Plea, Smiles, Sadness: What transpired in court during Wontumi's judgment

Read Comments Comments (110)

• Yaw 5 days ago

The Law is the Law !!!
    Thanks God for the stiff sentence passed on Wontumi.
    I am waiting for the day when ABANGA and YAMIN, both of NDC, will stand before the law, on their being suspected in Galamsey activities.
    I pray th ...

• Yaw 5 days ago

I am getting infuriated by the loud noises of Lawyer Appiah-Kubi who defended Wontumi, on the TV interviews he has been granting right now.
    I believe he said all that he is saying on TV this afternoon right there in court be ...

• NPP Magna Carta 5 days ago

Who born Dog!

• Old School Mate 5 days ago

Ken Ofori-Atta, this is Chaiman. If you can hear me, play Lucky Mensah's song because I am missing you. Please come back to me, for old times sake. We can share moments together

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 5 days ago

GHANA IS UNDER ATTACK!!!!!

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 5 days ago

SIGN OF A FAILED GOVERNMENT!!!!!!
    GIVE NDC A MILLION YEARS, IT WILL STILL BE ICE CREAM, NIGHT CLUB, CUTTING GRASS, GATHERING STONES, WINNING SAND, HOOK-UP BUSINESS FOR THE YOUTH. ALSO, POLY TANK/BORE HOLE IN COCOA FARM, NKOK ...

• Independent 5 days ago

Kwasi adade we gave you and your npp 8years and the things you are saying was still in ghana during those years if not worse. Hypocrisy at the highest level. Ghana was worse than now.

• TKO 5 days ago

So should people commit crimes and go free? I now know that some of you NPP supporters are theives yourselves. You claim to be living in the USA; what do you think the US government would have not have jailed Wuntumi? Justice ...

• Gonja Mafia 5 days ago

TKO, you failed to mention the useless president John Airbus Mahama who took bribe from Airbus company when he led a group to purchase an aircraft from that company. He is also on the waiting list to go to jail.

• Otwa Eko Lo? 5 days ago

Under Attack? Is that so? Mobile your favourite Looting Brigade and affiliate Tagor Bandit Squadron to quell it. You will smell Princely Pepper! Or may be, otwa akpeteshie eko, lo?

• Burkina 5 days ago

After sentencing Wontumi are we going to get our clean water from the rivers back?

• Nurse 5 days ago

Please ask your grandfather. Okay. An idiot called Burkina

• NPP Free-for-All Magna Carta 5 days ago

Nurse, I like your vaccination for Burkina.

• Kwasi 5 days ago

Did you see the flood in Sameraboi, because of how he block and diverted the river Tano to mine illegally? The extensive damage to properties and infrastructure? Just shut up.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 5 days ago

@
    IT’S A CRYSTAL CLEAR VENGEANCE FOR WONTUMI’S HEROIC EFFORT THAT THWARTED MAHAMA’S ATTEMPT TO STEAL THE 2016 ELECTIONS.

JOHN MAHAMA IS SETTING A DANGEROUS PRECEDENT FOR HIMSELF AND HIS FAMILY MEMBERS WHO ARE ALSO I ...

• Dungeon Master 5 days ago

It’s ironic that your political bias blinds you to the actual ruling. Partisans like you are just as frustrating as the politicians looting our children's future.

​It’s 2026, and children in Ghana are still learning ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@Stephen Donkor, anybody who colludes with foreign Changfan operatives to destroy his own country is definitely an illiterate. Someone who played a major role in poisoning Ghana’s rivers and water bodies with mercury, and a ...

@ GHANA MAN

WELCOME GHANAMAN! I WILL NOT RECIPROCATE YOUR INSULTS BECAUSE ONLY LOSERS RESORT TO INSULTS IN POLITICAL DISCUSSIONS!

YOU SOUND LIKE A STRANGER IN TOWN OR YOU JUST HAVE CHOSEN TO ENGAGE IN A SELECTIVE AMNES ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@Stephen Donkor. Please Focus on Wontumi and please stop trying to broaden the debate into who did this, and who did that - the usual NPP v NDC mindless debate that has led a beautiful promising country into the mess we found ...

