Business

News

Sports

Entertainment

'You're in government, grant it now!' – UG Professor dares Bawumia over tax amnesty promise

Read Comments Comments (105)

• Prof don’t waste your time 2 months ago

Prof focus on your students pls and leave this lying stupid man alone, he thinks Ghanaians are dumps, December is just around the corner then he will know it’s not a dream but reality

• Dr Joe Deheer 2 months ago

It puzzles me why for scoring cheap points even intellectuals descend into the plummets to make illogical statements. Bawumia is not the president and DOES NOT have the power to make such policy directives. His position as vi ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 2 months ago

WE DONT NEED A LIAR TO BE PRESIDENT BEFORE HE'S KNOWN TO BE A LIAR. THIS MAN CALLED BAWUMIA AFTER LYING SO MUCH TO WIN POWER IN 2016, THINKS HE CAN GET HIS WAY INTO LYING AGAIN . SUCH STUPIDITY . VERU NAUSEATING

• His Excellency The Ugly Dwarf 2 months ago

FROM TAXATION TO PRODUCTION!
    The economy will grow and grow and grow.
    And there will be jobs and jobs and jobs.
    Hahahahahaaaaaaaa, Ataa numor yeh!
    Bawuliar can fool all the people all the time.

• Joe 2 months ago

Does that make him a liar?
    Then we can point to the many lies told by ex president mahama.
    How does failing to achieve one's targets make one a liar? Please answer.
    Remember ndc saying free shs was a scam? Now they are o ...

• Ghana 2 months ago

The professor wants to score cheap points...you know as Vice president, the man is limited in what he can do, and you speak like you're not a professor. Nkwasiasem nkoaa from intellectuals in this Kentry!!!

• Kom 2 months ago

Your failed, sorry and miserable father isn’t stupid?

• Limping horse John MAHAMA lack policies. 2 months ago

@prince,if Dr Bawumia is a liar, then what's JOHN MAHAMA? He's been in politics for 35years, from assembly man to President and he failed in every corner? What can he do in 4yrs which he couldn't do in 35years. Wake up young ...

• Michael 2 months ago

True,we a president who doesn't know whether he is corrupt as a human being or president or animal

• TWEAA DC 2 months ago

KOBBY MENSAH 'NE NKWASEAKEKA '...NO CHALLENGER...TWEAA.

• Paul Danquah- The openly gay first son of JB danquah 2 months ago

Another vegetable brain commenting. Kwasia ba, gyimmi gyimmi

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 2 months ago

TODAY, BAWUMIA HAS DONE SO WELL AS A VEEP, AND TOMORROW, HE'S NOT IN CHARGE AND SO CAN'T BE BLAMED. SUCH A PARTY WITH DUMB FOOLSOLDIERS... NPP DAABI DA

• Jj 2 months ago

But if i may ask who is head of the economic management team of this government ... Is it the vice president so what are you trying to preach here

• This Professor 2 months ago

Foolish professor!! Running a country and implementing policies is not like responding to your girlfriend’s request every now and then. Why are some of you in academia so intellectually stupid compared to your colleagues in ...

• FISHERMAN 2 months ago

Dr Joe Deheer, agreed he is not the president, but he remains the head of the economic management team with Mr Osarfo Marfo as his deputy. The president has made me to understand per his pronouncements such as " Bawumia oo, ...

• Jo 2 months ago

And we beholding a failure should his TA to plunge us further, they have failed finito

• He is a trickstar 2 months ago

Bawumuia is managing the economy ny he is leading government economic team and Akuffo addo has handed the management of Ghana to him. so dont say he is not the president he is a liar.

• Fati 2 months ago

@dr Joe
    Sorry you are talking nonsense. If he had no power why was he promising so much since 2016? Stop this nonsense of supporting liars!

• Joe 2 months ago

I am afraid that still does not make him a liar. I will say again that failing to achieve a set goal does not make one a liar. Something else but certainly not a liar . Let's stop tagging people with descriptions that don't f ...

