President Mahama warns landlords over six-month rent advance abuse

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Dr Mumbi Seraki 3 days ago

Hello youth of Ghana........You can take your own life with medicine..... For instance 15 tramadol at once......or combine medicine and akpeteshie or weedicide ...

• Kwami 3 days ago

National security can't you track this stupid person down and show him/her pepper?

• Truth Table 3 days ago

Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life. (1 John 5:12) .....
    ,,, ...... ....

• Concern Citizen 3 days ago

Mr.President how many housing units have you been able to provide in your tenure? What you said is cheap talk.The problem will persist once the housing deficit is bigger in Ghana.It is better to find solution to that than thi ...

• Sam Fante warriort 3 days ago

Stop the nonsense here, so if the president not built for the citizens that mean he should allow the landlords to make life difficult for the citizens ? Don't you know six months advance is too much.

• George (London) 3 days ago

Sam tell your sticking poor father to build houses and rent them for 3 months contract. Ofui bi ba

• OH MY GOD! 3 days ago

President Mahama warns landlords over six-month rent advance abuse?

When you have the balls to introduce and enforce PRICE CONTROL IN KANTAMANTO, we will embrace your Rent Control nonsense!

• The Spear 3 days ago

There's a worrying trend in Ghana which the authorities pretend not to see: Market prices.

When the Cedi was at 17/$, a Jacuzzi bath was selling at 17150 Cedis. When the Cedi appreciated to around 10/$, the same Jacuzzi cl ...

• Kulbogo waala 3 days ago

Focus and build affordable houses for workers so that this practice would end, You as president it's your core responsible to ensure that affordable houses are build almost everywhere in our urban cities for this nonsense to ...

• Chris 3 days ago

Most of the time, the rooms were not completed for habitation, hence people in desperate need of accommodation who could afford, pay enough money to the landlord to complete the work. I think government is not being fed with ...

• Amuah joseph kojo 3 days ago

Long talk no point, suggest positively.

• Sam Fante warriort 3 days ago

When you go to Europe and America government don't built homes for the citizens it's all private houses and the landlords don't cheet nobody for asking 6 month rent advance. Ghanaians are criminals and make life difficult for ...

• BULLETS 3 days ago

Ofui, have you ever heard of COUNCIL FLATS or THE PROJECTS?

• END IDLENESS: BEAT LACK OF CAPITAL WITH A SKILLED-SERVICE BUSINESS - GET THIS RESOURCE 3 days ago

Make that move right now, if you've been trying 'everything', but nothing is working for you yet! Don't keep waiting for a job. Create one. While people are complaining about the economy, smart people are fixing what everyone ...

• KOFI ANNAN 3 days ago

DEAR MR. PRESIDENT TELL YOUR MINISTERS, MPS AND CHURCH ELDERS TO BUILD HOUSES FOR RENT ESPECIALLY IN THE SMALL TOWNS AND VILLAGES. AT LEAST IF THEY REDEVELOP AND IMPROVE THEIR FAMILY HOUSES IN THE SMALL TOWNS AND VILLAGES, MA ...

• Amuah joseph kojo 3 days ago

It's a good iniciative.

• Truth 3 days ago

Let's stop these things we can change the law for one year cos this 6 months thing won't work. Is demand and supply let's be real and stop the pretense

• MMOASEM 3 days ago

Why haven't you people who have looted Ghana on since 1966 built any affordable homes for the masses with a fraction of your loot?

• Black Sherrif 3 days ago

Has he ever build a house before? Loose and cheap talk. Do you know the price of building materials and workmanship. Nonsense talk

• Aba Sam 3 days ago

Over here in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, landlords don't demand rent advance. I stayed in a three bedroom apartment at Somgandé, a suburb of Ouaga for ten (10) years and never paid rent advance. In my first year, the landlo ...

• Popee 3 days ago

Mr, president, please don't comment about the SIX months rent advance because you awear of the accommodation problems in Ghana but you build 10 churches for the Assemblys of God church instead of affordable house after you w ...

• Koti 3 days ago

Prosecution is not the solution, build more estate houses as I K Acheampong, who was murdered did. If government builds more estate houses, tenants would going to private house owners. I have informed my tenants that when the ...

• MUMU FOOT SOLDIERS 3 days ago

Ya te abr3 o... talk talk and no action

• George (London) 3 days ago

Kwasia president. Useless brainless fool like you. When your foolish ugly colins dauda was given millions of dollars to build salesman houses, he squandered the money. When 90% Useless Ghanaians voted for you, your equal ...

• LA JLA 2 days ago

What About The One Opong NKRUMAH WAS TO SELL?

• Struggling Man 2 days ago

Tenants struggle to pay 2 years rent advance but in as much as thr amoznt of money for 6 months advance is smaller, i envisage that tenants will default rent payments after 6 months. What ssfeguards will be put in place for l ...

• Jon J 2 days ago

How can one disobey his or her lord ie landlord. Da buildin belongs to him. Pray u get a landlady instead maybe tings might be diffrent

• KWASI IN EUROPE 2 days ago

Stupid foolish goat called president. How many apartments have you built for the people?

• Young man 2 days ago

How can l invest into a new built four bedroom self contained with all facilities such as water heaters,air-conditioning, washing machine ect. and ask me to collect six mouths advance, does that makes sense?

• Yaw mensah 2 days ago

Declaring a “war” on landlords over advance rent misplaces blame and ignores the real crisis: government failure in housing delivery. The state has not built enough affordable homes, and where houses exist, prices are bey ...

• Ogyam 2 days ago

President wo maame tw3! The State approved $200m to build 5,000 affordable housing units at Saglemi. You built 1,500 units and stole the remaining amount. Ns3m fon. Ewi! A thief who has come again to loot. What moral right ha ...

• JKD 2 days ago

Statistical Service: What is Ghana's current housing deficit? NDC: What is your housing policy, strategy and action plan to fill this void?

• MK 2 days ago

Okay, we have understood the president's directives, which is a good idea. But what about if the homeowner overprices his or her room to equal the one year to 2 years rent for 6 months what can the government and the tenant d ...

• SD.com 2 days ago

Build more houses for us then you can enforce your law