Visuals of the sorry state of the Independence Square emerge online

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Nsem Pii 3 months ago

So this administration what do they use our resources for.

• Vinnie 3 months ago

And what did Mahama use the money for.. Because this sort of decay didn't start yesterday.. The president used your money to build a top class edifice for nkrumah recently didn't he? And another for mills.. What did Mahama us ...

• Bofi Kentil 3 months ago

VINNIE, why are fools like you still allowed to comment on social media, why?

• YSL 3 months ago

Everything under Akuffo Addo and Bawumia's government is in a sorry state.If you hand over your property to fools to look after it for you,this is what u get.

• Tito 3 months ago

I am even surprised.

• Vinnie Gyimii 3 months ago

And what did kuffuor use our money to do, for the 8 years that he was in power? Stole the money on Hotel Waa-Waa, right? Aboa, Mahama was in power for just 4 years, wimp

• Deliberate intentions 3 months ago

Mahama used ghana money to build hotels in Dubai and abandoned independent square infrastructure to rot.

• Who Killed JB Danquah-Adu 3 months ago

Kwasiampanin kromfuor ba @Vinnie! You see, when you decide to follow a brain-dead Kyebi dwarf, all your utterances become empty with wisdom. Was Mahama not there when your certificateless chimpanzee from the Kyebi forest came ...

• Ghana says YES to LGBTQ+ 3 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ and same sex marriage.

• Test 2 3 months ago

Your ugly Akufo Addo and his CORRUPT Akan Ashanti Akyem
    MAFIA Npp Govt are dirty lot
    All they know is stealing our dollars to e rich themselves like the toilet minister Cecelia Dapaah

• Name no matter: 3 months ago

Mahama used Ghana resources to build the airport for Akufo Addo and his NPP criminals to claim credit for themselves, a job that their party never dreamt about. The same party destroyed everything that Dr. Nkrumah left behind ...

• Deliberate intentions 3 months ago

Mahama steals ghana money to build hotels in Dubai and walls in Burkina Faso and buy a castle in Japan.Mahama the thief.

• To every fool in the comment section 3 months ago

Fools like vinnie( the name itself is a fools name) remind me that I am not a failure.

• CLEARLY .. IT STARTED 7 YEARS AGO ... 3 months ago

Damn fool .. are you not aware of how long two terms is? you're speaking as if Mahama just left office .. this edifice is an manifestation of Ghana's economic and moral state.... TRASH

• Yaw Nkansah 3 months ago

Do you remember the state it was and even asomdwe park and this govt repaired all?Our leaders in charge of the state departments have no brains at all and they keep getting pa9d.

• Abi 3 months ago

It's depics the state of the country spiritually into physical.so Mr journalist dnt waste ur time.its good everyone is seeing it.

• Nkrumah will resuscitate each dawn 3 months ago

Ow my people, why are we finding it so hard to develop our beloved continent? seems like it has become so norm to the extent that we don't care anymore, nd so many places in state around all the towns and villages in ghana... ...

• Shit hole 3 months ago

This is what shody work..I mean shody work promax. The very first time I saw this work, I think in president Mills I curse contractor and the engineers who supervise it... unfortunately Akuffo Addo his work best here by not ...

• Jkmee 3 months ago

NPP said they have decentralized independence day celebration that why they have neglected Ekumfi sorry the heart of the nation the independence square. Mind you they also abolished the celebration of the republic day. No won ...

• Barko osae twum 3 months ago

The only maintenance culture our politicians and government appointees know is the culture of maintaining a huge wallet and bank balance. The next government should be like governments that have taken over and investigated al ...

• Nana Agyeman 3 months ago

The Akan NPP ,has refused to use the place to celebrate Independence for the past 8 years.Almost everybody from the Eastern region, live in Accra.This year, they are celebrating Independence there.Who is going to attend?They ...

• Pat 3 months ago

It's just like a toddler behaves, the moment he gets a new toy, he doesn't care about the old ones. Assuming 6th match parade is still held there, like by now renovations are going on for next month, once the program moved to ...

• Politico 3 months ago

Recolonization of Africa should start now from Ghana, cos the quality of Ghanaians and politicians aren't good. Create, loot and share is all that politicians know, and the youths not committed to the state affairs. (Unconcer ...

• Neutral 3 months ago

Commentators on Ghanaweb leave the issue at hand and be insulting each other. It's Ghanaweb started blacklisting those people

• Anonymous 3 months ago

I agree with you.

• Elephant Farmer 3 months ago

Independence Square hosted some useless events. Joe Mask was there recently. But there's no money for restauration.

• Kwesi 3 months ago

This is just a reflection of the state of the country at the moment…

• Solo akonor 3 months ago

If you have leaders like Akuffo Addo and co , what do they care?

• Charles 3 months ago

Who is in charge of place?
    Our maintenance culture is nil. That is appalling. Some one needs to get his act together and do something

• Thelynq 3 months ago

In Ghana once it's built, done !! No maintenance for anything, have you seen the street lights and traffic lights in Accra alone? The whole capital stinks with garbage. This is very very serious but who cares

• AFrotropic 3 months ago

Kaa worry. It will be renovated come before independence day celebrations. There will be march passings there.

• Prof Kenzy 3 months ago

Ghana we are now facing something ooo, our government is not supporting nation building at all. All our facilities that puts the nation's name in history are now falling apart without adequate measures taking place to put the ...