• Nee 2 months ago

Don't worry yourself please. They don't get it that we should bite what we can chew at a time , hence Dr Bawumiah logic of implementing next year. This Prof is just shouting for him to be heard for his own parochial interest.

• King 2 months ago

Very intelligent point.

• Mensah 2 months ago

If he is only President as you claim why is he stating his achievement in government with digitalize concept, Ghana cards for travel, buying a brand new cars at Toyota Ghana and what's have you. Is it not in government before ...

• Kwame Tsibu 2 months ago

You calll Doctor Bawumia a stupid man? May God forgive you. Nothing will save people like you who think a mere change in government will change your fortune. You will die a poor and a frustrated man

• FISHERMAN 2 months ago

Kwame Tsibu , how do you understand the word "Stupid "? How does describing someone as not being sharp in thinking attracts such needless personal attacks from you. Fortunately God is not so wicked like you.

• £EARN, TRAIN, START MAKING REAL MONEY IN 3WKS 2 months ago

Exactly, let him stop playing to the gallery as if he is divorced from a govt he is no. Two. Here's a guaranteed means of becoming the go-to person, while having the opportunity to meet all cadres of persons daily by fixing ...

• Koliko 2 months ago

Bawumia is in government, yes. Does that mean he is in charge? He is not the Minister of Finance, he is not the governor of the central bank and he is not the President.

• Fati 2 months ago

@koliko
    You are a fool! Do you think we are children? If bawumia cannot influence a government that he claims he was key to their coming to.power, how can he rule ghana? It's only fools like you who would believe his lies!

• Joe 2 months ago

If you disagree with someone's views, that does not make him a fool, please.

• Ayigbenii 2 months ago

Useless Prof.

• BOB 2 months ago

WHO IS MORE A FOOL THAN YOU AND PROF. HOW CAN HE GRANT THE TAX AMNESTY AS A VICE PRESIDENT. IS THIS STUPID MAN TRUE PROF. THESE ARE THE JUNK LECTURERS POISONING OUR KIDS IN THE COLLEGES IN GHANA. LET DECEMBER COME AND YOUR FO ...

• BOB 2 months ago

WHO IS MORE A FOOL THAN YOU AND PROF. HOW CAN HE GRANT THE TAX AMNESTY AS A VICE PRESIDENT. HE IS LINITED AS A VICE. YOU DO NOT KNOW THAT.IS THIS STUPID MAN TRUE PROF. THESE ARE THE JUNK LECTURERS POISONING OUR KIDS IN THE CO ...

• Dr Joe Deheer 2 months ago

It's puzzles me why for scoring cheap points even intellectuals descend into the plummets to make illogical statements. Bawumia is not the president and DOES NOT have the power to make such policy directives. His position as ...

• Kt 2 months ago

Bawumia thinks we are fools if your party takes a decision it affects all members especially the higher ups since Bawumia didn’t resign he cannot win any elections as flagbearer of that party

• Terror 2 months ago

But you are a fool

• FISHERMAN 2 months ago

Fr Joe Deheer, in one breath he is the best performing vice president since the inception of the 4th Republic, in another he is doesn't have the power to make and implement policies. The man is also on record to have stated ...

• Fati 2 months ago

Dr Dedeer
    Stop talking nonsense. He is part of the government and has benefited enormously from them. He's father in law is now the Ghana ambassador to Saudi Arabia. Do you think that man qualifies for such a position? If b ...

• ROB 2 months ago

EVERY GOOD THING COMING TO GHANA IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR THE NDC. EVEN PROFESSORS AND LAWYERS WHO BELONG TO THE NDC PARTY ARE SAME.

• Bright 2 months ago

@ROB, are you so so bereft of intelligence that you can not rightly analyse what Bawumialiar is saying to come to the conclusion that what he is proposing will not help our economy but rather crash it.Be objective and think ...

• Nana O 2 months ago

Bawumia and his team is confused, at one breath you want to acclaim Bawumia as the Best Veep and in another breath he is not the President and wouldn’t be able to implement or propose his tax policies to the Govt. So for al ...

