Ban live telecast of foreign leagues – Daara

Read Comments Comments (128)

• The mask 9 years ago

The Ghana Broadcasting Corporation has no shortwave station or globally accessible satellite channel. Ghanaians abroad and in remote locations on earth are unable to keep up with local events. This lack of foresight is mindbo ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

This week has been a week of foolish suggestions. Yesterday it was a law lecturer calling for a law to compel us to clean gutters, today somebody with a microphone placed in front of him is calling for a law to stop showing G ...

• Ghfuo: Be Bad & Hang Nyantakyi, NOW! 9 years ago

Sani, where do we draw the line? I'm all for reducing coverage of foreign leagues on Ghanaian public tv, yes. Outright ban die33333........no no

• Love Ghana 9 years ago

Absolutely, the association must rather concentrate on clever ways of improving the game locally to make it more attractive. I wouldn't personally pay even ghc 10 cedis for a league match in Ghana mainly because there is lack ...

• True Talk 9 years ago

This is ridiculous, stop the corruption in Ghana football and patronage will improve. The GFA is useless, all they want is more revenue to dip their filthy hands in!!

• The African Patriot 9 years ago

Sorry, but a country with very less brains end up without any innovative ideas to tackle it own problems and this is what we see it every where everyday. I do not see any sense in it. GFA must be blamed for lack of interest i ...

These bars and drinking spots will all get satellite dishes and the rest will be history. You can't fight live streaming online. Watever happened to alcohol duringthe prohibition will occur to foreign league soccer in Ghana. ...

• K Asumadu 9 years ago

What a load of nonsense, we come to a point where there aren't many sensible people looking at affairs Ghana anymore.
    'Am sure even in North Korea there aren't all these 'banning' business that seem to spring out of every f ...

• Zee 9 years ago

Well, perhaps it's because we live in a country where only a few people tend to use their brains even when talking.

• Nana Kwame 9 years ago

He is making a lot of sense. Ghana league started declining when people got hooked on foreign leagues.

Ghana league declined because of coefficient corruption.

• Lagos Boy 9 years ago

Can somebody tell me why Ghanaian always looking for cheap and easy solution which will not last long ???????????????????????

Ban the following akokor funu, foreign booze, second hand clothing, ban avram grant, ban supersport, ban imported tilapia, ban indomie, ban all foreigners. Wat Sani should advocate is the reduction in the number of foreign le ...

• The mask 9 years ago

We need a progressive policy. All adverts in Ghana must be created by wholly owned Ghanaian businesses and the songs and celebrities in the adverts must be wholly Ghanaian. The celebrities and musicians must receive royalties ...

• The mask 9 years ago

We need a progressive policy. All adverts in Ghana must be created by wholly owned Ghanaian businesses and the songs and celebrities in the adverts must be wholly Ghanaian. The celebrities and musicians must receive royalties ...

• The mask 9 years ago

• blaise 9 years ago

Lunatic, go and ban your mother! Useless man.

• F.K ESSUMAN 9 years ago

Shame on you GFA spoke person when you are at choice fm you lambast FA but now YOU the get some thing to chop u stop insulting your BOSS . i mean FA president. why did u stop working at BBC in England.You better come n apolo ...

• Dread 9 years ago

This is the way forward

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

WHY DOES PEOPLE PAY TO GO AND WATCH HIPLIFE ARTISTES LIVE PERFORMING IN GHANA EVEN THOUGH FOREIGN MUSIC IS SHOWN ON TV? DURING THE DAYS OF JOE DEBRAH AND SHAMO QUAYE GBC DID SHOW GERMAN FOOTBALL BUNDESLIGA, ENGLISH FOOTBALL R ...

• Owusu 9 years ago

You succinctly put the argument such that I have nothing to add other than to wholly agree.

• akonoba 9 years ago

oh mother Ghana, how can such a person holds position NO VISION.Resign

• Great 9 years ago

What shows that itis true? We were watching German, Italian, England and co., during the era of Polo, Anash Seidu etc yet still we couldn't get a place to stand at the stadium. GFA should stop pointing fingers on the TV stati ...

• Kwabena, Minnesota 9 years ago

This is one idiotic backward thinking. We live in the information age so if you can't keep up, then get out of your job. You have to compete instead of regulate. You want to pass laws because you are inefficient at drawing fa ...

