Sports

News

Business

Entertainment

What happened to the Black Stars of Ghana ?

Read Comments Comments (109)

• Truth be said 9 years ago

You said it all. Suddenly this players have have become so arrogant. The whole continent supported them at the 2010 WC, and so they think that they have arrived. Just look at their stupid performance in Brazil. Their arrogan ...

• Anokwale 9 years ago

I agree there was greed but I also do not think that these players should play for free. They gain from playing for the national team but they are also taking some risks. If they get seriously injured, there might be some q ...

• BITHCPLEASE 9 years ago

DID YOU ACTUALLY READ THE ARTICLE AT ALL??? HE DIDN'T PARTICULARLY STATED THE BACKSTARS SHOULDN'T GET PAID, BUT HE STRESSED THE FACT THAT BLACKSTARS HAVE BECOME MONEY GRABBING ARROGANT BASTARDS THAT HAVE TRADED THEIR PATRIOTI ...

• Anokwale 9 years ago

My point is that there are many facets to what has transpired. For instance, assuming you get rid of all of these players, coaches and officials and replace them with Kotoko and Hearts of Oak players. There would be an enti ...

• Shabi 9 years ago

This article is just the ranting of an idiotic clown with nothing better to do than to expose his own ignorance.

It amounts to a total waste of space.

• GHFUO: nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go.ASAP! 9 years ago

The team has been hijacked to satisfy their insatiable appetite and greedy for big money. Winning at this point is not important to them. The more we give promises to our fans and fail. The more they will have a glimpse of ho ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TELL ELVIS AFRIYIE ANKRAH TO BRING OUR MONEY!! NDC HAS DESTROY GHANA, THE BLACK STARS AND EVERYTHING THAT THEY CAME TO MEET! GREEDY BASTARDS THINKS GHANAIANS ARE FOOLS!

• KAROTA 9 years ago

THE WRITER OF THE ARTICLE IS CHILDISH.

• GHANAian 9 years ago

I WONDER WHY THE COACH KEEP DAUDA IN THE POST INSTEAD OF BEING AT THE BENCH.
    GHANA STAND THE RISK OF LOSING TO UGANDA IN THE RETURN MATCH.

• Ras 9 years ago

I agree with you!

• Mr.N 9 years ago

Mr.Writer what about the politicians who put a gun over their heads to run for office? Members of Parliament in Ghana are paid 20 times better than their UK counterparts does this make sense to you Mr. Writer?

“This mont ...

• the truth 9 years ago

fair

• Don Bob 9 years ago

When you do that we will get only committed players to come.

• OGOGLO QUARTER! ! 9 years ago

RIVER NEVER FLOW FROM DOWNHILL TO UPHILLS,THE PATH OF RIVER TO DOWNHILL HAS BEEN BLOCKED, HENCE, THOSE LIVING UPHILLS(THE MAHAMA AND CO) DON'T GIVE A F^^K WHERETHER WE (TAX PAYERS)DRINK WATER,

HOW DO WE GET OUR WATER ...

• Ras 9 years ago

YOU'VE GOT NO IDEA OF WHAT YOU WROTE, BUT DONE FOR YOUR COURAGE ON THIS ATTEMPT.
    The problem is from the top to the coach, the players want them to be fair to them, that is all.

• kay de 9 years ago

Nice piece there. Kudos for that thought provoking article. Only myopic minds do not appreciate the truth but hammer on issues based on parochialism, tribalism, and ignorance. Thanks once again for the truth.

• Alibaba 9 years ago

What have you done for Ghana yourself. Your article doesn't make sense. Examine yourself and try to amend your ways than always critcising. Is better to offer solution than ....Dede, Essien,Muntari etc have done alot, what ab ...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

Ghanaians are better and quick to criticize. That's all most Ghanaians know best.

• Abrantie 9 years ago

Alibaba. Micheal writes to expose the rot in our system and thereby contributing his quota for the country.The players attitude towards money is pitiful and must be condemned.
    Now they have thugs to beat up journalists for d ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Abrantie, where did Michael write to expose the rot in the system?

• the truth 9 years ago

This is a low blow Alibaba!!

I think what Mr. Nketsia has done for Ghana is to speak his mind on an issue that concerns all Ghanaians. I may not agree with him but I will defend his right to hold a view with the last pi ...

