Sports

News

Business

Entertainment

Ex-Ghana captain cries foul for being Excluded from Ghana’s finest 55 footballers

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Direct Source 7 years ago

Power

• MAD COBRA 6 years ago

This is a useless list poor Ghanaian media where are great players like the Oliver Acqaah's Abukari,Gamba's Frank odoi' s Wilson of Ebusua Dwarfs Mr 99 Styles Akuetteh Armah ,Jones Attu Quayefio and many of them bogus list Kw ...

• BerylRichards 6 years ago

This is what happens when you leave moroons to determine folks who matter in your history. They go by popular names. What was the criteria for coming up with the list??

• RESPECT 6 years ago

The useless list should be banned. There should be a referendum where people will submit names and the best selected from the list. Where are the great ones that gave us 4 African cup of nations trophies. Please Leave the you ...

• RESPECT 6 years ago

This useless list should be banned. There should be a referendum where people will submit names and the best selected from the list. Where are the great ones that gave us 4 African cup of nations trophies. Please Leave the yo ...

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 6 years ago

BURN THIS LIST..ONLY TROPHY WINNER NEED TO BE CONSIDERED...

• NIPA YE BAD 6 years ago

THIS IS TOTALY WRONG TO SIDELINE A PERSON LIKE KWASI OWUSU,KWASI NYANTAKYI YOUR STUPID MAN,YOU DON,T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT FOOTBALL IN GHANA,YOU DISRESPECT KWASI OWUSU,YOUR TIME WILL COME TO THE END,LEARN BETTER DON,T DO THAT A ...

WHY?

• JAY 7 years ago

What of Emmanuel Armah and Addo Odametey?

• NTAWA NTAWA MOSHE 6 years ago

Thank you!How did Kuffour make that list without Senegal's name?
    How do you include Tony Yeboah and leave Kwasi Owusu out?

• Kwankatem 6 years ago

Stupid guy

• original Ghanaba 7 years ago

Where is King George Arthur, Naana Eshun, Joe Debrah, Shamo quaye, Ablade Kumah, Sam Ayipey

• skalanbone 6 years ago

Which vagabonds compiled this list,Chai
    The list falls short of some of our best players.where is Ishmael Addo,Peter Lamptey,Mama Acquah

• Fi 7 years ago

Powerhouse

• jyga 7 years ago

So Christain Atsu makes the list and the likes of Joe Debrah, Yaya Kassum, John Bannerman, Stanley Aborah, Mohammed Gargo, etc. are not included?

• jyga 7 years ago

not included?

• Michael Yemoh 7 years ago

George Alhassan is the only no.9 in Ghana history. Two times goal king in Ghana one time in Africa and won two cup of nations to Ghana. Selected in Africa 11 in 1982.why forgot about George Alhassan. All those no.9 selected ...

• soroku 6 years ago

Remember Albert Asaase?

Aah,you know Ghana now!Pan handling journalists!Atsu?Oh Lord,help us!

• Kwesi 6 years ago

Whether you like it or not Christian Atsu is one of Ghana's all time best! Don't get me wrong these guys you mention were great too. Thats why I think the whole idea is laudable but it should be indiscriminate. All the living ...

• Maubs 7 years ago

There is no number seven as good as nkestia yawson and where is hesse odamten on the list the man who was playing wing back all those years ago and joe odoi plywood who i believe without disrespect to samson lamptey was a bet ...

• Viva 7 years ago

Trying hard to re write Ghana history by crude means

• NAANA ARABA BREW 7 years ago

Where is George Alhassan, Addae Kyenkyehene, Kofi Abbley, Yawson Nketsea and others?

• Maubs 7 years ago

And no george alhassan?why good player, good man who was mr oly in his time. No asase j my one time kotoko favourite player even? I suppose everyone sees differently but i personally think kwesi owusu, george alhassan and odo ...

• Hannas 7 years ago

Second ties Hearts of Oak players of ages are even better than this whole list,,idiot with bofrot faces

• Chaskele 7 years ago

The likes of Gbasamoshi of Hearts of oak were squaring with World Pele and beating them

• Spitfire 7 years ago

How can you select great players and forget one of the greatest if not the greatest - Ghanana's own Pele - Amusa Gbadamoshie. Is it oversight or what is the reason. Amusa is among the best 3 greatest players/dribblers of all ...

