Ghana must forget AFCON 2015!

Read Comments Comments (83)

• boyz-boyz 9 years ago

I ask myself why and can't even answer because their is no answer for why. Born as a Ghanaian. Please no disrespect to anybody but i pray for my brother and sister to get the chance to also travel abroad and see how people i ...

• don`t care !!! © Hmmmmm! 9 years ago

since Nyantakyi took office nearly 10 years ago....Hmmmmmmmmm!10 years ago!why?

Who in this country does not know that we use the common tax payer’s money to chalk success for the Black Stars only for Nyantakyi to carry the glory and then turn around to show disrespect to the nation by his comments and ...

The Kwesi Nyantakyi led management, at their press conference heaped the setbacks from the World Cup campaign at the door-step of the players, tagging them as in disciplined. Question is, when and how are the players going to ...

It must be noted that the Black Stars “anti-corruption” team of Essien, Dede, Jordan, Kwarasey, Kevin, Kojo Asamoah and Sulley are “true western style” guys who will not pay a dime from their booty of allowances to an ...

Folks, i ask again, who pays the Coach of the Black Stars?

Is it not government? If its government why the rush by the GFA to renew the mandate of the coach and increase his earnings without recourse to governments? What ...

Was Kwesi Appiah right in his decisions in sacking Kevin and Sulley and (((((was he his own man as a coach))))))?

Hmmmmm!no wonder!!! Former Flagbearer Aspirant of the New Patriotic Party (NPP)Dr Arthur Kennedy “thirsting & desiring for JUNE 4"intentions..

Hmmmmm!he is not far from the truth

• GHFUO, nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 9 years ago

AA SUUCCCKKKSSS!!!
    LOWE WAS DEPUTY TO KLINSMANN FROM 2004 TO 2006. LOOK AT HIS ACCOMPLISHMNTS? U AA HAVE BEEN GBSTAR DEPUTY SINCE 2008.
    U WERE GIVEN FULL REIGNS IN 2012 AND WHAT DO U HAVE TO SHOW FOR? BOMB AT AFCON 13, BOM ...

• NEMESIS, 30secs W.C. BLUNDER!!! 9 years ago

Ghana must totally forget AFCON for another ten years, because the great Super Eagles of Naija are NOT ready to release it for now. Keep on dreaming ghfuo.

KWASIA..WAT GOES UP MUST COME DOWN N VICE VERSA...TURTLE BRAIN...GO N CHEW SOME SEAWEED. IT WILL HELP YOU

• ERNEST 9 years ago

Mismatch analysis. What has Klinsman done in football coaching as well? His deputy Lowe has won the W.C. Should Ghana continue spending money on expatriate coaches instead of helping to build our locals? A. A. income remains ...

• Ben 9 years ago

You don't get it? We cannot continue pouring water into a basket, alias Kwesi Appiah. Don't we have other local coaches to spend money on? is KA the only local coach that can help Ghana? if so then Ghana is a good for nothing ...

• Me 9 years ago

Yes he was right. That is a disciplinary action and I would have done the same.Its a way of forestalling peace in the future.

• Frank 9 years ago

I know you will clap for sulley muntari even if he slaps your father and you will pat on the shoulders of KPB when he describe your father as a fool.

• Me 9 years ago

Did you ask these questions when Ghana paid huge dollars monthly to the whites?
    Were those amount not paid by tax payers? Compare to what was going to paid to Milo on monthly bases if he had accepted the contract. You see p ...

• Me 9 years ago

Is that the way to address the problem. You went to Brazil for a mission. Their action led to the exit of Ghana- are you happy with their action? The whole world were looking up to Ghana only for their action to see Ghana of ...

• The African Patriot 9 years ago

congrats to your article and analysis. Your questions are valid and well raised by many people include myself on different similar topics. Your concentration and belief in the government appointed personnel to investigate the ...

• K. Frimpong 9 years ago

let's take the German National Team as example, before they got to Brazil everthing was shown to the players and also on TV for the whole Nation to see. The hotel there were going to lodge their catering etc. Members of the m ...

• sweat-tea 9 years ago

the German coach Low was assistant coach from 2004 to 2006 before taking over as full coach, Akwesi Appiah was assistant coach for 8 freaking years and nothing to show for, what a cocoanut head...talk about accountability...h ...