• yiadom boakye,usa 9 years ago

real talk,greedy busteds

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

There are a lot of Cocoa farmers, teachers, doctors, nurses etc, who are killing themselves for Ghana but will only dream of ever earning the daily wages of these soccer players. I totally agree that without exposure to the b ...

• bangarlee sylla 9 years ago

there is a saying here in america that goes, there is more where that came from. that is what we are going to be seeing from the black stars from now on . simply put , the coach is useless and the nation knows it our opponent ...

• THE ONE AND ONLY WAHJAHKAMAN 9 years ago

BANGARLEE SYLLA, YOU ARE 100% RIGHT.WE ALL KNOW WHERE THE PROBLEM IS, BUT SOME OF US KEEP ON BLAMING THESE HARD WORKING YOUNG MEN.WE HAVE SOME OF THE FINEST PLAYERS IN THE WORLD,BUT THE CORRUPT GFA IS KILLING OUR FOOTBALL AN ...

• PAA NII 9 years ago

Why is John Boye playing for the Black stars? He was the best player for the U.S.A while wearing a BLACK STARS JERSEY during the world cup in Brazil. This donkey looking guy scores own goals like he has no idea of what he is ...

• JZ ,PHILADELPHIA 9 years ago

If Africans pay their players more than the Europeans and we can charter huge some of money aboard a flight to Brazil and pay taxes at the airport over that money and ESPN sports commentators and others from some countries wi ...

• Kooba nkwan 9 years ago

Talk is cheap Mr michael

• ernest yaw essel 9 years ago

Bro if all of us will be wise and bold as u ,wwe would not suffer. Teachers are on strike, no chalk to teach, dumso dumso etc yet u pay this unnessary monies to these so called professionals

• wiseman 9 years ago

Ohh my fellow Africans God hve mercy on us. Ghana players receive more than European players and the president sitting there unconcern.Are the Ghanaian players only sacrifice for the nation?One day we gonna hve someone ...

• the truth 9 years ago

the solution to a problem is its proper diagnosis.

• the truth 9 years ago

Not so fast!

The issue is not about the money paid to the players, the issue is the lack of preparation and the unprofessionalism and the broken promises etc. The BS demanded their 'pound of flesh' because history had sho ...

• Agyaaku USA 9 years ago

Please do some research before such article. Who told you the Ronaldos ,Messis and others play for free for their country? It is the same in all sports, they are paid much. You may do better than this.

AGYAAKU, HE KNOW THEY GET PAID ALRIGHT BUT THEY'RE NOT SUCKED INTO MONEY BUT ARE FULL OF PATRIOTISM TO THEIR COUNTRY UNLIKE THE BLACKSTARS. READ THE ARTICLE PROPERLY MY DEAR!!!!!!

• Ras 9 years ago

They're not sucked of money because there are not needs to, because they get what they've been promised to, and because all their FA's respect and treat them with fairness.

IF I'M RICH AND GET CALLED TO DO SOMETHING FOR MY COUNTRY AND NEVER GET PAID THE FIRST TIME, I'LL TAKE IT AS A MISTAKE. THE SECOND TIME WILL BE LIKE BEING TAKING FOR A RIDE HENCE WILL NEVER PUT MYSELF IN THAT SITUATION AGAIN. ...

• Nana 9 years ago

The players came public because failed promises by the so called GFA.The plyers said ,they cannoit run on the field for only the officials to enjoy.Ghanaians are being fooled by these officials.So the players decided that ,th ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Where is the patriotism when a contractor pockets the money meant for building schools, roads, hospitals etc?

Where is the patriotism when a person decides to collect a bribe before doing his or her work that he or she is ...

• BITCHPLEASE 9 years ago

MY POINT IS WHY DO THEY PUT THEMSELVES IN THE SAME SITUATION OVER AND OVER AGAIN ONLY TO BLAME GFA THEN? BS ARE JUST AS TO BE BLAME FOR BEING GREEDY BASTARDS!!!!!!!!

• the truth 9 years ago

I do not agree with you. They do not put themselves in any situation. Bonuses are announced but they arent paid so now they demanded it right before a game.....good plan!

• willie 9 years ago

Kwadwo mo ne kasa.

• Asempaye Odiefo. 9 years ago

Kwajo, God bless u. u have it the nail on the head. Keep on written one day Ghanaians will be looking for u.

• Black Banana 9 years ago

Is the president or anybody in government sacrificing anything for the nation. Why should the BS only be the people to sacrifice. The BS should do all they can to avoid been sent to play in the AFCON it is waste of their time ...

