Grant: Ghana were better than Cote d'Ivoire

Read Comments Comments (121)

• Nyorkopio 9 years ago

56 percent possession, 18 shots on net etc. The stats show that Black Stars have quality. There were no administrative problems and no uncouth behaviour. The Stars restored our pride as Ghanaians - a nation of vast and deep s ...

• Kay 9 years ago

When are we going to be the best? We also deserve this trophy. Enough of the heartbreak.

• Joe 9 years ago

Eiii couldn't catch even one out of eleven kicks??? that should be the worst goalkeeper for penalty kicks.

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

Not the players,if Muntari and Price we there they would have score their kicks or even beaten Ivory Coast before regulation time.What I am saying is that Nyantakyi put his nose and make selections if he does not like you you ...

• daladam 9 years ago

WE LOST THE FINAL BUT WE DID A GREAT JOB AND PUT UP GOOD FIGHT

• nii okpoti 9 years ago

we are a great nation we deserve to not runner up. ivory coast were no match for us but why do we always lose. im too sad i cant eat or sleep

• IPAD 9 years ago

Massa we have always played better but we end up losing.After if a team plays all the beautiful and ends up losing what is of its use,we are sick and tired of all this broken heart.What crime have we committed to the extend t ...

• adjetey 9 years ago

i cant take it anymore
    im sick playing well and losing

• Apraku 9 years ago

That is football , the stars did an excellent job, they played their hearts out, but didn't utilize their chances , and that's football you get punished if you don't take advantage of those chances.Nevertheless I'm still prou ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Nothing will be won under the Killer Rawlings Party and Govenment.....

• Kwabena 9 years ago

Joe did you check your facts before writing? The last time Ghana won the cup was in 1982 under Rawlings regime. That was after former President Hilla Limann said we were not going to Libya to play for political reasons.

• The African Patriot 9 years ago

Is Dr. Liman second name Rawlings? Or are you given Joe right.

The guys did their side best. We were not expecting that. Maybe we could have won, if President Mahama prays for the stars.

• Macosa ,Amsterdam 9 years ago

My brother , we have not appease the 1982 squad . That is our crime . Our leaders must appease the the ghosts of the 1982 squad . They played with their blood but were never received their bonuses and they died . Our so call ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

his first five penalty takers makes no sense...established guys as afful and boye should have been in the first five...

• Avogadro 9 years ago

Every country in Africa says they want God to help them win. Therefore, which team would God have favoured? None of them. God has more important things to attend to.

We lost because of the strategic incompetence of our ...

Massa you don't understand football. In penalties anything can happen.

A coach without strategy will not go to finals. And yes a second placed team offers the young players experience to win next time.

How much time di ...

• KG 9 years ago

Misguided and emotional analysis.

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah aka Uncle Ben. Atl 9 years ago

I can't agree more with you.I am not discounting the fact that our lads gave their all and that even though they suffered such a painful defeat Ghaians should appreciate theur effort and welcome them as heros.However, I stron ...

• The truth 9 years ago

May be he end our drought.

• Loway 9 years ago

Gyan and Appiah should have been taken out and Jordan,Badu brought inn.Penalty was poor because the more experience players should have taken it first

• respectman 9 years ago

exactly Gyan is not at his best at all in the game but the did not react. my advice to GFA please give d coach a free hand to do his work. GOD bless GH

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

Yes tne boys played better,yes the future is great,yes we are better than Ivory Coast,the whole world know Ivory Coast won by sheer LUCK.But here is my question,even though the coach is very new but as a proffessinal WHY coul ...

By you deduction the coach who is new should have been Informed by coach konadu etc who are assisting him since he is new and might not know who his best penalty takers are.

Asamoah Gyan did not want to take any penalty he ...

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

When he was removed because he had been pencil down to take spotkick by the coach,so hence the coach bears responsibility for our defeat,was the goalkeeper properly train to take sports kick?Why remove Gyan when we had minute ...

• Santaclausian, Croydon 9 years ago

I agree with you that we need Muntari back simply because of his sheer guts he would have probably carried the youngsters over the finish line. He is a proper man which Djan did not demonstrate he is. But then please be mindf ...

• #Ern is back!! 9 years ago

No sorry, we do not need Muntari, his disruptive influence will harm the team more than help it. We had Muntari, Essien and KPB since whenever and never won anything so why will he make a sudden difference now? Muntari, KPB a ...

• AMERICA LOVER 9 years ago

Bravo, Bravo,Ghana Black Stars.Well done! God bless you all.

