Sports Ministry approves $3.4m budget for AFCON 2017

Read Comments Comments (25)

If, that's ( if ) we win de cup of nations, we will receive $4m n de gfa is asking for $5.4m eei this football people will kill mother Ghana oooo so will de fa president run his team wa all stars like this?

NAME SAKE, THAT IS HOW NYANTATHIEF, GETS "SOMETHING, SOMETHING" FOR HIS COLLATERAL PAYMENTS!

• Bill, USA. 7 years ago

What kind of reporting/journalism is this Ghanaweb? I rest my case.

• D. Sowah, La 7 years ago

Nii Lamtey wanted the whole world know that they have done very very well by which he is using the word "slashed" but could have better have used "trimmed", a moderate word to erase mistrust.

• PASTOR !!!OGOGLO QUARTER !!! 7 years ago

NO NEED OF AFCON EVERY TWO YEARS...

• Asem Bebadabi 7 years ago

How much of the budget goes to the UAE camping? Could the Stars have camped somewhere in Africa that has a shared climatic conditions? Couldn't have the money be pumped into a African country to support their economy? Why d ...

• owuo 7 years ago

We dont need to leave above our standard. Why did,nt train in ghana Just to economise the huge expenses? I dont think there is any need to train outside the ghana before the the tournament . Waste of money.

• young sterling 7 years ago

Train outside the GH is because they will serious on it so outside is good

• Jumapo 7 years ago

Waste of money. Is only Africa that government don't invest money rather than wasted it. How foolish is our thinking.

• Ghanaboii 7 years ago

Does anyone know whether Ghana will be releasing their new away kit or are they going to use the same one from last year?

• babs 7 years ago

And ivory coast budget has been increased from $ 5.4m to $ 6m.

• Yamoah 7 years ago

CAF is getting paid for TV Rights to the Tournament.

e should be paid not less than 4million by CAF for our appearance.

I don't see why Govt should be putting a penny into football when playing AFCON is self-financing ...

• Jackson 7 years ago

Kwesi nyatatw3 r u still causing financial lost to de States?

• Agyapong 7 years ago

Kwasia ba nyantakyi aboa thief foolish man your a thief you are greedy and very soon your time will be up

• My name. 7 years ago

Where would the Blackstars camped if the tournament were to be held in Ghana.GFA under the incoming government will be more corrupt.Let's wait and see.

• Ty 7 years ago

We will never learn from our mistakes oohhh africa.dark skin dark mind.how can u spend such an amount wen u cannot get that in return even if u emerge as winners.black man think think think

• Kay 7 years ago

At Ty my brother don't forget that we've already spent no less than $5m on the 6 qualifying series, so in a nutshell the nation is shelling out no less than $8m on this year's AFCON. And even if we win the total prize money i ...

• Bodat 7 years ago

This minister should be thanked for saving Ghana millions of dollars that could have easily gone into the hands of the armed robbers at the GFA.

• Wofa 7 years ago

The budget is still high. They should have camped somewhere in West Africa to reduce cost. Please we need money to support our economy. It's only in African corrupt countries that our national teams drain our economy. Please ...

• Steward Harrison Oppong 7 years ago

I have video's to show it to the whole Country. We are fools. Go to common Romania, Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia and see their Airports and Trams. We are fools and we still can't think.

• adomakoh froboo 7 years ago

Even this is too much

• professional opinion 7 years ago

It is ridicuolous that the Football association gets away swith so much high way robbery. they just pump up the budgets and hold the country to ransome because football is popular but they slash so much of these millions for ...

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

Ghanaians should wake up and never allow the NDC to come near the seat of government anymore. They (AFRC/P-NDC) killed Ghanaians for what they described as having indulged in Kalabule and graft. But now everyone had seen the ...

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

Ooops! It's contract bills....Lol.!!!

• Asemsembe 7 years ago

Korlu Bu hospital needs incubators for our new born babies. And we are spending such a whooping amount for less than one months. What do we get in return. Crazy stupid misplaced priority. Give us breakdown