PLEASE CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN THIS TO ME??????? THIS DUDE KNOWS NOTHING BUT MONEY GRABBING BASTARDS AS SHOWN IN BRAZIL. HAS GHANA NOT HAVING ANYMORE PLAYERS THAT CAN POTENTIALLY LIFT GHANA FLAG UP HIGH AT ALL????

• Joe 9 years ago

Stupid Foolish ignorant baboon's mind output. This is from an ignorant fool.

WHY IS HE IGNORANT FOOL FOR STATING THE FACTS ABOUT WHAT EVERYONE IS THINKING??????

• sansambonsam 9 years ago

Yes.....you nailed it.....please do not go to their games any more.....without Black Star matches most of them would not get any exposure......they will warm their club benches.....undisciplined idiots...they have n ever won ...

• the truth 9 years ago

This is not a balanced write up.

• piero 9 years ago

Useless article

• fredsaid 9 years ago

There is no balance in this submission on Ghanaweb about the players you blame for the ills that have befallen the black stars. You blame the players for both the cause and effect of the disaster of their performances and you ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Fair assessment until last sentence.

• Oscar Ofori 9 years ago

Massa .....u ar talkg trash ....the players are right to do what dey want.....u think Akwesi Appiah is the right man ....no he disgraced the entire motherland of Ghana.....they should sack him .......I hv supported the coach ...

• Ras 9 years ago

Every body, even a government expecting to be paid when they worked, thou!

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

When we got millions of dollars from South Africa 2010, ET Mensah announce he was going to build a Black Stars Hotel at Ningo. That id football development from the NDC wise man. So any wonder a country like Uganda can dare d ...

• fidelity 9 years ago

There are real problems that the officials don't want to talk about which would end up in a tremendous desaster. They think by using their executive power to make stupid and radical decision, it will make things right and loo ...

• ken 9 years ago

ask nyantekye much money is he making out the dead ghanaian football and why should the players offer their services for corrupt officials?

• Tap 9 years ago

The player don't play for charity. Ghana needs to pay them their due. That's all they asked for in the first place. Now don't go to the game if u don't want to. The Black Stars is not about personalities. It is Ghana and it w ...

• K.S. - USA 9 years ago

All these money quoted in your article is paid to players by Fifa, not from GFA. Ask GFA officials to put a stop to their corrupt act so players can deliver to get results.

• baggio 9 years ago

I am really surprise by this your post Michael. There must be a change of attitude by everyone from the ministry through management to the players and the general public.Until then, very soon you will find players not interes ...

• Tap 9 years ago

And they will pull u down. Why count someone else's beans. Only the poor and non-progressive wallow in that. How much the coach n supporting staff make should not b a source of pain to anybody. Rather we should only look at t ...

• the truth 9 years ago

for real?

• NANA YAW 9 years ago

You are not being serious menuah Kwadwo Nketiah; why are you discounting the fact that teams we beat years ago have improved tremendously. Give us a break, and expect stiff challenge from some of the minnows.
    Ghana is not th ...

• pk 9 years ago

Well done as you called 'a spade a spade and not a gardening tool'.

• Nun 9 years ago

We are simply not good to compete with teams who are good. We don't believe that having a good coach can make a team win matches. We are having a manager who has no idea about how to manage a national team, but foolish as we, ...

• Elisabeth Darko 9 years ago

Why do you keep blaming the players,even those sports council personnel who couldn't make it to Brazil were paid 26.000 euros each so what are you talking about.The appearance fee is not government money,it is money paid by F ...

• danny 9 years ago

You are so right.Blind envy on display in this piece!

• Amoah Charles 9 years ago

Is very true nd the gahanians don't won't the trueth.

• Alan bed room 9 years ago

unpatriotic players. who value money than love for their nation. they dont even feel for the economic woes of the country.

• tony 9 years ago

we will play one game to get $15,000.Random selection with NHIS registration numbers.

• tony 9 years ago

Ghana is for Ghanaian s, not for so called selfish foreign football players

• sheff 9 years ago

well said my brother, i wish all Ghanaians will read this, we spend too much on the national team yet gets nothing in returns, i think it's time the government forget about them and look at other areas, Ghanaians are sufferin ...

• tony 9 years ago

yes and if not we should forget about those players who have had their share of the money and come and do random selection from north to the south so that we will get some of the money whether you know how to play or not.