• Azumah Nelson 7 years ago

Where is Willie Evans?

• Pablo. 6 years ago

That is normal for such a thick tall person who has been lost in the scene for so many years it's not about being wicked it's about being a good person and that is why being any other girl lover is the most bad thing.Hola.Pab ...

• Citizen 6 years ago

Kwasi Owusu should be no 1. This man was feared by the Green Eagles, as the Super Eagles of Nigeria were then called. Kwasi Owusu was a bulldozer, firing in great goals for Ghana. This list is really incomplete. Rectify the a ...

• Gbele 6 years ago

Can you criminal just keep to stealing our rather than these fallacies of greatness of players,Ever head of fearsome fives.Peter Lamptey,Mama Acquah,Anas ,Polo ? They will kill today Barcelona team any day

• Gbele 6 years ago

I forgot about Robert Hammond ,Robert Harmon The man behind most of Ghana victories in our golden era

• Asem 6 years ago

THIS IS A VERY BIG MISTAKE AND MUST BE CORRECTED. HE WAS NOT ONLY A CAPTAIN BUT ALSO A GOOD FINISHER WHOSE RECORD HAS JUST BEEN BROKEN. WHAT IS FOOTBALL ALL ABOUT THAN GOALS WHICH HE DELIVERED FOR THE NATION....I DO NOT BLAME ...

• Odame 6 years ago

Where is papa arko, assase j, robert Hammond, mama acquah, anas seidu

• PJ 6 years ago

Why is the list loaded with kotoko players? Even when a player featured for both Hearts and
    Kotoko, the only team listed for the player was kotoko. Example Opoku Afriyie was listed as kotoko but not hearts.

• Kwesi 6 years ago

He played for Hearts of Oak at the tail-end of his carrier. Most of his time was spent with the Porcupine Warriors.

• yaa dua 6 years ago

where is John Essien, Winston Kofi Abbrey. John Bannerman.

• ME - LONDON 6 years ago

i was asking the same question, including my Joe Sam [my school mates used to call me Joe Sam when I was attending Ketan Methodist Boys' Sch - Sekondi], Albert Essuman, Issac Paha the list goes on and on and on.

• Tom 6 years ago

Windsor Kofi Abbey is missing in number 11 position.That is unpardonable.

• Kyen-Kyen 6 years ago

Goalkeeper Sanni Abdullah of Hearts .Oliver Acquah, Kwame Nti,Joe Odoi (Je Tex)Robert Hammond. Thomas Hammond (Gambo)Abu lmmro,Ampeh,Odum,Salifu Ansah,Kyenkyenhene,Peter Lamptey,Odartey Lamptey, Olabodi,Essuman (Baba P ...

• Ojoo. 6 years ago

Anas seidu hearts, Banaman kotoko, Robert Hamond hearts, Nii Awulete Wise, Ben Koffie, hasacas, Mohamed Cho real Tamale United, Asaasie J. Kotoko, Haruna Yusif, Kotoko, Kofi Abbrey etc. these guy were awesome and talented foo ...

• Joe Appiah 6 years ago

What about Kofi Abbrey,Paha jr,Bannerman,&Ablade Kumah

• KOFI MUMUI 6 years ago

Dodoo Ankrah played for Hearts. Conspicuously absent among the goalkeepers is Richard Naawu and Annue Coffie. Emmanuel Armah also comes out among the best ever. I guess his alleged indiscipline excluded him

• kebo7 6 years ago

4gt dis "kokofu" list tweeeeaaaaa
    I remember d Alex mingles Ed boyes Joe Debra Jones attuguayefios Joe garters Kofi Bruce rob foleys name dem & d list is short change

• kwamena/usa 6 years ago

How could you have Dan Owusu before Kwesi Owusu, how could you have Atsu and where will you put Robert Foley of Hearts of Oak, Where's Joe Sam of Eleven Wise and Kotoko, Amusa Gbadamoshie, Kofi Bruce,Christian Madus, Peter La ...

• Kwankatem 6 years ago

Dan Owusu was 3 times goal king

• ..... 6 years ago

Eii so where is Kofi Abbrey for no 11?

