they ...

• Rasheed 9 years ago

I go play I go play, na for the field we go see am. I no wan hear any excuses after the match. You dey hear me so?.

• Rastafara 9 years ago

for what he did at the Holland game

• OSEI ASSIBEY-USA 9 years ago

THAT'S NOT CORRECT! IT IS JUST A PLAN.

• M----- 9 years ago

I think Kwesi wants to get a look at Essien at centre back in the second half. Boye and Jonathan didn't play against Holland, so they definitely need time as well.

• Conqueror 9 years ago

Go Black Stars!

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

to work and gell with defense...appiah still prejudice against kwarasey

Well spotted on from Boss A.A...

• Cornell 9 years ago

Why is K. Asamoah at the left back? Doesn't make any sense to me.

You guys are always promoting lies..kasa was never used as a left back at club level..the old lady club knows defensively he is not very attentive..why are you guys always publishing false news.?

• mann 9 years ago

Why Asamoah at defence? Mister Appiah that is not good.

We need this guy's combative attitude in the midst of the PACK ...

???

But we need Kasa to support the upfront guys...hmmmmmm I don't like this at all...

Idiot, they knew you were available with your sense but chose AA so stop your lobotomized postings and suck your thumb and watch Coach AA as the retard you are, you moronic fool.

• Nana Yaw 9 years ago

Thank you Sammy for putting that smelly fool in his proper place.

U AND AA HVE EVERYRHING IN COMMON. U MAKE RASH DECISIONS, ARROGANT, IMPATIENT N IMPULSIVE. NO WONDER U DONT SEE ANYTHING WRONG WITH THIS SQUAD VS KOREA. ANOTHER GH PLAYER WILL GET INJURED, U'LL SEE...

• COMMON SENSE 9 years ago

WHICH TIME THE GAME WILL START

• ??? 9 years ago

23.00 LOCAL TIME

• Kojo 9 years ago

what channel is showing game in US

• J.J. RAWLINGS 9 years ago

Ghana time 11pm

• Kojo 9 years ago

Thanks

• raw usa 9 years ago

we need one tree, not a broken tree,, when some one perform good, them foolish always talk, what evil has Essien than to 60 percent of Ghanaian,leave him alone... he will not even give bribe or money to any one.. shame to th ...

• A concerned citizen 9 years ago

Good experiment but it will be a different ball gameon D-Day. This is a very good experiment for Ghana so their opponents can not sturdy our game plan

• Dr Akaminko 9 years ago

THANKS BABA APPIAH

• francis 9 years ago

this is quite a good experiment

• PAN AFRICANIST 9 years ago

THE CAOCH HAS DONE A TACTICAL SELECTIONS, MY DEEPEST HOPE IS TO WIN THIS FRIENDLY MATCH WITH THE KOREANS, TRUIMPH OVER USA AND PROCEED FURTHER.NMHRK.

• KFK 9 years ago

May God bless Ghana

EBEI? AT THIS STAGE?...TWEAA!
    AA IS CLUELESS. COMSI COMSA COACH, WALANTULANZA COACH FRAFRA, BIARA BIARA...LOL. HE WILL BE TAUGHT A LESSON VERY SOON.

• GEORGE 9 years ago

Inshah-Allah the black stars will be in finals and bring the cup home. It is the time for Africa.

• Jetmoney 9 years ago

Good luck guys... We pray that no injuries occurs today.... God bless u all

• the truth 9 years ago

Am not a huge fan of Rabiu and I am hoping he impresses in this match. besides that this is a very strong squad.

i would have preferred playing K asamoah and ayew at left and right wing. and KVP and muntari in the center. ...

• franzy 9 years ago

This is the best team

• KOFI OF AFRICA 9 years ago

THE STARS MUST BEAT KOREA 3-1

Coach Appiah plays his best players yet. The Stars must beat S. Korea at least 3-1. They must shatter the US's new found self-confidence.