• mbangbe 9 years ago

i have lost interest in the black stars.they should not even qualify to the 2015 afcon so we don't have to pay appearance fees leaving millions with no three square meals.

• Sankofa 9 years ago

Mr.Nketia you make a good point but who is going to enforce it.

• Kejetia Abrantie 9 years ago

Muntari is in trouble because he loves Ghana. None of the players showed enough commitment as he did on the field of play.

• Stephen Markin 9 years ago

Nkwasiasem aa kwa....what kind of stupid article is this...listen to the rot that went on...and they made the three strong namely Essien, Sulley and Muntari Scape Goats...they are the Spirit of the Team...the entire managemen ...

• alex 9 years ago

This writer, am not sure what he is talking about. You blame the players for playing the game? he dpoesn't seem to know what he is writting about. There is a real problem with the Black Stars and I don't believe it's with the ...

• Mister DJ 9 years ago

If the players were treated as adults and not as some stupid young idiots, by the GFA then all the problems with the Black stars will vanish.

The reason why it appears that the players are focused on money is because, ther ...

• KOJO ATLANTA 9 years ago

People like u shouldn't have a platform like this u sound very uninformed. Makes me wonder if am reading an article from the sixties or what

• John Marcus Abrams 9 years ago

Thanks sir for your insightful article. I want to add that it took Appiah such a short time to destroy our Black Stars. Whoever appointed him to this job must bow down hi head in SHAME!

• Schalke Fan 9 years ago

(and insulting
    Ghanaians like K.P Boateng did after he announced his retirement after
    the 2010 world cup and recently going on sexy jamboree jet-ski trip on
    the rivers of Ada to kill our favourite musicians)............... ...

• Tanga star in Egypt 9 years ago

no one will listing to this donkey. You are blaming the players why don,t you blame those animals working in G F A who are there just to make money. And you dare talking about money the players has the right ask for the appea ...

Brethren,that guy is one of the thieves,I JUST WANT HIM TO TELL ME WHICH PLAYER HAVE KILLED HIMSELF FOR GH LIKE ESSIEN. Typical Ghman, they wont kill you but will do everything to disgrace you,what a shame.

• KWESI 9 years ago

WHICH IS PART OF THE EU WITH 2 YEARS WORKING PERMIT, WHICH CAN BE RENEWED AFTER ITS EXPIRATION.
    ITS A CAR MANUFACTURING COMPANY/FACTORY.
    SALARY RANGES FROM 1000 EUROS UPWARDS..
    APPLICANTS ARE SUPPOSED TO PASS A MEDICAL AN ...

• lolo akua 9 years ago

In fact the players deserve there bonus because if something happens to them they will just leave them alone to suffer like Ali Jarra,Ali Jarra sacrifice for Ghana but when he was paralysis Ghanains left him alone to suffer.

• NON-ALIGNED 9 years ago

Indiscipline is what has raised its ugly head with the Stars camp. When you have a bunch of GREEDY, SELFISH and INDISCIPLINE players, the results will always be there to be seen.....

These lot held the whole nation to rans ...

Talking about indiscipline and selfishness,so it`s alright for team official to travel first class with families and friends whiles the players are forced to cramp themselves up, in the name of discipline ala Ghanaman, at the ...

• John Marcus Abrams 9 years ago

They did not come to play and Appiah has no clue as to how to make them. The Black Stars are currently like a ship sailing in rough seas without a ship's captain. It is ruderless, yep, ruderless.

• WAZIRAZI 9 years ago

BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION COUPLE WITH THEIR TWIN SISTERS INDICIPLIN AND ARROGANT WILL SOON BRING THESE CURRENT BLACK STARS TO THEIR KNEES.

• Naa 9 years ago

Hmmm, our concern is not players but Kwasi, Nyantakye n their gang still in managing black star affairs. Kwasi should be sack, he is incompetent

• Iwan 9 years ago

Michael, I salute you for this piece. Everything is correct except the killing of musician. Castro could have slept in a jacuzzi fed by beauties and nothing will happen

• rashad 9 years ago

Am highly disappointed in what you have said,I do not expect such a thing from you.The little information i have for is that every worker must demands for wages,the question is that in Ghana here whose work is does for free.S ...

• Quojo 9 years ago

The author sounds like a whiny little prick. What does Castro's death have to do Asamoah Gyan or the BS ....GEt a fucking life...