CAF fires Platini for seeking AFCON postponement

Read Comments Comments (80)

• Miki, New York 9 years ago

Platini could be Anti-African as the articles says, but CAF must see the common sense here. It is about a disease that has no cure yet, and a single player or official who contracts it will easily spread among other players o ...

• LOVELY 9 years ago

PLEASE ABEG STOP USING THE PHRASE "BLACKMAN MENTALITY" COS IT DOES NOT EXIST AND IT ONLY EXIST IN PEOPLE WITH MYOPIC MINDS.

• Pito Brewer 9 years ago

The decision makers at CAF are buffoons.

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi! 9 years ago

So if hayatou were in platini's shoe's. What would he have said to.protect the interest of Africans and the.sport.on the continent? Will he cow toe like a coward becos of money in a Manilla envelope and look the other way? Ma ...

• Ghfuo: hang nyantakyi, NOW!!! 9 years ago

Next Ghana Captain
    Kasa for leftwinger!
    He must be the next captain. Can you compare juventus to marseilles? Phillip Lahm was captain of germany and he rarely speaks. Look at the captains of brasil, holland, even Argentina. ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

Qualifiers are being played in various African countries. Why not continue the final phase of the tournament in that fashion. It reduces risk since no one country has to deal with all the travelers? I think there is a solu ...

• Truth 9 years ago

If this piece comes from CAF then Africa has a problem.CAF shouldent have waited for an " outsider" to tell them this plain common sense that AFCON 2015 must be postponed. Don't they see the deadly danger of Ebola ?

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

AM REALLY SURPRISED THAT CAF IS THINKING THIS WAY YES PLATINI MIGHT BE WADDLING INTO THEIR AFFAIR BUT HE IS SAYING THE TRUTH HOW CAN YOU COMPARE WHAT HAPPENED IN UKRAINE TO WHAT IS GOING ON IN AFRICA EBOLA IS NO WAR IS A VIRU ...

• THE TRUTH 9 years ago

UN ASKED FOR $1billion BU GOT $100,000 FOR THE CRUSADE AGAINST EBOLA JUST BECAUSE IT IS IN AFRICA AND NOW OUR OWN WANT TO CRUCIFY US BY GOING AHEAD WITH AFCON FOR WHAT?

• Simpleman 9 years ago

It is your country and I believe it is immune from Ibola so why dont you ssend the competition there?

• AGYEMAN 9 years ago

Hayatou doesn't seem to get. There are a host of African Players in Europe who are at risk to themselves and the teams they play for. Hayatou like the GFA always want chop chop. Ghana should not stage the tournament and shoul ...

• Naa 9 years ago

Africans are just stupid

You cannot say it better than this. Africans stupidity is beyond imagination

• Kweku 9 years ago

Africans put stupid and people who lack common sense in positions of authority.

• Eredec_In_The_70s 9 years ago

You are in effect saying you are stupid! That is your choice. I'd like to assure you that I am an African but I am not stupid.

• Ibi 9 years ago

naa or wat eva, u r big STUPID!
    Duba sheege.

• MILLS 9 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH CAF ? WHAT DOES AFRICA STAND TO LOSE IF AFCON 2015 IS POSTPONED TO PREVENT THE SPREAD OF EBOLA ? LET ISA HAYATU HOST THE TOURNAMENT IN HIS HOME COUNTRY OF CAMEROUN IF HE SEES NO WISDOM IN POSPONING AFCON 20 ...

• DORIS, NEWARK, NJ 9 years ago

What is this "huhuhuhu" about GHFUO circulating around here? Is it true that he is a fugitive from Ankarful Mental Hospital and that he was a patient from 2005 up to 2008 when he escaped? You appear to know him well because O ...

• MARK, ASAFO. 9 years ago

So Doris you have time for this nonsense? Who doesn't know GhFuo and Ogoglo at this forum? If have time for these fools then you are also a fool, excuse me. Ghfuo??? Give me a break. The Ankarful scoop aside, he served 2 year ...

If I serve nsawam for.rape then u will.serve.eternity in hell jail for sodomizing your mother!

If.it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, eggs like a duck...then it's not akomfemism..so what proof.do u have to.substantia ...

• CHAKA, USA. 9 years ago

GHFUO, I don't think your strategy of threats and insults is a smart way to refute the allegations in your checkered past. The "declassified " dossier on you was made public by Aunty Araba, Cape Coast who claims to have kno ...

Claims and allegations. I have never been to nsawam nor do I know where ankaful is. As for aunt araba...Hmmmmmmm. I'm a famous person you know..everyone wants to have my baby and be a millionaire. What can I say

Africa must show the world how resilient they are as a people and a continent. EBOLA or no ebola. Afcon must go on. Afterall, ebola is not the only disease that we humans have come into contact with. We have had worse plagues ...

• CHAKA, USA. 9 years ago

GhFuo, is that really your past or I'm smelling a kind of conspiracy here? A fugitive from Ankarful Mental Hospital AND 3 years at Nsawam Prison for RAPE? Come on, I CAN'T BREATHE !!!

Why don't you tell everyone here that ETW3 FUNU is your delicacy? Huh?