• PRINCE-ISAAC SOVOR - USA 9 years ago

I disagree with this proposal because we can compare ourselves with England now. Viewing such games will help a lot our young ones who want to play soccer and also improve our local referees.

• Kofi Nimo 9 years ago

I wonder how some get positions in Gh with such a shallow minded and lame suggestion. banning foreign games on tele in gh I not the answer. the answer is making the attractive and competitive for pundits to watch. the answer ...

• 4 Year Old 9 years ago

What?

• Otwenua Adamfo 9 years ago

Simply improve the quality of the local league and there will not be the need to regulate what people want watch in free world.

• Bangarlee sylla 9 years ago

I must say this before I get into talking about what I think about Sannie,s ideas . I'm really not a fan of Governments interference in the nations rights to access information/entertainment anyhow it chooses to. And secondly ...

• mpanimfuo USA 9 years ago

Some people were born with stupidity n grows up with nonsense.where does this come from.Empty headed this won't change nothing

• k.baah 9 years ago

this is the kind of backward, retarded, low IQ, lack of innovative problem solving attribute of these officials, that has held Ghana back for so long. Instead of sitting down and thinking critically about the problem, doing r ...

• k.baah 9 years ago

The root cause of low patronage in the ghana football domestic league is not primarily because foreign matches are shown live. it comes down to quality of entertainment. lets face it. football is or has become a business ente ...

• agosta 9 years ago

Whether ban or not I will watch it on DSTV live or on ivory coast channel live... does gfa pay the private stations in Ghana...does he wants those to live from their corrupt pockets

• Kofi Thomas, Tema 9 years ago

You need to go back to school. You want to dictate to humanity what you you assume to be the will of the humanity. Well, if your religion tells you that fine! wherever you come from just bag, baggage and leave town. You don't ...

• Kafui 9 years ago

People just open mouths and begin to babble. Kwaseas3m are kwa!!!

• Nene from Ohio Columbus. 9 years ago

Either he keep his mouth quite or he get out from his post. We are just fed up with the current GFA.They just want to follow the Black Stars for their selfish ends.

• ONLY FOOLISH PEOPLE AT THE TOP 9 years ago

PEOPLE HAVE THE RIGHT TO CHOOSE WHAT TO WATCH.INSTEAD OF FINDING THE CAUSE AND PUMPING MONEY INTO IT TO BRING IMPROVEMENTS. THIS IS WHAT THE FOOL THINK IS THE CAUSE.

• DAN 9 years ago

GFA CORRUPTION HAS MADE THIS KWASIA SO RICH THAT HE THINGS HE'S THE WISEST MAN IN GHANA, COMING UP WITH SUCH A SHORT-SIGHTED SUGGESTION.

GFA AND GHANA SPORTS MINISTRY CROOKS LIKE SAANI POCKETTED A WHOPPING $100,000.00 EACH ...

• Ewusi 9 years ago

How did this Burkinabe refugee, with his head full of sand become spokesman for Ghana's fa?

• Alex 9 years ago

When listen people trying to use force to get results you can clearly failure in those people.
    Can this Sani tell us why he wears foreign clothing when there are Ghana made?
    The car he drives is it not a foreign mark?
    He c ...

• Asem 9 years ago

Don't ban it but make the local leagues attractive to watch. You cannot force rubbish people, we are not in Rawlings regime. If a woman shows her quality, men will fight over her. Show people why they should watch the loca ...

• swindle 9 years ago

TRUE, BAN THAT JUST FOR THE REASONS OUTLINED BY THIS WISE GUY

• the truth 9 years ago

these idiots know nothing but how to ban ban ban

• Abdul Rahaman Samari 9 years ago

So Saani Daara is paid by the Taxpayer? Hmmmm how can a full GFA Spork Person speak this way? No Wonder as a country we air lifted 3million dollars to Brazil.

• Dan 9 years ago

Did you even have to talk about this before the nation know that they are killing their own leagues?
    This is common knowledge and not recket science

• Great 9 years ago

During the time of Polo, Mahama Acquah, Robert Hammond and co., Ghanaians were watching foreign football. We were watching Italian, German, England etc. and yet still people can not even get the chance to enter into the stad ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

How about banning the importation of the best cars into Ghana? This is not rice so you get into a trade sanction of banning importation to increase participation of the local. If you want Television stations to show your matc ...

• Gfa 9 years ago

Foolish talk .if not becuz of foreign league who's Grant to you today? Yes we all know him tru the help of EPL team Chelsea ..can u even buy jersey for a local Team or pay player .massa I beg don't envy the organize league th ...