• USA-MAN 9 years ago

if GFA is managing to keep kwesi appiah
    as coach, black star will go nowhere in
    future so he should be fire as soon as
    possible

• Me 9 years ago

Is the Spanish coach useless, Is the Italian coach useless Is the Brazilian coach useless Is the etc. all useless?
    We know Ghana played the best football from the first 2 games. We also know that FIFA has earmarked Ghana /Ge ...

WE HVE PPL LIKE BAFFOE N DESAILLY WHO ARE KNOWLEGEABLE N HVE THEIR OWN MONEY. WILL NYANTAKYI N AA WHO ARE SIMPLY IN THESE POSITIONS TO ENRICH THEMSELVES. GET OUT FOR NEW BRAINS TO PREVAIL? PERHAPS, THEY NEED TO BE "ACCIDENTAL ...

• ME 9 years ago

So you think Desailly is the solution to coaching in Ghana. Small minds talking indeed.

IVE BEEN ADVOCATING FOR HIM TO TAKE OVER THE TEAM EVER SINCE MILO'S DEPARTURE. HAD NYANTAKYI LISTENED. HE WOULDNT BE IN THIS POSITION RIGHT NOW. WAT A FOOL....DO YOU HVE ANY IDEA WAT IT TAKES TO WIN A WCUP?
    I DARE YOU TO TE ...

• Me 9 years ago

Has Desaily coached before. Look even the Chinese and the Arabs all refused to appoint him. Not even a club could assign him and you small mind want Ghana to assign him to a national team. Are you right in your mind. Thats ...

• jOEy lOndOn 9 years ago

Non of the players were dissidents my friend...even in the corporate world a boss needed a coach .

• sweat tea 9 years ago

well did we win even a single game? at the world cup its all about winning, even the USA and Algeria won a game. you ask about the Italian coach and Brazilian etc but most have resigned or fired? my question to you is, what A ...

• Vuvuzela 9 years ago

“If we desire results in future events, we must as a nation, pull the bull by the horns. We must call for a revolution, clean the system by letting the powers that be in our football be responsible and accountable to the na ...

THE SPORTS MINISTER MUST FOLLOW WHAT THE NIGERIANS HAVE DONE. DISSOLVE THE GFA NOW! IF FIFA THINKS THEY CAN BAN GH AND ALSO NAIJA. LET THEM GO AHEAD. FIFA NEEDS 2 NATIONS PARTICIPATING IN CONTINENTAL AND GLOBAL EVENTS MORE TH ...

• Sarskoberta 9 years ago

Coach Akwasi Appiah was a man I thought was going to lead the GBS albeit to transform TeamGhana into a formidable side considering his dominant stay with the team. He's being there for so long I have even lost count in real y ...

IM SURE HE REPEATED A CLASS MORE THAN 4TIMES. WA BON S3 KORLE NSUO!

In this case, do we call for his curricula vitae/transcript from his Prempeh College days?
    Is he a genuine Katakyie?
    Can you assign a tangible reason(s) why his captainship was manouvered into the hands of Abedi Pele?
    Beat ...

TIMID, GYIMI GYIMI, CANT SPEAK GOOD ENGLIAH, LACKS CONFIDENCE. ONLY GOOD AT BACKSTABBING. IM SURE GH FAILED TO WIN THAT AFCON IN 92 BCOS OF BACKBITING, JEALOUSY SPEARHEADED BY AA TOWARDS ABEDI N THE FOREIGN BASED PLAYERS. THE ...

• Frank 9 years ago

Get your facts right. He was a astudent of Opoku Ware secondary school not Prempeh college, and who are you to call for his curricula vitae. Shall we see yours too. You have the turtle brain instead. Everybody can come here ...

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 9 years ago

The whole Ghana soccer is sick bad, from the management, coaching and technical bench. They just wanted to shift the whole blame on the boys but I really don't blame the boys.

If nothing is done, we are going to fail again ...

Kwantabisa!
    The only drastic measure necessary at this juncture is to risk FIFA's ban/show some level of civil disobedience against FIFA's obnoxious rule tagged "Government interference".

In so doing, Ghana will have time ...

• GFA IS SHIT 9 years ago

Fans: Since the government won't do anything, let's start the protest.

Where is the "GFA Spring"?

• KojoLee@Dilemma-Situation 9 years ago

"Do We go the Naija way?" ***Prof. Sarskoboko***

Haaa it has been a while for me to daff. I feel like being choked by Nyantakyi' untouchability statutes and reinstated of Akwasi Appiah as head coach again. Nyantakyi leg ...