• ama 9 years ago

you are fool

In ghana, car deaths kill more than cholera, aids, ebola, malaria.....

• MAAME SERWAH, UK. 9 years ago

OH BOY!!!!!! WHY DRAG RASHEED INTO THIS? LET OGOGLO HELP, RASHEED SHOULD BE SPARED THIS "INTERROGATION". PERSONALLY, I WON'T BE SURPRISED IF IT'S TRUE THAT GHFUO IS A MENTAL PATIENT.

• OGOGLO QUARTER! !!! 9 years ago

IM SORRY ABOUT RASHEED. AND ITS NOT TRUE ABOUT GHFOU ANKARFU THING...HOPE YOU ENJOYING YOUR LIFE...AND BE SAFE...

• moses 9 years ago

africa leaders are fools am not afriad to say this they dont think about the people life look at how this europens leaders are thinkin about how to get a medicine for the disease imfact am very dissapointment in them

• cedicedi 9 years ago

As usual the white will think and decide for us. Shame on African Leaders.

• Di Wo Fei Asem 9 years ago

What at all are African Countries contributing towards fighting the Ebola outbreak. Are Africans working to develop vaccines or serum to combat this deadly disease. How much money have we contributed in fighting this disease. ...

• XYZ 9 years ago

What Platini is saying is simple common sense. I don't want to believe that officials of CAF are adamant about this because of the perks that they are expecting from the tournament. If Issa Hayatou has already made his perso ...

• Eredec_In_The_70s 9 years ago

War vs ebola. What a silly argument! War and Ebola are not the same in the sense that warring factions can declare a ceasefire. I am not sure anyone can declare a ceasefire with Ebola!

• charles 9 years ago

WHY IS IT THAT OVER 98% OF AFRICAN LEADERS ARE SO SO MYOPIC MINDED.OUR PRESIDENTS ARE NOT VISIONARIES,LACKS INTELLECTUAL CAPABILTY,NO DEEP THINKERS.ALL THEY THINK ABOUT IN THEIR SELFISH AMBITIONS.PLATINI IS DAMN RIGHT.WHAT DO ...

• saco saviour church 9 years ago

africans I wonder sometimes wether we are real human beings judging from the way we think. very greedy and parochial interest, why is it so

• Jato .P 9 years ago

Mr. Platini is right. CAF's reaction is uncalled for. Ibola is more dangerous that war and the shooting down of one plane. I do not believe that the war in Ukraine has killed more that 4500 people

• k kaye 9 years ago

Mr caf president this time around listen to opinion and postpone the tournament, platini may be an outsider but african player will play in europe afterwards. do not be selfish. listen to wisdom and postpone .

• Agyaku NYC 9 years ago

Ukraine war verses Ebola outbreak comparison from Issa Hayatou is sicking and disgusting.If Europeans should mind their business and leave Africans alone for their affairs then Hayatou might be leaving in mars. Is them and ...

• Azu 9 years ago

But you want their money right? CAF members are nothing but nicompoops

• chris from Australia 9 years ago

Yes Platini is right AFCON must postpone. We African's dont think about future for today only. Chop chop.

• Jee 9 years ago

Platini !!!!

lease do not be angered by the senseless moves by the black man. The black man is not interested in his people, but his pocket.

You have said yours. Let the black man with no amount of thinking do what the ...

• Ebola 9 years ago

Ebola is not only for Africa,the whole world.What is Platini talking about?this is hypocrites!!!!.
    It started from Africa does not means it is only for Africa.Platini shut up.Whether we postpone or not Ebola is here,Believe ...

• Jee 9 years ago

Ebola warfare and the conspiracy theories

African leaders should not just brush aside some of the Ebola conspiracy theories.

• Abu Samson USA 9 years ago

Africans must joined hands with Morocco and South Africa to boycott 2015 Africa Cup of Nations. Ghanaians must also stage a million men/women march against mahama if he stubbornly accepted to host it in Ghana.

• Peter P. 9 years ago

The CAF bunch is being plain stupid because of their greed to make and steal money for their pockets at all costs (now I am sounding like Man Akuff). AFCON this year can have hazardous consequences for all of Africa and Afric ...

• JOE LONDON 9 years ago

THE MOST AFFECTED COUNTRIES ARE NOT QUALIFIED AND THEY WILL NOT COME TO WATCH FOOTBALL SO WHY ALL THE FUSS
    LET THE GAME ROLL

• anokwale 9 years ago

Not only that, we are already playing qualifiers. What is the difference?

The disease as so called purported is easily transmitted and transitted. Every continent as have been reported in popular media. Now has cases of EBOLA to deal with. How many Africans from these 3 countries do we have all ove ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

The problem is bringing large numbers of people together. The bigger the crowd the greater the likelihood of attracting a few ebola infected persons in the crowd. We are not adequately prepared so playing it safe is postponin ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

Games could be played like the qualifiers. Multiple countries and smaller crowds. Highest seeds host the four groups. Group winners host quarters and in the final four, the higher seed hosts. This prevents any pressure o ...