• Busumbru 9 years ago

Don't mind him. He better goes to do that in Nigeria because he is Nigerian

• Paakwesicharles 9 years ago

I don't see why we should compare ourselves to England on this issue. Ghanaians love soccer, whether foreign or local games. The GFA and the management of the Football clubs in Ghana should find a way of making Ghana soccer ...

• Snatchy 9 years ago

if you guys are not good managers of GH's soccer, purge yourselves somewhere and make us enjoy the best of soccer...what ban? if we have to ban live telecast of leagues, it should be the local leagues and not foreign leagues. ...

• Nana Adwoa New York City 9 years ago

Saanie I least expected you to have said this because of your exposure in England for several years?
    My counter question to you is why do people patronize the Watching of Foreign League?and you think its stifling peoples ri ...

• A.D 9 years ago

A complete rant of a lunatic. Nonsense man..

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

SHOWING FOREIGN MATCHES IS ONLY RECENT. AND TRULY IT IS BECAUSE OF THE POOR STANDARD OF FOOTBALL IN GHANA TODAY. YEARS BACK, A MATCH BETWEEN KOTOKO AND AKOTEX OR DUMAS BOYS COULD FILL ANY STADIUM TO ITS CAPACITY. LOOK, EVEN I ...

• why 9 years ago

Gh man is ready to pay good cash to watch a good game. Develop n make ur games attractive n stop enriching urselfes at the fa. If d law comes n u are still d same we will pay good cash to watch gooood football not some cotte ...

• agyeman 9 years ago

This is a clear case of failure of the GFA. The people want value for money and you want protection for such shoddy administration of football. We have seen better football administration in Ghana where for example I did not ...

• olonka 9 years ago

U are a foolish man paa open your myopic mind and use the world cup money to buy players and advertise ur so call local league in Ghana. Nonsense talking!!!

• Rashida 9 years ago

You are not serious is Ghana for you?

• Adjua 9 years ago

BAN TOYOTA, BAN BENZ, BAN HYUNDAI, ETC, BAN ALL FOREIGN CLOTHES, SHOES, BAGS AND ACCESSORIES, BAN FOREIGN BUILDING MATERIALS AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, BAN ALL FOREIGN FOODS AND BEVERAGES, WILL THIS HELP US? LEARN FROM THE MUSI ...

• Adjua 9 years ago

JUST IMPROVE THE LOCAL LEAGUE AND STOP CALLING FOR BANS

• OPOKU-WIAFE 9 years ago

Shame unto you diara, have u heard ppls comments? its not u but greedy GFA. Fire will burn u all

This Daara guy is so stupid. Does he think Ghana is North Korea? Who will watch your stupid league destroyed by your corruption?

• ghana boy 9 years ago

what is wrong with this guy? even common blackstars match u 'cant show on GTV let alone your wretched local league.All what u know is chop chop.

• Nkrumah Richard,Kumasi 9 years ago

I think this is baseless,even till now you have not started Ghana s league,how do you expect football fans to patronise your league

I

• op jay 9 years ago

u dont know wat u r saying

• op jay 9 years ago

u dont know wat u r saying

• op jay 9 years ago

u dont wat u r saying

• assemblymember,ahafo-ano south 9 years ago

Why people in ndc do make blind and foolish suggestions.Even,our local league matches are not telecast live.

• assemblymember,ahafo-ano south 9 years ago

Why people in ndc do make blind and foolish suggestions.Even,our local league matches are not telecast live.

• True Northern er 9 years ago

this idiot calling himself a spoke person for GFA. nonsense corrupted people like you type you DAara.

• Georgee 9 years ago

This suggestion is madness. Is he disregarding the freedom we fought for? We are part of the civilized world and must have choices.

• Georgee 9 years ago

This suggestion is madness. Is he disregarding the freedom we fought for? We are part of the civilized world and must have choices.

• Georgee 9 years ago

• king Arthur 9 years ago

I personal think he's making a good sense in Europe I pay before I watch foreign programs.

• ADAMS ISSAKA 9 years ago

Its rubbish to ban it. How are we going to see the performance of our players in abroad? If so then GFA should lift up Ghana football to its best.

• Siddique 9 years ago

This guy is insane

• Konadu 9 years ago

When the same GFA which budgets 20 million dollars for the black stars make such statements I am compelled to say they are a bunch of idiots. Nyantakyi and his corrupt buddies are the ones who kill Ghanaian club football. How ...