• Vincent 2 months ago

Sometimes I doubt the intelligence of some professors. Must your kid tell you that Bawumia is not the final decision maker and he is in to assist the president. Can the assistant overpass the Boss and take such a decision if ...

• Greg 2 months ago

IF YOU HAD A DREAM OF BEING PRESIDENT AS A VICE AND YOUR BOSS IS MESSING UP, YOU CAN ADVISE AND IF NOT TAKEN, DO THE HONORABLE AND RESIGN BUT NO, YOU DRAFTED DRACONIAN POLICIES ONLY TO TURN AROUND AND TRY FOOL GHANAIANS INTO ...

• Kom 2 months ago

Did your Mahama resign when Koku was was disrespecting him?

• Yaw Mensah 2 months ago

Prof Mensah, please note that the 2023 Ghana Budget does not include this tax amnesty Dr. Bawumia is talking about. This can be factured into the 2025 Budget. Period!

• Forn 2 months ago

This Professor is exposing himself as pro NDC bidder. Anytime Bawumia speaks he will quickly come out to condemn or criticize it without any critical analysis. is Bawumia the president of the country who has been mandated to ...

• ISSAH ALI 2 months ago

GYIMII.IS HE THE PRESIDENT ? DO YOU READ THE CONSTITUTION ? GYIMIIIIIIIII !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Rusty 2 months ago

Ooh an academic arguing like this.
    Even i as lay person know that Dr Bawumia can not do anything on his owan as a vice president.
    I'm very disappointed to hear a whole academic talking like a blockheaded person.
    Eeeiiii, ...

• Nonsense 2 months ago

Prof. so this is all you can say or you just wanted to be heard. You let left your thinking cup behind so you could not know that, the tax amnesty promise was not from the President but rater the vice who has no authority to ...

• .com 2 months ago

Individual tax amnesty i believe includes general tax relief as incentive for motivation for gov. Salary worker,a better direction. But i also think that it is too late to visit the already prepared yearly planned budget, Pro ...

• Nindow 2 months ago

Is Bawumia the President now or what is the professor talking about? Prof. think above politics!

• Kwesi 2 months ago

If he recognizes a problem and as the vice president he can't solve it then God have mercy on Ghana

• Kom 2 months ago

God have mercy on you. He isn’t the president for God sake. He can only advise.

• Nii Akwei 2 months ago

Vegetable mind indeed. Meaning Bawumia is brain dead.

• Ali Mahama 2 months ago

Prof you have said all. This Bawulier is creating problems for himself and his National Poison Party. An Economist turned Digital man has the nerves now to talk about Taxes under the Economy. As a Flag bearer you have Politi ...

• Patriotic idiots 2 months ago

You are a husband and parent, grant all the wishes of your family this year, don't plan for the future, afterall you are employed and may not be next year. Intellectual hippocracy is killing our closet politicians hungry for ...

• Kramai 2 months ago

Comparing apples to oranges what the relationship with what you said and Bawumia canceling taxes if his party can’t now what’s the possibility they can in January 2025

• 000 2 months ago

His tricks will not work this time.
    Not this time VP.

• Economy 2 months ago

Bitterness and unguided criticisms make people childish!

• Concerned Ghanaian citizen 2 months ago

You are right professor, only vegie-minds will accept Bawumia's nonsense, even to the point of saying he does not have power to do this or that as vice president..I put it to them, what is the use of a vice president, what is ...

• Kwesi 2 months ago

Very strange when Bawumia talks like an opposition leader who is seeking power. Prof don't waste your time on this man we all know he is a liar, he can't do it. I challenge him publicly that if he can do it, then let him do i ...

• Can you Imagine 2 months ago

Bawumia stop being a clown. Advice the president on this policy if he doesn't see the need to consider. Then resign from the vice presidency and contest on the ticket of the NPP, that is when we will know you are damn serious ...