• TAKE OR PAY DEMON 5 days ago

.,., FRAUD ALERT!
    An organisation called CPWC is defrauding Ghanaians in huge sums of money using a semblance of Ponzy Scheme. It is interesting that anytime NDC is in power we see the ugly heads of Ponzy Schemes. During the ...

• Lori 5 days ago

New trumu in Nsawam.

• AZAA PRISON SENTENCE! MEANWHILE, ALL HIS PROPERTIES ACQUIRED FROM LOOTING THE NATION'S LOANS PURSE ARE PERFECTLY INTACT 5 days ago

FAKE PRISON SENTENCE! MEANWHILE, ALL HIS PROPERTIES ACQUIRED FROM LOOTING THE NATION'S LOANS PURSE ARE PERFECTLY INTACT. GHANAIAN LEADERS THINK THEY CAN FOOL HANAIANS ALL THE TIME. WE SHALL ALL SWIM IN THE SHITHOLE CALLED GH ...

• ITS NOT ENOUGH 5 days ago

HE NEEDS 40 YEARS.

• Bosco 5 days ago

This is good news. It will teach NPP lessons since they are stupid enough to forgive NDC members for taken double salaries. Next time, they will lesson to the grassroots people. NPP should blame nana Addo for not jailing all ...

• TWEAA DC 5 days ago

KOKUVIE?...NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT....HOPE JOHN MAHAMA WILL RULE FOREVER...TWEAA.

• Apoo 5 days ago

Glorified hooligans, areaboys, and landguards masquerading as politicians!

@ Apoo!
    SO WONTUMI IS THE BEST SACRIFICIAL LAMB TO AVERT FUTURE JOHN MAHAMA’S FLOODING OF 2015 AND 2026? VERY SHAMEFUL POLITICAL SHENANIGANS!

JAILING CHAIRMAN WONTUMI WILL NOT RESTORE THE LIVES OF HUNDREDS OF GHANAI ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@Stephen Donkor, anybody who colludes with foreign Changfan operatives to destroy his own country is definitely an illiterate. Someone who played a major role in poisoning Ghana’s rivers and water bodies with mercury, and a ...

@ Ghana Man. You Loser!

WHOSE MINING CONCESSION WAS MAJOR MAHAMA AND HIS TEAM OF MILITARY OFFICERS GUARDING BACK IN 2017 WHEN HE LOST HIS LIFE? WASN’T THAT A FOREST RESERVE JOHN MAHAMA SIGNED OFF FOR ILLEGAL MINING? NDC ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

An eye for an eye and the whole world goes blind. If you see wrong, confront it. Don’t turn a blind eye because the wrong is being done by your party member or your village brother. Have you seen what many years of turning ...

• Ayim 5 days ago

Thank God. Finally some justice for Ghana

• Obarima 5 days ago

There will be a civil war in Ghana.
    The NDC has taken a path of destruction. We will burn the whole country down

• COOKIE CRUMBLES 5 days ago

You'll be the first rat to be slaughtered, kwaseato!

• Jimmy 5 days ago

WE ARE WAITING FOR YOU SINCE. BRING IT ON. OFUIO

• Mercy 5 days ago

@ Barima. you and who?

• KD 5 days ago

Ofui, try if you human being born you.

• Power 5 days ago

Shhhhh ka wo ano tomu !

• Naa 5 days ago

Gyimifuo disorganised confused elephant.

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@Obarima, people like Wontumi poisoned the foodstuffs and drinking water of the nation. Your comment exposes your limited intellect. You want to leave a person who is poisoning you, your family and the nation ?? Are you well ...

• Kwasi 5 days ago

We are waiting for you. God gave strength to only npp members and supporters.

• Wakkuffo Waddo 5 days ago

Wow, you drove a land cruiser to court only to be escorted to prison in not your vehicle.
    The law doesnt joke.
    A lesson to the NPP, gifty oawre and co. As well as current ndc appointees.
    Gob bless our homeland.