• Lolobian 3 months ago

I think I can do a good job if appointed to be in charge of national monuments

• Kofi Ghanaba 3 months ago

Ghana is the only country in the world where national monuments are abandoned at will.The ruling class sits in the comfort of Flagstaff House.Each time l go around the Freedom and Justice monument circle l see wanton neglect. ...

• KofSam 3 months ago

I don’t want to believe that this is the current state of independence square. But if that is true then the minister of tourism and state must all be fired .

• DORKUCHO TANIHU 3 months ago

Since the overthrow of our beloved PRESIDENT OSAGEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH everything that he left behind all the leaders that have come and gone they don't care about it. Take a look about GHANA

• OSAFO KANTANKA 3 months ago

Very sad indeed that Dr. Kwame Nkrumah wasted his Life in GHANA. Everything he did for the Country in tatters. So all the noises about having the Men to do better than the Late Dr. Has become a serious joke beyond any belief ...

• Paa 3 months ago

Sometimes it feels a bit shameful. If we can’t get these stuff right what at all can we!?!?

• Kakam Manu 3 months ago

Is it necessary to vote at all?

• Warrior king 3 months ago

Some ghanaians are hmmmmmm i rent out my out to 2 guys and a ladies with well maintain lawn. They dont take care of the place with overgrown grass all over the house.

• NANA SERWAA BRONI ADDO 3 months ago

THE CATHEDRAL MONEY COULD HAVE BEAUTIFY THIS SQUARE

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 3 months ago

THE MAIN AND ONLY REASON WHY THESE MONUMENTS AND EDIFICES HAVE BEEN LEFT TO ROT UNDER THIS AKUFO ADDO'S N.P.P. GOVERNMENT IS THAT, THOSE STRUCTIRES WERE ERECTED BY THE LATE AND EX-PRESIDENT OSAGYEFO DR, KWAME NKRUMAH OF THE ...

• THEREALTRUTH 3 months ago

Shows how when you follow the teachings and culture of colonizers things fall apart eventually.
    The pyramids have stood for more than 4000 years. The great wall of China for thousands of years with very little maintenance.

• KWASI YAMOAH 3 months ago

WHY DO MOST COMMENTS TO IMPORTANT ISSUES TURN ABUSIVE FROM ONE COMMENTATOR TO ANOTHER? THESE SHOW INCIVILITY.ANYWAY,IS OUR COUNTRYPEOPLE CIVILIZED OR UNCIVILIZED.YOUR ANSWER IS AS GOOD AS MINE.

• DHOT 3 months ago

eii, my motherland why?

• Treasure 3 months ago

It shows how dependent & depressed we have been since Kwame Nkrumah. We have been pretending. The reality has caught up with us.

• Zionism is racism 3 months ago

The only thing this dog and monkey eating President is best at is travelling in private jets and squandering the country's resources

• konkonsanii 3 months ago

NANSIS
    We need money for a CATHEDRAL TO THE GLORY OF GOD!
    Independence wharreva is not as important as a KATIDRA......
    With a KATIDRA, all Ghanaians including armed robbers and rapists are HEAVEN BOUND. Thank NADAA and hi ...

• Richard 3 months ago

Your President is busy using the country's money for JB Danquah's funeral. Tribal Politics with this Akyem mafia's will never happen again in Ghana.

• GHANA A 3RD WORLD COUNTRY OF FOOLS 3 months ago

This is how you maintain building and tourists areas and you folks want tourism please...

• Black people can not do anything right 3 months ago

we need whites man to rule Ghana we fail miserably in everything we do

@

Malcom X is black, Martin Luther King black, Marcus Garvey black, Obama black, Desmond Tutu black...there are many blsck people who have done great things...if it wasn't so...the black people would already be eliminated. We h ...

Control of the earth...and learn the invaders ways are not productive to black people. Every since the invading of the motherland we lost self love self compassion for Us. Stop following the colonial systems and ways of polit ...

• Ahimadu 3 months ago

Great people make a great nation.

• Hey 3 months ago

Name the place after J.B Danquah or Edward Akofu Addo. The little one will quickly rehabilitate it

• Ghana Chap 3 months ago

Ghana can't maintain anything, that's why it's beyond stupidity for citizens to continuously buy into politicians' bullshit promises of interchanges and other such infrastructure as vote worthy proposals/manifesto.

Whatâ ...

• Nana Addo 3 months ago

Independence Square = sorry state
    Ghana economy = sorry state
    Ghana football = sorry state
    Ghana cedi = sorry state
    Ghana taxes = sorry state
    Bawumia's brain = sorry state

• Bob P. 3 months ago

Akuffo Addo is a curse and Bawulair Timothy is a disaster piriod.

• Ghanaweb will soon block me. 3 months ago

Where is Mr Anyidoho. Suddenly Mr Anyidoho has kept quiet only to come out at Mr JDM at the slightest opportunity.

• Kelvin 3 months ago

In fact it's the perfect metaphor for ghana ; a country in decay

• Kpakpo 3 months ago

Akuffo Addo lack knowledge and vision he slept anywhere he finds himself he is just sleeping always at office in julor bi house, so he is sleeping on state monument how possible this be but under Akuffo Addo government and m ...