• Peter P 9 years ago

This JOE LONDON guy can't even spell Guinea. Sure your GUNEAU didn't qualify because there is no such country in Africa participating in the AFCON games. But if by your GUNEAU, you meant Guinea, then you must be living in idi ...

• Kenkey Warriors!!! 9 years ago

...African leader. Instead of putting on his thinking cap Hayatou is letting instinct push him to talk nonsense. No display of foolish pride please. Ebola is real and we do not have the capacity to contain it. If the world ha ...

• Osei Yaw 9 years ago

CAF is putting politics and misplaced pride ahead of common sense measures to postpone the tournament in light of the Ebola crises.

• Bee 9 years ago

GOOD

• kWABENA 9 years ago

pls use your powers to get solution for the ebola virus ASAP.

• Telli 9 years ago

Is Caf saying even if Sierra Leone and Guinea are not likely to qualify for Afcon 2015,their citizens for that matter are also banned from traveling to whichever country that hosts the tournament? This is a very shallow logic ...

• Kwasi 9 years ago

Corrupt cartel CAF officials can't afford to lose the money they need to replenish their bank accounts at the expense of potential Ebola victims.

• Ibi 9 years ago

kwasia platini wey tin b ur concern with africa futbol? luk at this fucking sheege!
    big IDIOT mind ur own bizinez ok?.
    next tym u try to ... u'll see ur mada's pusi!!!

• Bata 9 years ago

This not interfearance but common logic this about human life and common sense not until we have this ebola under control it will be absurd to put people's life in peril.We all know the death rate started at 950 to 1500 then ...

Africa must show how resilient they are in beating the odds. We can appear weak and confused to the world amidst this useless ebola. It's a disease like many diseases. Many diseases have come and gone and get our institutions ...

• selfish interest 9 years ago

Africans why??? common sense should tell some of our leaders that it is irrational to host 2015 afcon. when are you going to reason up. it's a shame to publish this nonsense he is anti Africa so what?? Ebola and its spread ...

• Adom 9 years ago

I dont think we should blame CAF. How can CAF think of postponing the tournament when countries like Ghana are giving the indication they can host AFCON 2015.

The show must go on as scheduled. Rain, Shine or EBOLA. Even is Jesus comes.today, today. We will make sure we have our afcon before the rapture! Nkwasiasem nkoaa!

• the iron boy 9 years ago

this is foolish shd we stop qualification matches too if plantini really means what he is saying day in day out a lot of things happen in ukairane yet footballing activities go on what a big fool.

• Annorwuo 9 years ago

That has been generated about AFCON 2015 and EBOLA! These questionable characters running World Football,from FIFA to Continental Organizations like CAF,UEFA etc, and local FAs,see international soccer as a wholly private bus ...

• faze 9 years ago

Caf leaders are fools u guys need to thank platini

• Issifu Mahama Gani 9 years ago

Pls,i beg CAF 2 vy careful about dis issue cos life is precious

• Tufguy 9 years ago

Let AFCON 2015 be staged in Cameroon, the home of CAF president.

• JK 9 years ago

Why did he not contact Cameroon to host the competition?

• Kinsford Kojovi 9 years ago

CAF or UEFA can go to their mother's Vigina. Platini is 100% right and may the Almighty God bless him. Those who are against Platini may the Lord Almighty let them get the Ebola disease Amen

• JK 9 years ago

CAF fires Platini...? LOL, I thought Platini is jobless and could soon be interviewed by the GFA for the Black Stars' coaching job.

• charles 9 years ago

France always decided how things can go in Africa for africains.France is african colonial master. France imposed cfa curency to africans,France decides who can be president in Africa any time france want now french man want ...

• Obialeke 9 years ago

CAF is Stupid. HAyatou should hold it in Cameroun. Blackstars should not participate.

• Martin 9 years ago

Fire is not the right word to use in this context. Fire implies here that CAF dismisses Platini from his job as the UEFA chief. The right word is slam (means criticize, condemn, etc). It appears journalism has gone to the dog ...

• EKUOBA GYASI, LEEDS, UK 9 years ago

I AGREE WITH PLATINI ON THE POSTNEMENT OF AFCON 2015. AND IF THE CAF DON'T WANT TO POSTPONE IT, IT'S SIMPLE, THEY SHOULD TAKE IT TO CAMEROUN WHERE THE PRESIDENT YAHYA HAYATOU COMES FROM. I REST MY CASE.

• FiifiKofi 9 years ago

"CAF fires Platini for seeking AFCON postponement"

Really? Brofo nana? CAF did not "fire" anyone, it should read "CAF fires BACK AT Platini..."
    Oh by the way, he's right!

• GABRIEL MIFETU 9 years ago

Platini might have said things in the past that showed he's anti-african with regards to football. He might have allowed Ukraine to participate in football competitions despite the security challenges in that country. But wha ...

• Dontege 9 years ago

This is simple logic.if you don't want to think, someone else has to force you to do so.The fact that he's anti-african as you want us to believe, doesn't make what he says senseless

• yaweh 9 years ago

Afcon 2015 must go on.Ebola will be contained by January.Platini should worry about Uefa.