• Jimmy 5 days ago

THE LAW IS THE LAW. GAME END

• Gilbert 5 days ago

The law is working without fear nor favor. I am very very happy for the judgement

• Be careful, nobody above the laws of Ghana 5 days ago

M advice to Ghanaians be careful when your govt is in power, nobody above the laws of Ghana.

• Cat 5 days ago

Round one.....who is the next

• Maame Yaa 5 days ago

Danbura uba Sheege! Dan banza! dan iska! Waawanchi!

• . 5 days ago

WHO BORN DOG. AM VERY HAPPY WONTUMI IS JAILED. TOO MUCH NOISE. HOW MUCH KURAA HAS HE GOT ? KWASIAFOUR. NPP CRIMINALS AND THIEVES. GIFTY OWARE IS NEXT, SKY TRAIN SAGA IS ALSO IN THE CORNER. NPP CRIMINALS KRONFOUR NKOAAA. ASHAT ...

• Akua 5 days ago

THE PEOPLE OF SAMREBOI CONGRATULATED FOR YOU HAVE BEEN VINDICATED

• A 5 days ago

Imagine Wontumi had dual citizenship! He would have fled. SAY NO TO DUAL CITIZENSHIP. You cannot serve two masters. period.

@A

BAD LUCK PRESIDENT!
    TELL MAHAMA TO CONFESS HIS SINS!
    HELICOPTER CRASH, FLOODING AND ACCIDENTS UPON ACCIDENTS!

SO WONTUMI IS THE BEST SACRIFICIAL LAMB TO AVERT FUTURE JOHN MAHAMA’S FLOODING OF 2015 AND 2026? ...

• Name 5 days ago

My friend, no amount of yelling, no amount of caps ritig etc will change anything.

You'll get depression in addition to your craziness after the 38%disgraceful lost.

Meanwhile, sooner or later the state police dept will ...

@Name: WHO A U?

YOU LOWLIFE: “MONKEYS PLAY BY SIZES” OKAY?

Do you know why I don’t bother myself to reply your nonsense? I don’t see you as any kind of person with exposure. Those writing of yours defines your ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@Stephen Donkor, if you don’t understand why this is a good day for Ghana, then there is absolutely no point debating you. You are a blind sycophant, a hypocrite, hopefully paralysed by narrow minded partisan politics. Sorr ...

@ THE LOSER GHANA MAN

WELCOME GHANAMAN! I WILL NOT RECIPROCATE YOUR INSULTS BECAUSE ONLY LOSERS RESORT TO INSULTS IN POLITICAL DISCUSSIONS!

YOU SOUND LIKE A STRANGER IN TOWN OR YOU JUST HAVE CHOSEN TO ENGAGE IN A SELEC ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

Correction: Hopelessly (not hopefully) paralysed

• Keane 5 days ago

t last as they say Ghana is working ..still hundreds more crooks to get … he will
    Appeal …but hopefully those judges do lot take the bribe …

• Mm 5 days ago

Its time Ghanaians demand accountability from their leaders. There must be deacipline in this country. Those who steal state resources must be jailed and the money revovered period.

• Crap 5 days ago

Why do you have to damage state resources. Very mischievous person. Gob30 years

• Link up USA Canada Australian for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 5 days ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• Prof. USA 5 days ago

It’s disappointing that three lawyers defended Wontumi on the grounds of “tampering justice with mercy”! Is that taught in law school? This argument, according to LOGIC, is a fallacy of appealing to pity. It’s illogic ...

• Watchman 5 days ago

Illegal mining is destroying Ghana. We are destroying our waterbodies and our farm lands. So, those who are mining illegally must face the full rigorous of punishment. I praise the judge for taking full control of her court f ...

• George (London) 5 days ago

Useless guy calling himself watchman. All your family members will be inflicted with incurable diseases for saying what you said. I know you either evil jealous ewe fool or a neglected northerner. Due to your engines and ev ...

• Salim 5 days ago

Sometimes I wonder why we Ghanaian behave like we are in a different planet, see the damages of our water bodies and instead of us to defend the law, the country and our health, we rather choose to defend those people because ...