• chris 9 years ago

am really disappointed in Saani. He means Ghanaians shd continue undisciplined players under his watch? pls come again. stop e unpatriotic and sika die basabasabasa.

• michael 9 years ago

do ur home work well 4 pstronge

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 9 years ago

This guy is a FOOL. Go to his house and see if he does not subscribe to DSTV? And he wants those of us (football loving Ghanaian) who cannot afford the DSTV dish not to enjoy and entertain ourselves before we die. Once again, ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

why BBC ?

• Sannie 9 years ago

This foolishness

• ben 9 years ago

Please is better you stop talking about this ban thing and talk about how to make the local league to an international level

• Lawyer Adu 9 years ago

I think his suggestion is on the low side of reasoning..this game is all about competition and if u cant compete then u have a problem to stay in the game...ghana premier league has being put on hold for somtime now and he is ...

• ben 9 years ago

stop talking about this ban thing and think about ways and means that will take our local league to international level. Also all is due to poor management that we have in gh

• pacesetter 9 years ago

hmmm its a nice idea but have u put measures in place for football fans who can not make it to the stadia to watch the local games on tv. infact this will be very difficult for we the football fans but hey this is our country ...

• BB 9 years ago

while u have sale all the best players.whom am I going to watch.u sani or the sports minister.tweaaaa like I will sleep or watch cartoons

• Aaron 9 years ago

i dont agree with saanie cos our local league seems not interesting at all.

• Watchman 9 years ago

Sani Diara does not understand marketing. How can a govt make a law to ban a private TV station from showing foreign games when it has taken over a year to organise a local league?

• PATAPAA OBTT 9 years ago

THE ADVISE DOESN'T HOLD WATER. WE ARE IN A MODERN/DEMOCRATIC WORLD. YOU CANNOT JUST STAND UP TO STOP FOREIGN MATCHES TO BE SHOWN. AFTER-ALL THAT'S THE ONLY WAY OUR LOCAL PLAYERS CAN LEARN AND COMPETE WITH BIG NAMES IN FOOTBAL ...

• eugene 9 years ago

Sani might be joking. Do we have the opportunity to watch the league on TVs, which players are watching, on which pitches. Sani, come again. Rebrand the league and it will attract spectators.

• nana darkwa .rosalinda man 9 years ago

football is a game when more people go to stadium and are watching any football match it becomes interesting .English prm.legue is an example skills are low yet some people love for its patronage .watch Ghana matches ,beam th ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

until you and Kwasi co-eficient ban from GFA there will be no ban
    mr co-efficeinter

• Yaa Boat 9 years ago

Is Saani saying this. I just can't believe. By the way how often do these our local stations show foreign matches. And who said some of us watch from these stations. He should give us a break and find ways of helping to impr ...

• KBI 9 years ago

The English are doing it ,so we should follw suit.what a sad leaders we have,I always say on this forum that,Ghanaian leader like comparing too much.
    Cant we sit down and solve all this Referees much fixing,bias against s ...

• Max 9 years ago

Listen Sani, In England the local TV don't show live premiership football. Its shown on pay view such as Sky or BT sports. You cant even get the local league to start!!!

• simon 9 years ago

stupid u r sani, go away shame can u ban live telecast of foreign leagues

• Agbey 9 years ago

This is the worst suggestion from SANNIE DAARA. I thought this man is a level headed person, rather an EMPTY HEADED. You don`t deserve to there. You didn`t suggest this when you were BBC reporter.

• Babies with sharp teeth 9 years ago

Saanie u belly full so u can spew nonsense. how can GH league b attractive when all the executives own the teams n therefore one way or the other influence decisions. i am surprised u r an executive of de FA. no wonder we r w ...

• Owura 9 years ago

I hear ppl say the gfa shd improve de local league and I ask myself Hw dis gfa can improve de league??gfa is nafyn buh a bunch of fools so Hw can dey develop and implement policies for de betterment of samfyn??so saanie,whils ...

• Iddrisu Danjumah (Mr.) MUSTAPHA 9 years ago

It is heart breaking to admit that the live telecast of foreign leagues in our local TV stations are partly to be blame for the low patronage of own local league development.However,the suggestions of banning the live telecas ...

• powerful 6. 9 years ago

i am very very dissapointed with ibrahim sani statement that ghana should ban telecasting foreign games.if i may ask did he sani think about this statement before?infact this is a stupid statement for him to make.