• Loway 9 years ago

Gyan and Appiah should have been taken out and Jordan,Badu brought inn.Penalty was poor because the more experience players should have taken it first

Luck won it for Ivory Coast, not their performance. With all the so called big names, our young Ghanaian team showed them up. They were out thought and outplayed in every department of the game. The only thing the Stars did w ...

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

In football the better team wins. Nothing like luck that penalty by the goal keeper was poor period

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

The boys did their best,the coach failed them and the GFA failed them here is why.Ghana is the most blessed nation and when it comes to football we are more blessed because we have too many talents in players,we are the only ...

• Kwame Kumi 9 years ago

Even the greatest players the world has known sometimes missed penalty kicks. In one particular World Cup match both Platini and Zico missed. Not even Maradona or Pele scored ALL the penalties the took. You only talk rubbi ...

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

Did anyone noticed the physical body sizes in structure between the Ivorians and the Black Stars?Im not about to say that cost our defeat,what I want to say is the truth,that Ivorians are simply OVERRATED they were wishing th ...

• Onuabea 9 years ago

Even if nobody is proud of u, I am. U did ur best. Bravo!!!!! Black Stars young and energetic blood. I say chest out come home with pride. Asamoah Gyan and team Ayekoo.

• maubs 9 years ago

Yes well done lads. Our hearts are as heavy as yours are. Today we cry together but may be one day we will smile together. Only God knows why at two up the responsibility of winning the tournament fell to a young debutant ins ...

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

AFCON 2015 FINAL: FOOLS MUST LO$E
    EVERYTHING GH DID WAS WRONG AND LED TO THIS LOSS. NO AGGRESSION, PLAYING LIKE THEY HAVE ARRIVED, NOT PRESSURING IVORY COAST, APPIAH WAS TRASH AND STILL GRANT LEFT HIM IN THE GAME. WHY NOT BR ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

Trash

U DONT KNOW ANY BETTER SO IM NOT THE LEAST BIT SUPRISED. ANOTHER GROWN FOOL

• SALINSA 9 years ago

you could have made your points without insults. interestingly you didn't mention maxwell konadu. why didn't konadu advised that atsu & harrison are very good penalty takers? maxwell konadu was at the last afcon when atsu & h ...

Wakaso was player of the tournament for Ghana in addition to Baba Rahman. What are you talking about?

Gh Fuo, since you are cutting and pasting your comment, I will also cut and past my reply:

Gh Fuo, your assessment is too harsh and also flawed!!
    You are the one always insulting Jordan here (along with me), today you say ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

My assessment is on point. I compiled.it from the start of the game until the end, not after. I'm a fan a jordan. I simply said he wasn't aggressive on the field and needed to be utilized on the right wing. Appiah was a liabi ...

• Marie 9 years ago

Wow, I cannot believe your level of stupidity! Please, go get yourself an education, ok? Learn how to reason, articulate, write and finally learn how to type! Nothing you say makes any sense! I can only make one deduction fro ...

• AMERICA LOVER 9 years ago

Marie,God richly bless you with your wonderful comments.

Marie, You made one mistake, Gh Fuo is not jobless, he is a toilet cleaner in the USA!!!! Apart from that, your comment is 100% accurate.......... he is very frustrated and bitter!! You said it as it is, I have nothing to add ...

• Nyorkopio 9 years ago

Marie, I think you just got led unto the garden path by Ghfuo (You actually acknowledged, considered what he wrote and answered it). Why allow air time in your brain for the comments made by this individual called GHFUO on th ...

• CHAKA, USA. 9 years ago

Ghfuo, a coach who takes a team to a final and loses on penalties, logically, is next to the best of coaches of the tournament. You didn't want Avram even b4 he got the job. Remember what you wrote on him? "Avram and Jews are ...

I preferredmichel Pont over grant. How many finals has grant been to and lost? I told you people to let.Grant be the td and let konadu coach the team for afc on becos he knows the calibre and temperament of these players. U d ...

• JK 9 years ago

Grant can't make the right changes, on time. And look at who he chose to take the first four spot kicks? That's a coach for you. Poor coaching gave the game to Ivory Coast.

• Nokwarehene 9 years ago

Plan well next time and choose the right order for the penalty takers. Also, send some penalty experts like Adusei to warm the bench instead of Awal. You should cover all grounds next time. Except for your last minute lapses, ...

• joeitaliano 9 years ago

Foolish people talking of blame the coach for what? There were even some Ghanaians praying for loose because of politics , Satan visit all those unpatriotic ghanaians one by one . Penalties are lottery it does not matter how ...