• Kojo Woode 6 years ago

I think it is a gud idea but selecting only 55 out of de lots is a mistake l personally did not c most of de old players but history tells us dat dey did well 4 de nation likewise doos l came to meet,so 4 u not create problem ...

• pap dee 6 years ago

It is only Robert Eshun alias Ebo electric that can be compared to Mohammed polo.

• Busy 6 years ago

Shitu Muda should have been included.

Nonsense!Where is Abbrey and John Bannerman?
    Kwasi Owusu has legitimate right to be pissed off!
    No Sir Cecil Jones?
    No Akwettey Armah?
    No Mr Fall Back Papa Shamo?
    Where is Joe Debrah?
    What is Sammy Kuffour doing here?

• Oduro Appau 6 years ago

Kwasi Owusu and Abukari deserve to be included.

• Otuo 6 years ago

There is no way you can exclude Baba Yara, James Agyei and Goalkeeper Owusu Mensah, even Haruna Yusuf and Kwasi Owusu should be considered

• Tiger bay 6 years ago

It is a big joke to add christian atsu and Akunnor to any list of Ghana's greatest footballers. Nobody who really knows much about this nation's soccer history will do this and leave out players like Kofi Abbrey for Akunnor a ...

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

YES, KWASI OWUSU SHOULD BE INCLUDED, FOR THE # 8 POSITION, AND ALSO OLIVER ACQUAH FOR THE # 3 POSITION, AND THEN GEORGE ALHASSAN FOR THE # 9 POSITION.

THESE PPL ARE ON DRUGZ....BOGUS LIST..

Robert Mensah, ANKRAH, 2.Frank Amankwa-Asante Kotoko, PSK Paha-Eleven Wise 3.Frank Crentsil-Rep, Issac Asare – Anderlecht 4.Sammy Kufour Isaac Aquaye-Dumas/ Oly 5.
    6.Adolf Armah-Hearts,Aggrey Fynn- Sek Hasaacas 7.Baba Yara ...

• Chabba 6 years ago

This grossly unfair. I wonder despite Kwasi Owusu's great contribution to Ghana football he seemed to be ignored when anything comes up about past footballers. Is it because he never joined Kotoko or any of the so-called big ...

• Kwankatem 6 years ago

Kofi Abbrey contributed much than Mohammed Polo in national team

• China burgar 6 years ago

Aborah, Awule Quaye,Hesse Odamtten,Kwabena Asiedu,Prince Opoku,John Naawu,Salifu Ansah,Tetteh Chandu,foyoo,Papa Arko,Nana Eshun,As are Bediako,Dogo Yaro,Baba Yara,Agyemang Prempeh,Sam Ampe,Papa Shamo,Joe Deborah,Addai Kyenkye ...

• Kwesi 6 years ago

Kofi Abbrey was one of the best.

• Mankay 6 years ago

The list should be extended to100 players. We have more players who contributed immensely over the past 60yrs.,and they were great performers.
    Remember Ghana is a natural producer of Great footballers. Add to the list.
    Reme ...

• Kofi Basabasa 6 years ago

Tweaaa no mentioned of Albert Asaase (Asaase J)and Kofi Abbrey.
    This is bogus.

• BIG DADDY 6 years ago

Personally, i think comparing players of different generations is difficult and compiling a list like this will be controversial.How do you leave out Joe Odoi,Kwesi Owusu, and have the likes of Isaac Asare.How did Frimpong Ma ...

• Maxwell Yaw Appenteng. Bronx New York 6 years ago

Where's Philip Opoku Sampane's name? What's the essence of complaining those names? It doesn't make any sense at all. Its just creating confusion and unnecessary argument in the football fraternity.

• Mcphee 6 years ago

What about Nketia Yawson, Mama Acquah, Anas Seidu and George Alhasah.
    Bullshit

• Get a life 6 years ago

Off your back - heck, I don't see Jones attuquayefio, Sanni Abdulai, Akutteh Armah, everywhere Kwame Nti, Papa Arko, Oliver Acquah, Baby jet Albert Essuman, Joe Sam, Francis Essien, Joe Debrah.....at least put 10 names at eac ...