• Jah Alone 2 months ago

Prof, please forget about this LIAR.He told Ghanaians he would if he comes to power he would do away E-Levy forgeting to know the same Bawumia and Akuffo Addo have collateralized the E- Levi for IMF loan.
    Such a big Liar g ...

• Nonsense 2 months ago

Kobby is DMB the Prez

• Stone USA 2 months ago

Ask Bawumia how he will pay workers without collecting taxes, even with all the high taxes Npp government cannot fulfill his obligations, workers salaries etc
    Only stupid Npp people will believe Bawumia. Do it now if you ha ...

• Ray 2 months ago

Which kind of Tax is this comedian talking about?
    Corporate
    Income
    The mountain of taxes he introduced?
    Don't fall for this crook!

Remind the comedian that, Ghana is still under IMF programme. Already, because of pub ...

• +Jojo 2 months ago

This Prof doesn't stop amazing me. He has become the mouthpiece of the NDC. Can he suo moto make any universal change in the GBS even if he's the Deputy Dean? Or can the UG Pro-VC make any changes on his/her own. He's gradual ...

• Paul Danquah- The openly gay first son of JB danquah 2 months ago

Only Vegetable minds will believe Bawuliar. Exactly

• He is a trickstar 2 months ago

Ask him to grant tax holidays for companies. he wants to give us the same promises he made in 2020.

• Joe 2 months ago

This professor amazes me. The fact that bawumiais in govt now doesn't mean he can take policy decisions. That would be usurping the position of the president. Remember it.is a package of policies which will compliment each o ...

• Haleem 2 months ago

Prof lse kindly use your brain and stop this childish commentary. You are aware that all the flagbearer making promises are for future implementation. So on what bases are you requesting for it implethe mentation today. All t ...

• Kojo 2 months ago

Oh goodness, our professors are consumed by politics and are a complete disgrace to academia.

• Kom 2 months ago

They are. Ghana is doomed if this is how our intellectuals thiink

• kk 2 months ago

Bawumia policy is this if elected as president. There is nothing wrong with it. Evening the 24hours economy policy is there. Each candidate is putting his policies down. Is premature cristising them.Leave Ghanaians to decide ...

• WEB SERVICES ,l3e 2 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• Jkmee 2 months ago

It is conspiracy that is going bad and affecting Nana Akuffo Addo government. They including Nana Akuffo Addo criminally sat down and the conspiracy that Dr bawumia should go and told Ghanaians that he bawumia is just a mere ...

• Kwado 2 months ago

He is NDC 24hr economy consultant and a confused prof asuch

• Ekow Fynn-Mensah 2 months ago

PROF JOLLOF SO YOU KEEP YOUR MOUTH SHUT AFTER FEASTING ON NDC JOLLOF.ANY YOU MUST WORK TO JUSTIFY THE JOLLOF YOU ATE.YOU ARE AN EMBARASSMENT TO YOUR INSTITUTION.ANYWAY YOUR INSTITUTION, LEGON ELECTS SEX FOR GRADE LECTURERS AS ...

• Reggae 2 months ago

ThIs is the more reason Dr.Bawumia isn't man of himself. Oh my God who is going to release Dr.Bawumia from the shackles of fear.Nana Addo please don't think it will rosy for Bawumia

• Sylvanus 2 months ago

This NDC professor will not stop fooling, I think he's idle most of the time so he has time to engage in useless commentaries. He's doing this to catch the eye of John Mahama for a post in the unlikely event that he wins the ...

• biggie 2 months ago

If you want to be popular in Ghana, attack Dr Bawumia policies and statements and that is what Prof is doing. We see you

• Ato 2 months ago

Are you alright? He says vote for him to become president and he will let it happen. Why are you always on Bawumia?

• Bro Kwesi 2 months ago

Professor small mind

• Kwame Nyame 2 months ago

How did this foolish idiot become a lecturer? At your level you don’t know that the constitution does not grant such powers to the Vice President? Kwasea kwa. Buffoon.