• ??? 9 years ago

YOU DONT READ GAME.WHY NOT CHANGE APPIAH IN TIME?APPIAH THE WORSE PLAYER AMONG THE 22

• penpenaa, USA 9 years ago

Appiah should hav been subbed,long time.
    Also Gyan wasnt himself and should have been changed as well.
    All the same,all of you did very well

• SALINSA 9 years ago

but that didn't happened because substituting the 2 strikers who were the only 2 players who didn't come to the penalty, means a strong possibility for mahatma to be on the pitch and maxwell konadu won't like that.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

It was a tactically goofy strategy to make those changes at the last minute and then send the 2 rookies for the top 5 of the penalty shoot-out.

• Paul yeboah 9 years ago

Our defeat is from our captain he is not Committed and bold to be a leader ,that was the time Ghana need him most but unfortunately he vowed not to play penalties, which is bad,he has failed Ghanaians, he need to step down, h ...

• shee 9 years ago

I agree,Asamoah Gyan does not have the boldness of a leader .He left us as a captain when the storm was coming,and if a captain of a ship or plane flee when the storm is coming what do you think will happen to the ship or pla ...

• Kwesi Brenu 9 years ago

At least he is a professional dancer the whole world knows him to be a soccer dancer of Ghana you can see from his hair style-A captain of a national team needs some decency

Just.becos he is the captain don't mean he has to play in penalties. Not every captain is a penalty expert. So if the captain knows he is not a penalty expert. He must do the right thing and excuse himself. Afcon 2012 in equa ...

Gh Fuo, thank you! If Gyan takes penalty and misses, they will insult him. When he decides not to take penalty, they will insult him. All these people calling for him to be stripped of the captaincy are just Dede fanbois who ...

Muntari and essien would have played had grant called them. Don't be a hypocrite. How.many injuries did essien sustain with gbstars? Wasn't it tbks same gyan who also at one point took a leave of a sentence from the team and ...

KPB chooses which tournaments he wants to go to.......... Essien took leave of absence, Muntari would not have come........ Kwarasey was called but did not respond - a direct influence of the 3 I have just mentioned above. De ...

You cannot just be a ceremonial captain. Captains take the fall for their team all the time. A captain in the army never sends his soldiers to the frontline and stays behind. He leads them. Roy Keane, Patrick Viera, Brian Rob ...

• Kwame Sekyere 9 years ago

The short memories of Ghanaians!!! Our hypocrisy!!! As far as I remember, Gyan and his family received death threats after he missed a penalty. He vowed never to take any penalty when playing for the Black Stars. We didn't sh ...

• The truth 9 years ago

Gyan has vowed not to play penalty for Ghana again,because of what happened before

• Kwame Kumi 9 years ago

I wonder what you do with your life and would like to see where and when in your life that you've shown a better commitment than any of our players. Wasn't it as a result of cheap talk from the likes of you that Gyan decided ...

• Me 9 years ago

So Avran Grant could not not do away with the jinx surrounding foreign coaches not winning cups for Ghana. Hmm then Ghana is in for trouble. I believed Avran could do it and everything thing was going on smoothly for him but ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

You are right....I do not what happened in practice but Boye and Afful shd have been in the first five kickers...

• Adjoa 9 years ago

Too much money being wasted on these greedy "ofunu" bastards. Black Stars didn't play shit. They lost I want Kwesi Appiah back he did way better than this idiot being paid so much for nothing. I agree with Nyayo Tamakloe this ...

• Rabon Zee 9 years ago

Ridiculous coaching strategy. Lady Adjoah, I feel your pain. Heaven and Hell shall pass away but the trauma of this game shall never pass away. The players and the coach can now collect their bonuses but the crestfallen Ghana ...

• Sankofa 9 years ago

You are absolutely right.

I am mystified as to why two inexperienced players were sent on for the third and fourth penalties when the Ayew brothers and Harrison Afful were available. Surely, at 2-0 up we just had to score ...

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

Yes indeed you made us proud. We all saw the game and you completely neutralized and dominated the Ivorian team. The two balls that hit the post showed that luck was not on our side. If there's any team the Ivorians are afrai ...

• Allotey 9 years ago

i agree. such a painful way to lose. 33 years of pain and agony. when ooo when

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

HEI JK, WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT FOOTBALL? OTHERWISE WHY CAN'T YOU APPRECIATE THE PERFORMANCE OF OUR TEAM TODAY? BLAME THE COACH FOR WHAT, YOU IGNORANT FAN.

• Paakwesicharles 9 years ago

Leave out the criticisms. They did their best on the field. The coaches also tried, but it was a bad luck. Please, encourage them to do better and don't crucify them

whoever prepares the most and takes advantage of their chances, WINS. ITS not about luck. luck has nothing to do here. luck can t be measured or identified. its abstract so to me it is irrelevant. how much does luck play a ro ...