• Event blogger 5 days ago

Do you have an upcoming event, program, conference, festival etc and need a serious promoter or advertiser. Kindly contact us. We also promote products, music and businesses
    Whatsapp or call: 0242161130

• Link up USA Canada Australian for bank loading mt103 Flash your usdt here German banks loading loading ceredit cards in usa German UK fixed credit score meet Russian hk in German 5 days ago

Black Jesus: Bank wire transfer to all countries
    We are sending wire transfer and direct wasap him hamzaben.d@ hackermail. Com email email me your number I will wasap u or lawyer@presidency.com flashing to any country
    Ch ...

• FTT 5 days ago

Posterity will one day judge all of us

• Kwame Donkor 5 days ago

Which law? Sham and shameful application of the law. Selectivity persecutions. What payback! It appears that the black man is cursed.

• Kojos 5 days ago

I pity Ibrahim Mahama and the rest NDC useless appointees. I belief all those set free will be prosecuted in future govt including the double salary scam. I rest my case.

• Samuel Amakye 5 days ago

It serve NPP and Wontumi right.Next time NPP you wont spend 8years waisting tax payers money on Opuni and others.We all need to learn.

• James 5 days ago

This should serve as a lesson to political actors who think that as long as their parties are in power they can do anything and get away with it. The parties too must start educating their members that it's not the selfish in ...

• Kojo Sams. 5 days ago

The judge and the court has done the good work concerning the Mr. Wontumi Boasiako 's imprisonment 20 years imprisonment jail and it's good and good for that. The masses of Oman Ghana Republic are accepting that of the Mr. Wo ...

• Hanson K.K 5 days ago

Let no on wriggle hand in despair.
    Corrections must start one day and must start with someone, so the public shouldn't cry foul.
    Wontumi's lawyers knew the gravity of the offences but they tried to do their best.
    No one i ...

• Zakarakis 5 days ago

In life, be very, very, very CAREFUL when PEOPLE ARE GOADING YOU TO DO WRONG. Believe you me most of the people who appeared to be FRIENDS to Wontumi WILL START DISAPPEARING ONE BY ONE.

• NDC NPP SAME DEVILy 5 days ago

Appeal Appeal Appeal!
    "Na Mahama no dey fear ?

• George (London) 5 days ago

Ewe useless NDC judge is happy to sentence a full-blooded Ghanaian. God will strike John mahama and his entire family with incurable diseases if his brother is not also stealing Ghanaian resources meant for Akans, the real c ...

• Kj 5 days ago

Be strong Chairman. The next NPP era will be very beautiful

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@Kj, Very beautiful ??? You more freedom to do galamsey, more freedom to build in water courses and Ramsar sites. More freedom to destroy all Ghana’s vegetation and put concrete everywhere. Both you and @George sound like b ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@George. If you are really in London, do you see illiterates destroying the parks and environment over there ?? You enjoy all the beautiful parks and gardens in London and UK, and then come to Ghana to celebrate the nasty cri ...

• Kwame 5 days ago

Agrada on my mind, he can spend only 2 yrs.

• Stan 5 days ago

CARS FOR WORK & PAY AVAILABLE

☎️0544951674☎️

* 3 years Payment Plan.

* ⁠No Deposit.

* Toyota Vitz : 90000(Total Cost) / 600(Weekly) / 2500(Monthly).

* Toyota Yaris : 120000(Total Cost) / 700(Weekly ...

• Oklemekuku¹ 5 days ago

Afoko, Agyarko and the other NPP Chairmanship contestants are happy. Oops! Ken too.

• Blackman 5 days ago

But why is Cecilia Dapaah walking free with over 40 million dollars of Health and Sanitation money(Funeral Donation).

Where is the accountability for her?

Someone should educate us please.

Ken Ofori-Ofori Atta shoul ...

• Kojo 5 days ago

Pndc is back oh ghana again

• Obarima 5 days ago

We will have a Coup and get him out of prison

• Kwadwo 5 days ago

Well done Ghanaians. This will deter others from corruption and misapropriation of public funds.

• Kwadwo 5 days ago

Well done Ghanaians. This will deter others from corruption and misapropriation of public funds.