• Bright 2 months ago

Bawumialiar, eiii, if we make the same mistake like we did in voting Nana Addo President, the country will simply run to a halt, total collapse. Bawumialiar has not yet been sworn in as President in 2025 but has already sta ...

• Nee 2 months ago

Why must he grant them now?. He does not need to implement everything at the same time. Common sense tell us that we should bite what we can chew at a time. Being a professor does not makes you knowledgeable in everything, so ...

• Stupid John Mahama 2 months ago

This stupid marketing professor is an educated fool. Marketing professor always taking matters about economy which he knows nothing about. He thinking that the mere fact that he is in the news makes him relevant. Typical ayig ...

• Mental charter 2 months ago

Are u not a prof at ug...... what positive changes is university making to the learning program

• Prof. Frimpong Boateng Heart Surgeon 2 months ago

Bawumia is a complete fool. A disaster. Who will even vote for a rat like Bawumia. A Gold for Oil buffoon

• Gyataba 2 months ago

See thos so call Prof. too..politics has become too cheap...asem entira.

• Don 2 months ago

Even when Bawumia says Hello to his wife, Kobby Mensah will definitely have problem with him.

• Kojo 2 months ago

Desperate times are here

• THE PROFESSOR HAVE A GREAT POINT 2 months ago

WHAT SAY YOU BAWUMIA?

• Afro Moses 2 months ago

Ghanaweb and moron professors they are like enemies anytime they talk nonsense Ghanaweb wants Ghanaians to see how morons our ignorant professors are and engage in politics showing their ignorance and foolishness.

Prof......hmmmmmmm........are u serious

Prof......hmmmmmmm........are u serious. U want the veep to override the prez. U are a professor of ug order changes in ug.

• Test 2 2 months ago

SOMETIMES IT LOOKS AS IF BAWUMIAH IS ON SOME SORT OF ENHANCING DRUG IN 2016 ALSO WHEN HE WAS CAMPAIGNI HE PROMISED THE PEOPLE OF NIMA THAT HE WILL BUILD APARMENT BLOCKS WITH MODERN TOILETS FOR THEM LIKE THE PEOPLE LIVING IN ...

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

I WILL OPEN A DRONE INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT IN EVERY CITY.

How can he? Isn't this the same Bawumia who, as he tries to distance himself from his Julor House NPP galamsey government's failures, claims he has ONLY been a Vice_ ...

• Glitch Up 2 months ago

Is this idiot also a professor and he doesn’t know the levels of authority in governance structure and talking this trash. Idiocy is too cheap in Ghana.

• Kow 2 months ago

Nonsense. Is Bawumia the President?And you call yourself a professor in the University. Sheer Stupidity

• Glitch Up 2 months ago

Surprisingly Bawumiah is a liar to only the useless NDC imbeciles

• Ex-Pope 2 months ago

NPP IS A GALAMSEY PARTY OF THIEVING NATION-WRECKING LIARS WITH A SUPER-USELESS 3-LEGGED RACE HORSE APLANKE.

Your elephant-riding NPP thieving nation-wrecking liars just can't stop spitting out deceptions. You guys keep mak ...

• NDC drunkard professor 2 months ago

Kwaseafunu

• Dondo 2 months ago

When it comes to digitalization, all hail Bawumia. He is in charge and implenting policies which are changing this country forever. When it comes to failures in the economy, he is not the one in charge, he is just an advisor. ...

• Jacob Amponsah 2 months ago

Prof. Please, with all due respect, can deputy instruct his boss or can he take vital decisions when the boss is not in agreement with the deputy?
    Prof. Please, this is below the belt !!!!!!!!

• Mallam Adamu 2 months ago

Ours is a tax-driven economy presently. How shall the country function from 2025 with no defined source of finance? Does that suggest the GRA shall stop to exist after said date? Perhaps, we need more clarifications from Veep ...

• Kaba 2 months ago

Professor Do-Litte-Think-Little. Banku Professor thinking like a kindergarten kid.