Cheddar ordered by High Court to pay over US$14.9 million debt

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Truth Table 18 hours ago

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (Romans 10:9)

• Nana 18 hours ago

Can this judgement be carried out in Ghana? The Commonwealth Lawyers Council opposed the removal of our former CJ but President Mahama and his NDC govt went ahead and sacked her.We need education on this.

• Anokye Twum-Antwi 18 hours ago

Nana, the former CJ was removed after 3 petitions were submitted against her behaviour. As per the constitution of Ghana, the Council of State recommended the matter to be investigated. This was done thoroughly in accordance ...

• Osuro 17 hours ago

In addition to your arguments, the CJ case was the president exercising his constitutional responsibility. No authority outside ghana has any power to stop he people of ghana from that. Cheddar's case is an individual vs anot ...

• So the actual exchange rate is 16.15 cedis to a dollar 17 hours ago

The cat is out of the bag. So all those artificially created exchange rate are for the consumption of the gullible Ghanain.

• Akonta 17 hours ago

Wofa gyimifuor! School amboa wo koraaa....!!!! Anyway, you can hold on to that senseless conclusion you have drawn on the article, but know that Ghc16.15 is still less than the Ghc17.45 that you took us to. Amokuaaa...!!!!!

• Solo Pobee 17 hours ago

They are block headed. They don't know anything. Please, don't waste your time on them.

• THIS ONE THAT OUR KENTRY IS ALREADY HEAVILY INDEBTED NU, THIS ONE TOO WAS GOING TO BE OUR PRESIDENT 15 hours ago

WEY HE HIMSELF TOO IS COMING IN FULL OF DEBT AND WOULD HAVE STOLEN MORE TO PAY HIS OWN DEBTS? CHAI! GHANA MY COUNTRY, YOU HAVE BEEN BLESSED WITH USELESS SONS PAAAA OOO!!!!!

• Kwaseato 17 hours ago

Why didn't the court use the fake 10.82Ghc for their official calculation to get the Ghana cedi equivalent?

• Le Pacifiteur 17 hours ago

The judgement was passed in Jan 2025, and the exchange rate then was $1=ghc16. 50. Hence, the conversion is based on the exchange rate at the time of judgement, not the current rate,

• Concerned Ghanaian 16 hours ago

Cheddar should choose to pay the fine in Uk pound sterling so he can get a better exchange rate if indeed what your saying @Le Pacifituer is correct. Also the write up on Ghanaweb tells us nothing into the background of this ...

• Nyansani 15 hours ago

@Concerned Ghanaian. You are right. Some here post sensibly. It is important that we can have educations discourses online without meaningless apparitions banter, or worse still, disgusting insults and religious and tribal bi ...

• Nyansani 15 hours ago

***educative discourses

• KOFI 14 hours ago

I am very sad reading some of these comments this morning. This chew and pour education system in my motherland has not served us well at all.

Comprehension, analysis and critical evaluation of issues has dodged us.

• SO ALL ALONG WE WERE BROKE AND PRETENDING TO BE VERY RICH.? 12 hours ago

If a person or organisation can't pay their debt then it can only mean one thing- they don't have the money. THEY ARE BROKE!!

• GH8 15 hours ago

Yes the rate was the prevailing rate as at the time of judgement in January, 2025. The report said 1dollar to 16.15 and you are quoting 16.50 why? Politics everywhere.

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 15 hours ago

Hello youth of Ghana. .... You can take your own life with medicine.....for instance 15 paracetamol at once. Or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide.

• GH8 15 hours ago

Massa fa wo gyimee fre nnipa. Are you that dumb to know that the figure quoted, that's 1 dollar to 16.15 cedis was the prevailing rate as at the time of judgement. That's 25th January, 2025 and not now. Massa wotire awo dodo.

• Hmmm 15 hours ago

Ur evil wish be that ?

• Kwame 15 hours ago

You are a big full. Tjis judgement and quote of exchange rate was when the judgement was delicered on 23-January-2025.
    However, if and when cheddar decides to pay, he will exchange his Ghana cedis at prevailing exchange rate ...

• THINK DEEP 17 hours ago

@ Anokye Twum-Antwi
    Did you say Council of State and what was the recommendation of the CRC on that discredited body?What about the petitioner's lawyers,are they not NDC Lawyers?Your whole explanation is so weak.You see why ...

• Kantow 17 hours ago

@Think Deep. Don't write rubbish here. What is the sense of what you wrote here?

• Truth Seeker 15 hours ago

@Think Deep. I think he is only exposing his stupidity.

• Truth Seeker 15 hours ago

I mean Kantow is exposing his stupidity and blockheadedness.

• Jack 14 hours ago

The Commonwealth Lawyers Council is just an association like Ghana Bar Association in Ghana. They can express their opinion but that will not be binding on anybody outside their membership. They can talk and talk and talk but ...

• Akwasi 13 hours ago

They are just an association. Even GBA could not have stopped the process

• ZONTOLI 18 hours ago

HE CAN NEVER AND EVER BE GOD. A SHITTING GOD? WTF?

• DAILY CASH-OUTS GUARANTEED 100% BY THIS SKILL 18 hours ago

Be an Early starter cos Early starters win all the time, Start Now. Smartphone repair & accessories is one of the few skills that still pays daily, even in hard times. Build up skill in silence - Your best budget this year is ...

• Solving the nigerian Cyber crime for good 17 hours ago

Pass the foreigner rental bill....also start sentencing these nigerian scammers swiftly &publicly as a deterrent...
    All Landlords renting to foreigners for stay must register their tenants details at the nearest police stati ...

