Ghana’s sports achievements in 58 years

Read Comments Comments (18)

• Fred Neequaye, USA 9 years ago

You left out General Robert Kotei. He won silver medal in high jump at Perth Commonwealth Games. May His Soul rest in perfect peace!

• Mr.N 9 years ago

I just want to know where were the White Coaches when we won African 4 times.

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Ga people have destroyed the spirit of unity in sports and the names of our Sports heroes in Ghana. They attacked Ohene Gyan and Esi Sutherland because they are Akans. Why can't they name anything after the numerous Ga sports ...

• Akadu Mensema 9 years ago

Alice Anum is missing in the list.
    Clement Quartey, who won the first medal at the Olympic games in Rome 1960 for Ghana, is Ike Bazooka Kwarteylai Quartey's senior brother(same father different mothers). Bazooka is the last ...

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

once again he didn't mention Sully Shutu's name as commonwealth bantamweight champion, na wetin oga!!

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

what about Alfred kotey he is one of the elites. know your sports history or herstory. thank you very much Amingo.

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

Ghana was good at Table Tennis, with the Okine Quayes, The Hansons, Nancy Okwan and Co.

We aretold Ethel Jacks was Nigerian, although she played for Ghana.

• WISE GUY 9 years ago

The only african champ Ghana ever had in table tennis. and honourable mention to Joe Quansah who dominated the sports from age 16 for a long time

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Invest in modern sports infrastructure and you will achieve more feats. Ghana, the 58yr old LOSER still depending on these archaic infrastructure to earn laurels? Muahahahahaaaaaaa wabodam! Going to WW3 with fork and knives!

• jesse 9 years ago

we know all dis Mr president

• Nana Ojei 9 years ago

How about Christiana Boateng

The flying queen of Africa ??

• The mask 9 years ago

If you haven't used Boachsoft Flames, a free PC game, then you are really missing a lot. Enter you name and then your lover's and see what it generates. Download from:

flames.boachsoft.com

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Tennis, swimming, women's soccer, long distance running, laziness and Corruption nti we are robbing ourselves of development tweaaaaa!

• Rabon Zee 9 years ago

Ghana's qualifying matches were played under the banner of The Kwame Nkrumah Gold Cup. Here are some of the results from the those qualifying matches:
    24/2/1963. Ghana 5 Nigeria 0
    Mfum [ 13 min, 80 min]
    Aggrey-Fynn penal ...

• tony- cotonou. 9 years ago

No mention of Ms. Rose
    Heart ? (The short putt ) thrower ?

• KAULU 9 years ago

This write-up is unfair to my brother and good friend Stanley F Allotey. Not only did he win the 220yards at the 1966 Commonwealth Games in Kingston ,Jamaica,he also did set a meet record which will stay forever. Additionally ...

• Ike 9 years ago

I was going to remind the writer of Stan Allotey. Good you did! He was a marvellous runner!!!

• Kujo 9 years ago

Thought Frank Ofori was a force in tennis back in the day