• mike, SEATTLE,WA. U S A 9 years ago

I am very shocked that there is no well organized protest coming from Kumasi as they did to Kwame Nkrumah, Liman, Rawlings and now Mahama somebody tell me why not to useless coach Akwasi Appiah and his corrupt GFA led by corr ...

The thought of going 'back West' for 'thy masters voice' in terms of coaching the 21st century GBS is primitive as it is counter productive as well.

Its been close to 60years since independence. The key word and the princi ...

• Harrison 9 years ago

Nyantakyi behaves like GFA belongs to him and that, he is not accountable to anybody. Well, he is accountable to the nation. Dissolve GFA and sack AA. Get a foreign coach to put these talented players together. Setup an i ...

• TADI BOY 9 years ago

How can u increase the salary of a coach who couldn't get the work done and performed abysmally and disgraced the entire country infront of the world with conflicts between players.

• Me 9 years ago

Is that the coach who brought conflict among the players? Lets be real. The coach did not disgrace the country but rather ushered the world of what is about to happen only for the dissidents to destroy it. Ask the German coa ...

• WATCHDOG 9 years ago

@Me: You are just exposing yourself obviously as a crony or at best a family to AA or to Nyantakyi. You even remind me of 'Whatever' (surprised he has not jumped on board yet)Or maybe 'Whatever' is aka 'Me'. Please, can you d ...

• Schalke Fan 9 years ago

Yes brethren,me dey ur back,aluta continues.

• SASHA MANSO, VA, USA 9 years ago

PRESISDENT MAHAMA IS EITHER AFRAID OF NYANTAKYI OR THEY ARE DUPING THE NATION TOGETHER. I JUST CAN'T BELIEVE THAT AKWASI NYANTAKYI IS STILL THE GFA BOSS.IF MAHAMA DOESN'T FIRE NYANTAKYI, THEN I DON'T KNOW THE TYPE OF PERSON H ...

• OKOE 9 years ago

I ONLY PLAYED AND ENJOYED FOOTBALL ONLY IN TECHNICAL SCHOOL. WHAT I LIKE TO SAY IS THAT SPORTS IS OR ARE NO LONGER RECREATIONAL BUT BIG BUSINESS. IF I LOOK AT THE GHANAIAN SCENE, I DO NOT KNOW HOW WE WILL ACHIEVE THE ACCOLADE ...

• jt. 9 years ago

Mr have u ever seen a Ghanaian resign because he or she did not do things right? That should tell u that we do not understand what call my country.From top to bottom Ndc to Npp tribe to tribe no one love Ghana and feel to do ...

• Jason 9 years ago

Writer,

You should check your grammer..specially how to build up sentences..using expensive words does not make an article nice or better to read.

Nevertheless, your point is clear..I believe that Ghana missed the momen ...

• J Ananga 9 years ago

Is it poorly written or poor written? You equally have to check your grammar.

• Goodman 9 years ago

In 1979 during the military rule Ghana was able to assemble a team to win a trophy at Libya within a very short time.Things were not so cool like this at that time but they were able to win.It takes hard work,patriotism and i ...

• Me 9 years ago

True. You are right. 'hard work,patriotism and intergrity' and UNITY.

Read what PTO wrote on another website
    "
    I agree with u 100%! Ghana is destined to win the WC because we have the capacity and characeter to win it as ...

• Bs Fan 9 years ago

And the likes of Borateli,Danny Welbeck,Jerome Baeteng,Desailly and many others have all been born to Ghanian parents. Even Chris Hughton,the former Irish International Star and former New Castle Manager was born to a Ghanian ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

Why blame Nyantakyi when the blame is really the failure of the government to perform responsibly. Nyantakyi only said the truth and hawks in the NDC are bent on removing him and put in their cronies as was done by the Ghana ...

• Jack 9 years ago

For he is fool and I say this because this does not even realize that he is working against his own interest. If his objective as a GFA boss is to work and maintain his post then he should have realized that the only way to a ...

MY DAD WAS A CORNERS FAN BUT SAID ARMAH WAS THE BEST PLAYER OF HIS GENERATION. ARMAH PLAYED FOR HEARTS.
    CONCERNING NYANTAKYI, KOJO HOW CAN YOU DEFEND SUCK A CROCK!? FOR STARTERS, HE HAS OVER 7 EXTERNAL POSITIONS WITH WAFU AN ...