• Subsidise petrol to reduce cost not cedi dollar 17 hours ago

You did it with free SHS..A booming economy is when consumers are able to spend and spend.....why are people spending, buying in Dubai, UAE? You get an organic economy not an artificial economy...it's still why things are s ...

• Free advertisement for him 18 hours ago

He settles the case positively and plenty publicity for the champion .

• Jo 18 hours ago

See how Blackman is happy because his fellow Blackman is in trouble. Otherwise what is the importance of this report.

• Maame 18 hours ago

Who has expressed joy? Just posting because he's a black man.

• ZONTOLI 18 hours ago

WAAA LOOK. AND YOU WANT TO BECOME PRESIDENT?

• Gee 18 hours ago

Cut your coat according to your size

• Kyeiwaa Vida 18 hours ago

It is normal for human being to be in debt. Even countries, including, USA are in debt.

• Jon J 17 hours ago

But da amount is huge oo, can he pay easily

• Momo 17 hours ago

Every thief is labeled as a business mogul in Ghana. Lol what make him a business mogul?

• Vender 14 hours ago

You chose to stay idle, He chose to move. Business has its own risk even though no one expects it. Where in the cout case did he steal to be called a thief. Titanic self sink and who would have taught an engineer will build s ...

• Owusu Ansah Listowell 17 hours ago

What was the cause of this judgement debt against cheddar please be subjective about your news reporting
    We wants the main cause of this debt which is missing in the news

• Nana addo the anathema!!! 16 hours ago

Did you read the article. This is mind-boggling, how can you express such ignorance?

• NDC deceivers 17 hours ago

Treasury exchange rate is $1=16+Ghc,
    NDC manipulated exchange rate is $1=10.82 Ghc

Gyimii saa until the end of the world, NPP!!!! Mo egyimii!!!

• AB 13 hours ago

Eii 3y3 3bon anaa...the exchange rate was 16.00 that time as in January 2025 the time the judgement was passed in UK

• Abass A 17 hours ago

Too simplistic, a little insight of what caused the judgement debt. Most people were questioning the sources of money of Cheddah?? NANA BED??

• LetsukokpeAbednego#BuE’ent 16 hours ago

Oh Julius Cesar ! He go make shi rough

Emperor Bokassa !!! Freedom Jacob Ceasar!!! Eii Ghana!! Anyhow, where is Kevin okyere? He he...na waa oooo!!!

• Sam Fante warrior. 16 hours ago

Nothing good comes out of Ashantis they're all criminals including their chief the Canadian wanted. And this scammer also want to be president in Ghana because Akufo Addo ugly chimpanzee criminal has became president. This fo ...

• Akwasi 13 hours ago

Respect yourself. Such posts don't. Ake you any better than other Ghanaians

• Manu 13 hours ago

DNA

• NANA TRUMU TRUMU ADDO 16 hours ago

NIPA BINOM P3 WONHO AS3M TOO MUCH

• George . 16 hours ago

TELL ME IT'S NOT TRUE, " IS IT BUSINESS GONE WRONG?!!!!!!!!

• GHANA'S SO-CALLED POLITICIANS AND RICH PEOPLE ARE A BUNCH OF CRIMINALS, CONFIDENCE TRICKSTERS, GOLD SMUGGLERS, MONEY LAUNDERERS AND HARD DRUGS PUSHERS. 16 hours ago

GHANA'S SO-CALLED POLITICIANS, PASTORS, CHIEFS, AND SELF-STYLED RICH PEOPLE ARE A BUNCH OF CRIMINALS, CONFIDENCE TRICKSTERS, GOLD SMUGGLERS, MONEY LAUNDERERS, AND HARD DRUGS PUSHERS.

THESE ARE THE CRIMINALS CALLING THE SHO ...

• AZAA PEOPLE 16 hours ago

They are all just like you! That is the way all Ghanaians are really like! We are all just like them!

• ADOMBIRE CLINTON 15 hours ago

Hmmm0507844887

• NMOA 16 hours ago

By their fruits ye shall know them not! That is why and how the akyempanzee became our president for 8 years! And that is Kennedy Agyapong thinks he can also become our president! We always subdue and bury the TRUTH with our ...

• God 's Property 15 hours ago

How come about this debt? Well those that share the profit share the loss.

• Wayo 14 hours ago

When it's coming

• Onipanua 14 hours ago

Oh! Scrap dealer paa nie

• Simple interest 14 hours ago

I know this boy is into something, maybe occult or something dubious.

• Nana K 13 hours ago

He is a billionaire.

• Nyameba 12 hours ago

Fools die for want of WISDOM.Keep supporting your Demonic cult and the time will come for NDC people to learn IDIOTS

• Just 1 Yr As Vice President He Can Clear This Bill! 11 hours ago

Just allow him 1 term to clear his bill and to uphold the good name of Ghana

• Kwaku Nyarko 10 hours ago

So this is why you wanted to be ghana's president and use our money to service your debt? Ghana's politics is very cheap, ofui bi ba

• Vanity 5 hours ago

In the unlikely event. That this "Vanity Ego Misfit" should serve convict sentence in default of payment, they should consider his Lions oo. Advisable he serves that sentence in a Zoo. Partnered with his pet lions oo. To ...

• Vanity 5 hours ago

A word to the wise, is in the Hunter's Bag

• Senseless Nonsense 4 hours ago

So upsetting! How the Ghanaian psyche, got so cheaply overrun? By this outrageoes unethical mafia money syndrome order, into our History? Like Hitler Tsunami? A 'Property Owning Democracy' vision miscalculated? Into ...

• Ivory Mensah 1 hour ago

Small change for Cheddar. Will pay in 4 seconds