• Bright 5 days ago

If he’s law abiding citizen, he wouldn’t have been mining in the country’s forests either legally or illegally. The law is the law.

• Koo 5 days ago

What about the Lebanese Yamin? If Wontumi can be prosecuted and jailed, what is the NDC doing about this idiot.

Selective justice indeed!

• Bright 5 days ago

If he’s law abiding citizen, he wouldn’t have been mining in the country’s forests either legally or illegally. The law is the law.

@ Bright:
    WHOSE FOREST RESERVE MINING CONCESSION WAS MAJOR MAHAMA GUARDING AT DENKYIRA OBUASI WHEN HE LOST HIS LIFE ?

Ask John Mahama about the forest reserve his relative Major Mahama was guarding in Denkyira Obuase, ...

• Akajatayogogo 5 days ago

God bless Ghana, God bless NDC .

• Nana 5 days ago

I have the power, I can change the NDC number on the ballot paper, mahama ain't u afraid of me, mahama sleeping with his maid servants, I hv over 400 pickups and excavators, I am a governor, I have my kingdom, I have gold, I ...

• Who Born Dog! 5 days ago

@Nana. Decent Nana. Not the wrong Nana-the-Mafia. As that name has become unpalatable. You played the disgusting Wontumi music perfectly. Except one omission:-'Who Born Dog'

• GHANA WATER ADENTA DISTRICT, RESIDENTS OF NANA KROM NEED WATER 5 days ago

GHANA WATER ADENTA DISTRICT, RESIDENTS OF NANA KROM NEED WATER

• Karma 5 days ago

This judgement is politically motivated and if the law is really the law, galamsey is still going on, the authority should extend their wings and grab all those messing up the river bodies and the environments

• NOLE PROSEQUI 5 days ago

In Ghana some criminals are more important than others . Some get jail time, others get their cases dropped (mole prosequi).

No government stays forever, and unsolved crimes does not have statute of limitations.

• Kupp 5 days ago

the system got it right for once. keep it up---good deterrence.

• Obroniba 5 days ago

That dwarf and corrupt mother serpent has caused wontumi to go to jail. He defended wontumi vehemently when we all saw the activity of wontumi and the damages he was causing to the environment. He was emboldened to cause much ...

• PaulDavid 5 days ago

I wonder why they are called ' learned ' as if the rest of us know nothing. I personally see nothing 'learned' in their pronouncements. If they believe their client was wrongly convicted, why were you pleading for a lighter ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 5 days ago

Why is NDC Tamakloe who stole money and escaped to the US not serving her 10 year sentence after being deported back to Ghana? Because she is an NDC woman she is free at home.

• La jla 5 days ago

So sad.

• Ivory Mensah 5 days ago

May NPP be in opposition forever. Aaaaaaaamen

• CHICKEN GEORGE 5 days ago

Political judgment. Lol. I'm not a fan of Wontumi but I know this judgement is a farce!

• Sage 5 days ago

Many dont understand the cost of mining it has serious effects that will span at least 100 yrs. Power must be responsible.

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

Yes. According to AI : Mercury persists in the environment for decades to centuries. Because it is an element, it cannot be destroyed. It cycles continuously between the air, soil, and water. Toxic methylmercury can remain in ...

• Kojo Nsiah 5 days ago

Selective justice ..

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

@Kojo Noah. Just an example:

If 10 thieves come to your house and you manage to catch one, will you release him because the other 9 managed to run away ????

Normal people will arrest the one caught, and then make effor ...

• Ghanaman 1 5 days ago

Nsiah (correction)

• CUSTOM AUCTION IS UP AGAIN AND GRANTING ALLAFRICA THE PRIVILEGE TO GET ANY CAR OF MY CHOICE AT AFFORDABLE RATES APPROVED BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT . 5 days ago

SOME CAR LIST BELOW.
    Golf 3K GHS __ 5K GHS

TOKUNBO CARS BELOW :�

2008 Corolla Sport 9K GHS

• Otto Fister 5 days ago

He wont be the last,
    hats how they do to one another,
    victor selomey
    Tsatsu Tsikata
    Abugah Pele
    etc