• The truth 9 years ago

Bravo.

Gh Fuo, LUCK EXISTS, believe it or not!!Whether you and "the truth" below want or not, luck exists. Those balls that hit the bar could have gone in and we would have won. Winning a race - you can pull a hamstring in the race, ...

Use your. Brain. To what extent does luck play in the folllwing
    1. Passing your exams with distinction
    2. Fucking your woman well
    3. Winning the Olympic marathon
    4. Winning the goldmedal at.The Olympic 100m
    5. Saving 1 ...

I dont have time to reply to this shit!
    You made $1,300 last year?!! LOL, what you expect me to congratulate you?!! LOL. When people are making REAL money, you are making 100 dollars a month and you are boasting about it? LO ...

• nii okpoti 9 years ago

im tired of the painful loses. when is it ging to be over. since ive old enough to watch ghana play weve lost every final game or semi finals. i want to see trophies this is too much.

• BOAKYE THE SEER 9 years ago

PLEASE, CHECK IF IVORY COAST FIELDED AN UNQUALIFIED PLAYER? SIGNALS BEING RECEIEVED FROM THE REALMS IS INDICATING SOMETHING TO THE EFFECT THAT GHANA HAS NOT LOST THE CUP. PLEASE, CHECK THE LIST OF THEIR PLAYERS CAREFULLY, ES ...

• SALINSA 9 years ago

remember afriyie acquah had 2 yellow cards in the tournament.

• Kwame Birmingham 9 years ago

Now Ghana wants to win on technicalities tweaa

• SHOE SHINE 9 years ago

Mr Grant please did you forget to wear your blue shirt to the park this time around?
    There is God ooooo. Seek HIM always and you shall kiss the cup next time.

• Anyakovi 9 years ago

Asamoah Gyan played today? he could have fooled me. He knows he is no more good but ego let him stay on the team as a player and captain.
    Coach should kn better

• Egya Armochie Pius, (Virginia,U.S.A) 9 years ago

In my own opinion, the captain demoralized the entire players by running away from his lads(the same boys a captain is to be behind them and inspire them.) Even if he had decided not to take the penalties because my Ghanaians ...

• nana osei afriyie 9 years ago

I was really shocked when I also saw him subbed, but I don't blame him cos I remember what Gh did to him when he wasted a panelty. We should know that football comes with all these things. Stop blamed and the players wouldn't ...

• Yaa K 9 years ago

Oooo Ghana my heart is broken, Only God knows why we lost. Seeing Andre ayew cry also broke my heart, let's take heart and have faith that in two years we will win the cup. In the mean time the goal keeper should practice how ...

• nana osei afriyie 9 years ago

Yeah, great performance from black stars. You guys did very well.

• Go Ghana 9 years ago

God bless this guys they did soo much better next time will work for us

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Those who took the 3rd and 4th penalty kicks let us down.The penalty order was very stupid and unprofessional.I have always said the Stars are not good on spot kicks.They had so many corner and freekicks but wasted all of the ...

• ramani amidu 9 years ago

we ghanaians should be proud of our self and the team,because we are second out of 54 nation.black stars u have done well may god bless u,and bless our nation ghana.aguri.

• EASY WIN FOR STARS 9 years ago

Grant was not bold enough with his substitutions.With 442 formation the two strikers upfront were completely missing and out of sort with Kwasi Appiah the worse culprit.If Grant was scared to take Asamoah Gyan out Kwesi Appia ...

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Trouble is 2 years is a long time. New n dominate players will come up next time. Ur achievement today bears no reflection on 2 yrs from now. Even the World Cup proved that for Ghana, Italy, Spain just to name a few.

So l ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

In 92,2010 and 2015 we lost all the penalty shoot outs,our goal keepers could not save even one ball.Apart from 1982 where Owusu Mensah was able to save some penalties in Libya for the Stars to win the Cup nobody is able to s ...

• ABCd 9 years ago

Good move positive thoughts

• Ebenezer 9 years ago

I have great confidence in this coach. To handle a team for only 2 WEEKS and go this far is a great achievement. As he said, penalties is a very cruel way to loose a match. But lets keep this coach and the entire squad. Bett ...

• Ben Cool 9 years ago

SIxty five percent of the ( POPULATION OF IVORYCOAST IS **AKANS**
    Ok ; unless we stop thinking that their are our COUSINS , then we shall never beat them in FOOTBALL competition and that is clear..

• Ayitey 9 years ago

Better luck next time Black Stars. You were super, although you did not win the ultimate, wwe are proud of you.