• O.B Obiba 9 years ago

How can you ban something that people like just because you cant compete? There should be competition. Our local matches are televised, but punters do not patronize it because its mediocre. In a true African style this mor ...

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

What nonsense ! What nonsense !! What nonsense !!! Nonsense again.

• Osei 9 years ago

YOU ARE JUST STUPID. YOU CAN'T STOP COMMUNICATION IN THIS ERA. DEVELOP GHANA'S LEAGUE TO BE THAT GOOD. AFRICAN MIND. INSTEAD CLIMBING UP THERE, YOU WANT TO BRING THE EUROPEAN LEAGUE DOWN. STUPID, STUPID, STUPID!

• Nii Lante 9 years ago

This is absolute diatribe and nonsense. It somewhat surprises me that a man of so little substance has the position he has?
    Lets look at the real problem:
    The local league matches are extremely low on quality.
    When going t ...

• Texas 9 years ago

Kwasiampanin akwakwa. Saani wagyimi paaaaa. Tintinto like, gone are days when you punks throw dust in our eyes. Kwasia how we gonna see our own players faring in Europe. Aboaba kwa. Who born dog. Gyeaka kwraaa na yen gyea t ...

• KAG 9 years ago

A most backward comment unexpected from an executive member of the Football Association of a civilised democratic country like Ghana. It appears nea-communism might be rearing its ugly head in some sections of the society of ...

• YENE WO SERE KWA 9 years ago

U R NT SERIOUS IN LYF DAARA.IS DAT UR MONEY?OR IS SOM OF DE WORLD CUP MONEY?THINK WEL

• Bonoman 9 years ago

unbelievable!!! The year is very young but this idea from this ignorant guy will go down as one of the dumbest idea of 2015.

• Billa 9 years ago

Stop making useless noise, did your GFA has something good for our domestic leaque?

• GHANAMAN 9 years ago

DAARE ARE U OUT OF YOUR MIND?

• KANTOOSE 9 years ago

Saani, Have you forgotten the age old saying that killing someone else publicity does not mean you will gain publicity.
    Ghanaians will follow an attractive local league team even if they are watching EPL day in day out. You ...

• ht 9 years ago

when you misappropriate funds the same parliament cannot question you?make it attractive. investy the money you get from sponsors and fifa,not building houses and enriching yourselves

• Emma 9 years ago

psychopat

• Emma 9 years ago

Sani, who appointed you to that position. I guess he is as dump as you.

In an era where competition make people improve and give out their best, u are ignorantly and fickle minded suggesting this and wanting to draw parlia ...

• ISAAC 9 years ago

Mr. communicator. pls tackle the problem from grassroots. The low patronage of our league is not because of live telecast of foreign league but because of poor management and unattractive our league has become. so manage our ...

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

Fire burn these GFA THIEVES. Ban what ? A million times NONSENSE.

• seini 9 years ago

There is no where in the developed world where local free air tv stations will be allowed to telecast live national football competitions from another country, sometimes not even in their own countries. Even in England if you ...

• Ayitey 9 years ago

Find a way to attract the fans to the stadia. Whether live broadcast of the EPL or any such matches are ban or not it would not affect patronage of local leaque

• Tennessee 9 years ago

ban players from playing abroad too and use local players for the national teams.

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

Ghana is a free country.Ghana is a free country.

• Kofi asiamah 9 years ago

Somebody shd tell Ibrahim that we were enjoying the EPL way back before TV3 decided to do a once a week live telecast. The GFA shd think of better strategies of selling our local game, make it attractive and stop disturbing o ...

• DAVID V.K. ARKORFUL 9 years ago

All they are interested in is huge winning bonuses and Appearance fees for the players so that they get their share.Nyantakyi and his cohorts have nothing to offer Ghana football.They should go.

• Rodondo Ampah 9 years ago

It may be good to find ways to encourage fans to watch local games but banning foreign games is not the answers.Games are not basic necessity for all so think right and come up with great ideas. If the league was organized we ...

• kobby 9 years ago

who wants to watch these sub stardard kindergarten local football??

you ban foreign soccer and we will pay whatever it takes to watch them on DSTV
    nonsense !!

• A K 5 9 years ago

The silly man is advocating censorship. Why doesn't he call for banning Nigerian films as well? Funny Guy!!!

• Helen 9 years ago

Freedomof sight