GERMANY BUILT A WCUP VILLAGE FOR ITS PLAYERS AND STAFF IN BRASIL. MEANWHILE, GBSTAR PLAYERS ARE TRAVELLING IN ECONOMY AND STAYING IN RUNDOWN HOTEL ROOMS? TWEAAAA....U GOT TO BE JOKING...LOL

• Amanor Isaac,USA. 9 years ago

Let the media organise a press conference for the players please . these guys need to tell the full story.We need to hear from them cos they are not boys but HONOURABLE and proud MEN.We need to hear from Muntari,Essien,Boaten ...

• Osei 9 years ago

Tooooooooo long ahba

• P.eter 9 years ago

I think so too! Just regurgitating half truths, innuendoes, a pure non-fa. If the public's resources was what is used to pay the coach, no way in this forsaken land would the GFA headman and ex-co have the temerity to extend ...

• Daniel 9 years ago

Mr. Listowell Yesu Bukarson, I completely agree with your statements. it is disgraceful to even think about the way Kwasi Appiah and Kwasi Nyantekyie treated the players. The Black Star players are professionals, they are not ...

• ALATA KWAKU USA 9 years ago

Muntari and Kevin tops WC worst 11 with Muntari's picture on the article. Humiliating not even Suarez Kevin PB and Suley Muntari. What a shame the world has lost respect for GHANA.

• john akpa 9 years ago

I've read more than half of this article and the writer is asking for government interferance and a ban by FIFA !!!!!

• ALATA KWAKU USA 9 years ago

MUNTARI'S FACE ON WC WORST XI WITH A LOT BEING SAID ABOUT HIM AND KEVIN

• yaw danchem 9 years ago

You are right Yesu Bukarson,the coach, Gfa president must be sacked to save Ghana football, they are there to make money and did not care.

• Aba Benyiwa 9 years ago

Dissolve GFA. They allowed themselves to be manipulated by the west when they realised our team was to be feared. GFA had time for press conferences instead of letting the press know their priority . That crucial time for pr ...

• Alhaji London 9 years ago

Wise saying....

• ERNEST 9 years ago

Listowell knows everything in footbal but does not know monies paid to the Black Stars came from FIFA instead of tax payers? i Wonder if Listowell pays his taxes correctly.

• A concerned citizen............ 9 years ago

Forget AFCON as far as Akwasi Appiah is the coach

• Frank 9 years ago

You same people will come here singing and laughing, and showing your kola-discoloured teeth, when coach AA wins AFCON 2015.

• A light of the Black star 9 years ago

Fire the GFA boss and let Fifa ban Ghana. After all the Fifa themselves are blaming Ghana management for our woes not the players

• Tanga star in Egypt. 9 years ago

Thank you my brother Fifa should ban Ghana is better to be spending money on those animals in G F A.

• APOYERI DANIEL 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah will again fail at AFCON 2015 and Will promise Ghanaians he would win AFCON 2018 with his usual apologies.

• Togbe 9 years ago

What the incompetent people at GFA will understand is the total boycott of all black stars home games until kwasi nyantekye and kwasi Appiah are fired. The two cannot lead the national team anywhere

Ghana is doing the most like just because ghana left the group stage that dont mean nothing Spain left and they not mad

• Appletus 9 years ago

Totally agree with you. The management team needs to be dissolved. The coach needs to be fired, he has no ideas, such a dumb coach. He could not alter any tactical change in our games when the going was tough.
    GFA Chairman m ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Great piece Listowell, I concur 110% You are right! we don't need to go to the next cap of nations with any of these officials. The concentration must be on the local league and players!

• Frank 9 years ago

You and who do not need to go to AFCON 2015. We are going, even with Teshi Town-Eleven.

• Ben 9 years ago

Useless coach, cannot take us anywhere, must be fired!

• Truth 9 years ago

People of Ghana are we going to swallow the lie that KPB, Muntari, and Essien were the cause of our exist from the world cup? WHAT ABOUT THE COACH? The ultimate responsibility lies with the coach.

• BENNETT 9 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT AND THE GFA ARE ALL USELESS! NOT NEED TO SPEND MONEY WE DON'T HAVE!

• link building 9 years ago

9EqTMn Appreciate you sharing, great article.Really looking forward to read more. Awesome.