• Ben Cool 9 years ago

I think that in future ,we as a Nation should go for a ( JUJU MAN ) for this kind of Football matches agains ( COTE D,IVOIRE ) ONLY.
    This the second time they did( pump our ARSE in Penalties and that really gave me a very hi ...

• Nijaboy 9 years ago

Please note that to win Afcon again, Ghana must be prepared to beat the best, no excuses. There is no point qualifying every 2 years and have no cup for 33 years. The Ivorians were beatable but Your strikers were too afraid t ...

I am extreme proud of the black star. Apart from Gyan whom I suspect was not fully recovered and thus could not give us his all, there was no problem.

Next time the stars should not try to sit on their momentum for penalt ...

• Bernard Kumi 9 years ago

Deliberately missed the penalties as it all looked like Senegal 92 deja vue.Nyantakyi has done enough as a football administrator to equal Egypt's enviable record of seven wins.Two finals and two semifinal exits at afcon wit ...

Asamoah Gyan was a drag on this game. A striker who first in the game was at the 20mins. And who kept walking is not to be in the game. It's no coincidence he had no shots on goals

• Gyan jnr. 9 years ago

Gyan tuk d ryt decision by nt playing d penalty..it was jst vry gud..he hs hold to his vow.Avram u ar jst great.Kwesi appiah..i jst dun knw y u allowd pressure on u lik dat..u c u cudnt play?.relax nxt tym cos u ar gud..Dede, ...

• FIREBULOUZ 9 years ago

Great work, I'm proud of you guys.

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

Why dont you just be happy for Ghana instead of using Isrealites that is a very low blow to the good work Blacks Stars did to Ghana.Be proud to be a Ghanaian please love Ghana

• slimmart 9 years ago

Congratulations, Shining Black Stars.. You did us proud when no-one believed you would succeed. In a long time, I have never seen a Black Stars team with such a SOLID DEFENCE and MIDFIELD like U guys. You were outstanding.
    M ...

• Frank 9 years ago

When you look back at the Black Stars matches of old, we were always on the receiving end, with pressure upon pressure on us. For the first time in a long time, watching the Black Stars'matches in this tournament really put m ...

• slimmart 9 years ago

Congratulations, Shining Black Stars.. You did us proud when no-one believed you would succeed. In a long time, I have never seen a Black Stars team with such a SOLID DEFENCE and MIDFIELD like U guys. You were outstanding.
    M ...

• Antwi 9 years ago

The coach should have used Jordan instead of Kwesi Appiah. The was virtually useless.

Secondly, the coach should have allowed Atsu to participate in the penalties.

• DON AMSTRDAM 9 years ago

WHY INSULTING AVRAM AND OTHERS WHO ARE LESS CONCERN ABOUT PANALTIES.ANYONE WHO UNDERSTANDS PANALTIES UNDERSTNDS FOOTBALL.TRY TO RESPECT THE PERFORMANCES OF THE PLAYERS, IF THEY WERE TO PLAY IN BRAZIL WORLD CUP,THEY WERE GOOD. ...

• wang 9 years ago

As patriotic as i am
    , it has reached a point i cannot take any more. I am switching to The Socceroos, Australian football team. At least they do justice to little teams. I will be heartbroken to a point beyond repair, if i ...

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 9 years ago

Discipline & Unity Ghana boss Avram Grant . You need all applause for job well done . Keep it up

• blinky 9 years ago

eeeii ghanfo kasa papa ,as if dey can play ani beta if dey wer on de field.dey only play wit dier mouths afta de match is ova.well dan blakstars we ll def get to de top oneday

• Joe 9 years ago

Great performance by all standard. Good luck another time.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

It's never a question of who was better but rather who attained victory. Quit making excuses and prepare for the next challenge, for a team, no matter how good, can never win all games that it plays.

• Justman 9 years ago

I COULD NOT HELP IT. I THUGHT WAS THE ONLY ONE WHO SPOTTED IT. OUR BOYS ARE BETTER THAN THE IVORIANS.I AM AMZAED ABOUT THE TACTICAL DISCILINE. NO DEFENSIVE BLUNDERS AND GIVE AWAY CHEAP GOALS.CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• mohammed amin abdallah 9 years ago

WE CAN'T ASK FOR ANY THING BETTER THAN WHAT YOU HAD OFFERED .IT IS ONLY LUCK THAT ELUDED US .

• Mars1 9 years ago

A lot of fans of the Black Stars in Ghana and around the world over will agree with you 100% and more sir, that the better side lost the match. The Black Stars have shown that big names do not win matches on their own. Teams ...