• AMOANA SAKYI 9 years ago

this is the best team to watch with the help prayer and luck the team can bring. the trophy back home

U HAVE ASSEMBLED NORTH/SOUTH PLAYERS. GH PLAYERS ARE NOT AS FAST...UP AND DOWN RUNERS LIKE THE KOREANS...LOL
    KOREAN SPEED KILLS! AA IS USING IS TALLEST PLAYERS TO COUNTER THE FAST KOREANS. IT WONT WORK. YOU MUST USE THE TALL ...

• IRON PIPER=DEDEE ABUWA. ASD 9 years ago

KONE ANFA DUA KWASEA BIBA.WO TO BINI PACHAAA!.HEAVEN IS NOT FOR FOOLS LIKE YOU.

• GC/USA 9 years ago

ESPN IN USA OR HAHASPORT ONLINE

• Juju dauda 9 years ago

Juju goal keeper will be in de post today -saudada

• Asamoah H 9 years ago

Any idea where to watch the game online??

• Mike NY. 9 years ago

• ANANSE KWAKU 9 years ago

I'm just wondering if this match is necessary at this crucial moment....either the players will not give up their best for the fear of picking up unnecessary injuries or worse still some might pick up injuries. In both cases, ...

EVEN BRASIL ARE PLAYING FRIENDLIES....
    IF YOU ASSEMBLE TALL, SLOW PLAYERS TO PLAY AGAINST SPEEDY, SHORT PLAYERS. WAT DO U THINK WILL HAPPEN? U ARE ASKING FOR YOUR TALL, SLOW PLAYERS TO GET INJURED. HOW DO THEY KEEP UP WITH T ...

• ziggy w 9 years ago

Friendly matches are for fine tuning the team. if you look at England against Honduras, ENGLAND played miserably according to certain expectations but if you listen carefully to the best football pundits our here in the U.K, ...

• Ghfuo, change your MENtality! 9 years ago

Friendly games are over. We r prepping for wcup. We must replicate wat we want to do in brasil with these prep games. Consider this game vs korea a wcup game. The tournament doesn't start in 3, 6mths. It starts on Thursday! T ...

• Jason 9 years ago

I bet Dauda is in because he will pay something or Appiah hope to lauch his career..he is not thinking about the best for Ghana but the best for some individuals!

I want to bet that Ghana will lose from US and will be the ...

• moses 9 years ago

Adam Larsen Kwarasey
    Sung-Ryong Jung
    Daniel Opare
    Suk-Young Yun
    Jonathan Mensah
    Tae-Hwi Kwak
    John Boye
    Young-Gwon Kim
    Harrison Afful
    Jeong-Ho Hong
    Michael Essien
    Heung-Min Son
    Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu
    Ja-Cheol Koo

• Omega 9 years ago

Essiean at this stage in his career is rusty abd not as fast as used to be, He is still strong but in the Holland game (and a few times I saw him with Clesea and even Madrid), Essiean is pick-pocketed off the ball several tim ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

where can we watch the game pls

• V.K.W 9 years ago

google atdhe

• asamoah 9 years ago

FOXSoccerTrax FOX Soccer Trax
    11 GHANA GOAL Jordan Ayew comes free wide right, collects an Andrew Ayew cross and finishes with the help of deflection Ghana 1 S Korea 0

• OGOGLO QUARTER! 9 years ago

Goooooooooaaallll 3:0

• OGOGLO QUARTER! 9 years ago

THANK YOU ABEDI PELE. ....JORDAN HAD A" HARD- TRICK"

• Myiesha Shaw 9 years ago

Ghana should be happy that Kevin Prince claim Ghana! You are lucky to have him and better count yourselves blessed! Dede will not play without him and you guys better hold them both like an egg! Once broken again your game is ...

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

WHAT IS THE BIG DEAL HERE IF ESSIEN IS BENCHED, AND WHY SHOULD THAT BE THE CAPTION FOR THIS ARTICLE? HERE IS A 23-MAN TEAM PREPARING FOR BRAZIL 2014, AND THE COACH IS TRYING ALL HIS PLAYERS FOR THE PURPOSE OF STRATEGY FOR THE ...